A prepaid Verve card for naira and USDT, priced at ₦7,000, with most of the details missing
Payrit is a fintech product from Tree-House Nigeria LTD — the company’s own words are that it is “a financial technology company and is not a bank”, working “in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners”. It issues a physical and a virtual card on the Verve and Interswitch networks, and the card draws on a naira balance and on USDC/USDT from the same card. It works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal and Togo. The card is sold at ₦7,000. That is roughly the whole public picture: fees, limits, exchange rates, monthly charges, ATM charges, KYC requirements and even the issuing bank are not published on the card’s own pages.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for it is 4.7 out of 10. That is not a verdict on whether the product works — it clearly does something real, since the app ships cards and the App Store entry shows an active release history through 2026. It is a verdict on how little you can find out before you commit money to it. The thing that decides this card for most people is not the technology; it is that the price list is missing.
Here is what I scored, and why.
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo — a narrow regional list, and eligibility rules are not published |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | “The Payrit Card costs ₦7,000”; the monthly fee and commissions are not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Naira and USDC/USDT balances, one card for all of it; networks and fees are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Tree-House Nigeria LTD, “not a bank”, partners are licensed; the issuer is not named; App Store 4.33 from 3 ratings; no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Physical and virtual card, Verve and Interswitch, POS and ATMs in Africa; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not disclosed |
| Total | 4.7 / 10 | A workable regional product held back by missing disclosure |
Who this suits: someone in the seven listed countries who already holds naira and stablecoins, who wants one card to spend both from, and who is comfortable with a fintech rather than a bank and with an issuer they cannot name. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a predictable monthly statement, published FX rates, a Visa or Mastercard acceptance footprint, or who intends to hold a meaningful balance while reading terms that do not exist in public.
There is a specific audience this is built for, and it is worth naming plainly: West African users spending naira and USDT from a single card. If that is you, this is a category of product that barely exists elsewhere. If you are anywhere else, stop reading — the list of seven countries is the list.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, in the seven listed countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, and Togo. That is the entire stated coverage. There is no wider list, no waiting-list country, no “coming soon” entry in what the card publishes.

What the card does not publish is who inside those countries qualifies. Whether you need a Nigerian address, whether residence and citizenship are treated as separate tests, what age or status thresholds apply — none of that appears on the public pages. This matters more than it sounds, because country-of-birth and country-of-address are routinely screened separately in this industry. Issuers and partners apply their own risk policy to citizenship, not just to where you live, and a mismatch between the two is a common reason for an application to stall.
So my honest answer to “will they give you the card” is: if you are in one of those seven countries and your details are consistent, probably yes, and quickly — the card is produced immediately and shipped rather than issued on a review cycle. But the criteria are theirs and unpublished, which means you find out by applying, not by reading.
That said, the missing part is not unique to this card. Across the crypto card category, KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering and counter-counter-terrorism-financing law, including ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Payrit’s own pages say none of this — not “light KYC”, simply nothing. Treat the absence as unknown, not as permission.
One practical note: prepaid and debit cards in this category are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits. Payrit publishes no tier structure at all, so I cannot tell you whether a higher balance comes with different terms.
How to get it
The path is short, and short paths are exactly why I want to see the fees first. You order in the app: card name, delivery address and primary balance. The card is produced immediately and shipped, with delivery quoted as “5–14 working days within Lagos and most states in Nigeria”. You activate it with the first 6 and last 4 digits of the card plus a new PIN.
That is the whole flow. There is no branch, no interview, no document upload mentioned in the public material.
Three things to check before you start. First, the delivery cost is not stated — only the ₦7,000 card price is, and shipping may sit on top of it. Second, “5–14 working days within Lagos and most states in Nigeria” tells you nothing about the other six countries; if you are in Senegal or Benin, ask what delivery looks like before you pay. Third, the card runs on Verve and Interswitch, not Visa or Mastercard, so you cannot add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay in the ordinary way — wallet support for both is not disclosed. This last point surprises people more than any fee.
The card itself comes in physical and virtual form, on the Verve and Interswitch networks, and spends naira and USDC/USDT from the same card. Virtual access means you can start spending before the plastic arrives, which for a card aimed at people who lack a normal bank card is probably the most useful thing in the whole product.
Fees and limits: what it really costs
This is the section I would read twice if you are considering Payrit, because it is the section that is mostly empty. The card price is published. Almost nothing else is.

- Issued, physical card: “The Payrit Card costs ₦7,000”.
- Monthly fee: not stated.
- Conversion fee: not stated.
- FX fee: not stated.
- ATM fees and allowances: POS and ATMs in Africa are supported, but fees and allowances are not stated.
- Daily and monthly limits: not stated.
- Tiers: none described.
- Currencies: naira and USDC/USDT from one card.
| Fee or limit | What Payrit publishes |
|---|---|
| Card issuance (physical) | ₦7,000 |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Currency conversion | Not stated |
| Foreign exchange | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated; POS and ATMs in Africa supported |
| Daily limit | Not stated |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
| Tier structure | Not stated |
Let me show you what those gaps cost you in practice, because this is a card whose whole value depends on the conversion rate.
Buying lunch. You tap the card and the balance drops by whatever the terminal asks for, converted at a rate Payrit does not publish. If the spread between the rate you get and the mid-market rate is one percent, that is one percent of every meal you pay for this year, taken silently. If it is three percent, it is three percent. You cannot tell from the public pages, and I am not going to guess a number for you.
Paying a supplier in dollars. Here the missing FX fee and the missing conversion fee overlap, and both are unknown, and neither is disclosed. This is the transaction where an unstated fee hurts most, because the amounts are larger.
Withdrawing cash from an ATM in Africa. The ATM allowance is not stated, and neither is the per-withdrawal charge. This is the classic case where a card feels generous in week one and quietly expensive by month three, and the statement that would tell you so is a monthly fee nobody has published.
The honest conclusion: you can budget for ₦7,000 and you cannot budget for anything else. Before you commit, ask support directly what the conversion rate is, what the FX fee is, whether there is a monthly fee, and what the daily and monthly limits are — and get the answers in writing, because “under construction” is what the help centre currently says about itself.
How to top it up
Two balances, one card. You fund the account with any supported currency — USDC, USDT or naira — and spend right away. The card’s own line is the most useful thing here: “Your card works without needing to be prefunded”. It draws on the connected primary balance, in NGN or USDC/T.
That design is genuinely better than the pre-loaded model most crypto cards use, where you convert or top up a fiat balance first and the card can only spend what is already sitting there. Because Payrit draws directly on a connected balance, the card cannot overdraw in the ordinary way. For someone whose income arrives in naira and whose savings sit in USDT, spending from both without a conversion step is the actual selling point.
What is not disclosed is the part that decides whether that convenience is cheap. Which networks the transfers arrive on is not stated. The fees for funding are not stated. Whether a deposit made on the wrong network is caught before it is lost is not stated — and this is the single most expensive mistake in this category. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached.
So the practical order of operations is: confirm the network and the address in the app before you send anything, and keep the amount small on the first transfer. Do not treat a wallet-to-wallet habit from another chain as transferable knowledge here.
One more thing to understand before you top up. Stablecoins are not what their name suggests — despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. When your card draws on USDC, it draws on an asset whose value can move away from the dollar.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a Verve and Interswitch card working across POS terminals and ATMs in Africa, available in both physical and virtual form, spending from naira and USDC/USDT. In its home market that is a decent amount of everyday coverage.
Where it stops is the rest of the world, and the reason is structural rather than a policy choice. A card number begins with an issuer identification number of 6 or 8 digits that identifies the institution that issued it; merchants can look that up and see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and why some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. A Verve card issued in Nigeria has a narrow acceptance footprint compared with a Visa card, and no amount of app quality changes that.
Several standard payment features are simply absent from the public material. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not disclosed. Rewards and cashback are not disclosed. Wallets are not described. How a disputed payment is handled — who you call, what evidence they need, how long it takes — is not disclosed. And Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines; whether Payrit has any arrangement here is unknown.
Two consequences follow. Online payments you would expect to sail through may prompt a step you cannot complete, because 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online card payments and the issuer may challenge the cardholder with a one-time code. And declined authorisations may leave a hold on your funds that can stay for several days, typically up to 7 — so a failed attempt can quietly reduce your available balance for a week, on a card where the limit is not published.
For the moment that matters most: the card does what it is built to do inside Nigeria and its neighbours, and stops there.
What can go wrong
I found no official incidents and no user reports. That is a real finding, and I want to be careful about what it means: there is no Trustpilot page for Payrit, and the complaints record is empty. With a card this new and this small, an empty complaint record mostly reflects a small user base rather than a clean history.
The larger risk is the one you can measure from the pages themselves.
You do not know who issues the card. The company says it is a fintech, “not a bank”, serving customers “in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners” — and the issuer is not named. The distinction matters. In this category, the card network routes messages and sets rules, the issuer is the bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under that network’s licence, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end that markets the card. If you are not told which institution holds your balance, you are not being told who stands behind it when something goes wrong.
Funds held by a provider are not the same as a deposit. Electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. Payrit says nothing about safeguarding.
Programmes close. This is a category with a documented record: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically give notice, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. I found one 2026 closure reported by a secondary source — new loads ended 8 July 2026, spending stopped 8 August 2026 — which I flag as a single unconfirmed source, but it shows the timeline can be about a month from loads stopping to spending stopping.
Your protection on a disputed payment is uncertain. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed, and Payrit publishes nothing about how it handles disputes. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from merchant to bank, or per critics to the cardholder.
Security controls that are published are the good part. You can freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, terminate a lost card and request a new one, and set a PIN at activation. Those are the right tools and they are there.
Support is thin. The card page invites you to “speak with the founders directly” and carries a community link, which suggests a small team. The help centre is marked “Under construction”. Hours and languages are not stated. When the thing that goes wrong is a deposit on the wrong network — and blockchain transfers are irreversible, so no support can undo it — a help centre under construction is the wrong place to be relying on.
The app itself is a modest signal: the iOS app “Payrit” by TREE-HOUSE NIGERIA LIMITED scores 4.33 from 3 ratings, version dated 2026-09-18. Three ratings is not a track record. The release notes show real progress — v3.0.96 (“Feb 5”) “Physical cards are now available”, then v3.0.114 (“Apr 5”) “Payrit virtual dollar and crypto card now available” (the year is not shown on the page) — so the product is young and shipping fast, which cuts both ways.
On regulation, one thing worth knowing generally: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In the EU, a crypto card often depends on two licences, because a card is a payment service regulated separately while MiCA covers the crypto side. That is background, not a judgement on Payrit — but it explains why “which bank is behind this” is the first question to ask of any card in this category.
What to take instead
If Payrit’s gap is disclosure rather than function, the comparison is between cards that publish their terms and cards that do not. Here is where the alternatives stand.
| Card | Score | Networks and coverage | Cost disclosure | Funding | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payrit | 4.7 / 10 | Verve and Interswitch; works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo | ₦7,000 card; monthly fee and commissions not stated | Naira and USDC/USDT balances; networks and fees not stated | Not stated |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores; 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses | Page says “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed | Spends from a Whop balance; pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives; backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated | 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber; payout currency and conditions not stated |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Virtual and physical VISA, accepted at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”; countries not stated; terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates | Not stated; fees “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” | Deposit crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card; in-app custodial wallet | No cashback stated on the card page; the Earn product is separate yield |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid Debit Visa Card issued by Lead Bank; card currency USD; app also supports Apple Pay | Not stated — “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.” | Receive funds via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE); get paid to a USDC wallet | Listing claims “3% rewards on balances”; card cashback not stated |
A few things stand out. Stella scores highest because a Visa network changes the acceptance problem entirely — and it names an issuing arrangement and publishes a user agreement, even if the numbers sit inside it. Whop says “No extra fees” and gives you 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, though payout currency and conditions are not stated. UniFi is the most transparent of the set about what kind of card it is — “Prepaid Debit Visa Card”, issued by Lead Bank — which is exactly the disclosure Payrit is missing, but its fee disclosure is a sentence pointing at a website and its coverage leans on the US.
Two cautions on this table. Most of these eligibility lists are on unofficial third-party listings rather than the cards’ own pages — for UniFi in particular, country coverage is not confirmed from official pages, and the App Store listing mentions send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone plus release notes referencing Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK. For Whop, the basis of eligibility (citizenship or residence) is not stated, and consumer countries listed as unsupported include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam.
And the regional point stands: none of these three is a substitute for Payrit if you are in Senegal and want to spend naira and USDT from one card. Whop is US-state based, Stella routes US and European users through affiliates, UniFi’s rails are ACH, wire, SEPA and SPEI. Payrit is not competing with them so much as occupying a gap none of them serves.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Payrit to someone in Nigeria or one of its six neighbours who holds both naira and USDT, has no usable ordinary bank card, and treats this as a spending tool rather than a place to park money. For that person the design is genuinely good: one card for two balances, no pre-funding requirement, instant freeze in the app, a virtual card usable before the plastic arrives, and delivery inside Nigeria in 5–14 working days. And ₦7,000 is a published, fixed, one-off price — rare in this category.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs to know their monthly cost. The honest summary of the fee section is that one number is public and the rest are not: no monthly fee, no conversion rate, no FX fee, no ATM charges, no allowances, no daily or monthly limits, no tiers. On a card whose entire purpose is converting and carrying value across two currencies, an unstated conversion spread is not a detail — it is the cost.
So: try it with a small balance, ask support the five questions I listed in the fees section and keep the answers, and confirm the network before any transfer. If your income is in dollars, or your country is not on the list of seven, or you need Visa or Mastercard acceptance outside West Africa, one of the three alternatives above will serve you better on published information alone.
The missing information here is not a scandal. It is a young product at an early stage, with an app that shipped physical cards in February and virtual dollar and crypto cards by April. It may well be good. You just cannot verify it from the outside yet, and that is what a 4.7 is measuring.
Frequently asked questions
What is Payrit?
Payrit is a financial technology product from Tree-House Nigeria LTD, which describes itself as not a bank, serving customers in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners. It offers a physical and a virtual card on the Verve and Interswitch networks that spends naira and USDC/USDT from a single connected balance. The physical card is priced at ₦7,000, and the card works in seven countries.
How does the Payrit card work?
You order in the app, choose a card name, delivery address and primary balance, and the card is produced immediately and shipped. You activate it with the first 6 and last 4 digits plus a new PIN. The card draws on your connected primary balance in NGN or USDC/USDT, which means it works without being prefunded and spends both currencies from one card.
Is Payrit a bank?
No. The company’s own description is that Payrit “is a financial technology company and is not a bank”, and its services are offered in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners. The issuing institution is not named on the public pages, and no safeguarding or deposit-guarantee arrangement is described. That is a question worth asking support directly.
Who can get the Payrit card?
The card functions within those seven nations. The specific eligibility criteria within those countries — whether residence and citizenship are treated separately, what documents are needed, what age thresholds apply — are not stated on the public pages. KYC requirements are also not stated.
Does the Payrit card require KYC?
The public pages do not say. KYC rules in this industry require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk, covering things like identity documents, address, date of birth, sanctions screening and ongoing monitoring. Since Payrit publishes nothing on the point, treat the requirement as unknown rather than assumed, and expect to provide documentation if asked.
How much does the Payrit card cost?
The physical card costs ₦7,000, which is the only published price. The monthly fee, currency conversion fee, foreign exchange fee, ATM fees and allowances, daily limits, monthly limits and any tier structure are not stated. The cost of delivery is also not stated. Budget realistically for the card price only and ask about everything else.
How do I top up the Payrit card?
You fund the account with any supported currency — USDC, USDT or naira — and spend straight away, because the card draws on the connected primary balance rather than requiring a prefunded float. Which networks the transfers should arrive on, and what funding costs apply, are not stated on the public pages, so confirm both in the app before sending anything.
Can I add the Payrit card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not disclosed for Payrit, and because the card runs on the Verve and Interswitch networks rather than Visa or Mastercard, you cannot assume ordinary wallet compatibility. Some crypto card providers offer app-based mobile payments instead, but Payrit publishes nothing about this, so ask before you rely on paying by phone.
Is the Payrit card safe?
There are genuine controls: instant freeze and unfreeze in the app, card termination with a replacement request, and a PIN set at activation. Against that, I found no official incidents and no user reports — but also no Trustpilot page, and the help centre is marked “Under construction” with no stated hours. The unpriced conversion rate is the risk I would weigh heaviest.
Where can I use the Payrit card, and can I use it abroad?
The card works at POS terminals and ATMs in Africa, across those same seven countries. Outside that, Verve and Interswitch acceptance is narrower than Visa or Mastercard, and merchants can look up the issuing country and apply extra scrutiny to cards that look foreign. Since it is not a Visa or Mastercard card, I would not plan a trip around it.
App and neobank cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
