A virtual Visa you cannot verify
If you are reading this, you are probably in the position the Foton card was built for: you want a card that spends your crypto balance, you do not want an ordinary bank card or a long identity check, and you want it today. That is exactly the promise. The problem is what happens when you start asking the ordinary questions — who runs it, which countries it serves, what its fees are — and the answer turns out to come from third-party card directories rather than from Foton itself.

I give it 4.8 out of 10.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: attractive promise, thin evidence
Let me start with the score table, because a score is a summary and you should be able to see how the summary was built. These are the marks, unchanged, with the reasoning behind each one in plain language.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | The official site was unreachable (403), no country list disclosed; unofficial sources mention US, Hong Kong and Singapore BINs and publish no country list |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficial: issuance $2, no monthly fee, top-up 1%, conversion free, $100 refundable guarantee deposit (another note says top-up is 1.5%) |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Unofficial: USDT on the Tron (TRC20) network only |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer and company not named; Trustpilot 3.5 from 4 reviews: chat does not answer, an alleged $145 complaint (September 2023), deposit not returned |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Unofficial: virtual Visa only, 3D Secure; Apple Pay and Google Pay supported on the English page, not on the Chinese one |
| Total | 4.8 / 10 | — |
Who this suits, plainly: someone who already holds USDT on Tron, wants a virtual card number for online spending, has read the fee list and understands that the deposit is at stake, and does not mind that no company name is published. Who it does not suit: anyone whose money depends on a chargeback being handled well, anyone who cannot lose a $100 balance for a while, anyone in a country that might be excluded later without notice, and anyone who needs a physical card, cash withdrawals, or more than one stablecoin on more than one chain.
I want to be clear about a pattern in this review that matters more than any single fact: almost everything you will read about Foton comes from third-party card directories, not from Foton. Where I say “unofficial” in the sections below, that is what I mean. It is not a nitpick. It means the picture may be a year old, or written by someone who received different numbers than you will, or simply wrong.
Who will they give you the card
The card’s own public pages do not say which countries are served. That is the honest answer, and you should hold it in mind for everything else in this review.
What is circulating outside the card: BINs in the United States, Hong Kong and Singapore are mentioned in a Chinese-language review page on cryptocards.so from 2026, and no country list is published there either. So the practical picture is “somewhere with those three BINs”, which is not a country policy — it is a hint.
There is a second thing to understand before you start, because it explains a lot of the friction you may hit later. The first six or eight digits of every card number are the issuer identification number, the BIN. Merchants can look it up and see which institution and country issued the card. If that country differs from your billing address, some merchants apply extra scrutiny, and some decline the payment outright. This is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in a shop in another, and it applies to Foton just as it would apply to any card issued abroad.
So the practical question “can I get one, and can I use it in my country” has two halves, and Foton answers neither from its own pages. Where you live may not be the deciding factor; where the card was issued, and how a shop’s payment system reacts to it, may matter just as much.
If you are weighing this against a regulated provider, that comparison is worth doing yourself rather than trusting a directory’s country claim. Some competitors publish “200+ countries” on their own site, or state explicitly that they do not geo-block by passport. That difference in disclosure is a fact about the competitor, not a compliment to Foton.
How to get it
Foton’s public pages do not describe the identity-check process, the card form, or the delivery terms. Those are three separate gaps and they all matter, so I will take them one at a time.
On identity checks: a Chinese-language directory page from 2026 lists “No KYC” and marks email, phone, ID, proof of address and selfie all as “Not Required”. This is unofficial. It also sits oddly against how the wider payment system works. Card issuers operate under anti-money-laundering law, and in the EU customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. If due diligence cannot be completed, rules require the institution to decline the transaction or relationship, and where necessary to close an existing one — which is why accounts freeze pending documents.
None of that means a card must ask you for all of it. It means a no-KYC card is unusual, and the absence of a documented policy is worth noticing on its own. Treat “no KYC” as something you have been told by a third party, not something the card has promised you.
On the card itself: the same directory says virtual only, on the Visa network, with 3D Secure supported. It also lists “virtual Visa and Mastercard options”, which contradicts the Visa-only line — sources disagree, and I would not build a plan around either network until you see it on your own screen.
On delivery: not stated, and no physical card is listed anywhere. Combined with the virtual-only claim, the reasonable reading is that nothing physical is coming in the post. If you need a card that goes through a card reader in a shop, this is not it.
Who in the world this card is for
Here is where I would put the pedal down. A reader who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card, somewhere with restricted access to mainstream banking, is exactly the person this product is aimed at — and also exactly the person least able to absorb a $100 deposit that a complaint says was not returned, or a support chat that does not answer. The convenience is real; the protection is thin. If your fallback plan if the card disappears is “ask the operator”, ask yourself honestly whether that plan exists.
Fees: what it really costs
On the card’s own pages the costs are not published. What follows comes from third-party listings, and the figures disagree with each other in places — I have marked where.
| Fee or limit | Unofficial figure | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | $2 | Per a 2026 directory listing |
| Monthly fee | Free | Same source |
| Starting deposit | $100 refundable guarantee deposit | Described as refundable; see the complaints below |
| Top-up fee | 1% | Another checking note gives 1.5% for a USDT TRC20 deposit — figures disagree |
| FX fee | Free | Same source |
| Conversion | Free | Listed as free |
| ATM fee | “Free” | Listed, though the card is virtual only |
| ATM withdrawal | “Unlimited” | Listed, though the card is virtual only |
| Daily spend | Unlimited | Per the listing |
| Monthly spend | Unlimited | Per the listing |
| Decline rate policy | Strict 20% maximum decline rate | Per the listing |
| Tiers | One card listed; “unlimited card issuance available for high-volume users” | Per the listing |
Card currency is not stated anywhere I could find.

Now three ordinary payments, so this stops being a table of abstractions.
A $40 online subscription. If you top up from USDT, you pay the top-up fee on the way in — 1% by one listing, 1.5% by another. Then the conversion is listed as free and FX as free. But there is a chain cost underneath that belongs to the blockchain, not to Foton: on Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy and often burn TRX. And on Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send at all. On Tron, at least, the cost is small — but it is real and it is not in the table above.
A card payment of €30 while your balance is in dollars. FX is listed as free. What is not addressed anywhere is the rate itself. “Free fee” and “no exchange spread” are different claims, and only the first one appears here. The other category I compared against explicitly advertises no hidden exchange spreads, which suggests the distinction is one the industry thinks is worth making.
Anything that gets declined. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7. With a listed decline-rate policy of a strict 20% maximum — which is unofficial and not confirmed by the card — this is not a corner case. Also: address verification (AVS) compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which causes declines. And some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country.
The last line of that table deserves a second look. “Unlimited card issuance available for high-volume users” appears on the same page as the complaints about money not returned. I would want to know who those high-volume users are and what happens when issuance scales and the deposit is a hundred dollars each.
How to top it up
Topping up is USDT on the Tron (TRC20) network only, according to a 2026 directory listing. That is the entire funding picture. Not BTC, not USDC, not another chain — one coin, one network.
This is the single most useful fact in the review, because the network choice is not cosmetic. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. One wrong network, one typed address, and there is no customer service department that can un-send it. Send a small test amount first, check that it landed, then send the rest. That is not a trick around any rule; it is what irreversibility demands.
There is also a stablecoin-specific trap here. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — if you hold USDC on Tron, that is not simply the same thing as USDT on Tron. USDT and USDC are both dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two as of July 2025, but they are separate tokens on separate contracts. And the word “stable” should be read carefully: stablecoins aim to hold a stable value, but despite the name they are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis.
If you were planning to fund this card from a self-custody wallet elsewhere, remember that the transfer is the moment your funds leave your control. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely; with your own wallet, you bear sole responsibility for key loss and for phishing or clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address.
The listing also mentions “fast automated top-ups” in USDT TRC20, and describes the $100 as a refundable deposit to start. It does not say when it is returned, or how. Given the complaint record below, treat the timing as unknown.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where the card is thinnest, and the sources contradict each other on the two things you would actually use it for.
Mobile wallets: Apple Pay and Google Pay are marked supported on the English page. The Chinese page of the same site says not supported. Same site, opposite answers. Until you have added the card to your phone with your own eyes, assume nothing. For what it is worth, adding a card to Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code — a genuine security benefit over typing numbers into websites.
3D Secure is supported. That is the meaningful protection here, and it is worth understanding: it adds an identity check to online payments, where the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you with, say, a one-time code or biometrics. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check. Liability for fraudulent online payments can shift under 3D Secure — though critics argue it can shift to the cardholder, so treat it as a risk assessment tool rather than a shield.
Rewards: no rewards, cashback 0%. No app details and no dispute process are stated.
Here is what a normal day looks like with this card, and where it stops:
- Paying online — this is the design centre of the product, and where 3D Secure does its work.
- Paying in a shop, contactless — possible in principle through a mobile wallet, but see the contradiction above. Card readers in shops are also where prepaid and foreign BINs get declined most often.
- Withdrawing cash — an ATM is listed at unlimited and fee-free, on a card that is virtual. I would not plan on it.
- Playing at a gambling merchant — many issuers block MCC 7995 on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. Not stated here.
- A declined payment — you have a hold for up to 7 days and no published dispute route.
What can go wrong
The complaint record is the weakest part of this card, and it is where I would spend your most careful attention.
Foton’s own pages describe no security policy, no support commitment and no corporate information. The issuer is not named. The company behind it is not named. And on Trustpilot, at 3.5 out of 5 from 4 reviews — with none in the last 12 months and an unclaimed profile — the themes from user reports are: chat support does not answer (September 2023), an alleged $145 taken (September 2023), and scam accusations (September 2023). There are also 5-star reviews from March and April 2024 mentioning timely customer service. A five-star review from 2024 and a one-star review from 2023 tell you less about a product than the fact that there are four reviews in total.
The specific allegation to weigh is the deposit. Listings describe $100 as a refundable guarantee deposit; the Chinese review page and Trustpilot reports both describe an unresolved withheld deposit and unanswered tickets. A refundable deposit is only a real protection if you can get it back.
Let me put this in context, because it is not just one card. Custodial platforms have a genuine record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and the Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk, and these are not theoretical numbers. Card programmes themselves also end: WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes, and in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, with the FTX US debit card being wound down by its issuer. Programme closures typically give notice, then stop spending and loading, then ask you to withdraw remaining balances — one 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026, though that is a single unconfirmed source.
Four risks, then, ranked by how much they should worry you:
- You cannot find out who is behind it. No named issuer, no named company. That is unusual for anything holding your money, and it is the first question to ask before topping up.
- The deposit. $100 described as refundable, with user reports of it being withheld.
- Support. Chat reported as unresponsive. If a transfer goes wrong on an irreversible network, support is the only route back — and that route is exactly what people report as blocked.
- Declines and holds. A listed 20% maximum decline rate (unofficial and not confirmed by the card), plus AVS being generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, plus merchant reluctance to accept prepaid and foreign BINs.
What the protections are: 3D Secure is supported, and tokens can be restricted by the issuer — blocked on magnetic stripe, phone or website. That is the whole documented list.
One more, which is not about security but about fairness: under 3D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, per critics, to you. And on the recovery side, US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If your spend depends on a dispute being resolved fairly, weigh that heavily.
I am not going to tell you how to avoid identity checks or country rules, and you should be sceptical of anyone who offers to. But I will say this: a product that publishes nothing about who issues it is one where the normal consumer protections are hardest to establish, and that is a fact rather than an accusation.
What to take instead
I compared four cards on what each publishes. The scores are mine; the facts underneath are what each one states.
| Card | Score | Card form | Top-up | Fee highlights |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Foton | 4.8 / 10 | Virtual, Visa (sources disagree) | USDT on Tron (TRC20) only | Issuance $2, no monthly fee, top-up 1% or 1.5%, conversion and FX listed free, $100 refundable deposit |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Virtual and physical, on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; currency Naira per listing | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment; an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates and picks the best one; no fee percentage stated |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | Virtual immediately; physical for Bolivian users only; Visa, issued in the US, prepaid, USD 1:1 | Top up from a Takenos balance; coins not named in the article | Virtual $5; physical in Bolivia $20 issuance + $20 shipping (another article in the same centre says $10 — conflicting); 1% commission per purchase; other currencies at the official Visa rate of the day |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual (physical mentioned without detail); network not specified; USD/EUR pegged | USDT on BSC (BEP-20), Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20) and Solana (SPL); USDC “soon”; BTC and altcoins “coming soon” | Issuance $0 or a starting price of $15 for virtual, and a one-time issuance fee in the FAQ — pages disagree; monthly $0; load fee 3%; USD transaction fee 0%; “no hidden exchange spreads” |
Read across the row and you see what Foton’s problem is, in one line: it is not that the alternatives are better funded or better liked. It is that they publish things. Cardex says 200+ countries and names its networks. OkiCard says 150+ countries (some pages say 200+), states there is no geo-blocking based on your passport, requires you to confirm you are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction, and names four networks for USDT plus the fee schedule. TakeCard publishes 1% per purchase, $5 for the virtual card, and the fact that its physical card is Bolivia-only for now.
Pros and cons, side by side
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| $2 issuance and no monthly fee, if the directories are right | The card’s own pages publish no costs, no country list, no KYC policy and no company name |
| Conversion and FX listed as free | Top-up is one coin on one chain; a wrong network is unrecoverable |
| Unlimited daily and monthly spend listed | Unverified merchant declines, with a listed 20% maximum decline rate |
| 3D Secure supported on online payments | Virtual only, with ATM “unlimited” listed for a card with no ATM presence |
| No ID, address or selfie required, per a third-party listing | Same listing contradicts itself on Apple Pay and Google Pay |
| No rewards complexity at all: cashback 0% | Deposit described as refundable, with user reports of it withheld and chat unanswered |
| Official site was unreachable at the time of checking | Unverified issuer, no named company, four Trustpilot reviews in total |
If your priority is choice of network
OkiCard is the one to look at first. USDT on four networks, USDC coming, and a stated 3% load fee with 0% transaction fee in USD. Its pages disagree with each other on the price ($0 issuance, a $15 starting price, and a one-time fee in the FAQ), which is exactly the kind of thing you should ask before sending money — but at least you know which question to ask.
If you need a physical card and are in Bolivia
TakeCard is the only one here with a stated physical-card route, at $20 issuance plus $20 shipping in one article and $10 in another. Everything else about it is narrow: the physical card is Bolivia-only for now, it is prepaid, USD payments are 1:1 with no currency adjustment, and other currencies go at the official Visa rate of the transaction day, with a 1% commission per purchase. Its starting data points — USDC/USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum into the Takenos account — I could not verify, so treat them as a question, not a fact.
If the amounts you spend are in naira
Cardex is the one with a Naira-focused App Store listing and cards on four networks, including UnionPay, which matters in some markets. The conversion mechanism is described rather than priced: it converts in real time at the moment of payment, and it claims to scan global exchange rates and pick the best one. No fee percentage is stated, which is the number you would want.
One last check worth doing before you commit to any of these: in the EU, ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can look a provider up there. Note the limits of that. A card itself is a payment service regulated separately — e-money and payment-services law — while MiCA covers the crypto side of custody, exchange and transfer, so a crypto card often depends on two licences and may appear under a name you did not expect. In the US, FinCEN guidance (FIN-2013-G001) treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while ordinary users buying things are not.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to one specific person: someone already holding USDT on Tron who wants a virtual card number for online spending this week, who treats the $100 as money they can afford to have tied up indefinitely, who has read the “no company name published” fact and decided they are fine with it, and who will keep a working alternative card alongside it for anything important.
To everyone else I would say this. If you cannot get an ordinary bank card and Foton is one of the few doors left, then a closed door with published fees and a named company behind it is preferable to an open one with neither. OkiCard, Cardex or TakeCard may not serve your country and may not fit your chain — but each of them publishes enough that you can work out whether it will. Foton does not, and that is the whole review in one sentence.
The one thing I would not do is put money in ahead of answers. Ask who the issuer is. Ask when the deposit comes back. Ask what happens to your balance if the programme closes. If the answers are not written down anywhere, treat that as part of the product’s design rather than a gap someone will fill in later.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Foton card?
Foton is presented as a virtual payment card that spends a crypto balance — specifically USDT held on the Tron network — converted to fiat as you spend. Unofficial listings describe a virtual Visa with 3D Secure, $2 issuance, no monthly fee and a $100 refundable guarantee deposit. The issuer and the company behind it are not named on the public pages, and I would not treat any of those figures as confirmed by Foton itself.
How does the Foton card work?
The model is a pre-loaded balance: you convert or top up first, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. What makes it a crypto card rather than a prepaid card is the funding side, not the spending side. A standard debit card asks your bank to withdraw funds at the moment of purchase; this one draws on money you have already moved across a blockchain, where transfers are typically irreversible.
Is Foton a bank?
No evidence of it, and the public pages do not say. The issuer is not named, and no banking licence is stated anywhere I could find. What the card’s own site describes about its corporate side is simply not stated — which is a gap, not an accusation, but a gap you should price in before depositing money.
Does Foton require KYC?
Foton does not state its identity requirements. A 2026 directory listing says “No KYC”, with email, phone, ID, proof of address and selfie all marked “Not Required” — unofficial, and unusual for a card issuer operating under anti-money-laundering rules. Treat it as something a third party told you, not something the card has promised you.
How much does the Foton card cost to open and use?
Unofficial figures: $2 issuance, no monthly fee, a top-up fee of 1% (with one checking note saying 1.5%), and conversion and FX listed as free. Card currency is not stated. Start-up needs a $100 refundable guarantee deposit, described as refundable in listings and reported as withheld in user complaints — that is the number to think hardest about.
How do I top up the Foton card?
Through USDT on the Tron (TRC20) network only, per the same unofficial listing, at a 1% fee with “fast automated top-ups”. Send a test amount first and confirm it arrives before sending anything larger. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, and a deposit to an unsupported network or a mismatched address can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
Can I use the Foton card in my country and in stores?
The country list is not published, so I cannot tell you, and neither can the directories: unofficial sources mention US, Hong Kong and Singapore BINs and no country list. For physical purchases, note that merchants can look up the issuer BIN and may decline prepaid or foreign cards, and that address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards.
Can I add the Foton card to Apple Pay?
Sources conflict. Apple Pay and Google Pay are marked supported on the English page of the directory that lists the card, and not supported on the Chinese page of the same site. Add it to your phone and check before you rely on it for anything. If it does work, your card number is replaced by a device-specific number in the Secure Element, and each payment carries a one-time code.
Is the Foton card safe to use?
Safety here is mostly about who is behind it, and that is not published. What is documented: 3D Secure is supported, which adds an identity check to online payments. What is reported: Trustpilot 3.5 out of 5 from 4 reviews, with themes of unresponsive chat, an alleged $145 taken and a deposit not returned, all from 2023, alongside positive reviews in 2024. Custody carries real counterparty risk in this category.
How do I withdraw money from Foton?
The public pages do not describe withdrawal, which is worth noticing if a card takes money in. Listings describe the $100 deposit as refundable without saying how or when, and user reports describe a withheld deposit and unanswered tickets. An ATM withdrawal is listed as “unlimited” and free, on a virtual-only card. Ask what the withdrawal route is before you rely on getting funds back out.
Virtual cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
