A self-custody Visa Debit card that spends from your own TON and USDC balance
The Tonhub card is a Visa Debit that draws on a crypto balance sitting in the user’s own wallet rather than on a custodial account at the card issuer. That single design choice sets it apart from most crypto cards on the market, and it shapes every other part of the experience — the eligibility rules, the way the card is funded, the way fees are described, and the way disputes are handled when something goes wrong. I went through Tonhub’s own pages, the supporting materials and the public reports I could find to work out who this card actually serves, what it costs in practice and where the rough edges are. The conditions described here are current as of 2026-10-20.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Tonhub earns 5.3 out of 10 in my scoring. It is an unusual product — a non-custodial Visa Debit that pre-funds the merchant and then debits your on-chain balance afterwards — and that idea is genuinely interesting. The execution, however, is patchy. The card is a virtual Visa Debit only, the eligibility is narrow (EU residents, 18+), the official fee schedule is not published in the form most users would expect, the operator and card-issuing entity are not named on the card page, and the public review record is thin. If you are an EU resident who already lives in TON or USDC and wants to keep self-custody while paying at a card terminal, Tonhub is a reasonable answer. If you want a card you can take to an ATM abroad, get a physical card in the post, or rely on at a shop that doesn’t accept foreign-issued BINs, you will probably end up somewhere else.

| Criterion | Mark | Why I scored it this way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Age 18+ and EU residence only; “25+” countries cited as a usage statistic, not as eligibility |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Official fee schedule not published; unofficial reports put the transaction fee at 1.5% |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | TON and USDC shown on the page, USDT mentioned in user reports; bank transfers via SEPA and SWIFT |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Operator and issuer not named; smart contracts audited by Trail of Bits; a single Trustpilot review scores 3.2/5 and describes a near-two-month dispute with no refund yet |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa Debit only after verification; unofficial reports say Apple Pay and Google Pay work; ATM details not disclosed |
| Total | 5.3 / 10 | — |
In plain terms: the card suits EU residents who already hold TON and USDC in their own wallet and who value self-custody over a polished app and a published fee table. It does not suit people outside the EU, anyone who needs a physical card, anyone who relies on cash from ATMs, or anyone who needs a published fee schedule before signing up.
Will they give you the card
The eligibility rules on the Tonhub card page are unusually narrow. To get a card you need to be at least 18 years old and live in the European Union. The page also mentions “25+” countries, but that figure is presented as a usage statistic, not as a list of places the card is issued. As far as the public materials go, only EU residents are eligible to apply. Citizenship is not discussed separately; the rule is stated as residence, so a non-EU citizen living in the EU would, on the face of it, qualify, and an EU citizen living outside the EU would not.

That matters because a lot of readers asking about cards of this kind are outside the EU — for example in the US, the UK, Latin America or South-East Asia — and a significant share of them will be filtered out before they ever see the application form. The narrower the eligibility, the smaller the addressable user base, and the harder it is to compare Tonhub with the broader crypto-card market on equal terms. In practice, “EU resident, 18+” is a starting condition that already rules out a large part of the audience who would otherwise consider this kind of product.
It is also worth saying what the public materials do *not* tell you. They don’t list the exact EU countries accepted, they don’t say whether the UK, Switzerland or Norway count, they don’t describe different tiers of verification, and they don’t say what gets an application rejected. If you are a cross-border worker, a student, or a recently relocated resident, the absence of a published country list and rejection policy means you only find out whether you qualify by starting the application.
How to get it
The application itself is described at a high level. Tonhub asks new users to verify their identity — the page literally says “Verify Your identity” — and the virtual card is issued once that step is done. There is no mention of a separate application, a credit check, or a waiting period on the public materials. Documents required and address-proof requirements are not stated, and processing time is not stated either. So in practice the journey is: download the Tonhub app, add a wallet, open the Tonhub Card banner and complete identity verification. The card then appears as a virtual Visa Debit in the app.
What you don’t get is a physical card; the product is virtual-only. That has practical consequences — a virtual-only card works for online shopping, for adding to a mobile wallet, and increasingly for in-store payments via phone terminals, but it is useless at an ATM and harder to use in places that still expect a piece of plastic. If a physical card is part of why you are looking at this product in the first place, that is a clear gap.
The card network is Visa, the type is Debit, and the currency the card settles in is not stated. There is no published list of merchant categories that are blocked, no list of supported countries for spending (only for issuance), and no disclosure of which exchange-rate mechanism is used for foreign-currency payments. None of that is unusual for a card at this stage, but it is part of the picture and worth knowing before you sign up.
What it really costs
This is the section of the review where I have to be the most careful, because the official Tonhub materials do not publish a fee schedule in the way most people expect. There is a “Fees & Conditions” section on the card page, but the amounts I was able to confirm are not on it. A “costs” table is helpful here, so let me lay out what is and isn’t known, and where the numbers come from.
| Fee or limit | What Tonhub’s pages say | Unofficial reports |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | not stated | — |
| Monthly or annual fee | not stated | — |
| Transaction / conversion fee | not stated | 1.5% per transaction (Forklog, Nov 2024; same figure in a company profile on dealroom) |
| Foreign-exchange (FX) fee | not stated | — |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated | — |
| Daily / monthly spending cap | not stated; user can set custom on-chain spending limits | — |
| Top-up method fees | not stated (SEPA and SWIFT transfers offered) | — |
| Currencies shown on the card page | TON, USDC | USDT mentioned in a user review |
The most important figure is the 1.5% transaction fee, and the most important thing to say about it is that it is unofficial. The only sources I found for it are a Forklog article from November 2024 and a company profile on dealroom, both of which give the same 1.5% figure. Tonhub’s own card page does not state a transaction-fee percentage, and a “Fees & Conditions” section exists but does not include amounts in what I was able to read. Treat 1.5% as the best public estimate, not as a confirmed rate.
Three everyday payments, walked through
To make this useful rather than abstract, let me walk through three ordinary purchases and ask which fees would apply to each.
Buying a €5 coffee with TON. You have TON in your own wallet, you tap the virtual card at the terminal, the merchant is paid in euros, and your on-chain balance is debited after the network and merchant confirm. The 1.5% transaction fee — if it does apply to small payments the way unofficial reports describe — would be about 7.5 cents. Network fees on TON for a transaction of this size are typically very low, but on a busy day they can spike. If you pay in a currency that is not your card’s settlement currency (the card’s settlement currency is itself not stated, but most crypto cards settle in euros or US dollars), an FX margin may apply on top of the 1.5%. The materials do not break this out.
A €120 supermarket shop with USDC. The same logic: the merchant is paid in euros, USDC is converted at the moment of payment, and the on-chain transaction is recorded. If the 1.5% applies, that is €1.80 on a €120 shop. A euro/USDC spread at the conversion moment is not stated. The relevant thing to remember about USDC is that it is redeemable 1:1 for US dollars, so the conversion is not the issue; what matters is the spread and any fee between USDC and euros at the moment of payment. Tonhub does not publish a figure for that.
A £40 online subscription paid in pounds. This is the case where a foreign-exchange fee would bite hardest, because pounds are not the card’s settlement currency. If the 1.5% transaction fee applies, that is 60p. If there is an additional FX margin — and the materials do not say there isn’t — the total could be 1.5% to 3% or more, depending on how the conversion is done. For a subscription you pay every month, that adds up.
Across all three, the pattern is the same: the headline figure you can find (1.5%, unofficial) is the floor, and the actual cost depends on which currency the merchant uses, what the card’s settlement currency is, and what spread sits between the crypto you hold and the fiat the merchant receives. Until Tonhub publishes a fee schedule, the only honest way to budget is to assume a low single-digit percentage on every transaction and a higher percentage on foreign-currency payments.
How to top it up
Topping up the Tonhub card is a different process from most crypto cards, and the difference is built into the product. Because the card is non-custodial — your crypto sits in your own wallet, not in a Tonhub account — you don’t “load” the card in the way you would a prepaid travel card. Instead, you make sure there is enough value in your on-chain balance to cover the payment, and Tonhub pre-funds the merchant at the moment of purchase and then debits your balance after the network and merchant confirm. If the balance is insufficient, the payment is declined. That is the basic loop.
The card page shows TON and USDC as the assets that work with the card. A user review quoted on the page also mentions USDT, and that is worth treating carefully: USDT and USDC are different stablecoins, with different networks and different issuers, and not every wallet that holds one will route correctly to a card that expects the other. If you intend to pay with USDT, check first that the Tonhub app accepts the network you intend to send on. Stablecoins can be issued on many networks, and a transfer on the wrong network is typically lost, with no chargeback and no recovery.
There are also two fiat rails. Tonhub offers SEPA and SWIFT bank transfers as a way to move money in. SEPA is the standard euro-denominated bank transfer inside the euro area, normally next-business-day and low-cost; SWIFT is the global correspondent-banking network, slower and more expensive, and used for non-euro or cross-border transfers. Fiat top-up fees and minimums are not stated. So if you don’t already hold TON or USDC, your realistic options are to buy crypto on an exchange and transfer it to your own wallet, or to send a SEPA or SWIFT transfer and convert it inside the Tonhub app. The official materials do not say how that conversion is priced.
There is a third piece that is unusual: an “Emergency Withdrawal” feature. The card page says designated heirs can retrieve card-linked funds on-chain. In a self-custody setup the keys are yours, so “heirs” here presumably refers to a process the user sets up in advance. The exact mechanism, the supported networks, and the conditions under which it triggers are not stated, but the existence of the feature is itself worth noting, because very few crypto cards offer anything like it.
Paying with it every day
The card is a virtual Visa Debit. That is what Tonhub itself publishes. A user review quoted on the card page mentions Apple Pay, and unofficial reports (Forklog, November 2024) say that Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. The Tonhub app is where the card is set up — the instructions are to add a wallet, then tap the Tonhub Card banner — and the help center is at help.holders.io, which is a hint that the broader brand operates across more than just the card.
What is missing, again, is a published list of blocked merchant categories, a list of countries where the card is accepted for spending (as opposed to issuance), and any rewards or cashback terms. Cashback is not stated in the materials I read, which I think of as a deliberate design choice rather than an oversight: the card is a payments rail, not a marketing product, and the value proposition is that you can spend self-custodied crypto without giving up your keys. If you want a card that pays you back, this is not it.
Disputes and refunds are described in general terms. Tonhub says “Refunds are issued only for legitimate, verified transactions”, and that the card pre-funds the merchant and debits the balance afterwards. A failed or declined payment leaves your on-chain funds untouched, because the debit happens after the merchant confirms. Chargeback time frames are not stated, and the one public review I could find (more on that in the next section) describes a slow process. So if a purchase goes wrong, the safety net exists in principle but is unproven in practice for this card.
There are a few practical things worth knowing if you intend to use the card in a shop or on a website. A virtual-only card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay, which means you can pay in stores that accept contactless with a phone or watch, and that works in many countries now. Foreign-issued Visa BINs sometimes get extra scrutiny from merchants — that is a category-wide issue, not a Tonhub-specific one, and it is worth keeping in mind if you travel. ATM use is not described, which is consistent with a virtual-only card.
What can go wrong
The honest answer to “is the Tonhub card safe?” has two halves. On the technical side, Tonhub’s smart contracts have been audited by Trail of Bits, which is a well-known name in the security industry. The card is non-custodial, which means your private keys stay in your own wallet, and a Ledger hardware wallet is supported. The card also lets you set custom on-chain spending limits, and Tonhub says every transaction is monitored by anti-fraud and AML systems, with suspicious activity blocked automatically. All of that is reassuring for a product that holds your own keys.
On the operational and corporate side, the picture is thinner. The operator and card-issuing entity are not named on the public card page. That is a meaningful gap: when something goes wrong with a card, you want to know exactly which company is on the other end of the dispute, which regulator oversees it, and what redress you have. Brand references to “Tonhub” and “Holders” are present, but no legal entity is identified in the materials I read. Smart-contract audits tell you about the code, not about the company that runs the service.
The public review record is small. Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from a single review, read on 2026-10-20. That single review is also the most detailed public account of a real dispute I could find. The reviewer describes: two months to submit a card chargeback dispute (filed in early December 2025, won in January 2026, money not yet returned as of mid-February 2026), slow support replies, extra video-call identity checks even after prior verification, and a one-star rating. It is a single data point, and a single negative review is not a pattern, but the description of the dispute timeline is the kind of thing that should make a careful reader pause and ask what their own experience might look like.
The third-party reporting on the card itself is limited. The launch was reported on 8 November 2024 (Forklog) as initially for EU residents, with expansion to other regions planned in 2025. I did not find confirmation of that expansion, and I did not find any 2026 news about the card programme. Help is provided through a help center at help.holders.io; the response time and quality of that support is part of the experience but is not documented in the public materials I could see.
Putting the two halves together, the security posture of the card is reasonable for a self-custody product, but the operational transparency is below what I would want to see. If you cannot find the name of the company issuing the card, you should treat it as one of the open questions you want answered before you commit meaningful funds.
What to take instead
If Tonhub is not quite the right fit — most often because you are outside the EU, or because you need a published fee schedule, a physical card, or a card whose issuer is named in plain English — there are a few alternatives worth weighing. The list below is not exhaustive, but it covers the kinds of trade-offs a reader in this position is likely to be weighing.
| Card | Score | Best fit | Top-up | Headline fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tonhub | 5.3 / 10 | EU residents with TON and USDC in their own wallet | TON, USDC, SEPA, SWIFT | 1.5% per transaction (unofficial) |
| BloFin Wallet Card | 6.9 / 10 | People who want a transparent tiered spend fee and don’t need a published country list | USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base | 1.00% at VIP 0, falling to 0.00% at VIP 5; no activation, annual, issuance or dormancy fees |
| Decaf | 6.2 / 10 | People in the US or in countries not on Decaf’s restricted list who want a Visa with no FX markup | USDC, bank transfer, card, Decaf payment link | Virtual card $5 worldwide; physical $10 in the US, $90 elsewhere; no annual or monthly fee; FX is the standard Visa rate |
| SafePal | 6.2 / 10 | Users who want to convert from 40+ blockchains to USDC at payment | Crypto from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC (default) or fiat on Arbitrum | 0% standard top-up fee; 1% Mastercard non-USD FX fee; refund processing 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNH; spreads on swaps |
A few notes on how to read this. BloFin’s fee structure is transparent and tiered, which makes it easy to budget, and it explicitly says there is no cashback or rebate — the value is in the lower spend fee at higher tiers, not in rewards. Decaf’s strong point is the FX stance: Decaf adds no FX fee, so the rate you get is the rate Visa publishes; the activation and physical-card costs are paid up front, which is a different model from Tonhub’s “fees not stated” approach. SafePal is for users who want to convert from many blockchains, and its Mastercard non-USD FX fee of 1% is a useful reference point for what an FX fee on this kind of card actually looks like.
None of these are exact substitutes for Tonhub. If self-custody is the deciding factor, none of the three alternatives put you in the same position. If the deciding factor is a published fee schedule, a physical card, or a clearly named issuer, all three are likely to be a better fit.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Tonhub card to a fairly specific reader. You live in the EU, you are 18 or older, you already hold TON or USDC in your own wallet, you are comfortable with the idea of a non-custodial card, and you are not put off by the absence of a published fee schedule or a named card-issuing entity. You are paying for self-custody and for the design choice that your keys never leave your device, and you accept that this comes with a thinner published fee table and a smaller public review record than custodial alternatives.
I would not recommend it to readers who are outside the EU, who need a physical card, who plan to use cash from ATMs, who want a published fee schedule before signing up, or who want a card with a long, well-documented dispute history. For those readers, the alternatives in the previous section will be a better fit.
A final, more personal note. I score the card at 5.3 out of 10, and the score reflects the gap between an interesting idea — a self-custody Visa Debit — and the current state of the published materials and the public track record. The product itself is sound; the documentation, the disclosed entity behind it, and the dispute history are not yet at the level I would like to see. If Tonhub publishes a fee schedule, names the issuer, and builds up a public review record over the next year, the score should move. Until then, the right way to think about this card is as a niche product for EU residents who already self-custody TON and USDC, not as a general-purpose crypto card for the world.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Tonhub card?
The Tonhub card is a virtual Visa Debit that lets you pay at card-accepting merchants using a crypto balance held in your own wallet. It is non-custodial, which means your private keys stay with you, and Tonhub pre-funds the merchant at the moment of purchase and then debits your on-chain balance after the network and merchant confirm.
How does the Tonhub card work?
You set up a wallet in the Tonhub app, complete identity verification, and the virtual card is issued. At payment time, Tonhub pays the merchant in fiat, and your on-chain balance in TON or USDC is debited afterwards. If the balance is too low, the payment is declined. SEPA and SWIFT bank transfers are also offered for top-up.
Is Tonhub a bank?
The public card materials do not describe Tonhub as a bank, and they do not name a card-issuing bank or electronic money institution. The brand is Tonhub (with references to “Holders”), and the card is a Visa Debit, but the legal entity behind the card is not stated on the public page I read. Treat that as an open question.
Who owns Tonhub?
Ownership of the operating company is not stated on the public card page. The brand and the help center are run under the Tonhub and Holders names, and the smart contracts have been audited by Trail of Bits, but the parent or operating entity is not identified in the materials I read.
Is the Tonhub card available in my country?
Tonhub’s card page states that the card is available to EU residents aged 18 and over. “25+” countries are cited as a usage statistic, not as an eligibility list. If you live outside the EU, the public materials I read suggest you are not currently eligible to apply.
Does the Tonhub card require KYC?
Yes. The card page includes a “Verify Your identity” step, and the card is issued only after verification. The specific documents required, processing time, and the reasons an application might be rejected are not stated on the public page.
How do I top up the Tonhub card?
The card spends from a balance in your own wallet, so the practical step is to make sure that balance is funded. Tonhub shows TON and USDC as supported, a user review mentions USDT, and SEPA and SWIFT bank transfers are offered for fiat top-up. Fiat top-up fees and minimum amounts are not stated.
How do I add the Tonhub card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
The card page itself only mentions Apple Pay in a user review. Unofficial reporting (Forklog, November 2024) says both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. In practice that means opening the wallet app, adding a payment card, and entering the virtual card details from the Tonhub app. Treat mobile-wallet support as unofficial until Tonhub confirms it directly.
Is the Tonhub card safe?
On the technical side, yes: the smart contracts have been audited by Trail of Bits, the card is non-custodial, a Ledger hardware wallet is supported, and user-set on-chain spending limits are available. On the operational side, the card-issuing entity is not named, and the public review record is a single Trustpilot review scoring 3.2 out of 5, with a multi-month dispute and no refund at the time of writing. So the answer depends on what you mean by “safe”.
How much does the Tonhub card cost?
The official fee schedule is not published on the public card page. The most widely cited unofficial figure is 1.5% per transaction (Forklog, November 2024, and a company profile on dealroom). Other fees — issuance, monthly, FX, ATM, top-up — are not stated. Plan on a low single-digit percentage per transaction as a working estimate, and more on foreign-currency payments, until Tonhub publishes a fee schedule.
Wallet cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
