A card that worked, shut down anyway: reading the SORA closure with a holder's eye
The SORA card no longer exists as a way to spend. The programme stopped issuing cards and stopped the card functions inside its app after 30 January 2026, and the notices went out before that date. That is not a nuance of wording: there is no version of this product today in which you can apply, be accepted, and start paying with it. So a “review” here cannot be the usual kind — the usual kind asks whether the fees are fair and whether the app works, and both of those questions have been overtaken by events.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

What is still worth doing is reading the closure properly, because two different groups of people care about this page for opposite reasons. One group is looking for a card that turns crypto into everyday spending money and has no ordinary bank card, or lives somewhere a bank is not offering one. For that reader, the question is simply: where do I go instead, and on what terms? The other group already holds the card, already has money sitting in it, and has to find out what the route out of their balance actually is. For them the timing of this page matters more than the fee schedule. I have tried to serve both without pretending the product is open.
The conditions described here are current as of October 2026.
My score for this card is 2.2 out of 10. That number is low, and it is low mostly because of the closure rather than because of how the card behaved while it existed. In the sections below I separate the two, because a card that was reasonable and then closed teaches a different lesson from a card that was badly built all along.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Issuance is closed: the card and the app’s card functions stopped after 30 January 2026 18:00 GMT |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance and the monthly fee €0, client membership €39 per year after the first year; international payments €0.90 + 1.1%, ATM €1.20 + 3% |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | Conversion of XOR to EUR or a SEPA transfer; there was no direct crypto load |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | The programme is closed, the issuer Unlimit EU Ltd suspended some accounts, balances are inaccessible until Unlimit reviews them |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Physical and digital card, an ATM function, Apple Pay and Google Pay promised for “Phase 2”; the card is closed |
| Total | 2.2 / 10 |
What happened to the programme
Here is the sequence, because it is the part that matters most and the part most easily misremembered. A notice dated 10 January 2026 announced that the card, the app and the card functions would stop after Friday 30 January 2026 at 18:00 GMT. Before that cutoff, crypto held in GateHub wallets had to be withdrawn. Separately and earlier, the issuer Unlimit suspended some accounts. The notice did not state a cause. The SORA Wallet itself continues; what ended is the card.
That is the whole public story. If you were reading this page hoping for a diagnosis — why an e-money programme in the middle of Europe suddenly ends — the honest answer is that none is stated. What I can tell you is the shape of the thing: a brand ran the site and the apps, and an electronic money institution issued the card. Those two roles were held by different companies, and the collapse of the card programme sits with the issuer, not with the brand’s marketing site.
One clarification worth making early, because people conflate them: this was never a bank account. SORA Biome (Bulgaria) runs the site and the apps; the card was issued by Unlimit EU Ltd (Cyprus), an electronic money institution licensed by the Central Bank of Cyprus under licence 115.1.3.7. An EMI can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets, but it cannot lend, and its funds are not the same as bank deposits — the Unlimit card programme was not covered by Cyprus Deposit Insurance. That distinction matters for what happens next, because when a card programme ends, the money in it is money held by a payments institution, not money sitting in a savings account with a guarantee behind it.
While it ran, the card looked reasonably designed. It was a physical and a digital debit card, with KYC required — a selfie, an ID document and a proof of address, with no tiers and no processing time stated. Eligibility was for EEA residents passing KYC, by residence rather than nationality, with residents of Russia, Iran and the DPRK not eligible and a fuller list published on the card’s own blacklist page. Ordering was open to EEA residents, and first-card issuance, activation and delivery were all €0.
The cost picture, on figures dated 17 September 2024, was genuinely attractive at the front end. Card issuance, virtual and physical, and the first card were €0, the monthly fee was €0, and there was no annual fee other than client membership at €39 per year, charged after the first year. There was no tier structure beyond that: a single product, with membership as the only paid level. Spending in the card’s home market was free for the first 10 online and 10 point-of-sale transactions. International card payments cost €0.90 + 1.1%. Direct conversion between XOR and EUR was offered, and withdrawals in a currency other than the card currency were charged as international — the card currency itself is not named on the pages I read.
Top-up was the weak point. You funded the card by converting XOR to EUR or by a SEPA transfer; there was no way to load crypto directly onto it. Top-up itself cost €0, with a minimum not stated. That is the shape most crypto cards have — the card spends a fiat balance you topped up, rather than spending the coin itself — but it also means you always had to convert before you could pay, and the conversion spread through the XOR/EUR partner was not stated anywhere I could find. A spread you cannot see is a cost you cannot price.
Apple Pay and Google Pay were promised for “Phase 2”. Promised, not delivered — and that promise is worth weighing when you read claims about any of these cards, because “coming soon” in this category has a poor track record. Blocking of merchant categories was not stated, and neither were card limits: the amounts were said to be on the fees page but were not present on it. Rewards were not stated at all, which for this card I read as “there weren’t any” rather than “nobody has written them down yet”.
If you already have the card
This is the section I would read twice if I were you, because it is the one with deadlines and email addresses in it.
After 30 January 2026 at 18:00 GMT, the app gives you no access to your balance. That is the plain fact of it. The only route described is Unlimit support, at [email protected]. If your account was among those Unlimit suspended, the app may still show you a balance while the money stays inaccessible until Unlimit completes its review — and this is the cruelest shape the situation can take, because the number is visible and the money is not. SORA cannot submit balance-release requests on users’ behalf, so writing to the brand’s own channels will not move this along. The card’s support pages are soracard.com/support and soracard.com/contact, with [email protected], plus Discord, Telegram, X and Reddit; the site runs in English and Spanish, and Russian is not offered. Opening hours were not stated.
I want to be careful about advice here, because there is a line between “here is what the card states” and “here is what you should do about your money”, and the second is not mine to give. What I can tell you is the order of operations that follows from the facts. Keep every message you send, with dates. When you write to the issuer, state the balance you believe is there and ask for the process and its timeline. Do not treat the figure shown in a closed app as confirmation of anything — if Unlimit has suspended the account, the display and the funds are in different places. And note that fee pages which listed limits, closure fees and replacement costs did not in fact list them, so do not plan around a number you remember from a screenshot.
Two things that used to be true and are now history, so you can stop planning around them: ATM withdrawals were €1.20 + 3% in domestic markets — the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway — and €1.75 + 3% internationally, with the first balance inquiry each month free. Outgoing SEPA and SEPA Instant transfers were €0.50 each. All of that described a card that no longer operates.
The app itself was an iOS “SORA” app and an Android app; ratings I did not read, and it makes no difference now, since its card functions have ended. Disputes and chargeback routes were not stated on the pages I read, which is a poor sign to notice about a programme that has already shut.
What can go wrong
I want to split this into the specific thing that has already happened to this card, and the general shape of the risk that any crypto card carries — because the second one is what will decide whether you trust the replacement you pick.
The specific thing: an account can be suspended by the issuer without much warning, and a visible balance can be an unusable balance. That is exactly what Unlimit’s suspension produced here. When an e-money institution stops a programme, it stops spending and loading first, then asks users to withdraw what is left, and the awkward cases are the suspended accounts in between. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending on 8 July 2026 and spending stopping on 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, and I am giving it to you only as a shape of timing, not as a fact about this card.
The general risk is about who holds your money. In a custodial arrangement the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider entirely; in a self-custody-linked arrangement the funds stay in your wallet until the moment of payment, and you bear the whole cost of key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps an address you copied. There is no middle ground and no undo. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted private key; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend from it. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and the network has no mechanism to freeze or return stolen funds. That is not a theoretical worry about this brand: custodial platforms have a history of exactly this, including Mt. Gox at roughly US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. SORA Wallet, the part that continues, is described as self-custodial, meaning the user keeps the keys — which is a genuine architectural difference, not a promise.
There is a second general risk that bites people who are new to these cards: merchant declines. A card number begins with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that any merchant can look up, and it reveals the institution and country. Shops may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. A card issued in Cyprus can look foreign in a shop in another country. A four-digit merchant category code classifies the business — MCC 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with a different list per issuer. Address verification is mostly a US, Canada and UK mechanism and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your money for several days, typically up to seven.
None of that is a defect unique to SORA. It is the cost of doing ordinary-shopping business with a card that is young, foreign-issued and prepaid-like. What SORA’s closure demonstrates is the other half of the risk: that even a card working perfectly can be turned off by decisions taken above your head, at an EMI, on a date.
On the regulatory side, the framework is worth knowing because it explains why the card sat where it did. MiCA is the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation and took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an EMI. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first — so the EU crypto-card landscape is still moving. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers, which is where you can check a company. And a card is a payment service regulated separately: MiCA covers the crypto side, so a crypto card often rests on two licences at once.
Against that background, the specific failure modes are clear: an EMI that suspends accounts without a stated cause, a balance you can see but not reach, a brand that says it cannot submit release requests for its own users, and a card network that can end a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Neither of those was a fraud, and both had the same shape as this.
One small note on evidence: I found no Reddit or Trustpilot reports of problems with this card as of 20 October 2026, and a Trustpilot page exists for soracard. With a programme this young and this short-lived, absence of complaints is weak evidence rather than strong evidence — it mostly tells you the card did not live long enough to accumulate a reputation either way.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in my comparison, and I have deliberately included the awkward details for each rather than the marketing line. Scores are mine, out of 10 as the programme stands: BloFin Wallet Card 6.9, Decaf 6.2, SafePal 6.2. None of them is a bank account, and all of them carry the same two risks described above — who holds the money, and the possibility that a provider changes its mind.
BloFin Wallet Card — 6.9 / 10. A Visa Platinum card, with virtual and physical not stated and the card currency not stated. Costs are as clean as this category gets: activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees $0.00 each, and no cancellation fee. Spending is charged at payment, “1% or lower”, stepping down by VIP tier — VIP 0 at 1.00%, VIP 1 0.90%, VIP 2 0.80%, VIP 3 0.50%, VIP 4 0.20%, VIP 5 0.00%. There is no cashback and no rebates; the reward is the lower rate, and the company’s own phrasing is that you need not wait for cashback. You fund with USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base. The eligibility position is the weak part: the country list is not published on the card page — it asks you to select your country in the app — while the starting data lists 35 countries including the US, Australia, Japan, the UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand. Whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated, so if your situation is unusual, that is the first thing to check in the app before you move any money.
Decaf — 6.2 / 10. A Visa card, virtual or physical, with tracked delivery for the physical one, card currency not stated. Activation costs $5 for the virtual card worldwide; the physical card is $10 in the US or $90 in the rest of the world. There is no annual or monthly fee. On currency exchange Decaf adds nothing — the rate is the one Visa offers — though the crypto conversion fee is not stated. Funding runs through Decaf payment links or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC, with the sample balance shown in USDC; the app runs on Solana and Stellar, and which coins and networks top up the card itself is not stated. The restricted list is long and worth reading properly: Belarus, China, North Korea (DPRK), India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria, plus a set of US states — Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington and Wisconsin. Russia and Belarus are both on it, and whether the rule is by citizenship or by residence is not stated.
SafePal — 6.2 / 10. A virtual Mastercard debit; whether a physical card exists is not stated, and spending limits are given in EUR against a Swiss Fiat24 account. There are no account creation or management fees, and the card issuance fee is not stated. Top-up is listed at a standard 0%, with a 1% FX fee on Mastercard non-USD settlement, refund processing at 1 USD/EUR/CHF or 7 CNH, and a spread inside swaps that is not quantified — though the bank page elsewhere says crypto top-up “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier. Funding comes from 40+ blockchains converted to USDC (default) or fiat, with transactions on Arbitrum. There is no cashback; there are referral commissions of up to 40% of referred top-up fees and tier privileges tied to deposits, referrals and SFP staking. Eligibility is described as “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas” — a double test — and the regions list at the bank’s supported-regions page was empty when I fetched it, which is itself a warning: I would not move money to a provider whose eligibility page renders nothing.
| BloFin | Decaf | SafePal | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.9 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 |
| Card | Visa Platinum | Visa, virtual or physical | Virtual Mastercard |
| Stated fees | $0 activation, annual, issuance, dormancy | $5 virtual activation; $10 US physical; no annual or monthly | No account fees; issuance fee not stated |
| Spend or FX | 1.00% down to 0.00% by VIP tier | No added FX fee; Visa’s rate | 1% FX on non-USD Mastercard settlement |
| Funding | USDT, USDC on Arbitrum and Base | Card, bank transfer or USDC | 40+ blockchains to USDC or fiat |
| Rewards | Lower rate instead of cashback | Not stated | Referral commissions, no cashback |
| Catch | Country list not published | Long restricted-country and US-state list | Supported-regions page came back empty |
Two things bind these three together, and both are checks worth doing before you commit rather than after. First, look for the provider on the ESMA interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers and of e-money institutions — a licence in one member state can serve the whole EU, but the register is where you confirm it. Second, ask the question that SORA’s closure makes unavoidable: if this programme ended tomorrow, what exactly is my route to the money, and who do I write to? “The app” is not an answer. A named legal entity with a licence number and a support address that is not the brand’s front page is.
Who I would recommend it to
Nobody, in the sense of recommending this card today, because it cannot be obtained and the functions have stopped. If you were reading about it as a concept, the parts worth remembering are the good ones: €0 issuance, €0 monthly, no annual fee, free domestic spending in the first ten transactions online and ten in person, and a two-step membership charge rather than a subscription. That is a well-priced card for someone whose problem is not price.
It would have suited, while it existed, someone in the EEA who could not get an ordinary bank card, could pass KYC with a selfie, an ID document and a proof of address, and was content to hold a balance rather than spend the coin itself. Eligibility ran on residence rather than nationality, with residents of Russia, Iran and the DPRK excluded, and that distinction is the one most people confuse.
I would not point a new user at it, and I would not point a current holder at anything else until their balance is out. If you are in that second group, the closure is not the end of your problem, only the end of the card; the balance is still your money and the route to it is Unlimit at [email protected].
Frequently asked questions
What was the SORA card?
It was a physical and digital debit card funded by converting XOR to EUR or by a SEPA transfer, with no direct crypto load. It came with an iOS and an Android app, cost €0 to issue and €0 monthly, and was sold alongside a client membership at €39 per year charged after the first year. SORA Biome ran the site and apps; Unlimit EU Ltd, a Cypriot EMI, issued the card. Card functions stopped on 30 January 2026.
Is SORA a bank?
No. SORA Biome (Bulgaria) runs the site and the apps, but the card was issued by Unlimit EU Ltd (Cyprus), an electronic money institution licensed by the Central Bank of Cyprus under licence 115.1.3.7. An EMI can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend, and the programme’s funds were not covered by Cyprus Deposit Insurance.
Why did the SORA card close?
The published notices do not say. A notice dated 10 January 2026 announced that the card, the app and the card functions would stop after Friday 30 January 2026 at 18:00 GMT, with crypto in GateHub wallets to be withdrawn before the cutoff. The issuer, Unlimit, had also suspended some accounts earlier. No cause is stated. SORA Wallet continues.
How do I get my money back from a closed SORA card?
After 30 January 2026 at 18:00 GMT the app gives no access to balances. The route described is Unlimit support at [email protected]. If your account was suspended, the app may still show a balance that stays inaccessible until Unlimit completes its review. SORA cannot submit release requests for users, so keep records of every message you send and ask the issuer for the process and its timeline.
Was the SORA card free?
Mostly. Card issuance, the virtual and physical card and the first card were €0, the monthly fee was €0, and domestic spending was free for the first 10 online and 10 point-of-sale transactions, on fees dated 17 September 2024. Client membership was €39 per year after the first year. International card payments cost €0.90 + 1.1%, and cash withdrawals were €1.20 + 3% domestically and €1.75 + 3% internationally.
Does the SORA card need KYC?
Yes, it did. KYC required a selfie, an ID document and a proof of address; no levels and no processing time were stated. Eligibility was for EEA residents passing KYC, by residence rather than nationality, and residents of Russia, Iran and the DPRK were not eligible. In the EU, customer due diligence covers identity details, a sanctions check and politically exposed person screening.
Can I add the SORA card to Apple Wallet?
Not any more. Apple Pay and Google Pay were promised for a “Phase 2” that never arrived before the programme’s card functions ended on 30 January 2026. It is worth noting how tokenisation works in general: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code, with the issuer able to restrict a tokenised number to certain channels.
Is the SORA card safe?
I would not answer that as a simple yes. SORA Wallet is described as self-custodial, meaning you keep the keys, which removes counterparty risk on that side but puts key loss and phishing on you. The card side was an e-money product from an EMI whose funds were not deposit-insured, and the closure demonstrated the practical risk: a visible balance that a suspended account made unreachable.
What can I use instead of the SORA card?
Three options in my comparison: BloFin Wallet Card at 6.9 out of 10, with $0 activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees and a spend fee of 1% down to 0% by VIP tier; Decaf at 6.2, with $5 virtual activation and no added FX fee; and SafePal at 6.2, a virtual Mastercard with no account fees and a 1% FX fee on non-USD settlement. Check eligibility lists yourself before funding any of them.
Is the SORA card worth it?
The question no longer has a forward-looking answer, since it cannot be obtained. Judged on what it was while it ran, the pricing was among the better in the category and the direct-crypto-load gap was the obvious weakness. Judged on what happened next, the fair verdict is the 2.2 out of 10 above: a cheap card is not much use if the balance behind it can be frozen without warning.
Wallet cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
