XHYPE Card Review: What 7/10 Looks Like in Practice
If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card, the XHYPE card is worth a serious look. It reaches further than most crypto cards, it works as a real payment card spent from a crypto balance, and its self-custody wallet means your crypto does not sit inside a platform’s accounts. It is not, however, a bank card, the company behind it says so itself, and the details that decide whether it is cheap for you — the exchange-rate fee, the ATM charge, the currency it settles in — are simply not published. I scored it 7.0 out of 10. That is a real card for people who already hold crypto and already know how networks work, and a frustrating one for everyone who just wants to see a clear number before they commit.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.0 out of 10
Here is where the score comes from, criterion by criterion.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Ordered from 203 countries and territories; admission depends on country of residence and citizenship |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Essential $10/year, Premium $58, Whale $70; top-up 2.1% / 1.8% / 1.2%; FX fee not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT, USDC or the native coin on BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon and Arbitrum via XHYPE Superwallet |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | XHYPE FZCO in Dubai states “We are not a card issuer”; the issuer is not named |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual card on every plan, physical on Premium and Whale, Apple Pay and Google Pay throughout, ATMs up to $1,500 a day |
| Total | 7.0 / 10 |
The pattern in that table is the whole story. This card is unusually good at reach, funding and day-to-day convenience, and unusually vague about who stands behind it and what it truly costs to spend. It suits you if you already hold USDT or USDC, you are comfortable choosing a network and paying its fee, you want a virtual card today, and you would rather hold your own keys than have a platform custody them. It does not suit you if a card’s appeal is that you can predict the total cost of a purchase before you make it, if you need a named bank behind your balance, if you expect physical cash access without surprise charges, or if you are in one of the places where access is uncertain and you cannot afford a rejected deposit.
One more note on what it is built for. The audience this design points at is self-custody wallet users who want both virtual and physical cards. That is a narrower audience than “anyone who wants to spend crypto”, and it explains both the strengths and the silences. Self-custody users do not mind a web app and a network dropdown. They do mind, as I do, that the issuer is anonymous and the FX fee is missing.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, most likely — the reach is the widest thing about XHYPE. Cards can be ordered from 203 countries and territories. Whether your particular application succeeds depends on your country of residence and your citizenship, both of which are checked when you apply. The terms describe use as prohibited “in jurisdictions where such services are restricted”, which is the standard way of saying there is a list, without printing it.
That matters if you are reading this outside the usual markets. The official pages do not publish the exclusion list itself. Third-party trackers report 184 countries available and 9 restricted: Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. That list comes from a third-party profile, not from XHYPE’s terms, and I am passing it on as unofficial — treat it as a strong hint, not as the rule.
The reason a card reaches 203 places is structural rather than generous. XHYPE FZCO is registered in Dubai Silicon Oasis, United Arab Emirates, and its terms say plainly: “We are not a card issuer.” The cards come from an unnamed independent third-party issuer. So the application is not decided by a bank in your country; it is decided by a programme manager in Dubai and an issuer that the public pages do not identify. Third-party reporting suggests the issuer is a licensed provider in jurisdictions including Hong Kong, again unofficial and not something the card confirms.
If you have been refused a normal bank card — a country of residence the banks avoid, a status on a sanctions list, a history that traditional institutions will not take — then this is exactly the category of product people look at. The trade is straightforward: access in exchange for a weaker paper trail of who holds your balance, and rules that a single issuer can change without your country’s involvement.
How to get it
The route is short, and if you have done this before you will recognise it. Sign up in the web app at superwallet.xhype.io, verify your identity, pick a plan, deposit crypto, load the card. That is the whole sequence the company sets out.
The verification step is called Private KYC and runs through Verinex. XHYPE says it receives only the result of the check, not the documents themselves, which is a deliberately thinner arrangement than uploading your passport into a brokerage account. The stated minimum age is 18+. What documents you will be asked for is not stated, nor is whether proof of address is required, nor how long verification takes, nor what the rejection reasons are. Those are exactly the things that matter when your situation is unusual, and I cannot tell you how it will go for you.
Word travels faster than documentation. One site advertises “No KYC”; another says routine ID checks are not pushed at signup but every deposit is screened under anti-money-laundering rules and flagged funds may be rejected. Both are unofficial. The second is the one I would plan around, because it matches how any regulated business must behave. Assume a check happens, and assume a deposit can be held.
Delivery is quick in one direction and slow in the other. The virtual card on the Essential plan arrives instantly. A physical card takes about 15 days after you enter a correct address. Which countries it ships to, what shipping costs, and what a replacement card costs are all not stated — if you need a physical card, ask before you pay for the plan rather than after.
What it really costs: Fees and the numbers behind them
The published prices look cheap. That is the problem: the cheap part is fully disclosed and the expensive part is not. Here is everything the card states about money, in one place.

| Fee or limit | Essential | Premium | Whale |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan price, 1 year | $10 | $58 | $70 |
| Plan price, 3 years | — | $118 | $148 |
| Cards included | 1 virtual | 1 virtual + 1 physical | 2 virtual + 1 physical |
| Top-up fee | 2.1% | 1.8% | 1.2% |
| Annual spending limit | $50,000 | $250,000 | $1,000,000 |
| ATM, per transaction and per day | — | $1,500 | $1,500 |
| ATM operations per day | — | 30 | 30 |
| ATM monthly ceiling | — | $15,000 | $15,000 |
| FX fee | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| ATM fee | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Two notes on this table. The app shows current prices, so treat the figures as the current schedule rather than a promise. And the FX fee is the single biggest gap on this page: on a card whose job is converting crypto into everyday spending, the cost of the conversion is the number you most need, and it is absent.
Third-party reporting puts the picture differently and considerably worse: $108 a year for Essential, $228 for Premium, $588 for Whale (monthly equivalents of $9 / $19 / $49), auto-renewed, with reload fees of 4.5% / 3.5% / 2.3% and the FX fee described only as a “standard fee” with no percentage. None of that is confirmed by the card, and it directly contradicts the official schedule above. Both versions can be true at different moments, or one can simply be wrong — which is precisely why I would read the number in your own app before you rely on it.
Now the part that matters more than any of those figures: what does a purchase actually cost you?
- Buying something priced in dollars. The card loads a balance and spends it. The top-up fee, 2.1% / 1.8% / 1.2% by plan, is the part you can plan around. Whether the merchant’s own currency conversion adds anything on top is exactly what is not published.
- Buying something priced in euros, pounds or yen. Here the missing FX fee lands, because the conversion has to happen somewhere and you cannot price it in advance. This is the purchase where “it just did not work out cheaper” happens.
- Taking money out at an ATM. Physical cards on Premium and Whale work at ATMs, with $1,500 per transaction and per day, 30 operations a day and $15,000 a month. The ATM fee is not stated. Third-party figures also mention annual recharge limits of $25,000 / $50,000 / $100,000 and no universal daily or monthly spend cap, unofficial and again inconsistent with the official limits above.
There is one more charge that never appears on any card page because it is not the provider’s: the network fee. When you move USDT on a chain, the blockchain charges you, and you need the chain’s own token in the wallet to pay it. That is why a wallet holding USDT and no gas token cannot send. Budget for it on every top-up, because it is a real cost of using the card and it is not in the table.
How to Top up
Topping up starts with a transfer to the right network, and the right network is the whole job. You deposit USDT, USDC or the native coin on BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon or Arbitrum into the XHYPE Superwallet, then load the card from that balance. Five chains and two stablecoins is a generous choice, and for someone who already holds funds on one of those networks it is a two-minute operation.

The unofficial version of this story is narrower: USDT only, on Tron (TRC20) and BNB Chain (BEP20), and a minimum crypto deposit of 15 USDT per the user guide. Both claims conflict with the official page. If you read somewhere that XHYPE is a Tron-only card, that is a third-party description and the official coverage is wider.
One detail worth knowing before you choose a chain. USDC is not natively available on Tron — Circle stopped supporting it there in February 2024 — so “USDC over TRC20” is not an option you have even if a guide suggests it. And transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
What is not stated: the minimum top-up, who pays the network fee, and whether there is any fiat route in at all — no card-to-fiat top-up is described, so as far as the public pages go, you are funding this from crypto. One genuinely pleasant detail does appear: gift cards and eSIMs are also payable in crypto, which tells you something about how the company thinks about spending.
And a gap I want to name rather than bury: withdrawals are not stated. The terms are silent on refunds, account closure and what happens to a balance you no longer want to leave on the card. Before you load a large amount, ask what the exit looks like. That question matters more here than on most cards, because the provider is a Dubai programme manager rather than a bank with a published complaints procedure.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day use is where this card scores its best marks, and the reasons are concrete. Apple Pay and Google Pay work on every virtual and physical card, which means most of your spending will not touch the plastic or the number at all. The virtual card is available on every plan, so you can be spending within minutes of verifying. The physical card comes with Premium and Whale, which is the reason to pay more than the $10 Essential. And a self-custody wallet underneath means the crypto is yours: you control the authentication factors and can export the private key to wallets such as MetaMask or Trust Wallet.
That last point is the design’s real argument, and it deserves a plain explanation. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely; with a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment. The trade is direct: you take on sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and malware that swaps a copied address. There is no middle ground and no support desk for a compromised seed phrase.
What is quietly missing from the everyday-use story is as important as what is there. The rewards programme is not stated — no cashback is mentioned anywhere on the official page. Third-party sources say there is no cashback but that welcome credits of $5 / $10 / $40, XTraveler points of 290 / 690 / 2,490, and a 15% referral commission on referred users’ reload fees paid in USDT exist; unofficial, and verify before you plan around them. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, which matters more than it sounds: gambling (MCC 7995) and similar categories are blocked by many issuers as policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer. Refunds, disputes and chargebacks are not specified in the terms either, so if a shop takes your money and does not deliver, the route to your money back is undefined on paper.
Two everyday frictions apply to everyone with a card like this, and neither is XHYPE’s fault. Merchants can look up the issuing country from the card’s first six or eight digits and apply extra scrutiny when it differs from your billing address, which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another; some decline prepaid or foreign cards outright. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
What can go wrong
The weakest part of this card is not a bug, it is an absence: the issuer is not named. XHYPE FZCO sits in Dubai Silicon Oasis, United Arab Emirates. Its terms say “We are not a card issuer” and that cards come from an unnamed independent third-party issuer. The entity is governed by UAE law with Dubai courts, and its licences are not stated. When you ask “who is behind my balance”, the honest answer is that the public pages do not say, and a third-party profile suggests a licensed issuer in jurisdictions including Hong Kong without confirming it.
Understand what that means in practice. Your card balance is held by the independent card issuer, not by XHYPE and not by you. That is the arrangement behind a great many prepaid-card failures, and it is why the safest question you can ask about any card in this category is which institution actually holds the money.
The reported history adds weight. I found no official incident record on XHYPE’s own site. User-reported material, again unofficial, describes a June–July 2025 disruption affecting HKD Visa recharge and spending, later marked resolved with balances reportedly refunded. Recurring themes in complaints are high combined costs, AML-related restrictions on accounts, refunds missing for months, and slow support. A user-review site shows about 2.9 out of 5 from 7 ratings. For balance, I looked for the obvious independent sources: the Trustpilot hit that comes up is a different service, xkode, and I found no Reddit thread — so the complaint picture here is thin, and thin means I am reporting what exists, not that there is nothing.
Support is 24/7 in English and Spanish, and it is Telegram only: @xhype_support. That is a real convenience and a real concentration of risk. There is no published support channel with an address, a ticket system or a stated response time.
The terms were last updated 04-Jun-2025. That date is older than most of what I have read about the service, and it is the last moment anyone can verify what the rules were. Since then, unofficial reporting describes an XKARD v2 announced in April 2025 and the mid-2025 Visa disruption.
Self-custody cuts both ways here, and it is worth being honest about both edges. On one side, the network cannot freeze or return funds, so a stolen key has no recovery path at all — and custody is not automatically safer either, since Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022) are the standing examples of what happens when one company holds the keys. On the other side, you are the only line of defence against a copied address and a fake site. Two-factor authentication, an instant card freeze and spending controls are all not stated for this wallet, so I cannot tell you what safety net sits between your seed phrase and an attacker.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives with published pricing, so you can compare rather than guess. None of them is clearly better; they trade different things.
| BloFin Wallet Card | Decaf | SafePal | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.9 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 |
| Card | Visa Platinum | Visa, virtual or physical | Virtual Mastercard debit |
| Account and annual fees | $0 activation, $0 annual, $0 issuance, $0 dormancy, $0 cancellation | Virtual $5, physical $10 (US) or $90 (rest of world), no annual fee | No account or management fee; issuance not stated |
| Spending fee | 1% or lower by VIP tier, 0% at the top tier | No FX fee added — the Visa rate | 1% FX on non-USD Mastercard settlement |
| Top-up | USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base | Not stated for the card itself; app runs on Solana and Stellar | Crypto from 40+ blockchains to USDC or fiat, on Arbitrum |
| Rewards | No cashback — a reduced spend rate instead | Not stated | No cashback; referral commissions up to 40% |
| Who is excluded | Country list not published on the page | 19 countries and 12 US states named | “Citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas” |
Where each of them suits you better:
- Choose BloFin if predictable spending cost matters more than ATM access. Its tier system takes the fee from 1.00% down to 0.00% at the top tier, charged at payment, with zero account, issuance and dormancy fees. The trade is opacity on the other side: the country list is not published, and citizenship versus residence is not stated.
- Choose Decaf if you want the FX step taken out of your hands entirely — it adds no FX fee and uses the rate Visa offers — and you want a physical card option with tracked delivery. It is also the only one of the three with an explicit exclusion list, which is unpleasant to read but useful: 19 countries including Russia, Belarus, Turkey, India and Ukraine, plus 11 US states. Whether that applies by citizenship or by residence is not stated.
- Choose SafePal if you want the widest funding network — 40+ blockchains converted to USDC or fiat — and no top-up fee on the standard rate. Its 1% Mastercard FX fee is stated plainly, and refunds cost $1 / EUR / CHF / 7 CNH, which is small and clear.
Against any of them, XHYPE keeps two advantages: the widest country reach of the four, and the only self-custody wallet in the group. What it gives up is named pricing — an unstated FX fee and an unstated ATM fee — and a named issuer.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend XHYPE to someone who already holds USDT or USDC on Ethereum, Base, Arbitrum, Polygon or BNB Smart Chain; who has been turned down by, or has no route to, an ordinary bank card; who wants a virtual card in minutes and Apple Pay or Google Pay on day one; and who is comfortable being their own custody. That person gets a card that works, reaches their country, and does not hand their crypto to a platform.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card, and I would hesitate as anyone’s main everyday card. Not because the fees are outrageous — $10 to $70 a year is not the problem — but because the two numbers that decide whether a card is cheap for you, the FX fee and the ATM fee, are not published, and the institution holding your balance is not named. Paying more is a choice; not knowing what you are paying is a different thing.
So: open the app, read the live prices, ask three questions in writing before you load a large balance — what is the FX fee, what is the ATM fee, and how do I get money off the card and get it back if something goes wrong. If the answers satisfy you, the card is good. If they do not, Decaf for transparent foreign exchange, BloFin for a spending fee that falls to zero, or SafePal for the widest funding reach are all reasonable places to spend your time instead.
Frequently asked questions
What is the XHYPE card?
The XHYPE card is a prepaid payment card built around a self-custody crypto wallet. You deposit stablecoins or a native coin into the XHYPE Superwallet, load the card from that balance, and spend it as ordinary card money — in shops, online, or at ATMs with a physical card. It runs on a web app rather than a downloadable one. It is not a bank account, and the company says so itself.
Is XHYPE a bank?
No, and the distinction is the single most important thing to understand here. XHYPE FZCO is a company in Dubai Silicon Oasis, United Arab Emirates, and its terms state “We are not a card issuer”. The cards come from an unnamed independent third-party issuer that holds your balance. That means your money sits with an institution the public pages do not identify, under a structure with no deposit guarantee behind it.
How do I get an XHYPE card?
Sign up at superwallet.xhype.io, complete the Private KYC verification through Verinex, choose a plan, deposit crypto, and load the card. You must be 18 or over. An Essential virtual card arrives instantly; physical cards on Premium and Whale take about 15 days after you enter a correct address. Shipping countries and replacement costs are not published.
Does XHYPE require KYC?
Yes, it runs what it calls Private KYC through Verinex, and XHYPE says it receives only the result rather than your documents. The terms set an age of 18+. Which documents you will be asked for, how long checks take, and why an application might be refused are not stated. Some third-party sites advertise “No KYC”, but every deposit is subject to anti-money-laundering screening.
How do I top up the XHYPE card?
Send USDT, USDC or the native coin to your XHYPE Superwallet address on BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Base, Polygon or Arbitrum, then load the card from the balance. The top-up fee is 2.1% on Essential, 1.8% on Premium and 1.2% on Whale. Minimums are not stated, and the blockchain network fee is charged by the network, not by XHYPE — you need that chain’s own token to pay it.
Is XHYPE card free?
The cheapest plan is not free: Essential is $10 a year, Premium $58 for one year or $118 for three, and Whale $70 for one year or $148 for three. Even on Essential you pay a top-up fee on every deposit. The Essential plan includes one virtual card only; a physical card requires Premium or Whale.
Can I use the card in Apple Wallet?
Yes, Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on all virtual and physical cards across every plan. The card number is tokenised to your device rather than stored in the cloud by the wallet provider. Note that some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards at the point of sale regardless of how you added them.
What are the fees and limits on the card?
Annual spending limits are $50,000 on Essential, $250,000 on Premium and $1,000,000 on Whale. Physical cards allow $1,500 per ATM transaction and per day, 30 operations a day and $15,000 a month. Top-up fees run 2.1% / 1.8% / 1.2% by plan. The FX fee and the ATM fee are not stated — which is the main thing to ask about before you rely on this card.
How do I withdraw money from XHYPE?
The public pages do not say. Withdrawals, refunds and account closure are not addressed in the terms. That silence matters more than usual here, because the balance sits with an unnamed third-party issuer rather than a bank with a published process. Ask what the exit looks like before you load a large amount.
Is the XHYPE card safe to use?
It uses real, published security patterns — a self-custody wallet, a “Zero Data” privacy model and mobile wallet tokenisation. But two-factor authentication, card freeze and spending controls are not stated, the issuer is not named, support is Telegram only, and user reports describe refund delays and an unresolved June–July 2025 Visa recharge disruption. Treat it as a convenient tool, not as a place to hold money you cannot lose.
Wallet cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
