Pay Card closed its card programme. Here is what that means for anyone still holding one.
Most card reviews are written as shopping guides. You read them to decide whether to apply. This one is different: the Pay Card programme no longer issues cards, so the useful question is not whether to sign up but what happened, what it means if you are already holding one, and where to go instead. I went through the card’s own public pages, its version history and the reporting around the provider it depended on, and what they add up to is a 1.8 out of 10. I did not use the card, and nothing here should be read as a recommendation to sign up for anything.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 1.8 out of 10, and the score is not a formality
Pay Card scores 1.8 out of 10. That is not a “disappointing but usable” mark. It is the score of a product that has switched off its main function — buying prepaid cards through the app — and never switched it back on. If you were reading a review of this card in 2022, the world it described no longer exists.
The overall number is not a single opinion. It is the sum of six separate marks, and it is worth reading them one by one, because each one tells you which part of the experience collapsed and when.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | The programme is closed: prepaid card purchases through Wyre were disabled from 2022-12-05, and the last app version is 1.2.0 from 2023-02-18 |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Not disclosed: card fees are not named, and the only paid item is the in-app purchase “Account on Gnosis Chain” at GBP 0.99 |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | The programme is closed and top-up methods are not disclosed; Polygon was removed in version 1.1.13 |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Card purchases through Wyre were disabled, Wyre announced its wind-down in 2023, the issuer is not named, and the App Store shows 5.0 out of 5 from 3 ratings |
| Everyday use | 0 / 10 | Cards are no longer issued through the app, and physical delivery is not mentioned |
| Total | 1.8 / 10 | The sum of the six marks above |
Two of those rows are zero, and a zero is unusual. It means the feature simply does not exist any more, rather than existing badly. Three marks — who can get it, everyday use and, in effect, top-ups — collapse into a single sentence: the card programme was wound down.
Who this suits
Honestly, nobody, in the sense of somebody choosing a card today. The only person this page is written for is a holder of the old Card Pay wallet who still has a balance sitting in it and wants to know what to do with it. If you read the earlier sections and recognise the version numbers, that is you.
Who this does not suit
- Anyone looking for their first crypto card, or anyone who has been turned down by a regular bank. This card will not help you, because it will not issue a card.
- Anyone who wants to know what a card costs to use. The fees were never published on the public pages, so there is nothing to compare against alternatives on price.
- Anyone who needs the card to work next week. There is no support page on the listing, only a developer website and a privacy policy, and I could not find a Trustpilot page or Reddit threads for Card Pay — searches on 2026-10-20 returned unrelated companies. That silence is not evidence of anything good or bad; it means there is no public body of complaints to read, either way.
The score breaks down as the table shows. My own weighting would put “who can get it” and “everyday use” even higher in importance, because they are binary, but I have left the numbers exactly as they stand.
What happened to the programme
The short version is that Pay Card was a DeFi wallet app whose most visible feature was letting you buy and manage prepaid cards, and that feature was switched off at the end of 2022 and never restored. The last software update came in February 2023. Everything since then has been silence.
Here is the timeline as far as the public record goes.
- 2022-12-05, version 1.1.12. Prepaid card purchases with Wyre were disabled “until further notice”. That phrase — *until further notice* — is what killed it. It turned out to mean indefinitely.
- January 2023. MetaMask stopped supporting Wyre, as Wyre was reportedly closing (reported by Benzinga).
- 2023-02-18, version 1.2.0. The last app release. This is where the programme stopped moving.
- June 2023. Wyre announced its wind-down (reported by The Block).
One thing to be careful about here: none of the Cardstack sources link to the reporting about Wyre’s shutdown. I found those reports through third-party news outlets, so treat them as independent context rather than as an official announcement from the card’s own team. What is official is the app version history, which shows the feature being switched off and never coming back.
The rest of the listing is thin in the way that closed products are thin. The App Store listing reads “Manage your prepaid cards” in a DeFi payments wallet, and says nothing about which network or which currency the cards ran on. It mentions claiming “rewards” individually as of version 1.1.13, but never says what the reward rate is. Whether the app or the programme ever required identity verification is not stated. Whether the crypto was held in self-custody is not stated either.
What the app listing does still tell you is a small, telling fact: the app was free to download, and the only thing you could pay for was an in-app purchase called “Account on Gnosis Chain” for GBP 0.99. That is the entire monetisation. Card fees were not stated, and neither was any of the things you would actually need to know to judge the card: no annual fee, no issue fee, no foreign-exchange fee, no limits, no ATM access, no support for a given country, no physical delivery details.
The App Store rating deserves a caveat rather than a boast. It shows 5.0 out of 5 — but from 3 ratings, read on 2026-10-20. Three ratings cannot tell you anything about whether a card works at a supermarket. The app was listed for iOS 13.0+, macOS 11.0+ on Apple M1+, and visionOS 1.0+. Whether there was ever a Google Play version is not stated.
Who ran the thing? The App Store names the developer as CARDSTACK SERVICES PTE. LTD. The Cardstack homepage footer reads Cardstack Foundation. The issuer of the cards — the institution that actually held the card programme and the money behind it — is not stated anywhere on the public pages. That absence matters more than it sounds, and I will come back to it in the risks section.
If you already have the card
If you read that timeline and thought “that is my card”, then the honest situation is this: the programme that issued your card stopped issuing cards, and the app that managed it has not been updated since February 2023. Nobody has published a wind-down plan. No notice period, no end date, no instructions for remaining balances. The public pages simply stopped.
So the practical questions are the ones I would ask, and the honest answers are mostly “not stated”.
Can I still spend? Not stated. Spending ran through a card programme that Wyre was part of, and Wyre is winding down. The absence of any public statement about what happens to existing cards is itself the answer you should weigh: the card’s own team has not said the existing cards keep working.
Can I still load it? Not stated. The top-up methods are not disclosed, and the one network detail that survives is a removal — Polygon was dropped in version 1.1.13. The only listed purchase remains “Account on Gnosis Chain” at GBP 0.99, which is a wallet account, not card funding.
Can I get my balance back? This is the question that keeps me up when I read a closure like this, and the answer here is that nobody has published one. The version notes hint at a wallet that had balances worth taking: version 1.0.11 fixed bugs around “Reward withdrawal”, and version 1.1.13 says each reward is claimed individually. But there is no information anywhere on how to withdraw a card balance, or what happens to a balance after a closure. If you have money in this wallet, the first thing I would do is open it, look for anything that reads as a balance, and try to move it to a wallet you control. Do not wait for an announcement. That is not advice about crypto prices or tax; it is the obvious response to an app that stopped being maintained three years ago.
What about a dispute — a charge I do not recognise, or goods I never received? Not stated. No complaints page, no chargeback process, no named issuer. If you have a disputed transaction, you are dealing with an issuer whose name is not published and a programme that has been dormant since 2023. If money is at stake, that is a matter for your own bank and, if you are in the EU or UK, for the ombudsman scheme that covers payment services. I am not a lawyer and I am not giving legal advice here — I am saying that the card’s own materials give you nothing to work with.
Where is support? Not stated. The App Store listing links to no support page. It links to the developer site cardstack.com and to a privacy policy. That is all.
I want to be careful not to overdramatise this. Most people affected will have small balances, and many will have simply written the wallet off years ago. But if you are one of the people who still has something in there, the gap between “the app still opens” and “your money is safe” is exactly the gap that closed products exploit. An app that no longer updates can stop accepting a network, can lose access to the service it depended on, and can leave a balance stranded with nobody obliged to return it.
What can go wrong
This section is about the failure modes that are visible in this card’s own record, plus the general ones that apply to any crypto card. I am not going to invent specifics that the public pages do not contain.
The named provider went out of business. This is the big one, and it is not hypothetical: it already happened. Wyre announced its wind-down in June 2023. A crypto card is rarely a self-contained product — it is usually a front-end sitting on top of an issuer, a card network and a payment or on-ramp partner. When any one of those disappears, the card does not politely degrade, it stops. This is not unique to crypto: FTX’s US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer after Visa said in November 2022 that it had terminated its global agreements with FTX. And WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme.
Nobody is named to be responsible. The issuer is not stated. When you cannot say which institution holds the card programme and your balance, you cannot work out who to complain to, and you cannot tell whether any protection applies to your money. In the EU, an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them — but those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. If you do not know who the issuer is, you do not know whether that protection is even in play.
Where the money sits is not stated. Self-custody is not stated for this card. The listing says only that transactions are confirmed with Touch ID or Face ID, which is a confirmation step, not proof of custody. This matters more than it might appear. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or the seed phrase. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely; the seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery: the network cannot freeze or return anything. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure — Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian means carrying counterparty and hack risk. A self-custody-linked card avoids that but puts key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware squarely on you.
Declines you will not be able to explain. Even on a working card, a payment can fail for reasons that have nothing to do with your balance. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that merchants can look up, which reveals the issuing institution and country; if that country differs from your billing address, the merchant may apply extra scrutiny, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you typed against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which causes declines. Gambling merchant code 7995 is blocked by many issuers as a matter of policy rather than law. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
Getting money back, if you are wronged. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing, or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. For this card, none of these routes are documented on any page I could find.
The rewards were never specified. The listing says you can claim rewards individually, and that is all. If you were counting on those, the honest position is that the rate is not stated, so there was never a number to plan around.
Supply-chain and network risk, generally. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so topping up can cost more than the provider’s own fee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Stablecoins themselves can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If a stablecoin is part of your balance, that is another assumption to test rather than trust.
No KYC information at all. Whether this card required identity verification is not stated, and neither is the country list. That cuts both ways. You cannot use the absence of published KYC rules as reassurance, because the programme is closed and the pages were never complete. If you are in the EU, KYC is not optional for the institution anyway: customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, with electronic systems also validating proof-of-address documents. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as country of address. If you are in the market because a bank turned you down, understand that a new provider’s compliance requirements are the same shape as the old one’s — there is no version of this where a regulated card issuer simply skips it.
What to take instead
I am not going to tell you which of these to pick, and I am not going to tell you they are risk-free. What I can do is put the ones that are still open next to each other and next to Pay Card’s dead 1.8, so you can see which questions each one actually answers.
Two of the three alternatives score higher than Pay Card did when Pay Card was running: BloFin Wallet Card at 6.9 out of 10, and both Decaf and SafePal at 6.2. That is the whole comparison, honestly. Read the table, then read the notes under it, because the notes are where the differences live.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Who it is for | Main catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BloFin Wallet Card | 6.9 / 10 | BloFin Wallet Visa Platinum card | Users in a wide country list, wanting a simple spend-fee structure | Virtual vs physical and card currency not stated |
| Decaf | 6.2 / 10 | Decaf Visa card, virtual or physical with tracked delivery | Users who want the card issuer’s own FX rate with no added fee | Long list of restricted countries and US states |
| SafePal | 6.2 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard debit | Users who want to fund from many chains | Physical card not stated; 1% non-USD FX fee |
| Pay Card (this review) | 1.8 / 10 | None issued | Existing balance holders | Programme closed |
BloFin Wallet Card — the strongest of the three on the published numbers
The card is a BloFin Wallet Visa Platinum card. Whether it is virtual or physical is not stated, and neither is the card currency. Those are two questions you should get answered before you commit anything.
On cost, it is unusually clear: activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees are each $0.00, and cancelling costs no fee. That is a genuinely better answer than Pay Card’s, where card fees were never named at all.
On spending, the fee is “1% or lower” depending on your VIP tier, charged at the payment — VIP 0 at 1.00%, VIP 1 at 0.90%, VIP 2 at 0.80%, VIP 3 at 0.50%, VIP 4 at 0.20%, VIP 5 at 0.00%. A foreign-exchange fee is not stated, which is the number you most want for a card you will use abroad.
Top-up is with USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base. Only two networks, both of them popular and both with real track record, but two is two — check that moving your funds there is practical for you.
On who can get it: the country list is not published on the card page, the app just says “select your country or region”. The starting data lists 35 countries, including the US, Australia, Japan, the UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia and New Zealand. Whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated. If you are outside that set, you are guessing.
Rewards: there is no cashback and no rebates. Instead the spend rate itself goes down as your tier rises. The card puts it plainly — “No waiting for cashback or rebates”.
Decaf — the clearest FX answer, with a long restricted list
The card is a Decaf Visa card, available virtual or physical, with the physical card offering tracked delivery. Card currency is not stated.
The cost is explicit. A virtual card is $5 worldwide; a physical card is $10 in the US only, or $90 for the rest of the world. There is no annual or monthly fee.
On exchange, this is the most attractive published promise in the group: Decaf adds no fee of its own, “the FX is the one Visa offers”. In plain terms, you eat the Visa exchange rate and nothing more. A crypto conversion fee is not stated, and that is the gap to ask about.
Funding runs in two directions. You can pay a Decaf payment link or account details by card, bank transfer or USDC — the sample balance on the page is shown in USDC. The app runs on Solana and Stellar. Which coins and networks actually top up the card itself is not stated, so do not assume your chain is covered.
Then the catch. Decaf is not issued in a long list of restricted countries: Belarus, China, North Korea (DPRK), India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria. Certain US states are restricted too: Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin. Both Russia and Belarus appear on the list — and whether the rule is applied by citizenship or by residence is not stated. If you are reading this from one of those places, that ambiguity is the thing to resolve with them directly, and I am not going to guess at it for you.
Rewards: not stated.
SafePal — the widest funding reach, the vaguest card
The card is a virtual Mastercard debit. Whether a physical card exists is not stated. Spending limits are given in EUR, tied to a Swiss Fiat24 account.
On cost: no account creation or management fees. The card issuance fee is not stated — and that is a fee you will pay before you get to the no-fee stage, so it matters.
Fees are where you feel SafePal. Standard top-up is 0%. Mastercard non-USD settlement carries a 1% FX fee. Refund processing costs 1 USD/EUR/CHF/7 CNH. Swaps include a spread, which is not quantified — and “not quantified” on a spread is a real number you do not have. Elsewhere on their own site, crypto top-up is advertised “as low as 0.4%” on the top tier. Set the spread question aside for now and come back to it; it is the one number that would change my recommendation.
Funding is the strongest feature: crypto from more than 40 blockchains, converted to USDC (the default) or to fiat, with transactions on Arbitrum.
On eligibility: “citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”. The list of regions was empty when I fetched it, which is not the same as no restriction — it is the same as unpublished.
Rewards: no cashback. Instead there are referral commissions of up to 40% of referred top-up fees, and tier privileges tied to deposits, referrals and SFP staking.
What all three share, and none of them fixes
Worth saying plainly: none of these alternatives is a bank. A crypto card is a payment card, not a deposit account, and a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side — so a crypto card often rests on two licences rather than one. A card number starts with an issuer identification number, and merchants look it up. Adding funds means moving crypto on a network, and network fees are charged by the blockchain, not the card provider. Every payment carries the risk of a decline and, sometimes, a hold on your funds for up to seven days. And on 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, as critics put it, to you.
In the EU, MiCA has been in legal effect since June 2023 under Regulation (EU) 2023/1114, with the rules on stablecoins applying from 30 June 2024 and the crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. E-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first — a date that has already passed. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can check any provider there before you connect a wallet to it. That check is worth five minutes.
One last piece of context, because it explains why “is it a bank?” comes up so often in searches: prepaid cards draw on a stored balance, while a standard debit card asks your bank to withdraw from a linked account at the moment of purchase. Many crypto cards behave like the first kind — crypto is converted and loaded as fiat balance — and the card can only spend what is already on it.
Who I would recommend it to
Nobody, for the purpose of getting a card. I am not going to dress that up. A product that has not issued a card since December 2022, has not shipped an app update since February 2023, does not name its issuer, does not publish its fees, does not publish a support route, and has no published wind-down plan for customer balances is not a card you should want in your wallet in the first place. My score of 1.8 says the same thing.
There is exactly one group this page is for, and it is you if all three of these are true:
- You opened this wallet in the past and it still has something in it.
- You cannot find a clear route to move that balance out.
- You want to know whether anyone is obligated to give it back.
For that group, the advice is unglamorous and I will not dress it up either: find out what the app says your balance is, move it to a wallet you hold the keys to, and do it before anything else on your list. If the app refuses to let you, that is when you want a record — screenshots, dates, transaction references — because you may need to show a bank, an ombudsman or a solicitor that you tried. I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice, and I am not going to speculate about what anyone is owed.
For everyone else reading this because you are choosing a card and you found Pay Card in a search: close this page and look at the three alternatives above. BloFin has the cleanest published cost structure, Decaf has the clearest foreign-exchange answer and the longest restricted list, SafePal has the widest funding reach and the least complete card description. All three are imperfect, all three are live, and all three would still be running if this one had.
And if your reason for looking at a crypto card in the first place is that a regular bank would not open an account for you — that is worth naming. The underlying reason matters more than which brand you pick. Every regulated issuer in this category runs identity checks, sanctions screening and, in the EU, customer due diligence covering your name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents and politically-exposed-person status. Cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, some issuers set higher limits. A brand swap does not change any of that. If a bank turned you down, understanding exactly why will do more for you than choosing between three wallet cards.
Frequently asked questions
What was the Pay Card?
It was a DeFi payments wallet app whose App Store listing read “Manage your prepaid cards”. The listing said nothing about which network or currency the cards used, and card fees were never named. The app was free to download, with one paid item inside it — “Account on Gnosis Chain” at GBP 0.99. Beyond prepaid cards, the listing mentioned claiming “rewards” individually without ever stating a rate.
Is Pay Card still available to new users?
No. Prepaid card purchases with Wyre were disabled on 2022-12-05 “until further notice”, and the last app version, 1.2.0, dates from 2023-02-18. The programme is closed, and no new cards are issued through the app. This is why “everyday use” and “who can get it” both score zero.
Who owns Pay Card?
The App Store names the developer as CARDSTACK SERVICES PTE. LTD., and the Cardstack homepage footer reads Cardstack Foundation. The issuer — the institution that actually held the card programme and the money behind it — is not stated on the public pages. That gap matters, because if something goes wrong you need to know which institution is responsible.
What happened to Wyre, the provider Pay Card used?
Wyre announced its wind-down in June 2023, according to reporting by The Block, and MetaMask ceased Wyre support in January 2023 as Wyre was reportedly closing, per Benzinga. To be precise: Cardstack’s own sources do not link to this reporting, so treat it as independent context. What is official is the app version history showing the card feature disabled and never restored.
Can I still use my Pay Card or spend what’s on it?
Nobody has published an answer, and that silence is the real answer to weigh. Top-up methods are not disclosed, the limits and ATM access are not stated, and no information exists on withdrawing a card balance or on what happens to a balance after closure. If funds are sitting in that wallet, check what the app shows and try to move it to a wallet you control.
Is Pay Card free, and what were its fees?
The app was free to download, and the only listed purchase was “Account on Gnosis Chain” at GBP 0.99. Card fees were not stated — no annual fee, issue fee, foreign-exchange fee or dormancy fee was ever published. That is why cost scores 5 out of 10: not because the card was expensive, but because there was no figure to judge.
Does Pay Card require KYC, and is it available in my country?
Neither question has a published answer on the card’s pages. Identity verification requirements are not stated, and no country list is given. Prepaid and debit cards are generally limited to adults aged 18 and over. If eligibility is what you are checking, the honest advice is to assume a regulated issuer will verify you and to ask the provider directly.
Is Pay Card safe, and can I trust it with my money?
The programme no longer issues cards, the app has not been updated since 2023, the issuer is not named, and the listing links to no support page — only the developer site cardstack.com and a privacy policy. I found no Trustpilot page or Reddit threads for Card Pay, with searches on 2026-10-20 returning unrelated companies. Nothing here supports a promise of safety, and closing an old wallet is the risk-reducing move.
What can I use instead of Pay Card?
The three live options in this review are the BloFin Wallet Visa Platinum card at 6.9 out of 10, Decaf Visa at 6.2, and SafePal’s virtual Mastercard debit at 6.2. BloFin publishes $0.00 activation, annual, issuance and dormancy fees with a 1%-or-lower spend fee by tier. Decaf adds no FX fee of its own but restricts many countries and US states. SafePal funds from 40+ blockchains but charges 1% on non-USD Mastercard settlement.
Was the Pay Card worth it, and how do I close my account?
“Worth it” is hard to answer for a card that never published its fees. Deleting a wallet account is not something the public pages explain, and with no support page I would not expect instructions. If you are closing things out, check whether there is a balance first, move it somewhere you control the keys to, and keep a record of what the app showed you on what date.
Wallet cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
