A collateral-backed Visa that pays bitcoin back and hides none of its conversion markup — with several answers the public pages never give
The Lava Card is a Visa that spends from a US dollar balance, is secured by collateral rather than by credit, and pays part of what you spend back in bitcoin. It has no annual fee, no foreign-exchange fee and no spread on currency conversion. Those three absences are unusual and are the strongest thing about it. What holds it back is a longer list of silences: the card’s public pages do not say what identity checks it runs, what issuance costs, how quickly a card arrives, which tokens are accepted, or whether Apple Pay works. It scores 7.1 out of 10 — a card that is good to use once it exists in your hand and frustrating to evaluate before you sign up.

This card is aimed at people outside the United States who hold bitcoin or stablecoins and want a normal-looking payment card that converts back to bitcoin on spending. Lava’s terms say you must attest that you are “not a United States citizen” and that you are not on a U.S. sanctions list. If you are a US citizen, the card is not for you and the rest of this page is largely irrelevant to your situation. If you are elsewhere and you have already run into a bank that will not open an account for you, this is worth reading closely — that is the reader I had in mind.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, line by line
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Spend at merchants in 150+ countries; built for people outside the US; no country list is published |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No annual fee, no FX fee and no spread; ATM is 2% with a $1 minimum; the issuance fee is not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Top up with stablecoins or local currency; collateral wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum; specific coins are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer is Third National under a Visa licence; no complaints found; Lava is not a bank, and collateral can be liquidated on a “Liquidation Event” |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Visa, with virtual and physical mentioned, ATM at 2%; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not disclosed |
| Total | 7.1 / 10 |
The weak spot is everyday use, and that is not a coincidence: it is the score most affected by what the card leaves unsaid. The cost score is high because three fees that normally catch people abroad are documented as absent. The reliability score sits in the middle because I found no complaints at all — which can mean a clean record or a thin one — and because the collateral structure puts a liquidation clause in the contract.
Will they give you the card
Yes, if you are not a US citizen, and the card’s own words are unusually broad on top of that. The International Terms ask you to attest that you are “not a United States citizen” and not on a U.S. sanctions list. Beyond that, the terms cover personal, family and household use, and state that the card is intended for people outside the US. There is no published list of eligible countries, and a separate US terms document exists — which tells you the American route is handled separately rather than that Americans are excluded from a global list.
So the eligibility test, as far as the public documents show, is: an adult, non-US citizen, not on a U.S. sanctions list, wanting the card for personal or household spending. That is a wider door than most cards in this category put up. But I want to be precise about what that means, because “wide” and “clear” are different things. The card’s public pages do not state the identity checks it runs, how long verification takes, or which documents you will need. The terms do require that information you give be true and complete, and they exclude anyone on a sanctions list — but that is a legal standard, not a description of a process.
One practical note before you start: your nationality is screened separately from where you live. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy tend to be applied to citizenship and country of birth, not just to your address. If you hold a citizenship that appears on sanctions lists — including lists other than the US one — expect friction that has nothing to do with your address.
The card is described as a “secured” card: it spends from a USD balance and, in Lava’s words, does not offer unsecured credit. The terms also call it a Visa credit card. Both descriptions can be true at once if you read “credit card” as the network product type and “secured” as the funding model — the money is yours, held as collateral, and the issuer stands to be paid from it. What that structure does is make the no-overdraft property close to absolute. Lava states there is no fixed spending limit because the limit follows the US dollar value of your collateral or available balance, and that it can be changed or reduced to $0 at any time. “No minimum spend” is stated too. For someone who has been declined elsewhere, a balance you control is a more honest promise than a credit line.
How to get it
The card is called the Lava Card, and it is meant to be spent at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries. That figure is the acceptance claim; Visa acceptance is broad, so the more useful number for you is the 150+ countries rather than the merchant count. The card network is Visa. Both virtual and physical cards are mentioned in the terms, along with replacements issued through your Lava account — but the card’s pages do not state which format you actually receive by default, so I would plan for the possibility of choosing, and for the possibility of asking.
Beyond that, the signup details you might expect to find are absent. The public pages do not state what documents are needed, how long approval takes, whether verification is tiered or what the tiers are, what the issuance fee is, how long delivery takes, which countries it ships to, what delivery costs, or what a replacement costs. The terms mention replacements being issued through the Lava account, which tells you the path exists without telling you the price.
I will not invent a step-by-step signup flow here, partly because I could not read one and mostly because it would be guesswork presented as guidance. What I can tell you is the shape of the decision: you will need to give true and complete information, you will be attesting to your non-US citizenship, you will want a collateral position ready on one of the supported networks before the card is useful, and you should expect to ask the questions below in writing — because the answers may exist in a support channel rather than on a page.
- Who is the issuing entity on my account, and where is it regulated?
- What identity documents do you need, and how long does verification take?
- What does the card cost to issue, and what does a replacement cost?
- Do you issue a physical card, a virtual card, or both, and how long does delivery take?
- Which stablecoins and which networks can I actually send funds on?
What it really costs: Fees
This is where Lava is strongest, and also where one number is missing. Stated plainly: “no annual fees”, “no FX fees, and no FX spread”, and no exchange fees or spread on buying or selling bitcoin on Lava’s own page. Non-US-dollar transactions are described as 0% FX fee, 0% cross-border fee and “zero spread” on foreign currency. The card spends from a USD balance, and multi-currency balances are not stated.

| Fee or limit | What Lava states |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | No annual fees |
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| FX fee | No FX fees, and no FX spread |
| Cross-border fee | 0% on non-USD transactions |
| Conversion spread | Zero spread on foreign currency |
| Bitcoin buy/sell | No exchange fees or spread |
| ATM | 2% with a $1 minimum |
| Daily spending limit | No fixed limit; follows the USD value of collateral or available balance, can be changed or reduced to $0 at any time |
| Monthly spending limit | Not stated |
| Cash limit | Not stated |
| Free ATM allowance | Not stated |
Three everyday payments, to make the numbers concrete. A coffee in Lisbon costs three euro on your statement: 0% FX fee, no cross-border fee, zero spread, so the amount in US dollars is the amount the merchant asked for. A month of groceries in Tokyo, say eight hundred dollars in total, works the same way — the conversion is the conversion rate and nothing is layered on top. A two-hundred-dollar ATM withdrawal in Mexico costs two percent of two hundred dollars, four dollars, subject to the one-dollar minimum; the flat fee on a smaller withdrawal, twenty dollars out, is still one dollar.
The ATM line deserves a second look because the card’s documents are not consistent about it. The International Terms say ATM usage is 2% with a $1 minimum. A separate Lava page says ATM withdrawal is fee-free in all 50 US states. Those two statements can both be true — the US page may be describing a US-specific context — but as a reader outside the US, the International Terms are the document that names you, so I would budget the 2% and treat the fee-free claim as unconfirmed outside the United States. The free allowance and the cash limit are not stated anywhere I could find.
The issuance fee is the gap that stops this section from being a clean recommendation. “No annual fees” tells you the running cost. It does not tell you what you pay to get the card, and for a one-off payment card that figure matters as much as the annual one. Everything else in this table is either zero or disclosed; one number is simply absent.
How to Top up
You have four documented routes, and they are not all the same kind of thing. Deposits can be made in local currency or in stablecoins — the Global Money Movement section of the terms is where the local-currency option appears. A stablecoin transfer is described as instant and available 24/7. A bank transfer from a local bank account is allowed. Direct deposit is allowed. And there is a fourth route that is not a top-up at all: borrowing US dollars against your bitcoin through BLOC, which runs on separate terms with fixed rates from 6.50% to 8.50%.

Lava describes the funding as having “no hidden fees”. The deposit fee and the minimum top-up are not stated.
The collateral wallet sits on a Supported Blockchain, and the terms name four: Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum. The specific coins you can deposit as collateral are not named in the terms. This is a bigger gap than it sounds, because the choice of network is the difference between a successful deposit and a lost one.
Here is the practical trap. A stablecoin transfer is irreversible. If you send on a network Lava does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Nothing on Lava’s public pages tells you which networks to use for which asset, so the network list has to come from support before you transfer, not after. If you are transferring ERC-20 tokens on Ethereum, note that gas is paid only in ETH — a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send. The four supported networks use different fee models: Ethereum charges gas, while Tron prices with bandwidth and energy and often burns TRX. Tether has issued USDT on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others, and Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
None of those network facts come from Lava’s pages; they are properties of the assets and chains, and they are why “which network” is the question to ask support rather than the question to guess at. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Lava.
Paying with it every day
The rewards are the headline, and the headline is “up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase”. Broken down, per a Lava comparison article: 5% bitcoin back at partner merchants, 3% on other purchases in the US, and 1% for non-US cardholders. Partner merchants are the ones that carry the 5%; a Lava announcement added Starlink and Discord as partner merchants, undated. Some merchants and categories are ineligible. Rewards are issued once a transaction settles, with a 100,000-satoshi minimum to redeem, again per that announcement.
The Visa benefits included on the card are worth knowing because they come with the network rather than the crypto part: purchase protection up to $20,000, extended warranty up to $25,000, global auto rental insurance, travel accident insurance and lost luggage insurance. On a card with no unsecured credit, benefits like these are what makes it feel like a normal card rather than a spending wallet with a number on it.
The app is on mobile and web. The site’s own App Store and Google Play links are not present; an unofficial third-party aggregator, App Pricing Lab, shows a listing titled “Lava: Secure Bitcoin Loans” at 4.8 out of 5 from 132 reviews, with data updated 2026-02-16. That is a lending app listing, not the card page, so treat the rating as a weak signal rather than a verdict on the card. Whether Apple Pay, Google Pay, blocked merchant categories or in-app card controls are supported is not stated.
If you are ever in a dispute, the route is set out. Report a disputed charge within 60 days after it posts to your statement, try the merchant first, and a chargeback resolved in your favour is credited to a current or future statement. Card issues go to the issuer through the cardholder agreement channels. Support is described as 24/7 US-based, at [email protected] or (347) 588-9745, “directly connected to a real human”, alongside 24/7 Visa customer service.
Two practical notes on everyday use, from the category rather than the card. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business under ISO 18245, assigned when a business starts accepting cards — MCC 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list differing between issuers. And declines happen: an address verification check compares numeric parts of the billing address against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A prepaid or foreign BIN can also be refused outright, because the merchant can look up the BIN and see which institution and country issued the card. A declined authorisation may leave a hold that stays for several days, typically up to seven. None of that is a Lava problem specifically; it is what using a card across borders means.
What can go wrong
Start with the collateral, because it is the part that is specific to this card. Lava is not a bank — the company says so itself. Your collateral is held in a wallet on a Supported Blockchain, and the terms describe a “Liquidation Event”: payment unpaid for one calendar day, or collateral falling below charges. On a Liquidation Event the collateral can be liquidated. That is the single most important sentence in this review for anyone whose income is irregular or who might miss a payment by a day: the mechanism that makes this card feel safe in normal use is also the mechanism that can sell your position when you are short. Cash advances and balance transfers are not available, and the issuer may suspend or cancel the account at any time; closure does not cancel repayment obligations, though prepayment carries no penalty. How you would withdraw your US dollar balance back to crypto or to a bank account is not stated.
Next, the custody question. Lava says it does not rehypothecate — “We don’t trade, lend out, or otherwise use your funds” — and describes infrastructure that “minimizes trust and eliminates single points of failure”. It offers passkeys, account controls and a daily spending limit settable in the app. Insurance on the balance is not stated. Set against that: custodial platforms have a real record of failure. Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk no matter how the collateral is worded.
The company layer is thin on the public page. “Lava” is the name; the legal entity, issuer and licences are not named on the homepage. The terms do name the issuer: Third National, under a licence from Visa, at 2100 Southbridge Pkwy STE 650, Birmingham, AL 35209. Governing law is Puerto Rico, with arbitration in New York. If you have a dispute, that is the counterparty and the forum you are signing up for — worth knowing before you sign, not after.
Complaints are the one place I found a genuine absence of information rather than an absence of problems. No official incidents were found. No user reports or news complaints were found. No Trustpilot page, Reddit threads or card-specific complaints were found. That is a clean result and also an uninformative one — a card with very few users will produce very few complaints, and I would not treat silence as evidence of a long track record. Coverage that does exist: the launch of the Lava Card as a Visa credit card was covered by Bitcoin Magazine.
Where Lava sits in the wider regulatory picture is worth understanding, because it explains the shape of the product. Lava is a brand and programme front-end; the network is Visa; the issuer is a licensed institution. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa said in November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads end on 8 July 2026 and spending stop on 8 August 2026; that is a single unconfirmed source, but the shape of it is what a Lava user would experience if the programme ever ended.
In the EU, the crypto side runs through MiCA, Regulation (EU) 2023/1114, which ESMA says took legal effect in June 2023; rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. E-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The MiCA transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers, white papers and non-compliant entities that you can check. The card itself is a payment service regulated separately — a crypto card often depends on two licences. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people buying goods or services are not.
Two things to hold in mind from the category. A stablecoin is meant to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable”: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. If your funding route depends on a single stablecoin, you are taking that risk without being told about it here.
And a note that will not please anyone but belongs here: if you are in the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the transaction date. For personal holdings the result is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held a year or less. Each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. That is a matter for a tax professional in your own jurisdiction, not for me.
What to take instead
Four cards sit in the comparison set, and none of them scores higher than Lava. That is worth saying plainly: Lava is the strongest of the four on the criteria that matter most to someone spending abroad.
Gemini (4.9 / 10) is a Mastercard World Elite credit card with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fees. Because it is a credit card rather than a prepaid card, crypto conversion is not applicable — you pay it off in fiat and the rewards are paid in crypto: gas, EV and transit at 4% on the first $300 a month, dining 3%, groceries 2%, everything else 1%, paid instantly in bitcoin or in one of 50-plus cryptos on Gemini, changeable at any time, with 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants that are capped and vary. Referral terms are $50 in crypto each, $250 per five referrals, up to 50 a year. If you have normal access to credit and want a conventional card that pays crypto back, this is the cleaner product. Who can get it is not stated on the card page.
Based Visa Card (6.9 / 10) is the closest competitor to Lava and the one to look at hardest if you want a modern crypto card with disclosed fees. It is a Visa debit card available worldwide except a published list effective 1 August 2026 that includes the Russian Federation, Belarus, the United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, Ukraine, Iran, Turkey and others — about 74 countries — and availability depends on your country of residence. Three tiers: Based Orange is virtual only (not yet available) with a 2.5% FX markup; HYPE has an instant virtual card and a physical plastic card, $50 shipping, 1.5% FX markup and 2% cashback in $BASED capped at $20 a month; Based Gold is a 20g metal card with free shipping, 0% FX markup and 4% cashback capped at $100 a month. Deposits in USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE or BASED carry no added fees, with docs listing Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon and Hyperliquid, and auto-conversion at the point of sale. AI subscription rebates go up to $10 a month on HYPE or $100 on Gold, entertainment rebates up to $20 on Gold — and all benefits end when you begin unstaking.
Trastra (4.1 / 10) is available in 31 listed countries including Germany, France and the UK, says it will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area, and for non-European residents says “Not at the moment”. The rule appears residence-based. It is a prepaid debit card accepted at Visa merchants worldwide, topped up using cryptocurrencies in a Mover wallet, with the coins and networks not named. Costs, fees and rewards are not stated on the page.
| Lava | Based | Gemini | Trastra | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 7.1 / 10 | 6.9 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.1 / 10 |
| Network | Visa | Visa debit | Mastercard World Elite | Visa |
| Model | Secured, collateral-backed | Prepaid debit | Credit card | Prepaid debit |
| Annual fee | None | None | None | Not stated |
| FX | No fee, no spread | 0% to 2.5% by tier | No foreign transaction fee | Not stated |
| Availability | No country list; non-US citizens | About 74 countries excluded | Not stated | 31 countries; EEA rollout stated |
| Rewards | Up to 5% bitcoin back | 2%–4% in $BASED | 1%–4% by category | Not stated |
Reading that table honestly: Based is more transparent than Lava. Every percentage it charges is published, its country list is published with a date, its networks are documented and its tiers are clear. Lava’s advantage is the flat absence of FX cost across every transaction and the simplicity of one collateral-backed model — and Based’s 0% FX tier is only available on the metal card, while HYPE costs 1.5% and Orange 2.5%. If FX cost is the thing that has hurt you most, Lava is the better answer; if predictability of terms and knowing exactly what you are signing up for is the thing, Based documents more.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Lava to someone outside the US who already holds bitcoin or a stablecoin, has a genuine reason a normal bank card is awkward or unavailable, and travels or spends across borders often enough that a 2% ATM fee is a line item rather than a disaster. For that person the no-FX-fee, no-spread structure is the best in this comparison, the bitcoin back is real money returned, and the collateral model means the card cannot overdraw.
I would not recommend it to someone who needs a credit line, who wants cash advances or balance transfers, who cannot tolerate a liquidation clause in the terms, or who wants to know the issuance fee, the KYC process and the Apple Pay answer before they commit. I would also be cautious if your balance depends on a single stablecoin, or if you are a US citizen, or if your citizenship appears on any sanctions list. And if your main worry is whether the card will be there in three years, this one scores well but not perfectly — the issuer is a licensed Visa partner and Lava is not a bank, which cuts both ways.
Before you sign up, ask support the four questions I could not answer from the public pages: the issuance fee, the KYC documents and timing, the exact stablecoins and networks accepted for deposits, and whether Apple Pay and Google Pay work. Their answers will tell you more about how much this card has settled into its product than any score.
Frequently asked questions
What is Lava Card?
Lava Card is a Visa payment card that spends from a US dollar balance and is secured by collateral rather than credit. Lava describes it as a secured card that does not offer unsecured credit, while the terms also call it a Visa credit card. You can spend at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries, both virtual and physical cards are mentioned, and part of what you spend comes back in bitcoin.
How does Lava Card work?
You load or borrow US dollars, and the card spends from that balance. If the money comes from crypto, crypto is converted into fiat value first. Deposits can be in local currency or stablecoins, and collateral sits in a wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum. Spending is capped by the dollar value of your collateral, so the card cannot overdraw.
Is Lava a bank?
No — Lava says so itself. The issuer is Third National, which holds the programme under a licence from Visa, at 2100 Southbridge Pkwy STE 650, Birmingham, AL 35209. Governing law is Puerto Rico and arbitration is in New York. Lava is the brand and front-end; the bank-like entity behind the card is the issuer.
Who can get a Lava Card?
The International Terms ask you to attest that you are “not a United States citizen” and not on a U.S. sanctions list, and the card is intended for personal, family and household use by people outside the US. No list of eligible countries is published, and a separate US terms document exists. Identity documents and verification timing are not stated on the public pages.
How do I top up the Lava Card?
Four routes are documented: a stablecoin transfer, described as instant and 24/7; a bank transfer from a local bank account; direct deposit; or borrowing US dollars against bitcoin through BLOC on separate terms with fixed rates from 6.50% to 8.50%. The deposit fee and the minimum top-up are not stated. Ask support which networks to use before sending anything, because transfers are irreversible.
What does Lava Card cost?
Lava states no annual fees, no FX fees, no FX spread and no cross-border fee on non-US-dollar transactions, plus zero spread on foreign currency and no exchange fees or spread on buying or selling bitcoin on its page. ATM withdrawals are 2% with a $1 minimum under the International Terms. The issuance fee is not stated anywhere on the public pages.
Is Lava Card safe?
Lava says it does not rehypothecate, that it does not trade or lend out your funds, and that it offers passkeys and a daily spending limit in the app. Insurance on the balance is not stated. Because Lava is not a bank and your collateral sits on-chain, you carry counterparty and smart-contract risk as well as the liquidation clause in the terms. Read that clause before you fund it.
Can I add the Lava Card to Apple Wallet?
The card’s public pages do not say. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not disclosed, and blocked merchant categories are not listed either. Rather than assume it works, ask support directly — if you rely on a phone for payments, that answer matters more to you than most of the ones above.
Can I withdraw money from the Lava Card?
Cash advances and balance transfers are not available. The card is secured by your collateral, the issuer may suspend or cancel the account at any time, and how to withdraw your US dollar balance back to crypto or to a bank account is not stated on the public pages. Ask support how withdrawal works before you load a balance you might want out again.
Are there Lava Card complaints?
I found none — no official incidents, no user reports or news coverage of complaints, and no Trustpilot page, Reddit threads or card-specific complaints. That is a clean record and also a thin one, since a card with a small user base produces few complaints either way. The one notable coverage is Bitcoin Magazine’s write-up of the card’s launch.
Credit and cashback cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
