What the Deblock card is, who can actually use it and what it costs in practice
Deblock is a French e-money and crypto-asset account that comes with a Visa debit card. It pairs a euro current account with a self-custody crypto wallet, so you can keep your coins in your own keys, sell them into euros inside the app and spend the balance on a card that works wherever Visa is taken. It is one of the more ambitious attempts in Europe to fold an everyday euro account and a self-custody wallet into a single product, and the offering has grown well past the early crypto-card template: three pricing tiers, Apple Pay and Google Pay from day one, single-use card numbers, an NFT-shaped customisation path and a Visa membership that lets Deblock issue cards under its own licence rather than through a third-party programme manager.

The information below comes from the card’s own pages and, where stated, from third-party sources. I have not used the card myself; this is a reading of what the issuer publishes, what its reviewers say, and what the rules around it look like. Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The headline number is 6.4 out of 10. That is a respectable but uneven score: cost (7/10) and everyday use (10/10) are genuinely good, the access rules are mid-pack (5/10) and reliability and complaints pull the average down to where it is (5/10). The places where Deblock shines — paying abroad in a foreign currency, getting a virtual card in seconds, mobile wallets from day one — are real. The places where it does not shine are also real: a fee schedule that is hard to read, an EEA-only footprint that rules out a lot of people, and a Trustpilot picture that has got worse over 2026 as the company tightens its regulatory posture.

It suits EEA residents who want a euro account with a crypto wallet bolted on, are happy to keep their coins in self-custody and do most of their spending in foreign currency on the Premium or Native tier. It does not suit US residents (where it is restricted), UK and Swiss applicants (where it is not open), anyone who needs cashback on the free plan, or anyone who wants a single tier that has no per-transaction fees on non-euro spending beyond a 1,000-euro monthly allowance.
Score by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | In short |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | EEA-only, 30 countries; US restricted, UK and Switzerland not eligible; 18+ and residency required (third-party sources) |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Free Standard plan; 1.99% on crypto buy/sell at Standard; non-EUR card payments free up to 1,000 euros per month, then 0.5%–1% |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Crypto from a self-custody wallet, SEPA, instant SEPA, card in your own name, PayPal; specific coins and networks not listed officially |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Licensed (AMF and ACPR), TrustScore 4.4 from 9,393 reviews, but a cluster of account blocks and held funds in October 2026 |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual cards in seconds, single-use numbers, physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay from day one, ATM access |
| Total | 6.4 / 10 | Best for EEA residents with a self-custody wallet and a foreign-currency spending pattern; the access rules and the recent complaint pattern hold the score back |
Who they will give the card to
Deblock’s own pages, as far as I could read them, do not publish a clean list of eligible countries, an age limit or a residency rule. The eligibility picture you find in practice comes from a third-party card directory (CryptoCardHub, 2026), so treat it as unofficial and worth confirming with Deblock before you apply.

According to that source, applicants must be 18 or older and legally resident in the European Economic Area. The EEA list it gives is 30 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. United States applicants are restricted, and the United Kingdom and Switzerland are not on the list at all. The rule is residence-based, not citizenship-based, which matters if you are an expat: where you live is what counts, not where your passport was issued.
What this means in practice is straightforward. If you live in any of the 30 EEA countries and have a stable address there, you can apply. If you live in the US, your options are limited. If you live in the UK or Switzerland, you cannot apply at all, and you should not waste time on the form. If you are a US citizen living in Paris, you can apply on the basis of your French residence, but you should expect your US nationality to come up in the KYC screens regardless of where you live (this is the normal way sanctions and PEP checks work, and it is not unique to Deblock).
The card’s own pages do not state the eligible-country list, the age floor, the residency requirement or whether the basis is residence or citizenship. I am flagging that once, here, so you know it is a real gap in the public documents rather than a gap in my reading.
How to get it
The official pages do not lay out the sign-up flow in a single place, and the KYC step list I am using here comes from the same third-party directory (CryptoCardHub, 2026). Treat it as unofficial until Deblock confirms it on its own pages.
The flow it describes runs like this. You start with an e-mail address and a phone number, both of which are verified with a code. You then upload an identity document (passport, national ID card or driving licence are the usual options in Europe) and a video selfie to match the document to a live person. You give a residential address, an occupation, the purpose you want the account for, your citizenship and a statement of where your funds come from. The company can ask for more documents later, especially around the source-of-funds question, and an account can be paused while those documents are reviewed.
On the card side, you get four choices: a Standard card, a Premium Metal card (21 g of stainless steel), an LED Metal card and an Artist card. The card is a Visa debit card, and Deblock is a direct Visa member, which means the card programme sits with Deblock rather than being white-labelled through another bank’s licence. You can order a virtual card at any time; the company says virtual cards are “created in seconds”. You can also create a one-off single-use card number for a specific purchase; that number auto-expires after the first use. The free Standard tier comes with one virtual card and three single-use cards; Premium and Native raise those numbers (see the costs section for the full breakdown).
The physical card is what Visa calls a debit card, tied to the euro current account, and the company notes that “delivery fees may apply”. It does not publish which countries it ships to, how long delivery takes, what the fee is or what a replacement costs. If the delivery terms matter to you, treat that as something to confirm with support before you order.
The KYC step is not described in tiers — the documents do not say what limits apply at each verification level, or how a higher limit is unlocked. That is another gap in the public pages. What is clear is that KYC happens, that more documents can be requested later, and that the absence of a stated KYC ceiling is normal for an EU e-money institution rather than unusual.
What it really costs
The fees heading sits below because the fee schedule is genuinely the place to slow down. It is not a one-page document and it has changed over 2026; the version in force from 5 July 2026 is the one I am using here. The Deblock fee page, the cards page and the in-app disclosures say slightly different things in different places, and I have tried to be careful about which is which.
Costs at a glance
| Item | Standard | Premium | Native |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | Free | 14.99 euros / month or 120 euros / year | Free with a Deblock NFT held 30+ days |
| Debit card issuance | Free (delivery fee may apply) | Free (delivery fee may apply) | Free (delivery fee may apply) |
| Virtual cards included | 1 | 10 | 10 |
| Single-use cards included | 3 | — | — |
| Crypto buy / sell / swap | 1.99% | 0.49% | Free |
| Non-EUR card payments | Free up to 1,000 euros / month, then 0.5% weekdays, 1% weekends | Per plan | Per plan |
| In-app currency exchange | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| SEPA / instant SEPA in | Free | Free | Free |
| ATM in euro zone | Free up to 1 withdrawal or 100 euros / rolling month, then 1% (min 1 euro) | Free up to 3 withdrawals or 1,000 euros / rolling month, then 1% (min 1 euro) | Same as Premium |
| ATM abroad | 0% FX, plan-dependent limit | 0% FX, plan-dependent limit | 0% FX, plan-dependent limit |
| Cashback | Not included | Up to 1% | Up to 1% |
| NFT card customisation | No | Yes | Yes |
| Free peer-to-peer payments per year | 1 | — | 3 |
The cards page says Deblock “doesn’t charge any FX fee on card payments abroad”. The fee schedule adds the 1,000-euros-a-month free allowance and the 0.5% / 1% rates above it. Both statements are true at the same time: there is no FX markup, but there is a non-EUR payment fee once you cross the threshold. The 0.5% weekday rate and 1% weekend rate are the schedule’s words, and they apply to non-euro payments in any currency. A third-party source (Milesopedia, 2026) reports that this 1,000-euro free allowance ends on 11 November 2026 — that is a single source and I have not been able to confirm it from Deblock’s own pages, so treat it as a date worth watching rather than a deadline.
A second 0.5% fee applies on every plan to transactions in specific merchant categories: financial services, money transfers, funding of prepaid accounts, crypto and quasi-cash, gambling and lotteries, precious metals and jewellery. This is on top of the non-EUR payment fee, and it is the schedule’s way of pricing higher-risk categories rather than blocking them.
Three everyday payments, walked through
To make the table useful, here is what a few common payments look like under the Standard plan, which is the one most people will start on.
- A 60-euro lunch in Berlin, paid by tapping the physical card. This is a euro payment, so the 1,000-euro non-EUR allowance does not apply and there is no fee. The merchant pays the card network fee, not you.
- A 120-dollar streaming subscription paid with the virtual card. This is a non-euro payment. You stay inside the 1,000-euros-a-month free allowance, so there is no Deblock fee. If the same subscription renews twice in the same month and pushes the non-EUR total over 1,000 euros, the next charge is 0.5% on a weekday or 1% on a weekend.
- A 200-euro Bitcoin buy inside the app, then spending the euro balance at a shop. The Bitcoin buy is 1.99% under Standard (4 euros on this transaction). The card payment is in euros, so there is no further Deblock fee. On Premium the buy is 0.49% (about 1 euro), and on Native it is free.
The Standard plan’s crypto fee is the biggest line item for most people. If you only buy a little crypto a few times a year, 1.99% is fine. If you actively trade in and out, Premium’s 0.49% or Native’s 0% is the difference between a usable product and an expensive one.
A small note on the “no spending cap” line. The cards page says the Standard card has “no spending cap”. A French review site (Milesopedia, 2026) cites 10,000 euros per card payment and 15,000 euros per month for Standard ATM withdrawals. Those two statements do not agree, and the “no spending cap” wording is the more recent one. I would treat the per-transaction and per-month figures as the ATM specifics (which the schedule does support with monthly free allowances) and the “no spending cap” as the company’s general statement about card payments, while waiting for the documents to be reconciled.
How to top it up
The card spends the euro balance on the current account, so the question of “how do I top it up” is really two questions: how do I get euros in, and how do I get crypto in. The two routes are different, and the company does not describe the crypto side in one place.
For euros, the fee schedule lists five channels. You can top up by card (an external card in your own name, from an EU or UK issuer — unofficial), by PayPal where the region is eligible, by SEPA transfer, by instant SEPA transfer, and by receiving a peer-to-peer transfer from another Deblock user. SEPA and instant SEPA are free. Card and PayPal top-ups are free up to 2,000 euros per calendar month, then 0.5%. Account-funding transactions — top-ups that load another person’s account — are free up to 1 transaction or 1,000 euros per rolling month on Standard, then 1 euro plus 2% (1 euro plus 1% on Premium and Native). The minimum top-up is not stated.
For crypto, the model is the self-custody wallet. According to the third-party source I am using here, you send BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC and other coins from a wallet you control to the wallet inside the Deblock app, and the app sells them into euro e-money before the card spends. The cards page and the fee schedule do not list which coins and which networks are supported; the public “Self-custody” page in the navigation is the place to look, and I would check it for the current network list before sending anything. Sending a coin on a network that Deblock does not support is, in general, a way to lose the funds: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and support recovery for an unsupported deposit is not guaranteed.
To get euros out, you can do a SEPA transfer or an instant SEPA transfer, both free on Standard. Direct debit is also listed. The ATM is the other route, and the fees on that are in the costs table. The schedule does not state the balance treatment on account closure; the unofficial side of this story is that a number of Trustpilot reviewers in October 2026 say fiat funds were held for a period after closure, which I will come back to in the risks section.
Paying with it every day
This is the part of the review where the score is highest, and it is the part that matters most in practice. On Standard, the moment you finish sign-up you can create a virtual card, add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and start paying. Both mobile wallets are free on every plan, “from day 1”, and they work for both virtual and physical cards. There is no waiting period, no monthly fee to unlock them, and no second card to order.
The physical card is a Visa debit card, which means it is taken wherever Visa is taken — shops, online, in apps, at ATMs. The single-use card numbers, which auto-expire after the first purchase, are a useful feature for one-off online checkouts where you do not want the merchant to keep a card on file. They are not the same as a temporary virtual card you can top up; the number expires after one use and cannot be recharged.
There is no published list of blocked merchant categories. The 0.5% extra fee for “financial services, money transfers, funding of prepaid accounts, crypto and quasi-cash, gambling and lotteries, precious metals and jewellery” is the schedule’s way of pricing those categories, not blocking them. Whether the card will actually go through at a given merchant is partly a question of the merchant’s own policies, particularly on prepaid and foreign-issued cards.
Cashback is not a Standard feature. Premium and Native offer “up to 1%” on card payments; the currency of the payout and the conditions (minimum spend, caps, opt-in) are not stated in the documents I read. If cashback is the reason you are choosing a card, the lack of detail here is something to check before you upgrade.
The app has reasonable ratings in the places I could look. The iOS App Store listing (read via the Poland storefront on 21 October 2026) is 4.5 out of 5 from 22 ratings. The Google Play listing (third-party source, October 2026) is 4.7 from about 29,000 reviews with 500,000+ downloads. App Store rating is from a small sample, so I would not lean on it too hard; the Play Store number is more meaningful. The process for disputing a charge is not stated in the public pages; if you need to raise a chargeback, the support e-mail is the place to start.
What can go wrong
This is the section I am most cautious about, because the recent Trustpilot picture is not great and the company has clearly been tightening its regulatory posture over 2026.
Regulatory and licence side. Deblock SAS is registered in Lille, France. It holds two licences: an electronic money institution (EMI) licence from the ACPR under bank code (CIB) 17748, and a crypto-asset service provider (CASP) licence from the AMF under number A2025-001 (2025). The fee schedule that applies to all clients regardless of onboarding date is dated 5 July 2026. These are real licences from real EU supervisors, and being a direct Visa member means the card programme sits with Deblock rather than being passed through a programme manager. The crypto wallet is self-custody (the unofficial source notes a seed phrase can be exported), but the euro e-money balance is held with Deblock and safeguarded in segregated accounts. Those safeguarded funds are not the same as bank deposits, and they are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. The third-party source flags this distinction explicitly and it is worth being clear about.
Trustpilot picture. As of 21 October 2026, the Trustpilot page shows a TrustScore of 4.4 from 9,393 reviews, with 7,133 of those reviews in the last 12 months and 12% of all reviews at one star. The company replies to 25% of negative reviews. The recurring themes in October 2026 are not abstract: accounts blocked or closed with funds held and a return date pushed back; account terminations without a stated reason; a 10-euro transfer shown as successful but not credited; and a steady stream of requests for clearer fee disclosures. Deblock’s replies to these reviews cite regulatory safety measures. The reviews themselves are the user side of the same story.
Cancelled product roadmap. On 11 March 2026, Deblock cancelled the planned BLOCK token, airdrop, staking levels, fee discounts and a card cashback scheme of up to 10% — indefinitely, according to the third-party source. That is a roadmap cut rather than a working-product cut, but it changes what “up to 1%” on Premium and Native means in practice, because the higher 10% figure is not on the table.
Security features that are and are not stated. Single-use one-off card numbers auto-expire after first use, which is a real protection for one-off online checkouts. The official pages do not state whether you can freeze the card from the app, set spending limits, or turn on 2FA in any specific way. The “Self-custody” page is in the navigation, but custody of the crypto wallet is a different question from the security of the card itself, and the public documents do not close the loop between them. A public status page exists at status.deblock.com; the support e-mail named in Deblock’s Trustpilot replies is [email protected]. The site is in English, French, German, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese.
Two things the documents do not say. The minimum top-up is not stated, and the process for disputing a charge is not stated. Neither is unique to Deblock, but both are worth confirming with support before you rely on the card for a large payment or a refund.
What to take instead
Three other products in the same space give you a useful reference set. None of them is a like-for-like swap — the differences in licence, geography and custody model matter — but they cover the cases where Deblock is the wrong fit.
Whop Cards (5.2 / 10). A US-led Visa card that spends from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. Available to consumers in 31 US states and to businesses in 41 states. The unsupported-country list is long (Belarus, Mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam). The card page says “no extra fees” but does not list amounts; coin and network support beyond stablecoin collateral is not stated. Cashback is 5% at selected merchants (currently Uber, with more planned). This is a US card for US residents, and the rules-of-the-road list is much wider than Deblock’s.
Stella (6.5 / 10). A virtual and physical Visa card from a company whose official site does not list supported countries, with US and European users routed through affiliates. The card is accepted at “over 40 million Visa merchants globally”. Fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” but not published. Funding is by depositing crypto into the in-app wallet, which is custodial. There is no cashback on the card itself; an Earn product is separate. Stella is a useful alternative if Deblock is not available in your country, but the published fee and eligibility picture is thinner.
UniFi Card (4.7 / 10). A prepaid Visa debit card issued by Lead Bank, denominated in US dollars, with Apple Pay support and recent additions of send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone and (more recently) Colombia, Brazil and the UK. Funding is by ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), and you can also be paid into a USDC wallet. The listing claims “3% rewards on balances”; card cashback is not stated. Fees and limits are not stated on the listing, which is the main reason the score sits where it does.
If the EEA-only rule is the problem, Stella and UniFi (in the US) are the obvious directions to look. If the EEA-only rule is fine but you want a different feature mix — for example, USDC yield on the balance — UniFi’s USD-denominated balance and the listed “3% rewards” are worth comparing to Deblock’s free Standard plan.
Who I would recommend it to
The card works best for someone who fits the following profile, and it is genuinely not worth the trouble if you do not:
- You live in one of the 30 EEA countries and you have a stable address and the right to reside there.
- You want a euro current account that you can also use to hold crypto in self-custody, with the seed phrase exportable and the euro balance held by a licensed e-money institution.
- Most of your spending abroad is in non-euro currencies, where the 1,000-euros-a-month free allowance does real work and the 0% FX markup is a quiet saving over a typical bank card.
- You are happy on Premium or Native (14.99 euros a month, or free with a Deblock NFT held 30 days) if you actively buy and sell crypto, because the 1.99% Standard buy/sell fee is the single biggest cost on the product.
- You are comfortable that the company can ask for more documents at any time, can pause your account while it reviews them and has, in the Trustpilot record, blocked and held accounts in 2026. This is the regulatory reality of EU e-money and crypto-asset services; it is not unique to Deblock, but it is a thing to be ready for.
If any of those does not fit — if you are in the US with a restricted profile, in the UK or Switzerland, looking for cashback on the free plan, looking for a published list of which coins and networks are supported, looking for a specific KYC ceiling, or not comfortable with the recent complaint pattern — the alternatives section is a better place to start.
The total score of 6.4 out of 10 reflects a product that is genuinely good in its day-to-day mechanics and genuinely limited in the rules around it. The mechanics are what you can see on day one; the rules are what you discover when you need the account to do something out of the ordinary.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Deblock card?
It is a Visa debit card issued by Deblock SAS, a French e-money and crypto-asset service provider. The card is tied to a euro current account held with Deblock, and the account sits next to a self-custody crypto wallet inside the same app. You sell your crypto into euros in-app and spend the euro balance on the card.
Is Deblock a bank?
No. Deblock is not a bank. It is an electronic money institution licensed by the ACPR (CIB 17748) and a crypto-asset service provider licensed by the AMF (A2025-001). The euro balance is e-money safeguarded in segregated accounts; it is not a bank deposit and is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who owns Deblock?
Deblock is operated by Deblock SAS, a company registered in Lille, France. The founders and ownership structure are not described in the public pages I read, and Deblock’s own pages do not give a clear ownership chart. If ownership matters to your decision, the registered company details on the AMF and ACPR register entries are the place to look.
Where is the Deblock card available?
Per a third-party source, the card is available to residents of 30 EEA countries (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden). United States applicants are restricted, and the United Kingdom and Switzerland are not on the list. The official Deblock pages do not publish the eligible-country list themselves; check with support before applying.
How do I apply for a Deblock card?
You sign up in the app, verify your e-mail and phone, complete KYC with an ID document and a video selfie, give your address, occupation, account purpose, citizenship and source of funds, and then order a card. The virtual card is created in seconds; the physical card is shipped to your address (delivery fees may apply, and the country list, time and cost are not published).
Does the Deblock card require KYC?
Yes. EU rules require regulated e-money and crypto-asset institutions to verify customer identity. The exact KYC steps (ID document, video selfie, address, occupation, source of funds) are described by third-party sources rather than on Deblock’s own pages, and the company can ask for more documents later. The KYC ceiling — the limit that opens up at each verification level — is not stated in the documents I read.
How do I add the Deblock card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
You add the card from inside the app. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on every plan from day one, for both virtual and physical cards, and the in-app step is the same as for any other Visa card.
How do I top up the Deblock card?
In euros, by SEPA, instant SEPA, external card in your own name (EU or UK issuer), PayPal where eligible, or a peer-to-peer transfer from another Deblock user. In crypto, by sending coins from a self-custody wallet to the in-app wallet and selling them into euros. The official pages do not list which coins and which networks are supported; the “Self-custody” page in the app is the place to check before sending.
Is the Deblock card free?
The Standard plan is free, with no monthly fee. The crypto buy/sell/swap fee is 1.99% on Standard, and card payments in non-euro currencies are free up to 1,000 euros per calendar month, then 0.5% on weekdays and 1% at weekends. Premium (14.99 euros a month or 120 euros a year) lowers the crypto fee to 0.49% and adds cashback up to 1%. Native is free if you hold a Deblock NFT for 30 days and removes the crypto fee altogether.
How do I withdraw money from Deblock?
You can do a SEPA transfer, an instant SEPA transfer or a direct debit (all free on Standard), or withdraw at an ATM in the euro zone (free up to 1 withdrawal or 100 euros per rolling month on Standard, then 1% with a 1-euro minimum). ATM withdrawals abroad have 0% FX with a plan-dependent limit.
Is the Deblock card safe?
The licences are real (ACPR for e-money, AMF for crypto-asset services) and Deblock is a direct Visa member. Single-use one-off card numbers auto-expire after first use. The euro balance is held with Deblock and safeguarded in segregated accounts, which is the standard EU EMI approach but is not the same as a deposit guarantee. The Trustpilot record is 4.4 from 9,393 reviews, with a cluster of account blocks and held funds in October 2026 that you should read before you put a large balance on the card.
How do I delete my Deblock account?
The app settings should have the closure flow. Sell any remaining crypto into euros, withdraw the euro balance by SEPA, and remove the cards from your mobile wallets. The company can hold funds for a regulatory review after closure, which a number of October 2026 Trustpilot reviewers describe; that is the regulatory reality rather than a one-off.
App and neobank cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
