The first card is free and USD spending costs nothing — but the card is virtual, US verification is closed, and the fees start the moment you leave dollars

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

I have been through the Onboard card’s own pages, its help centre and the surrounding material, and this is what I found. Onboard is a virtual Visa you hold in your phone rather than a piece of plastic, designed for people who spend across borders and pay from a crypto balance. The first card costs nothing and spending in dollars costs nothing either. That sounds like a good deal until you notice that the United States is on the list of countries where verification — and therefore every Onboard feature, cards included — is not available, that there is no physical card at all, and that topping up costs 1.25% every time.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Onboard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score for it is 6.5 out of 10. That is a middling number, not a rejection: the product does a small set of things clearly and cheaply, but the gaps it leaves are exactly the gaps that hurt people who need a card to work everywhere.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Verification is closed in a long named list of countries, the United States among them, while most of the rest of the world is open; in Turkey, Israel, India and several others only the Classic card is offered
Cost 6 / 10 First Flex card free, each one after that $2; USD payments free, other currencies $0.30 plus 1.5%; top-up 1.25%
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDT and USDC on a chosen network, with Tron and Ethereum named, plus bank transfer in NGN, IDR and KES; there is an article covering BTC and SOL
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 A technology platform, not a bank, working through Gopay Financial Services and Onboard Digital; the issuing bank is not named; Trustpilot 2.6 out of 5 from 4 reviews
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, with Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no ATM terms published and no physical card
Total 6.5 / 10 Strong on access and funding routes, thin on the practical day-to-day

Who this suits, in one line: a professional who already holds crypto or stablecoins, earns or holds money in a supported currency, and wants a clean virtual Visa for subscriptions and cross-border software with no plastic to lose. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card, anyone in the United States, and anyone who wants to know exactly what one dollar of spending costs before they commit.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, in most of the world — and no, in one of the places you would most expect it to work.

The official list of countries where Onboard verification is not available runs to thirty-eight entries: Afghanistan, Algeria, Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Comoros, Congo (DR), Congo (Republic), Cuba, Gambia, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Maldives, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tokelau, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen, Zimbabwe. If you are in any of these, the answer is simply no, and there is nothing to negotiate.

Then there is a middle group where the platform works but the Flex card does not: Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey and Vietnam get the Classic card only. That is a meaningful downgrade rather than a cosmetic one — the Classic card charges more on both funding and foreign-currency spending, and adds decline charges. You can see the numbers in the fees section below.

Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE appear on neither list, so they are not excluded. I would read that as “not named as restricted” rather than as a written promise, and if you are in one of them, the only reliable answer is the one support gives you after you sign up.

The card’s own marketing line is that it is “built for professionals who spend across borders” and lets you “spend globally”. Taken at face value that is a description of a business tool, not a travel card or a replacement for your everyday banking.

The minimum age is not stated on the pages I read. The general rule across prepaid and debit cards is that they are for adults, and some issuers set higher limits, but I am not going to tell you what Onboard’s rule is when Onboard does not say.

How to get it

The path is short: download the app, verify, create a virtual Flex card. The card’s own line is “verify your account in minutes – free and instant”.

What verification actually involves is set out on the platform: a phone number confirmed by SMS or WhatsApp code, your address, a photo of a passport, national ID card or driver’s licence, and a live selfie. Which documents count depends on the country you select at sign-up. The platform says this “usually finishes within seconds”, and that some cases go to manual review, which takes longer.

The identity check is not a one-off formality at sign-up. KYC is prompted when you fund the account, withdraw, trade, or create a card — so the system asks again at the moments where it matters to the company. Tiers are not stated, and neither are the reasons a verification might be rejected, although a help article titled “How do I verify my identity (KYC) on Onboard?” exists that I did not read.

Two things the pages leave open that you may care about: the App Store and Google Play ratings were not read, and the specific age, address-proof and document requirements are not stated publicly in the pages I saw. If any of those decide whether this works for you, ask support before you move money.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is everything with a number attached, as published.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Onboard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Flex card Classic card
First card Free —
Further cards $2 each Own fee schedule, not stated
Monthly or annual fee Not stated Not stated
USD payments Free —
Non-USD and cross-border USD payments $0.30 + 1.5% $0.50 + 2.5%
Declined payment charges None $0.32 international / $0.02 domestic
Top-up (funding) 1.25% 1.5%
Network base fee on top-up $1.25 Tron / $0.10 Ethereum Same
Cash withdrawal from the card Free Free
ATM withdrawal Not stated Not stated

The card currency is US dollars. Balances exist as a Cash/USD balance, a Trading Wallet and the card itself. USD and EUR cannot be withdrawn directly from a card — you have to move the money to the Cash Balance first.

Three ordinary payments, so the fees stop being abstract.

A $30 subscription in dollars. Free. The card is USD, the payment is USD, and there is no charge for the payment itself. This is the case Onboard is genuinely good at, and it is why the first card being free matters.

A $30 subscription billed in euros. $0.30 plus 1.5% of $30, so $0.75 on top of the subscription. Small, but it recurs every month, and the currency conversion rate applied to get from dollars to euros is not stated on the pages I read — the platform mentions “fees for certain actions like funding, currency conversion” without giving amounts. So the fee you can see is not necessarily the whole cost.

A $200 purchase from a merchant in another country, in dollars. The card is denominated in USD, but a cross-border USD payment is charged as non-USD: $0.30 plus 1.5%, which is $3.30. This catches people out — “I paid in dollars, so it must be free” is exactly the reasoning that costs them the fee.

On top of all that, the crypto conversion rate when you fund from a stablecoin is not published. The visible number is 1.0125 USDT per $1 on the Flex card, which is the funding fee showing up as a rate rather than a line item. Anything beyond that — the spread between what you paid for the token and what you received — is not stated.

Spending limits are $5,000 daily and $20,000 monthly, with higher limits available on request through support. Whether those limits differ by verification tier is not stated.

Top up: the four routes and what each one costs

The platform says you can “fund from local currency or stablecoins”. In practice there are four routes, and they are not equally flexible.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Onboard starts with a transfer to the right network

Bank transfer, in NGN, IDR or KES. Available in those three currencies. This is the route that matters most for the audience the card is built for — professionals in markets where salaries arrive in local currency.

USDT or USDC on a network you choose, with Tron and Ethereum named. Transfer time is approximately five minutes. The fee is 1.25% on the Flex card, 1.5% on Classic. The minimum is $1 and the maximum $5,000 per transaction. Some networks add a base fee on top: $1.25 on Tron, $0.10 on Ethereum, and you pay that.

Other crypto — BTC, SOL and similar. There is an article on the platform covering this. I did not read it, so I will not describe the fees.

Move from inside Onboard. From your Cash balance, from the Trading Wallet or from another card, with no crypto network involved at all. This is the cheapest route if your money is already inside the platform.

Two warnings worth keeping in front of you. First, stablecoins do not land 1:1 — on Flex you receive about 1.0125 USDT per $1. Second, the network matters. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option on many providers, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached.

Withdrawals are free, but at least $1 must remain on an active card. You can move money to the Cash Balance, the Trading Wallet or another card, or transfer externally to bank accounts in NGN, IDR, KES, UGX or to USDT/USDC wallets. USD and EUR cannot leave a card directly.

Paying with it every day

This is where the product is thinnest, and the reason it scores 5 out of 10 for everyday use.

There is no physical card. The card exists as a virtual Visa in the app and in your mobile wallet, and the help centre calls them “virtual Visa cards”. If your card is lost, there is nothing to lose and nothing to wait for — but if you are the kind of person who needs to hand a card to a restaurant, insert it into a petrol pump or read it out over the phone, it will not serve you.

Apple Pay and Google Pay work for in-store payments. That is genuinely useful, because it means the card lives in the Secure Element on your phone and each payment carries a one-time code rather than your number. It also means that if your phone is gone, your payment method is gone with it.

Blocked and prohibited categories are published, and the list is worth reading before you assume something will work. Automatically blocked: money transfer services, cryptocurrency platforms, securities brokers, dating services, massage parlors, telemarketing, government-licensed gambling, and financial services companies. Prohibited outright: unlicensed controlled substances, weapons, gambling, counterfeit goods, Ponzi schemes and pirated media.

The automatic block on cryptocurrency platforms and money transfer services is the one that surprises people. You cannot use this card to buy more crypto, and you cannot use it to send money to a transfer service.

Refunds go back to the same card and “can take up to 30 days to process after the merchant initiates it”. After 30 days you are told to contact support with the transaction ID, the merchant name and proof of payment. If the card has been terminated by then, the refund goes to the Cash Balance. There is no chargeback procedure described — I found no explanation of how a disputed transaction is resolved, and no promise of one.

There is no cashback mentioned anywhere, though a referral programme called “Refer & earn” exists. Treat that referral programme carefully: one of the four Trustpilot reviews is specifically about unpaid promo and referral rewards.

What can go wrong

The provider is not a bank, and it says so. Onboard describes itself as “a technology platform, not a bank”, delivering services through licensed partners: Gopay Financial Services Inc. d/b/a Onboard Pay (Canada, FINTRAC MSB C100000565) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN MSB 31000293152346), a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited (BVI). The card issuing bank, or its BIN sponsor, is not named on the pages I read. In plain terms, the entity whose name appears on your statement is not the entity that holds your balance, and you cannot tell from the published pages which bank stands behind the card programme.

Deposits are irreversible. Crypto transfers cannot be reversed by anyone. Sending to the wrong network or an unsupported one can mean losing the money or a long support conversation with no guarantee of recovery. Circle’s USDC is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and Tether issues USDT on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — which means there is a real chance of picking wrong.

A declined payment can still hold your money. Declined authorisations may leave a hold for several days, typically up to seven. On the Flex card there are no decline charges, but the hold is a separate annoyance.

The card can be frozen mid-payment. The app lets you freeze a card (Cards, swipe to the card, more, Freeze). Pending transactions may still settle, and subscriptions are not cancelled. Freezing is a useful panic button and an unreliable way to stop a recurring charge.

Complaints are thin but not flattering. I found no official complaint material. A dedicated search for user complaints returned only unrelated brands, so there is no body of user reports to judge — which is its own kind of information. What does exist is a Trustpilot profile for onboard.xyz, read on 2026-10-20: TrustScore 2.6 out of 5 from 4 reviews, all one-star, profile unclaimed. The themes across those reviews are unpaid promo and referral rewards (February 2026), generic support replies (August 2025 to May 2026), slow or difficult verification and restricted services (August 2025, May 2026), and unclear fees (February 2026). Four reviews is not a verdict on a company. It is, however, four independent people landing in the same three places — money not arriving from a promotion, support not answering specifically, fees not being clear — and those are the three things you would least want to discover later.

On security controls. Passkeys are recommended for login and for authorising withdrawals, alongside a 6-digit passcode, Face ID or Touch ID, and a phone one-time code for sensitive actions. None of that is unusual and none of it is a substitute for you understanding where your balance actually sits: custody arrangements and any insurance are not stated, consistent with the platform’s own line that it is not a bank.

No dated regulatory events to lean on either. I found no licence award or programme change with a date attached on the pages I read, so I cannot point you to a recent milestone as evidence of momentum.

One piece of background that belongs here rather than in an alarmist paragraph. Visa and Mastercard do not themselves issue crypto cards to consumers — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Onboard’s help centre does not explain what happens to a balance when a card is terminated, though it does say refunds to a terminated card go to the Cash Balance. That is a gap you would want answered before you park real money on the card for a long subscription.

What to take instead

I looked at three cards in the same space. None of them is clearly better; they trade different things away, and the honest comparison is against what you personally need.

Cardex — 5.6 / 10. Claims one crypto card for 200+ countries with no published country list or exclusions, and its App Store listing is Naira-focused, paying in Naira. It is a debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical, which is a wider set of networks than Onboard offers. Its selling point is conversion at the moment of payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans exchange rates and picks one. No fee percentage is stated, no issuance cost is stated, and it funds from USDT, USDC and BTC with networks unnamed. The physical card is the thing Onboard cannot match.

TakeCard — 5.5 / 10. More awkward to get hold of. The physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”, while the wallet can receive payments from anywhere. Virtual card available immediately, prepaid, USD, USD payments 1:1 with no currency adjustment, other currencies at the official Visa rate of the day. It costs 1% commission per purchase, USD 5 for the virtual card, and USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping for the Bolivian physical one — though another article in the same help centre says USD 10 for physical in Bolivia, which is a conflict rather than a price. It is issued in the United States, which on the reasoning in the background section below can make some merchants treat it as foreign.

OkiCard — 6.0 / 10. The most conventional pricing on paper. “150+ countries” (some pages say “200+”), no geo-blocking based on your passport, though users must confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. Issuance $0 and monthly $0 on the pricing page, starting price $15 for the virtual card, and an FAQ mentioning a one-time issuance fee that contradicts it — the pages disagree with each other. Load fee 3%, which is higher than Onboard’s 1.25%; USD transaction fee 0% and “no hidden exchange spreads”, though the FX fee is not stated. Initial deposit 100 USDT. It funds from USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana, with USDC “soon” and BTC and altcoins “coming soon” — a narrower list than Onboard’s.

Onboard Flex Cardex TakeCard OkiCard
Score 6.5 / 10 5.6 / 10 5.5 / 10 6.0 / 10
Physical card No Yes Bolivia only Mentioned, no details
Networks Virtual Visa VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay Visa Visa/Mastercard, unspecified
Card currency USD Naira USD USD or EUR pegged
Issuance First free, then $2 Not stated USD 5 virtual; USD 20 + USD 20 shipping physical USD 0, pages disagree with USD 15
Top-up fee 1.25% Not stated Not stated 3%
Non-USD payment $0.30 + 1.5% Not stated, no percentage given 1% per purchase, Visa rate FX fee not stated
Funding coins USDT, USDC; BTC/SOL article USDT, USDC, BTC Takenos balance; coins not named in the article USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, Solana

The pattern worth noticing: Onboard’s top-up fee is the lowest of the four where a number is published. Its cost is not the rate, it is the shape of the product — virtual only, USD only for free spending, and closed to the United States.

One background point that explains a lot of these comparisons. A card number begins with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that any merchant can look up, which reveals the issuing institution and country. If that country differs from your billing address, the merchant may apply extra scrutiny, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. This is why a card issued in one country can behave like a stranger’s card in another, and it is the practical reason a wide country list on a marketing page does not guarantee your subscription goes through.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend it to someone who already has stablecoins or crypto sitting somewhere, earns in naira, rupiah or shillings, and spends most of their money on software, hosting and cross-border services billed in dollars. That person gets a free first card, free dollar spending, a 1.25% top-up that is cheaper than the alternatives I looked at, and a card that lives in their phone and cannot be lost or stolen in a bag. The $5,000 daily and $20,000 monthly limits are generous for that life and can be raised on request.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs a physical card, to anyone living in the United States, or to anyone in Turkey, Israel, India, Cyprus, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine or Vietnam — who should read the Classic-only restriction as a downgrade to a costlier card rather than a small limitation. Nor would I recommend parking a large balance on it without asking support two questions first: which bank issues the card, and what happens to my balance if the programme ends. The second question has a precedent in this category and the first has no published answer.

The honest summary of the 6.5 is this: Onboard is well made for a narrow job and clear about its own narrowness. It says it is not a bank. What it does not say is which bank issues the card, which is the one fact I wanted most and could not find.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Onboard card?

Onboard is a virtual Visa card you hold in your phone and spend from a crypto or stablecoin balance. There is no physical card: the platform describes a “virtual card that lets you spend your balance globally” and the help centre calls them virtual Visa cards. The card is denominated in US dollars, works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and is aimed at what the company calls professionals who spend across borders. It is a technology platform rather than a bank, serving customers through licensed partners.

How does the Onboard card work?

You convert or top up a balance first, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Money arrives as USDT or USDC on a network you choose, or by bank transfer in naira, rupiah or Kenyan shillings, or by moving funds inside Onboard from your cash balance, trading wallet or another card. Balances exist in three forms: a Cash or USD balance, a Trading Wallet, and the card itself. Spending in dollars is free; spending in other currencies costs $0.30 plus 1.5% on the Flex card.

Is Onboard a bank, and who owns it?

No — Onboard says so itself, describing itself as “a technology platform, not a bank”. Services come through licensed partners: Gopay Financial Services Inc. d/b/a Onboard Pay, registered in Canada as FINTRAC MSB C100000565, and Onboard Digital, FinCEN MSB 31000293152346, a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited in the British Virgin Islands. The bank that actually issues the card, or its BIN sponsor, is not named on the pages I read, which is worth asking about directly.

Is the Onboard card available in my country?

In most countries, yes, but not the United States — it is on the official list of 38 countries where verification and therefore every Onboard feature is unavailable. Nine countries get only the older Classic card: Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey and Vietnam. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE appear on neither list, which means unlisted rather than being on the excluded list. Check your own country before moving any money, since the answer decides everything else.

Does the Onboard card require KYC?

Yes, and it asks more than once. Verification needs a phone number confirmed by SMS or WhatsApp, your address, a photo of a passport, national ID card or driver’s licence, and a live selfie; accepted documents depend on the country you select at sign-up. KYC is prompted when you fund, withdraw, trade or create a card, not just at onboarding. The platform says it usually finishes within seconds, though some cases go to manual review, and the verification tiers and rejection reasons are not stated.

How much does it cost to use the Onboard card?

The first Flex card is free and each one after that costs $2. Paying in dollars is free; paying in other currencies, or making a cross-border dollar payment, costs $0.30 plus 1.5%. The Classic card is dearer: $0.50 plus 2.5% on non-USD or cross-border payments, plus decline charges of $0.32 international and $0.02 domestic. Topping up costs 1.25% on Flex and 1.5% on Classic, with network base fees of $1.25 on Tron and $0.10 on Ethereum on top.

Can I top up with any crypto?

Not any, at least not from what the pages confirm. USDT and USDC on a chosen network are the documented route, with Tron and Ethereum named, and stablecoins do not arrive 1:1 — on Flex you get about 1.0125 USDT per $1. There is an article covering BTC, SOL and other crypto that I did not read, so I cannot tell you its fees. You can also top up by bank transfer in NGN, IDR or KES, or move money internally from your cash balance, trading wallet or another card.

Is the Onboard card safe to use?

The security controls are ordinary and reasonable: passkeys recommended for login and withdrawals, a 6-digit passcode, Face ID or Touch ID, phone codes for sensitive actions, and an instant freeze in the app. Two caveats. Freeze is not a cancel — pending transactions may still settle and subscriptions keep running. And because this is not a bank, custody arrangements and any insurance are not stated, so what you hold is not a bank deposit with deposit-guarantee cover.

What are Onboard’s limits and complaints?

Spending caps are $5,000 a day and $20,000 a month, with higher limits available on request through support, though the split by verification tier is not stated. On complaints, I found no official material and no body of user reports. The Trustpilot profile for onboard.xyz, read on 20 October 2026, shows 2.6 out of 5 from 4 reviews, all one-star and an unclaimed profile, with complaints about unpaid referral rewards, generic support replies and unclear fees.

Is the Onboard card worth it?

Worth it if you spend dollars, hold stablecoins already, and never need plastic: the first card is free, dollar spending is free, and 1.25% to top up is lower than the 3% I saw quoted elsewhere in this category. Not worth it if you need a physical card, if you live in the United States, if you are in one of the nine Classic-only countries, or if you want certainty about which bank stands behind the card. Before parking a large balance, ask support two questions: who issues the card, and what happens to the balance if the programme ends.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team