I read the KuCard terms and fee schedule so you don't have to
KuCard is a Visa card that spends a crypto balance instead of a bank account. That sounds simple, and in everyday use it mostly is: you pay in euros, the card pays you in euros, and the crypto side sits quietly underneath until you want to move money or something goes wrong. The card is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia and the platform is KuCoin, which is the single fact that explains most of what follows, both the good and the awkward.

I gave it 6.0 out of 10. That is not a rejection. It is the score of a card that works as advertised and then stops talking at exactly the points where you would want it to speak: how much can I spend, which coin do you accept, what happens to my balance if I close this, how much of my money is in a spread nobody will name. It suits one reader in particular, and that is the person who already has a verified KuCoin EU account and a crypto balance they want to spend without first converting it themselves. It suits you poorly if you need an ordinary payment card with predictable statements, or if you live outside the European Economic Area, or if you want to be able to say what the cost of a purchase will be before you make it.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Citizens and residents of the EEA plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway; not available in Malta |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | First virtual card free, further ones €9.99, physical €9.90 for the first; euro payments free, other currencies 2%, ATM in Europe €2 |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The main source is cryptocurrency held in the KuCard account, USDT by default; the list of coins and networks is not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issued by Wallester AS (Estonia, supervised by the Estonian FSA); almost no complaints about the card, one card-specific Trustpilot review, while complaints about the KuCoin exchange touch withdrawal limits |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Visa, virtual immediately and physical Chip&Pin; unofficial sources say Apple Pay and Google Pay work; ATM €2; the virtual card expires at the end of the month |
| Total | 6.0 / 10 |
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Read the last row of the top-up line again, because it is the weakest part of the whole card. A card that costs you 2% when you spend in a currency other than the euro is not unusual; a card that will not tell you which coins and which networks it accepts is a different thing. You can still use it. You just have to find out by trying.
Who can get the card
The rule is short and it is strict: only citizens and residents of the European Economic Area, and the card needs an ID issued in the EEA. The permitted jurisdictions listed in the terms are the EU member states plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. The help page adds one exclusion, Malta, where the card is not available. So the full map reads: the EEA, plus those three, minus Malta.
You may be reading this from somewhere else entirely. If you are outside that area, the answer to “is KuCard available in my country” is no, and it is not a soft no that a friendly support agent might work around. The terms are written as an eligibility rule, not as a preference list. There is no suggestion that a second residence, a different address or an international student status changes it; the requirement is EEA citizenship or EEA residence, and the document has to come from the EEA.
One thing worth separating in your head: the card is not opened on its own. It lives inside a KuCoin EU account, and the account itself sits behind a separate verification process. So the geography does not apply once, it applies twice, in sequence — first KuCoin decides whether it will have you as a customer in your country, and then the card rules apply on top. If you are reading this because you have never been able to open a normal bank account, that is the real question behind the question, and I will come back to it in the risks section rather than pretend the card solves it.
What the card is, in one line: a Visa debit card, available as a virtual card you can use immediately and as a physical card with a chip and a PIN. The virtual one is disposable in a literal sense, which I come back to below. The maximum is five cards per person.
How to get it
The route is three steps and it is not a separate application form. First you need a valid KuCoin EU account. Then you complete full KYC with a supported EEA-issued identity document, verify your address, and be at least 18. Then, inside the platform, you apply for either a virtual or a physical card.
That middle step is where applications get refused, and the terms list the reasons, which is unusually helpful. An invalid phone number. A wrong name or date of birth typed into the form. An invalid 3-D Secure password. Not enough balance to cover the card fee. And risk control, which is the vague one — the refusal you cannot argue with from the outside.
There is one level of verification, not several. One document type, one address check, one age requirement. I could not find a stated processing time, so I will not invent one; what I can tell you is that a virtual card is described as usable at once, which is the practical difference that matters.
The physical card arrives by post to the address you gave (the terms, section 5.5), and you activate it in the KuCoin site or app rather than in any postal letter, as far as the terms describe. Delivery has one named option with a price: Express Card Delivery at €30 per card. Replacing a card is €9.90. The standard delivery time and standard delivery cost are not stated, and since KuCard only ships inside the EEA excluding Malta, I would treat “how long will it take and what will it cost” as a question worth asking before you order rather than after.
One thing to note about the virtual card’s lifetime: it expires at the end of the month and must be reapplied. Not after a year, not after a rolling year — end of month. That shapes how you would use it, which I cover later.
What it really costs: Fees
Here is the honest version: the euro costs are clear, the non-euro costs are clear, and everything about limits and several fees is not on the public pages. The terms refer to a Fee Schedule; where the schedule is not shown on the public pages, I say so rather than filling the gap.

| Fee or limit | What it says |
|---|---|
| First virtual card | Free |
| Each further virtual card | €9.90 on the fee schedule, €9.99 in an older support article |
| Physical card | €9.90 for the first, €19.90 as written in an ambiguous line |
| Replacement card | €9.90 |
| Cancelling a card | Free |
| Express card delivery | €30 per card |
| Euro transactions | Free |
| Non-euro transactions | 2% of the transaction total |
| Declined payment (insufficient funds) | Free |
| Overdraft | Not available |
| ATM withdrawal inside Europe | €2 per withdrawal |
| ATM withdrawal outside Europe | 2% of the transaction total plus €2, and ATM operators may add their own fees |
| Extra charges the terms flag | Local fees, third-party fees, network fees, a conversion spread, and IOF fees may apply |
| Refunds | Paid in euros, fees not refundable |
| Spending and ATM limits | Figures not stated; the terms point to a FAQ and say the issuer may set daily limits |
Now three everyday payments, because a percentage means nothing until you see it land.
Coffee in Berlin, card paying in euros. No fee. The euro conversion is free, and if your balance is already in euros the conversion question does not arise.
A hotel in Tokyo, card paying in yen. Two per cent of the transaction total. On a €400 room that is €8, on top of whatever the spread turns out to be. The 2% is stated. The spread is named as a possibility and not quantified, which is the part I would ask about.
Withdrawing 200 euros at an ATM in Madrid (this figure is illustrative and not confirmed by the card). €2. And the operator’s own surcharge may add to it.
The refunded payment is a small case that shows how the accounting works. Refunds come back in euros, valued at the euro amount at the time of the transaction, and fees are not returned. So a payment you made and then reversed still costs you the fee. That is a normal way for card schemes to work, but it is the kind of thing that only shows up if you read the terms rather than the summary.
The two numbers for the same fee are worth pausing on. The fee schedule says €9.90 for each further virtual card; an older support article says €9.99. The physical card line reads €9.90 for the first and €19.90, which as written is ambiguous. The fee schedule page was shown as last updated on 29 September 2026, so it is the newer of the two, but I would not build a calculation on nine cents of difference. I mention it because a card that publishes two prices for the same thing is telling you something about how much attention the rest of the disclosure gets.
Two limits are simply not there. The terms do not state daily spending limits or ATM allowances; they say the issuer may set daily limits and point you to a FAQ. An unofficial source reports that KuCoin does not publish one universal KuCard spending and ATM limit table, which is consistent with the terms. So treat your actual limits as unknown until you have the card in hand and have tried.
How to Top up the card
The funding model is a balance, and the balance is where the card gets thin. The primary and essentially only documented source of money is supported cryptocurrency held in the KuCard account, with the default spending currency USDT. That is the sentence the whole funding story rests on.

“Supported cryptocurrency” is doing a lot of work. The list of coins and networks is not disclosed. Not in the pages I could read, not in the terms as far as they go. So if your holdings are in a coin you would consider obvious, do not assume it works — ask, or test with a small amount. The default is USDT, and USDT happens to be issued on many networks, including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. That the default is USDT is not the same as saying any network carrying USDT will work. There is no published compatibility list to check against, and getting this wrong is not always free, because a blockchain transfer is irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
There is no top-up fee line in the fee schedule, which sounds good. Two things can still reach you. A conversion spread may apply. And the crypto-to-euro rate is set by KuCoin — the terms put it as determined solely by them, section 10.2. That is the single most important sentence in the funding section for anyone planning to spend. You are not choosing a rate at the moment of payment; a rate exists, it is KuCoin’s, and the terms say it is theirs alone to determine.
Fiat top-up, the minimum top-up amount, and who pays the network fee for a deposit are not stated. A practical note that is not a KuCard fact but decides whether a top-up works at all: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, and the mechanics differ by network. On Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it at all. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy and often burn TRX. The stablecoin you hold and the token you need in order to move it are frequently not the same token, and the card does not fund the difference.
Getting money back out is the part with the most silence. Moving a card balance back to crypto or to a bank account is not stated. Cancelling a card is free. An unactivated card may be closed after three months with no refund of service charges. A card may be terminated after four consecutive months closed or blocked, or six months of non-use. What happens to the remaining balance on closure is not stated. I am not going to dress that up — if you are planning to try the card and then leave, that is the question to ask before you load it.
Paying with it every day
The daily mechanics are the best part of this card, and it earns its 8 out of 10 here.
It is a Visa. A virtual card you can use as soon as it appears, and a physical card with a chip and PIN for the counter. Use is limited to terminals that accept Visa and to purchases not prohibited by law, which is the ordinary restriction and not a merchant blacklist. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned anywhere in the terms I read. Two third-party sources — one from October 2026, one from 2024 — say both wallets are supported. That is unofficial, and I am labelling it as such, but it is the kind of thing that is easy to confirm yourself in the app in thirty seconds.
The virtual card expiring at the end of the month is the design decision that affects how you use it day to day. Think of it as a single-use-per-month card for subscriptions and online payments, not as your only card. Reapplying is described as part of the normal flow.
The rewards are where the terms and the third parties diverge most sharply. The terms themselves promise only “different benefits or rewards” from time to time, with no rates. A separate benefits and rewards article exists and I did not read it. What an unofficial source published in October 2026 describes is a programme tied to monthly eligible spend in USDC, with seven levels: below 500 at 1% capped at 5 USDC, 500 to 1,000 at 1.5% capped at 15, 1,000 to 3,000 at 2% capped at 30, 3,000 to 7,000 at 3% capped at 60, 7,000 to 15,000 at 4% capped at 90, 15,000 to 30,000 at 6% capped at 135, and 30,000 and above at 8% capped at 200 USDC. Points become available after 15 days and expire after 90; 1,000 points convert to 1 USDC. The same source notes KuCoin publishes no single reward table of its own, and it also reports a €2 monthly inactivity fee on a virtual card after 90 days without a transaction. None of this is in the terms. If a rewards rate matters to you, verify it in your own account before you plan around it, and note that 8% back on large monthly spend would be extraordinary in this category — which is itself a reason to check.
Disputes, because this is the part that costs you money when it goes wrong. Unauthorised transactions must be reported within 60 days of the date of the transaction, and if you do not, the transaction is treated as correct. That is the terms, section 14.3, and it is a hard deadline rather than a guideline. Refunds are paid in fiat, valued in euros at the time of the transaction, and the refund processing time is not stated. Fees on the original payment are non-refundable.
What can go wrong
I found no complaints about KuCard itself, no Reddit threads, and no official incident involving the card. That is genuinely good news and I want to give it its full weight before listing everything else.
The complaints that do exist are about the exchange around the card, and that distinction matters because they are different failure modes. The Trustpilot profile for kucoin.com — which is the exchange profile, not a card-only profile — shows no TrustScore, described as unavailable due to a breach of Trustpilot’s guidelines, with 1,597 reviews and 78% one-star. The themes in the reviews I read cluster around withdrawal and account restrictions (August to October 2026), dormancy fees and repeated identity document demands at login (September to October 2026), P2P disputes (August to September 2026), and deposits not credited (June to September 2026).
Card-specific, there is one: a July 2026 review about $120 stuck after the card on file expired, with KuCoin asking for an old bank PDF statement and the reviewer describing about €110 in fees, and slow replies. One review is not a pattern. But it is the exact scenario this card invites, because spending a crypto balance means the card is your payment instrument and KuCoin is your bank in practice, so an expiry or a document request on the exchange side becomes a spending problem on the card side.
Who actually stands behind the card matters here. The issuer is Wallester AS, an Estonian company registered under 11812882, a Visa principal member supervised by the Estonian Financial Supervision Authority. A Lithuanian company, UAB EURLITA, operates the virtual currency exchange and deposit side. KuCoin runs the platform. Wallester describes itself as KuCoin’s card-issuing partner for Visa cards in the EU. I found no licence loss and no fine against the issuer. The fee schedule page was shown as last updated on 29 September 2026.
The security model is where I would want you to be clear-eyed. The card is funded from the KuCard account on the KuCoin platform, which is an exchange account. The terms do not use the word custodial, but that is what an account on a platform is in practice: the provider holds the credentials, and the balance sits behind their systems and their risk controls. The protections offered are real but limited. If the card is lost or stolen you freeze the account immediately on the platform. Strong Authentication is required, using two independent elements. Liability for unauthorised use is capped at €50 unless the loss was fraud or gross negligence. Two-factor authentication is not specifically mentioned, and insurance is not stated.
The comparison that makes this concrete: with a custodial balance, control of the crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. With a self-custody-linked card, the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and malware that silently swaps a copied address. This card sits on the custodial side of that line. There is a record of what happens when custodians fail: Mt. Gox with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022.
None of that is a prediction about KuCoin. It is a description of what class of risk you are taking on when your money sits on a platform account rather than in your own wallet, and it is the honest answer to the question behind the search for “is KuCard safe”.
If the card helps you get a payment method you otherwise could not have, that trade can be worth it for you. If you have a normal bank card and are choosing this for convenience, you are adding a custodial layer for the privilege.
Support is the part that may or may not serve you. There is a Help Center and a “Submit a Ticket” route on KuCoin EU. Chat and Telegram channels and support hours are not stated. This is worth checking early, because a help article is not the same as an agent being there when you are stuck at midnight with a frozen account.
One more thing the category makes worth knowing, because it is the failure mode nobody plans for. Card programmes close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. A closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending on 8 July 2026 and spending stopping on 8 August 2026; that is a single unconfirmed source, and I am passing it on as a shape of what can happen rather than as a fact about any named company. KuCard itself: no closure, no suspension, nothing found.
Finally, the regulatory floor, so you can place this card in the wider picture. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under it, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they are authorised or refused, whichever comes first. ESMA maintains an interim register of authorised providers, white papers and non-compliant entities that you can check. A CASP authorised in one member state can serve the EU. And a card is regulated separately from the crypto side, which is why a crypto card often depends on two licences. EMIs must safeguard customer funds, in segregated accounts or insured, but those funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. None of this is an alarm about KuCard specifically. It is the terrain the card stands on.
What to take instead
I am comparing three cards I could find partial official information on. None of them is a clean winner, which is itself informative.
| Card | Score | Strength | Weakness |
|---|---|---|---|
| KuCard | 6.0 / 10 | Visa, virtual instantly, physical Chip&Pin | Coins and networks unpublished, limits unstated, custodial on an exchange |
| MSX | 6.4 / 10 | — | Nothing readable on the official pages I could reach: eligibility, card type, cost, fees, funding, rewards all not stated |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual free everywhere, mature tiered cashback, many regions | Explicitly not for EEA customers |
| MEXC | 5.6 / 10 | Cashback by tier, up to 10% | Virtual only, no physical card yet, 20 USD issuance |
Bybit Card is the most fully documented of the group, and it is the wrong one for most of my readers. Its cards page states plainly that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited. Card regions include Argentina, AIFC in Kazakhstan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. Virtual card issuance is free in all regions until further notice, and the page states no annual fees. Physical cards cost 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD or USDT in Argentina, 29.99 USDT in Georgia and Kazakhstan (AIFC), 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, and nothing in Brazil and Mexico; VIPs holding a physical card in several of those regions pay no issuance or replacement fee. The crypto conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina. The FX fee is 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 2% for purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil and 1% in Peru. Rewards are the richest here: from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn, with tiers from Base at 2.00% capped at 5 USD up to Infinite at 10% capped at 600 USD, and a welcome offer of 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days. The card draws on the Funding Account with crypto sold only if fiat is short. All of that is real, and none of it is available to you in the EEA.
MEXC offers cashback by M-Score tier paid by the 15th of the following month: 4% capped at 100 USDT for Standard, 6% capped at 300 for Premier, 10% capped at 800 for Elite. Funding is USDT transferred to the fiat account and then added on the card page. The page lists “The Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand…” with a details link, so the country list is longer than it looks. Issuance is 20 USD, shown next to what may be a discounted 0 USD price, with a service fee of 0%. It is virtual only; physical cards are not yet available. If you are in the EEA it is not for you either.
MSX scored slightly higher at 6.4, and I want to be straight with you about why: it is not that MSX is better. It is that I could not read official pages stating eligibility, card type, cost, fees, funding or rewards, so nothing negative was established either. A higher score earned on missing information is not a recommendation.
If you are in the EEA, the realistic comparison is not against these cards. It is against whether a crypto-funded card solves a problem you actually have. If the problem is that you cannot get an ordinary bank card, KuCard is a serious answer and this review’s caveats are the price. If the problem is that you would rather spend crypto directly, weigh the 2% non-euro fee and the unstated spread against simply converting and using a normal card. And if the problem is neither, I would not open a custodial exchange account to get one.
Who I would recommend it to
Three groups, in order of how confidently I would say it.
Someone in the EEA, excluding Malta, who already has a verified KuCoin EU account and a crypto balance they want to spend. This is the reader I wrote the review for. You are past the eligibility gate before you start, you already understand what USDT is, and the card does exactly one thing at a known cost in euros. The 8 out of 10 for everyday use is real.
Someone who cannot get an ordinary bank card and has decided a custodial platform is the trade they will make. Read the risks section again before you do, particularly the €50 liability cap, the 60-day dispute deadline, and the closure scenarios. Then use it as a payment instrument, keep a balance you can afford to have frozen, and ask the two questions the terms do not answer: what your spending and ATM limits are, and what happens to the balance when you close the card.
Someone with several hundred euros a month in crypto who wants the card’s euro spending and will not spend outside the eurozone. The non-euro 2% and the unnamed spread make this card a poor traveller’s wallet. Inside the eurozone it is clean and cheap.
And the group I would not: anyone outside the EEA, anyone who needs their statements to be predictable to the cent, anyone who treats “supported cryptocurrency” as a promise rather than an unanswered question, and anyone who needs a dispute window longer than 60 days. To that last person I would say: keep your balance small until you have seen the card work for you across a full month, because the virtual card’s monthly expiry means you are testing it in short intervals anyway.
Frequently asked questions
What is the KuCard card?
KuCard is a Visa debit card funded from a crypto balance held on the KuCoin platform rather than from a bank account. You receive a virtual card you can use immediately and a physical Chip&Pin card, up to five in total. The default spending currency is USDT, converted to euros. The card is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, and KuCoin operates the platform and the balance.
How does the KuCard card work?
You keep cryptocurrency in the KuCard account and spend it. When you pay, the amount is converted to euros at a rate KuCoin determines and the card behaves as an ordinary Visa. Euro payments are free; payments in another currency cost 2% of the transaction total, and a conversion spread may also apply. A declined payment for insufficient funds is free, and no overdraft is available.
Who owns KuCard?
The card programme sits with Wallester AS, an Estonian company registered under 11812882, a Visa principal member supervised by the Estonian Financial Supervision Authority, which describes itself as KuCoin’s card-issuing partner in the EU. UAB EURLITA, in Lithuania, operates the virtual currency exchange and deposit side. KuCoin runs the platform you apply through. I found no licence loss and no fine against the issuer.
Is KuCard a bank?
No, not as far as the public pages describe it. It is a Visa card issued by a supervised Estonian issuer and funded from an account on a crypto platform. The card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, which is why a card like this can depend on two licences. Funds held with an electronic money institution are safeguarded in segregated accounts or insured, but they are not bank deposits.
Who can get the KuCard card?
Citizens and residents of the European Economic Area only, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, with Malta excluded. You need an EEA-issued identity document, a verified address, and to be 18 or over. You must already hold a valid KuCoin EU account and complete full KYC before applying for the card inside the platform.
How do I get and activate the KuCard card?
Open a KuCoin EU account, complete full KYC with an EEA-issued document and verify your address, then apply for a virtual or physical card in the app or on the site. The virtual card is usable at once but expires at the end of the month and must be reapplied. The physical card is posted to the address you gave and is activated in the KuCoin app, with express delivery priced at €30 per card.
Does KuCard require KYC, and what gets an application refused?
Yes, full KYC is required: one verified identity document issued in the EEA, an address check, and age 18 or over. The terms list the refusal reasons — an invalid phone number, an incorrect name or date of birth, an invalid 3-D Secure password, insufficient balance for the card fee, and risk control. Processing time is not stated in the public pages I could read.
What does KuCard cost to use?
Euro transactions are free and non-euro transactions cost 2% of the transaction total. ATM withdrawals are €2 inside Europe, and 2% plus €2 outside it, with the ATM operator free to add its own fees. Cards are free for the first virtual one, then €9.90 on the fee schedule or €9.99 in an older support article, with €9.90 to replace one and express delivery at €30.
How do I top up the KuCard card, and which coins work?
Funding comes from supported cryptocurrency held in the KuCard account, with USDT as the default spending currency. The list of supported coins and networks is not published, which is the single most important gap I found. Test with a small amount first: transfers are irreversible, and a deposit on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery.
Is KuCard safe, and can I get my money back out?
There are protections — freeze the account on the platform if the card is lost, Strong Authentication, and unauthorised-use liability capped at €50 unless it was fraud or gross negligence. But the balance is custodial, sitting on a platform account, and withdrawal of a card balance back to crypto or a bank is not stated. Read the closure rules too: an unactivated card can be closed after three months, and termination can follow six months of non-use.
Exchange cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
