A Visa on a crypto balance with a heavy fee schedule — and several things the pages never say
BananaCrystal is a crypto payment card aimed, in its own words, at people who hold USDT and want a Visa they can spend at an ATM anywhere in the world. That is a real need, and for some readers nothing else fills it. But the same pages that sell the card leave several large blanks: no issuer is named, the deposit networks are not disclosed, and the currency-conversion fee for spending outside the dollar is acknowledged in a help-centre heading but never given a number. Read the tier table before you read anything else, because the application fees and monthly limits vary significantly between the entry-level plastic and the top-tier metal cards.

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.2 out of 10
My score for BananaCrystal is 6.2 / 10. That is not a rejection, but it is not an endorsement either. The card does what it says it does — a Visa spendable from a crypto balance, with cash withdrawal abroad — and the everyday-use side of it is the strongest part of the offer. The cost side is the weakest. An annual fee of $100 on top of a $400 plastic card, with a loading fee that doubles as the conversion fee, means the card is expensive before you have spent anything at all.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Advertised as open in “over 200 countries worldwide”; the pages listing unavailable countries did not load, so the exclusions are not fully visible |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | Application fee $400 plastic, $620 Metal Black, $100 a year; loading 3.125% on plastic, POS and online 0.75%, ATM 0.75% |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Funding straight from any USDT wallet, USDT and USDC listed, settled on Hedera; the deposit networks themselves are not published |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Banana Crystal Inc, founded 2020, registered as a money services business in Canada (FINTRAC) and the US (FinCEN); the overseas banking partner is not named; no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Plastic, metal and virtual Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay on the virtual card, ATMs worldwide |
Two groups of readers should look elsewhere, and I will explain why in the alternatives section. But first, the practical sequence: whether you will be issued the card, how to apply, what it costs, how you load it, how you spend it, and where it goes wrong.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, probably — BananaCrystal says it serves “over 200 countries worldwide”, and that is the single most generous eligibility claim of any card in this comparison. The catch is that the fine print is exactly where the useful answers would be. The help centre has article titles for “Countries where our virtual card is unavailable” and “Which countries are restricted for KYC”, but neither page’s text loaded for me. What I could see is only that the starting data marks the virtual card as unavailable in Belarus, Russia and others — an open-ended list I cannot finish for you from public pages.
So there is one thing you must establish yourself before spending an afternoon on an application: whether your country of residence is on that unavailable list. I would put that question to support before you put documents anywhere.
The other gap matters just as much. Whether the rules follow your citizenship or your residence is not stated anywhere I could find. This is not a technicality. Sanctions screening is applied by nationality and country of birth as well as by address, so a citizen of one country living in another can be refused while a neighbour is approved. If you hold a passport that is not the passport of where you live, ask directly which one the card keys to.
No company, register or regulator publishes a list confirming that a card is issued to all 200-plus countries. Treat the claim as the vendor’s marketing and verify eligibility for your own country before applying.
How to get it
The route the card describes is short and familiar. You create a BananaCrystal account and complete identity verification, which it says “typically takes less than 10 minutes”. The documents it lists are a National Identity Card, an International Passport or a Driver’s License. What is not stated is whether you need proof of address, or proof of age, or both — so do not assume a passport is the whole job.
Approval times are the same “typically under 10 minutes” figure. If no email has arrived after 48 hours, the FAQ says a manual follow-up happens. The reasons a rejection might be given are not published. Plan for the possibility that the fast number is the fast case, not the typical one.
Then you choose a tier. There are five:
- Plastic — the entry physical card, capped at $20,000 a month.
- Metal Black — flagged “MOST POPULAR” on the page, capped at $30,000 a month.
- Metal Silver — capped at $50,000 a month.
- Metal Gold — no monthly cap.
- Virtual — $10, issued instantly.
All the physical tiers come with what the page calls an offshore bank account. The virtual card is a different animal: it is the one that works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and it is the one not listed with a monthly cap.
Shipping for a physical card runs 7 to 30 days depending on local couriers. Which countries are shipped to is not stated. There is a replacement fee, and its amount I could not read — worth asking before you need it, because a lost card in a country where couriers take 30 days is a long wait.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section that decides whether this card is a tool for you or an expensive way to convert crypto. The headline: a $100 annual fee, an application fee that starts at $400 for plastic, a loading fee that also acts as the conversion fee, and a 0.75% charge on every point-of-sale and online purchase regardless of tier.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Application fee — Plastic | $400 |
| Application fee — Metal Black | $620 |
| Application fee — Metal Silver | $770 |
| Application fee — Metal Gold | $1,120 |
| Application fee — Virtual | $10 |
| Annual fee | $100 |
| Loading fee — Plastic | 3.125% |
| Loading fee — Metal Black | 2.875% |
| Loading fee — Metal Silver | 2.625% |
| Loading fee — Metal Gold | 2.125% |
| Conversion fee | Equal to the loading fee of the tier |
| POS and online purchase | 0.75% on every tier |
| ATM withdrawal | 0.75% on every tier |
| ATM balance check | May be charged by the ATM’s own bank |
| ATM free allowance | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal under 10 USD balance | May be declined |
| Non-USD exchange fee | Exists per the FAQ heading; amount not published |
| Daily ATM withdrawal cap | Exists; amount not published, linked to a “VIP Bypass” request |
| Monthly cap — Plastic | $20,000 |
| Monthly cap — Metal Black | $30,000 |
| Monthly cap — Metal Silver | $50,000 |
| Monthly cap — Metal Gold | Unlimited |
| Monthly cap — Virtual | Not listed |
Three ordinary payments, and what actually happens to each.
A $30 grocery shop in your own country. You load $100 of USDT. The Plastic loading fee takes 3.125%, so your balance is $96.88 before anything else. The $30 purchase then costs 0.75%, roughly $0.23. Total friction on that one shop: about $3.35. If you were planning to convert exactly what you needed and nothing more, the loading fee is charged on the same money twice — once on the way in, once as the conversion.
A $40 dinner abroad, paid in euros. The 0.75% applies again, but the second layer is the one the pages will not quantify. There is a non-USD exchange fee — the help centre has a page titled for it — and no figure is published. Add also the possibility that the address check fails. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address with the issuer’s records and is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK; it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines at the till. The Metal Gold card does not help here, because the FX fee is not a tier figure.
A $100 cash withdrawal in a foreign city. 0.75%, so $0.75, plus whatever the ATM operator charges for the cash itself, plus a possible charge for the balance check on screen. There is no free allowance published, so I would not plan around one. And if your balance is under $10, the withdrawal may simply be refused.
The pattern to notice is that the higher tiers only ever improve the loading fee — 3.125% down to 2.125% — while the everyday spend fee stays at 0.75% for everybody. A Metal Gold card at $1,120 buys you a 1.0 percentage point improvement on loading and an uncapped monthly limit. Whether that is worth it depends entirely on how much you load.
How to top up
The funding story is short and, on the surface, appealing: you load “directly from any USDT wallet”. USDT and USDC are both listed. Transfers settle on Hedera. A funding page also mentions bank and USDC routes.

Here is the problem, and it is the one I would not paper over. The networks you can deposit on are not stated. This sounds like a detail until you try to move funds. A blockchain transfer is irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success. On Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all. Tron prices transactions with bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — the coin exists on that network, but the issuer’s own support does not.
So before your first transfer, find out three things in writing: which networks are accepted, what the minimum deposit is, and who pays the network fee. The last one is not stated either. None of these are on the public pages.
One more thing about the coins. A stablecoin is meant to hold a steady value, but the name overstates the guarantee — USDC lost its peg briefly in March 2023, and TerraUSD collapsed outright in May 2022. Roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in USDT and USDC, so the two coins this card accepts are the two most liquid ones, which is the strongest part of the funding story.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card is at its best, and the reason my everyday-use mark is high.
You get a Visa, and the page puts it at “80 million merchants worldwide that accept VISA”. The FAQ also mentions UnionPay. You can take cash out at ATMs worldwide. The virtual card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is the practical way to use a card number you do not want typed into checkout forms repeatedly — the token stored on your device is device-specific and each payment carries a one-time code.
Two things are missing that you will notice. The blocked merchant categories are not stated. There is a merchant category code for gambling (7995) that many issuers block on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so you cannot tell from the outside whether yours will work in a betting shop, and you should not assume either way. And rewards on spending are not stated; there is a referral programme, but that is a different thing.
There is no mobile app. The site says “Mobile App support is coming soon”, and the platform is web-only. Ratings are therefore not applicable — there is no app store listing to score.
Online payments may also ask for 3-D Secure verification, where the issuer either approves the payment silently or challenges you with a one-time code. On a card whose issuing institution is not named, that prompt will tell you nothing about who is asking.
What can go wrong
I found no complaints, and no Trustpilot page either, so treat the absence as neutral rather than reassuring. Absence of evidence on a young product is what absence of evidence looks like.
Here is the substance instead.
You are trusting an unnamed bank. The company behind the card is Banana Crystal Inc, founded 2020, registered as a money services business in Canada (FINTRAC) and the US (FinCEN). Card transactions are processed through Visa and UnionPay partnerships with an unnamed “offshore banking partner”. The issuer is not named. In this category that is not a formality. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, which supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its Visa programmes closed. When a programme ends, the sequence is usually a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.
Your balance is custodial. The platform wallet is custodial, not self-custody. The provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. That is a counterparty exposure, and the record of this industry includes Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Transfers into it are irreversible with no built-in recovery.
The card’s own security options are reasonable on paper: two-factor authentication and a lock after three failed PIN attempts, plus the option to request a temporary freeze. The site also claims “military-grade encryption” — that is marketing copy, not a specification, so I would not treat it as information.
If something goes wrong, you email. Unauthorized transactions are reported by emailing [email protected] with your name and card number. Live chat is available to signed-in users only; there is also an option for a personal consultation, and the page mentions “24/7 support”. No time frames are stated anywhere. There is a note that a decline can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven. On a card with a $20,000 monthly cap, a seven-day hold on a large purchase is a liquidity problem, not a detail.
And your taxes are your own. I am not giving tax advice here, only flagging where the friction is: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at fair market value on the transaction date. Every card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. The rules where you live may differ.
What to take instead
Four cards came up in the same category, and the honest comparison is not flattering to BananaCrystal on price or transparency. Note first that three of the four are not confirmed from official pages on several points — I have marked what comes from unofficial third-party listings as such.
| Card | Score | Who it serves | What is officially confirmed | What is not stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BananaCrystal | 6.2 / 10 | Claimed “over 200 countries” | Visa, plastic/metal/virtual, USD, 5% cashback rival below | Deposit networks, FX fee, issuer, replacement fee, shipping countries |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | US consumers in 31 states, businesses in 41 (unofficial) | “No extra fees”; stablecoin-collateral backing; 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber | Card type, card currency, all fee amounts, coins and networks |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Not stated on the official site | Virtual and physical VISA, “over 40 million” merchants; crypto deposit tops up a custodial in-app wallet | All fees, eligibility, whether card cashback exists |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Not confirmed from official pages | “Prepaid Debit Visa Card” issued by Lead Bank; Apple Pay; ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI funding | All fees, card currency, coins beyond USDC |
Where the trade-offs actually sit:
- BananaCrystal is the only one of the four that publishes a full fee schedule, which is oddly the thing that makes it look worst. Whop, Stella and UniFi simply do not tell you what they charge — an omission, not a bargain.
- Whop Cards is the narrowest on eligibility: unofficial listings put consumer access at 31 US states, with Belarus, China (Mainland), Russia, Ukraine and 12 other countries unsupported. Its cashback, currently at Uber with more planned, is the best in the group. It spends from a Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and the coins and networks are not stated.
- Stella scores slightly higher than BananaCrystal and shares the custodial-wallet model, but it is far less documented: no countries, no fees, no rewards on the card page. Its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. If you need a second opinion on this category, it is worth reading their user agreement; I could not summarise what is in it.
- UniFi Card is the most conventional of the four — a prepaid Visa issued by a named US bank, with familiar funding rails and a listing claiming 3% rewards on balances. That claim is unofficial, and the card’s cashback is not stated. Its send-money routes point to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone (unofficial release notes add Colombia, Brazil and the UK).
The pattern across all four: none of them publishes a card-issuing bank partner’s name in a way I could verify, and none publishes its deposit networks. If your deciding factor is not cost but visibility, you are choosing between several thin pages.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card, despite the score, to one specific person: someone already holding USDT who genuinely cannot get an ordinary bank card, and who needs to take cash out abroad. For that person the card’s Visa network reach, ATM access and country coverage solve a real problem, and the absence of a complaint history and the presence of FINTRAC and FinCEN registration are reasonable minimums. The Metal Black tier is the one the page itself flags as most popular, and it is also the point where the loading fee drops below 3% while the $30,000 monthly cap still applies.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true:
- You will convert more than a few thousand dollars a month. At 3.125% loading on plastic, the fees are structurally punitive, and no amount of tier-shopping fixes the 0.75% per transaction.
- You live in or hold citizenship of a country near the restricted list, and you cannot afford to discover the answer after paying $400.
- You care about custody. The balance sits with the provider, the issuer is unnamed, and you cannot check the register for a licence that does not exist.
- You spend in a currency other than the dollar. The FX fee exists and is unpublished, which is the worst of both worlds.
- You are in the EU. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and the transitional period runs until 1 July 2026 at the latest. I have not established what BananaCrystal’s structure means for an EU user, and that is a question to ask them, not one I can answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is BananaCrystal?
BananaCrystal is a crypto payment card that lets you spend a balance funded from crypto as a Visa, in stores, online and at ATMs worldwide. It is run by Banana Crystal Inc, founded 2020 and registered as a money services business in Canada (FINTRAC) and the US (FinCEN). Five tiers exist: Plastic, Metal Black, Metal Silver, Metal Gold and Virtual. The physical cards come with what the page calls an offshore bank account.
Is BananaCrystal a bank?
Not on the published evidence. It describes itself as a registered money services business, and card transactions are processed through Visa and UnionPay partnerships with an unnamed overseas banking partner. The issuer is not named on any page I could read. That distinction matters, because the entity you would hold funds at is not identified in its own materials.
How much does BananaCrystal cost?
The application fee is $400 for Plastic, $620 for Metal Black, $770 for Metal Silver, $1,120 for Metal Gold and $10 for Virtual. The annual fee is $100. Loading runs 3.125% on Plastic, 2.875% on Black, 2.625% on Silver and 2.125% on Gold, and the conversion fee equals the loading fee. POS and online purchases cost 0.75% on every tier, and ATM withdrawals cost 0.75%.
Does BananaCrystal require KYC?
Yes. You create an account and complete identity verification, which the page says typically takes less than 10 minutes. It lists a National Identity Card, an International Passport or a Driver’s License as accepted. Whether proof of address or age is required is not stated. If no email arrives within 48 hours, a manual follow-up is described; the grounds for rejection are not published.
How do I top up the card?
You load directly from any USDT wallet, with USDT and USDC both listed and settlement on Hedera. A funding page also mentions bank and USDC routes. The deposit networks are not stated, and neither is the minimum or who pays the on-chain fee. That gap is the one to close before you send anything, since transfers are irreversible.
Can I use the virtual card with Apple Pay?
Yes — Apple Pay and Google Pay are the payment methods listed for the virtual card, which is issued instantly for $10. The number stored on your device is tokenised and each payment uses a one-time code. The physical tiers do not list wallet support, and there is no mobile app at all: the platform is web-only, with app support described as coming soon.
What are the limits?
Monthly caps are $20,000 on Plastic, $30,000 on Metal Black, $50,000 on Metal Silver and unlimited on Metal Gold. The virtual card’s cap is not listed. A daily ATM withdrawal cap exists but its amount is not published, and appears to depend on a “VIP Bypass” request. ATM withdrawals may be declined if the balance is under $10.
What are the fees for cash withdrawals and foreign spending?
ATM withdrawals cost 0.75% on every tier, the ATM’s own bank may charge for a balance check, and no free allowance is published. For non-dollar spending there is a separate currency exchange fee — the help centre has a page for it — but no figure is disclosed anywhere I could find. Address verification is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines at the till.
Is BananaCrystal safe?
Reasonable minimums, real gaps. You get two-factor authentication, a lock after three failed PIN attempts and an optional temporary freeze. Your balance is custodial rather than self-custody, so you depend on the provider; the issuer and the overseas banking partner are unnamed. I found no complaints and no Trustpilot page, which is neutral rather than reassuring for a young product.
Which countries is the card available in?
BananaCrystal claims “over 200 countries worldwide”, and the starting data shows the virtual card unavailable in Belarus, Russia and others. The help-centre pages listing unavailable countries and KYC-restricted countries did not load for me, so I cannot give you the full list. Whether the rules follow citizenship or residence is also not stated — and that distinction decides the answer for anyone whose passport and address are in different countries.
App and neobank cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
