A crypto card with no plastic, USD-only spending and a credit line

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Exa card is not a bank card in the ordinary sense. It is a virtual Visa that lives in Apple Pay or Google Wallet, spends US dollars, and draws either directly on a balance you hold yourself or on a credit line secured by crypto you have locked up in a protocol. There is no plastic, no monthly plan, and no cashback scheme as far as the card’s own pages say. What there *is* is a fairly wide country list, one clearly stated fee — 1.5% on anything not in dollars — and a lot the card simply does not tell you.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Exa works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 6.2 / 10. That is not a bad score. It is a card that works for a narrow purpose and is honest about less than half of what you would need to know before you rely on it. Read on if you hold your own keys and want a crypto balance to behave like everyday spending money; stop reading if you need a physical card, a predictable rate, or support in your own language.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Who the Exa card suits — and who it will not

The Exa card is issued in 45 countries (including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, with Nigeria conditional) and in 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. The card states plainly that Russian residents cannot be issued a card, and separately that the card cannot be used for spending in Russia. Spending is also blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela.

One point worth holding on to, because people get this wrong in both directions: the rule is by residence, not by citizenship. Your passport does not decide; where you actually live does. And in the US it is a state-by-state map, which is unusual and worth checking against your own address rather than assuming.

Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 45 countries plus 31 US states, but 18 countries closed, and the list is by residence
Cost 7 / 10 Officially a 1.5% fee on non-USD payments with the credit-opening fee folded into the rate; issuance and yearly fee reported as $0 by a third party
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP as collateral, but no networks named
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Exa Labs SAS with no named issuer, no Trustpilot page, Google Play 2.7 from 58 ratings, and a $7.3M exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay and Google Wallet, no physical card at all
Total 6.2 / 10 A card built for self-custody users spending against crypto collateral

Read that table with the audience note in mind. Exa is not a general-purpose replacement for your bank card. It is a spending front end for people who already hold crypto themselves and are willing to accept the mechanics that come with that.

Who will they give you the card to

Eligibility, in the card’s own terms: live in one of 45 countries, or in one of the 31 US states it covers. The examples the card names — Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa, the UAE — span Latin America, Africa, Asia and the Gulf, so this is not a European-only product even though the underlying protocol has strong European roots.

What is not stated anywhere on the card’s public pages: which specific countries make up the 45, which 18 are excluded beyond the nine named above, and what “conditional” means for Nigeria. If you are outside the United States and the nine countries you can read about, you are guessing. That is a real limitation of the review, not a criticism of the card — it is simply what the pages disclose.

One thing that often catches people out: this is not a US-only product dressed up with a country list. The help centre says the Exa Card is issued in the United States, and a US legal address in San Juan, Puerto Rico, is provided by Rain. The issuer bank is not named. Third-party reviewers report the coverage as excluding 24 US states, which is a different figure from the 31 the card gives — I am reporting both because they are not reconcilable.

How to get the card

The route the card describes is short. You download the app, add funds, and the identity check takes “about 3 minutes”; when you request the card itself, validation is “no more than 3 minutes”.

What you should know before you start:

Not stated: which documents you need, what proof of address looks like, or what age rule applies. If you are weighing this against a card whose website lists its paperwork, that difference is a legitimate reason to pause.

There is a second verification layer that bites above a certain size. Above $10,000 in weekly purchases, an automated source-of-funds check begins: a form plus supporting documents. Raising your limits requires proof of address and proof of funds. Only one validation step is described, and levels are not stated; nor does the card publish its reasons for rejection.

So the honest summary is: on the surface it is one of the faster applications in this category, and under the surface it has a real review process that activates once your spending gets large enough to matter.

Fees: what it really costs

The card is marketed as free and shows no amounts on its pages. What it does state is the one fee that matters most, and then leaves the rest to a help-centre article titled “Exa Card associated fees and costs” whose contents are not published on the page itself. So the picture is: one clear number, several silences.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Exa payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item What the card says Notes
Issuance Not stated officially; a third party reports $0 Unofficial, page updated August 2026
Monthly or annual fee Not stated; a third party reports $0 Unofficial
Currency conversion 1.5% on every purchase in a currency other than USD, included in the rate Official, stated in the card’s own FAQ
Loan opening fee May be charged, folded into the installment interest Official, listed as a fee type
ATM withdrawal Not stated officially; a third party reports $1 plus 0.65%, $250 per withdrawal, four withdrawals per day Unofficial; needs a contactless NFC ATM and a PIN from the app
Weekly purchase limit $10,000 for credit card purchases Official
Daily and monthly limits Not stated The help centre has articles on purchase limits and on how the spending limit is calculated, contents not read
Tiers One card, no tiers or paid plans Official

Not stated: the FX rate itself beyond the 1.5% markup, the conversion cost when you spend crypto directly rather than a stablecoin, ATM fees, and whether multi-currency balances exist. If you are paying in euros or naira, the 1.5% is not optional — it is included in the rate, which means it is invisible on the receipt but always charged.

Now the three payments people actually make, because that is where the fee shape becomes real.

A coffee abroad costing the equivalent of $4. You pay $4 in the local currency. The card converts at a rate that already contains the 1.5%. The round number hides the cost: a $100 holiday’s worth of small foreign purchases quietly costs $101.50 in effective rate, and nothing in the app says so at the till.

A $200 online purchase in dollars. No FX fee applies. This is the card’s best case, and if your spending is mostly online, mostly in dollars, and mostly from a stablecoin balance, the 1.5% simply never enters your life.

A hotel stay or a tip-heavy restaurant. The card states that a purchase is placed on hold at authorisation and settles usually one to three days later, and that the final amount can differ — tips, hotel holds, exchange-rate moves. Add the 1.5% and a hold that resolves higher than the sign on the menu. This is a card where the number on the receipt is provisional.

Top up options

The mechanics are unusual and you should understand them before you send anything. Your funds sit in your own account in the Exa App — self-custody — and the card spends either via Pay Now against your balance, or in installments against collateral held in a credit line. It is closer to a secured credit card with a crypto engine than to a prepaid card.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Exa starts with a transfer to the right network

That network silence has a concrete consequence from the wider category. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support — or to an address belonging to a different network — can simply be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. If the card will not tell you which networks to use, you are the one who has to know before pressing send. Also worth knowing: fees on Ethereum-based tokens are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot move it, and USDC over Tron is not a native option since Circle stopped supporting that route in February 2024.

Paying with it every day

The honest summary is that Exa is a phone wallet and not much more.

Because it is a virtual Visa with an issuer in the United States, expect the usual friction that foreign-issued and prepaid cards meet. A merchant can look up the BIN and see which institution and country issued the card, and apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days.

What can go wrong

Start with the company, because it shapes everything else. The footer reads “© 2026 Exa Labs SAS”. The cards are “issued by licensed third parties” and Exa Labs does not issue payment instruments itself — the issuer is not named. The help centre says the card is issued in the United States and that a US legal address in San Juan, PR, is provided by Rain. So you are dealing with a programme manager fronting for an unnamed bank.

The security story has one genuinely attractive feature and several blanks. The account is self-custodial and “secured with passkeys”, you can add a second account owner, and borrowing and spending run on non-custodial smart contracts. That means a provider failure does not hand your keys to anyone, and your own balance sits with you until the moment of payment. Against that: audits and insurance are not mentioned, and freeze-in-the-app and spending controls are not stated. With self-custody, the flip side is entirely yours — key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps an address you copied. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery.

Then the track record, and here I am going to be blunt about what is and is not established. A third-party aggregator (cryptocards.so, which scores the card 5.7/10) reports KYC failures for users in African markets, especially Nigeria, and no documented support response times. The same source, and another, report a $7.3M exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023 — the protocol that holds the collateral behind your credit line. That is not a small fact to carry. It is also not the same thing as your account being drained: collateral sits in protocol smart contracts, so read it as a risk to the engine the card runs on rather than as a description of what happened to users. No Reddit or Trustpilot reviews were found for exactly.app, so there is very little independent user testimony either way.

Finally, the categories of problem this whole product category generates. In November 2022 Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern — a notice period, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Under 3-D Secure (Visa’s brand is Visa Secure) liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank, or, critics argue, to you.

The general point about BINs deserves a note of its own, because it explains a class of confusing declines: nothing about this is Exa-specific. Merchants can see who issued your card and where.

Pros Cons
Wide coverage: 45 countries and 31 US states Virtual only — no physical card available at all
Self-custody: your keys, your balance, passkey security Networks for deposits are not named, and transfers are irreversible
No stated monthly, annual or inactivity fee 1.5% on every non-USD payment, folded into the rate
$10,000 weekly purchase limit stated Daily, monthly and ATM limits not stated
Card currency is USD, so dollar spending is clean Issuer bank not named; Exa Labs does not issue the card
Collateral model lets you keep assets while spending $7.3M exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023
Fast stated application — about 3 minutes Documents, proof of address and age rules not stated

What to take instead

I am not going to pretend these are close substitutes. They solve different problems, and the comparison is mostly about which weakness you can live with.

Nexo — 6.3 / 10. For residents and citizens of selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom; no country list on the page and excluded jurisdictions not named. Offers virtual and physical cards, issued by DiPocket UAB, and no monthly, annual or inactivity fee — but the virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate, and the physical one is free only with a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier. FX fee 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA, UK and Switzerland, 2% rest of the world, and higher at weekends (0.7% and 2.5%). Cashback exists only in Credit Mode above $5,000 in assets: Platinum 2% in NEXO tokens or 0.5% in Bitcoin, Gold 1%/0.3%, Silver 0.7%/0.2%, Base 0.5%/0.1%. One caution worth repeating: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations, with no official statement about Russians found.

Pay3 — 6.3 / 10. Open to users outside “Restricted Locations” — countries under trade sanctions, export controls or crypto or fintech prohibitions — with the list unpublished and changeable without notice; users must attest they are not a US citizen and not OFAC-blocked. Virtual, physical and mobile-wallet cards on Visa. Issuance starts at $5, card spend from $0.15 per transaction, currency conversion from 1.15%, with foreign exchange, cross-border and foreign transaction fees each up to 3%. Collateral-based, stablecoins or fiat into a multi-currency account. Rewards not stated.

Cardex — 5.6 / 10. “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, with no country list or exclusions published. Runs on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical, card currency Naira per the app listing. Converts crypto to fiat at the moment of payment with what it calls an AI-powered conversion rate; no fee percentage is stated. USDT, USDC and BTC wallets.

Against Exa’s 6.2, the three alternatives score 6.3, 6.3 and 5.6. The gap is noise. Choose on structure instead: Nexo if you want a physical card and live in Europe and can fund a $5,000 balance; Pay3 if you want the widest fee schedule in writing and a physical option; Cardex if your spending is in Nigeria. Exa if you hold your own keys and want the collateral model.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Exa to someone who already keeps crypto in self-custody, spends mainly in dollars, mostly online, and is comfortable treating the card as a spending window onto assets they control rather than as a bank account. If that is you, the 1.5% FX fee never touches you, the missing physical card is irrelevant, and the absence of a monthly fee is a genuine saving.

I would not recommend it if any of these are true of you: you need a physical card; you live outside the 45 countries and 31 states and cannot confirm your own eligibility; you spend mostly in a non-dollar currency, where 1.5% is permanent; you want cashback, a rewards tier, or a phone number you can reach in your own language; or you are planning to lean on chargebacks when something goes wrong.

The unresolved $7.3M exploit in the protocol behind the credit line is what stops me recommending it more warmly. If the collateral engine is central to how you intend to use the card, that is a question to put to support in writing before you lock anything up — and if the answer is vague, use Pay Now against your balance instead of the credit line.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Exa card?

The Exa card is a virtual Visa Signature credit card you add to Apple Pay or Google Wallet. It draws either on funds in your own self-custody account in the Exa App, or on a credit line secured by crypto collateral held in Exactly Protocol markets. There is no physical card, and the card currency is USD. It is issued in 45 countries and 31 US states.

How does Exa card work?

You hold crypto in your own wallet, and the card spends against it — either directly via Pay Now, or in installments against collateral that stays locked in a protocol market while you owe. The card is issued by a licensed third party in the United States, with a San Juan, PR address provided by Rain. Exa Labs SAS does not itself issue the instrument.

Is Exa a bank?

No. The footer names Exa Labs SAS, and the card says instruments are “issued by licensed third parties” and that Exa Labs does not issue payment instruments. The issuer bank is not named anywhere on the public pages. So Exa is a programme manager and front end, not a deposit-taking institution.

Who owns Exa?

The card’s own pages name only Exa Labs SAS, and point to Exactly Protocol for the markets where collateral sits. Ownership beyond that — investors, parent structure — is not officially disclosed. Ask them directly if ownership matters to your decision.

Does the Exa card require KYC?

Yes. Requesting a card starts a validation the card describes as “no more than 3 minutes”, and the site says the KYC check takes “about 3 minutes”. Which documents, what proof of address and what age rule apply is not stated. Third-party reviewers report KYC failures for users in African markets, particularly Nigeria.

How much does the Exa card cost?

Officially, 1.5% on every purchase in a currency other than USD, included in the conversion rate, plus a loan origination fee that may be folded into installment interest. Issuance and annual fee are reported as $0 by a third party, not stated by the card. ATM withdrawals are reported at $1 plus 0.65%, $250 per withdrawal, four per day — also unofficial.

How do I top up the Exa card?

You need funds in your account to enable it. Supported assets are USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP as collateral in Exactly Protocol markets. The networks are not named, which matters because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a deposit on an unsupported network can be lost. No deposit fee is mentioned in the card’s fee list.

Where can I use the Exa card?

The card says it is accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries, as a Visa. Spending is blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela, and Russian residents cannot be issued a card at all. Because the issuer is in the United States, expect occasional declines from merchants that scrutinise foreign-issued or prepaid BINs.

Is the Exa card safe?

The account is self-custodial, secured with passkeys, with an optional second owner, and borrowing and spending run on non-custodial smart contracts. That puts control with you. Against it: audits and insurance are not mentioned, the issuer is unnamed, and the Exactly Protocol behind the credit line suffered a $7.3M exploit in August 2023. You carry the risk of key loss and phishing entirely yourself.

Is the Exa card worth it?

For dollar spending from a self-held crypto balance, yes — no monthly fee, no physical card to lose, and the FX penalty never applies. For anything else, weigh it against Nexo, Pay3 or Cardex, all of which score within half a point of Exa’s 6.2 and answer different questions. If you need cash, a plastic card, or non-dollar spending, this is the wrong card.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team