A US-only Visa that spends straight from a crypto wallet — good daily card, costly conversions
Uphold is one of the older names in crypto, and its card is one of the more practical things it offers: a Visa that draws directly on a wallet holding 300-plus digital assets and US dollars, rather than on a bank account. That makes it genuinely useful for anyone who holds crypto and wants to spend it without selling it first through a separate exchange.

But it is a US product. The card page covers residents of US states and Washington D.C. only, excluding Louisiana, New York and US territories, and it is issued by Cross River Bank with Uphold HQ Inc. as programme manager. If you are anywhere else, this review is not for you — the “what to take instead” section covers what exists in other places, and I am blunt about how well documented those alternatives are.
I scored the card 5.8 out of 10. That is a middling number for a card that is very good at one specific thing and quietly expensive or limited at several others. Details and reasoning below, section by section.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.8 out of 10, a strong everyday card inside a narrow set of US states
The score is built from six criteria, each marked out of 10, and the marks are copied exactly as they came out of the review rather than rounded or re-weighted. Where I disagree with a mark, I say so in the text rather than quietly adjusting the table.
| Criterion | Mark | Why, in short |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Residents of US states and Washington D.C. only; not Louisiana, New York or US territories |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Essential has no annual fee and $4.99 plastic, FX 1.50%, ATM $2.95; Elite costs $99.99 a year for 0% FX; conversion spreads on BTC/ETH run 2.05% to 2.2% |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | The card spends a wallet balance of 300+ digital assets and USD, stablecoins highlighted; top up by bank transfer, PayPal or crypto; networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Issued by Cross River Bank (Member FDIC), programme run by Uphold HQ Inc.; Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 across 27,602 reviews, against reports of account freezes lasting weeks and up to three months |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available”, ATM $2.95 on Essential and $0 on Elite |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 | A good card for a narrow group, an average card for everyone else |
Who this suits: US residents in the eligible states who already hold crypto or stablecoins and want to spend them directly, and who can tolerate converting at a spread rather than moving money to a bank first. The rewards structure — paid in XRP — also only makes sense if you are comfortable being paid in that token.
Who it does not suit: anyone outside the eligible US states and DC; anyone who plans to travel and use the card abroad heavily, because Essential charges 1.50% on foreign transactions and neither tier reimburses exchange-rate losses; anyone whose main asset is BTC or ETH and who pays often, because the conversion spread on those is 2.05% to 2.2%; and anyone who needs a card that never freezes. The most common complaint pattern in reviews is account restriction lasting weeks, sometimes up to three months, which for someone living on their balance is not a nuisance but a crisis.
The reliability mark of 6/10 deserves a word, because it looks odd next to a Trustpilot score of 4.6 out of 5. Both are true at once: the bank behind the card is an FDIC member and the aggregate ratings are strong, while a steady minority of reviewers describe exactly the failure that hurts most — being locked out of your own money without a clear reason. Averages hide that. The “what can go wrong” section is where I unpack it.
Will they give you the card?
They will give it to US residents in US states and Washington D.C., and not in Louisiana, New York or the US territories. Eligibility is based on residence, not citizenship — the card’s own pages frame it that way. Everything else about who gets approved is unstated, and I want to be plain about that rather than fill the gap with guesses.
What the public pages do say:
- Residence in an eligible US state or DC. Louisiana and New York are excluded, as are US territories.
- No credit check. The card does not examine your credit history.
- You need an Uphold wallet first; the setup is described as taking under five minutes.
- Documents, proof of address, and the age requirement are not stated on the pages I read.
- The card terms do require an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and a date of birth, and say the card is for personal use only.
- KYC tiers and processing time are not stated.
That last cluster matters more than it first appears. There are no published KYC levels and no published verification timetable, yet the single most common complaint about this platform is an identity check that stalls. You are being asked to commit without being told what the process looks like on the happy path.
One practical detail for anyone outside the US reading this anyway: a US mailing address is required, and the delivery time and shipping cost for the physical card are not stated. There is no expedited replacement — the card terms simply say it is not available. A replacement costs $4.99 on Essential or $29.99 on Elite, with one free replacement per year.
Fees: what the card really costs you
Two fees decide whether this card is cheap or expensive for you: the foreign transaction fee and the crypto conversion spread. Everything else is small.

| Fee or limit | Essential | Elite |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | $0 | $99.99 |
| Virtual card | $0 | $0 |
| Physical card | $4.99, plastic | $0, metal |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1.50% | 0% |
| ATM withdrawal fee | $2.95 | $0 |
| Foreign ATM transaction fee | $1.50 | $0 |
| POS purchase | $0 | $0 |
| Replacement card | $4.99 | $29.99, one free per year |
| Closing the card | $0 | $0 |
| Customer service | $0 | $0 |
| Maximum card balance | $25,000 | $25,000 |
| Purchases and total withdrawals | $2,500/day, $10,000/month | $25,000/day, $100,000/month |
| ATM withdrawals | $500/day, $2,000/month, 3 per day, 10 per month | $2,000/day, $10,000/month, 3 per day, 30 per month |
| Bank-teller cash | Same as ATM amounts | Same as ATM amounts |
Some of those rows deserve expansion. The ATM free allowance is not stated, so I cannot tell you how many withdrawals the fee covers — take the figure as per-withdrawal. ATM balance inquiry is not available. Limits generally were not stated beyond the daily and monthly figures above. The crypto conversion fee itself is not stated as a percentage on the card page; what you actually pay is the spread described under top-ups.
A US dollar card, and that is the only currency stated. Foreign transactions are converted by Visa to USD at the rate in effect on the processing day, and the foreign transaction fee is added on top: 1.50% on Essential, 0% on Elite. The bank does not reimburse exchange-rate losses or the foreign fee, so on Elite you still carry the Visa rate itself. Whether a multi-currency balance is available for the card is not stated.
Upgrading Essential to Elite costs $0 in fee. That is unusual and worth knowing, though the $99.99 annual fee means the maths only works if you use the card enough.
Three ordinary payments, priced
Buying coffee in New York, $5, from a US dollar balance. No fee at all. A POS purchase is $0, no conversion happens because the money is already dollars, and if you pay by phone with Apple Pay or Google Pay the same applies. This is the case the card is genuinely good at.
Buying a $60 subscription while travelling in Lisbon, paid from a US dollar balance on Essential. Visa converts $60 at the rate on the processing day, and Essential adds 1.50%, so $0.90 goes on top of whatever the rate loss is. On Elite the $0.90 disappears but the exchange rate still is. Neither tier gives the rate back.
A $40 lunch paid from an ETH balance. Here the card converts crypto to spend, and the spread on ETH is 2.05% to 2.2%. On $40 that is roughly $0.82 to $0.88, which is already more than the fee on the Lisbon subscription and paid on every single meal. Hold a USD or stablecoin balance instead and this cost falls away — stablecoins convert at under 0.25%, and USD and USD stablecoins convert 1:1 at 0% within a $20,000 monthly cap per customer.
That last comparison is the single most useful thing in this review. The difference between spending a dollar balance and spending an ETH balance is roughly 2.05% to 2.2% every time.
Top up: the wallet balance is the account
There is no separate card balance to load. The card spends from your wallet, and the wallet holds 300-plus digital assets and US dollars, with stablecoins highlighted. That is the design’s real strength: no transfer step between a card account and a crypto account.

Ways to fund the wallet:
- Bank transfer
- Direct deposit
- PayPal
- Crypto deposit from elsewhere
Per-method deposit fees and minimums are not stated, and — importantly — the supported networks for crypto deposits are not named on the pages I read. If you are planning to move USDT or USDC across from another exchange, confirm the network in the app before you send, because blockchain transfers are irreversible.
The conversion spreads, which are what you really pay when the card spends crypto, are set out like this: USD and USD stablecoins 0% at 1:1 within a $20,000 monthly cap per customer; other stablecoins under 0.25%; major FX pairs 0.3%; BTC and ETH 2.05% to 2.2%; altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%; precious metals 2.35% to 3.40%. These are given as typical figures for the US, UK and Europe. There is a “Preview Trade” screen that shows the all-in price before you commit, which is the tool to actually use rather than working from the table in your head.
On the way out: funds in the card account do not expire, and you can close the card through customer service at a $0 fee. The bank may cancel the card at any time. Only the USD fiat account is FDIC-insured — crypto and metals in the wallet are not. Withdrawal fees to a bank are not stated.
Paying with it every day
The mechanics are standard. Visa, virtual and physical: Essential’s physical card is plastic, Elite’s is metal. Apple Pay and Google Pay work “when available”. Which merchant categories are blocked is not stated.
Rewards are the interesting part, and they come with a condition that surprises people:
- Elite: 4% in XRP on spending funded by crypto or metals, or 3% in XRP on fiat and stablecoin spending, capped at up to $300.
- Essential: 2% in XRP, capped at up to $120.
- The rewards currency is currently XRP, and this applies to cards activated on or after 1 January 2026, for three months after activation.
So the headline rate is only live for three months, and it is denominated in a token whose price you do not control. Treat it as a nudge to use the card, not as income.
Disputes and error claims follow a documented path. You start a dispute in the Uphold Platform; report errors within 60 days; a phone report needs written confirmation within 10 business days; the bank decides within 10 business days. A claim may take up to 45 days, with provisional credit within 10 business days, and up to 90 days for new cards, point-of-sale or foreign-initiated transactions. Unauthorized Visa transactions are investigated in 5 business days plus 5. Liability for a lost or stolen card is capped at $50 if you report within 2 business days, and up to $500 later. Worth noting: the terms never use the word “chargeback”, so do not expect to search for that word in the documentation and find it.
The app scores 4.7 out of 5 on the iOS App Store from 91K ratings, read on 20 October 2026, at version 6.111.0. The Google Play rating was not read, so I have no view on Android.
What can go wrong
Account freezes are the headline risk, and they are not rare enough to be treated as an edge case.
The most common theme in user reports from September and October 2026 is account restriction without explanation lasting weeks, sometimes up to three months. It often follows a first deposit, linking the card, a withdrawal attempt, or a location mismatch. Alongside that: slow, bot-driven support; identity-verification problems such as expired links and lockouts after a phone number change; and unexpected charges.
The aggregate numbers cut the other way. Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, shows 4.6 out of 5 across 27,602 reviews, about 6,386 of them in the last 12 months, with 67% five-star and 17% one-star — and 0% of negative reviews answered. Third-party figures for Trustpilot vary by source, so treat any single number as provisional. ComplaintsBoard shows 1.9 out of 5 across 13 reviews. There has been a UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-5127266, on a closed wallet and card, where the card was issued by Optimus Cards UK rather than by Uphold.
Officially, the Uphold status page reported a Mastercard-related issue that froze some UK cards, resolved on 19 May 2026. It is worth separating the two card worlds here: the US card this review is about is a Visa, while the reported UK freeze involved Mastercard and a different issuer.
What you can do about risk is limited but not zero. Uphold recommends enabling two-factor authentication, and uses email verification for unusual activity; it describes a solvency proof through Reserveledger and Reservechain. An in-app card freeze, spending controls and card insurance are not stated on the security page, so do not assume they are there until you see them. Visa Zero Liability does not cover ATM transactions outside Visa and PLUS networks.
The one incident outside your control is the card disappearing altogether. Programme closures typically run in stages: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, and I include it only to make the shape of the risk visible.
Two structural points from the wider category that bear on this card. First, prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults 18 and over. Second, in the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while ordinary users buying goods or services are not — so the regulatory burden sits with Uphold, not with you, but it is also why Uphold can be strict about your identity.
What to take instead
I want to be honest about the comparison here: for two of the three alternatives below, the majority of the details readers would need are not stated on the pages I could read. I would rather show you the gap than fill it.
Bybit Card — 6.0 / 10. This is the most fully documented alternative, and it is aimed at a genuinely different geography. The card regions listed in the official help centre are Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific; the application asks for your country of residence, and if the country is unsupported, Bybit says it will register your interest. The cards page is explicit: this product is not meant for European Economic Area customers, and all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited. Separately, Bybit’s fiat-service restricted list — which covers deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card itself — includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, with Russian users able to make only RUB fiat transactions. There is no card-specific statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens, and no citizenship-versus-residence rule was found. The card currency depends on the country of your Advanced Identity Verification.
What is documented is detailed and, in places, generous:
| Aspect | Bybit Card |
|---|---|
| Networks by region | Mastercard prepaid Argentina; Mastercard credit card AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico; Visa prepaid Brazil, Peru; Visa credit Asia Pacific |
| Card currency | USD (AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Asia Pacific), ARS, MXN, BRL, PEN or USD |
| Validity | 3 years (AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Asia Pacific, Australia), 6 years Argentina, 5 years Brazil, Mexico, Peru |
| Virtual issuance | None in all regions “until further notice” |
| Physical issuance | Australia 29.99 USD; Argentina 5 USD/USDT; Georgia and Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29.99 USDT; Asia Pacific 5 USDT; Brazil and Mexico none |
| Crypto conversion fee | 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil, Mexico); 0.5% Argentina; not supported in Peru |
| FX fee | 2% on top of the network rate (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Mexico); 2% “International Fee” outside Kazakhstan even in USD; 7% Argentina; 1.5% Brazil; 1% Peru |
| Rewards | From 5 October 2026, only crypto-funded transactions earn; fiat-funded spending does not |
Two things stand out. Bybit has no balance of its own — the card draws on the Funding Account, fiat first, and only sells crypto if fiat is insufficient, with a reorderable default priority of USDT, USDC, GRAM, BTC, ETH, XRP. And the rewards tiers are steep: Base 2% capped at 5 USD, Beta 2% at 50 USD, Alpha 4% at 150 USD, Apex 6% at 250 USD, Omega 8% at 400 USD, Infinite 10% at 600 USD, with monthly spend thresholds to unlock them, points pending 4 calendar days, cashback in USDT at points times 0.002, and Auto Cashback switched on. The catch is that the top rates demand 9,500 to 25,000 USD of monthly spend.
MEXC — 5.6 / 10. A page listing starts with “The Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand…” behind a Details link, so the full country list is not shown. Virtual card only; physical cards not yet available; network and card currency not stated. Issuance is 20 USD, though the page appears to show it next to a discounted 0 USD price and it is not clear which applies; service fee 0%. Fees vary by card type according to a linked guide I did not read, and crypto conversion and FX fees are not on the page. Funding runs USDT into the Fiat account and then onto the card, networks not stated. Cashback follows an M-Score tier, paid by the 15th of the next month: Standard 4% capped at 100 USDT a month, Premier (600–799) 6% capped at 300, Elite (800+) 10% capped at 800. Referral is 20 USDT for the referrer, 10 for the referee.
MSX — 6.4 / 10. This is the highest-scoring alternative, and also the one I can tell you least about: on an official page I could read, who can get it, the card itself, costs, fees, funding and rewards are all not stated. The score alone is not a reason to switch to something undocumented.
My honest summary of the comparison: if you are a US resident in an eligible state, the Uphold card is the most fully documented option in front of you. If you are in one of Bybit’s regions and outside the EEA, Bybit is worth a look — but its rewards only apply to crypto-funded spending, and its FX fees are higher than Uphold Elite’s in most regions. Outside both, the field thins quickly.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend it to a US resident in an eligible state who already sits on a stablecoin balance, spends most of the time inside the US, and treats the card as a convenient second card rather than their only access to money. If you hold XRP or are open to it, the three-month activation rewards are a small bonus. Keep a dollar buffer in the wallet so that a review freeze does not leave you unable to pay a bill, and check the conversion spread in the Preview Trade screen before every large purchase — that habit is worth more than the rewards.
I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would not recommend it at all if you are outside the eligible US states and DC, if you rely on being able to freeze and unfreeze access instantly, or if most of your balance sits in BTC or ETH and you pay often.
Support, if you need it: phone +1 888-977-7217 or the number on the back of your card, mail Uphold Card, 228 Park Ave. S., #50458, New York, NY 10003-1502, the Uphold app and platform, and support.uphold.com. For a complaint you believe is not being handled, the CFPB number is 1-855-411-2372. Languages and hours are not stated.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Uphold card?
The Uphold card is a Visa, available virtual or physical, that spends directly from your Uphold wallet balance instead of from a bank account. The wallet holds US dollars and more than 300 digital assets, with stablecoins highlighted. It comes in two versions: Essential, plastic, no annual fee, and Elite, metal, $99.99 a year. The US card is issued by Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC, with Uphold HQ Inc. as programme manager. It is a US product for residents of eligible states.
How does the Uphold card work?
There is no separate card balance to load. When you pay, the card draws on your wallet — dollars first in effect, and crypto converted when that is what you hold. Visa converts any foreign transaction to US dollars at the rate on the processing day, and the tier’s foreign transaction fee is added on top. Because it behaves like a pre-loaded balance rather than a bank debit card, it cannot overdraw. Payments can be split between crypto and dollars depending on what is in the wallet at the time.
Who can get the Uphold card?
Residents of US states and Washington D.C. can apply, and eligibility is based on residence. The card is not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories. There is no credit check, and you need an Uphold wallet, which the company says takes under five minutes to set up. Required documents, proof of address and the age requirement are not stated on the public pages, and no KYC tiers or processing times are published.
Is the Uphold card free?
The Essential tier has no annual fee, a free virtual card, and a $4.99 plastic physical card. Elite costs $99.99 a year but includes a free metal card, 0% foreign transaction fees and free ATM withdrawals. Essential charges 1.50% on foreign transactions and $2.95 per ATM withdrawal, plus a $1.50 fee on foreign ATM transactions. Upgrading Essential to Elite costs no fee, so the annual charge is the real decision.
How much does it cost to spend crypto with the card?
It depends entirely on what you spend from. USD and USD stablecoins convert 1:1 at 0% within a $20,000 monthly cap per customer, and other stablecoins convert at under 0.25%. Major FX pairs cost 0.3%. BTC and ETH cost 2.05% to 2.2%, altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%, and precious metals 2.35% to 3.40%. On a $40 purchase from an ETH balance that is roughly $0.82 to $0.88 in conversion cost every time.
What are the limits on the Uphold card?
The maximum card balance is $25,000 on both tiers. Essential allows purchases and total withdrawals of $2,500 a day and $10,000 a month, with ATM withdrawals limited to $500 a day, $2,000 a month, 3 per day and 10 per month. Elite raises purchases and withdrawals to $25,000 a day and $100,000 a month, and ATM withdrawals to $2,000 a day, $10,000 a month, 3 per day and 30 per month. Bank-teller cash withdrawals match the ATM amounts. General limits are otherwise not stated.
Can I add the Uphold card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported “when available”, and that qualifier is worth reading carefully — availability can depend on your region and your device. Adding the card means the phone stores a device-specific number rather than your card number, and each payment uses a one-time code. Note that U.S. support, replacement terms and delivery details for the physical card are only partly published: a US mailing address is required, and expedited replacement is not available.
Is the Uphold card safe?
The US dollar balance is held at Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC, and Uphold states it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank. Only the USD fiat account is insured — crypto and metals are not. The company recommends two-factor authentication and uses email verification for unusual activity, and describes a solvency proof. An in-app card freeze and spending controls are not stated on the security page. Reviews do report account freezes lasting weeks and sometimes up to three months, so treat access as something that can be interrupted.
Is the Uphold card available in my country?
For the US card covered here, only in US states and Washington D.C., excluding Louisiana, New York and US territories. If you are elsewhere, look at a card built for your region — Bybit lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific, and states that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. MEXC’s page begins listing the Philippines, Taiwan and Thailand behind a details link, and MSX’s availability is not stated on any page I could read.
Is the Uphold card worth it?
For a US resident in an eligible state who spends mostly stablecoins and dollars, yes — the everyday cost is near zero and the convenience of paying straight from a crypto wallet is real. It is worth less if you pay in BTC or ETH, where the 2.05% to 2.2% spread applies every time, or if you travel, where Essential’s 1.50% foreign fee bites and Elite’s $99.99 annual fee only pays off with heavy use. Weigh it against the possibility of losing access to your balance for weeks.
Exchange cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
