A card that is already switched off
The Moonwell card does not exist any more. If you are reading this to decide whether to apply, you cannot — the programme stopped issuing new cards on 8 July 2026 and every card was cancelled on 8 August 2026. If you are reading this because you still have money sitting in the old card balance, the deadlines matter far more than anything else on this page, and I will spell them out below. I score the card 2.3 out of 10, and the score is not really about quality: it is about the fact that nothing is left to judge.

Who does it suit now? Almost nobody, except the narrow group I describe at the end: former cardholders who need to confirm the closure details and get their money out. Who does it not suit? Anyone planning a trip, opening a shop account, or paying a bill in the next few months. There is nothing to sign up for.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 2.3 out of 10, because the card is gone
I want to be direct about why the number is so low, because a score in this range can look like a judgement about fees or reliability when it is not. It is a verdict on a dead product. The card was cancelled, its app went offline, and the company that actually ran the payment infrastructure was sold off. There is no version of this card that works today.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | The programme is closed: card loading stopped and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026, and the last day of use was 8 August 2026 |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficially: a 0.5% fee for loading USDC, and a 1.5% currency conversion fee |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | Card loading stopped on 8 July 2026; unofficially, historically: on-chain USDC and “borrow-and-load” against Moonwell lending positions |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | The card closed together with the Cypher infrastructure, which was bought by Nium; fee-free withdrawal was available until 6 September 2026; no complaints about the card could be found |
| Everyday use | 0 / 10 | All cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026, and the app was switched off on 6 September 2026 |
| Total | 2.3 / 10 |
Two rows are worth dwelling on. “Cost” scores 7 out of 10 — the highest mark on the card — and it is a relief to see that the pricing was not the problem. The fees as reported by third-party sites were modest: 0.5% to load USDC, 1.5% on currency conversion. Note that I could not confirm those figures on Moonwell’s own pages, because those pages no longer carry card content. Treat them as unofficial, not as terms you can rely on.
“Everyday use” scores zero because there is no everyday. Cards cancelled 8 August 2026, app disconnected 6 September 2026. If you were still using this card for subscriptions or recurring payments after August, those payments would have started failing, and that is worth checking in your bank statement now.
One more thing before we go further, since it explains everything else. Moonwell itself was not the company holding your card balance and running the payment rails. That was Cypher. And Cypher has been acquired by Nium. When a card programme’s infrastructure is bought by someone else, the programme is usually the first thing to go.
What happened to the programme
The timeline runs through three dates, and I would put them in order in your head. Cypher published a notice on 8 July 2026 announcing that it had been acquired by Nium. The same notice said card loading and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026. Card loading stopped on 8 July, and issuing new cards stopped on 8 July. The last day of card use was 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC, and after that the cards were cancelled. The final rewards cycle ran 2 to 16 July 2026. The app, the dApp and withdrawals all closed on 6 September 2026.
Moonwell’s own statement about what comes next is thin. According to Crypto Briefing, Moonwell says it is exploring new card providers, and there is no timeline attached to that sentence. “Exploring” with no date is not a plan. I would not hold money or make decisions in the expectation of a successor card.
One thing I could not find, and want to name plainly: on the Moonwell public pages there is no card content left at all. Who could get the card, what it cost, which countries it worked in, whether KYC applied, what the fees were — the public pages do not say, because the card is closed. So if you are looking for the official terms, you will not find them. Some details survive only through third-party reporting, and I will mark those as unofficial where I use them.
Here is what unofficial sources said about the card while it existed, so you can place your own memories:
- Available in more than 180 countries, excluding New York and Vermont (per Crypto Briefing 2026; Diario Bitcoin) — unofficial.
- A Visa debit card spending on-chain USDC at 44 million-plus merchants, launched December 2024 (per Crypto Briefing 2026) — unofficial.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay supported (per Crypto Briefing 2026) — unofficial.
That is the whole of the public record. No official eligibility list, no official fee table, no official card terms survive on the pages I could check.
If you already have the card
This is the section I would read twice if the card sounds like you. The good news first: the arrangement on the money was not hostile. The Cypher card balance was withdrawable via the Cypher app or dApp at no fee until 6 September 2026. Cypher’s wallet is non-custodial, which means you hold your own keys rather than trusting a company with them. And rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured, if you claimed them before the end date.
The bad news is the calendar. That no-fee withdrawal window closed on 6 September 2026. Support from Cypher — [email protected] — was available through 6 September 2026 and then for a 60-day transitional period after that. I want to be careful here: the material I have does not state which languages support covered, or what hours it kept. So if you need help, the honest position is that the email address is the thing to try, and the terms of that support window are thinner than I would like.
If your money is still on the old card, the question is not whether the card works — it does not — but whether you ever withdrew. If you did not, the no-fee route has closed and you are in the transitional period with support, which is a worse place to be than a few weeks ago. If you did, this section is just confirmation for your records.
How did the card get funded, historically, for context? Unofficially: on-chain USDC, and a “borrow-and-load” feature that let users borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the proceeds onto the card (per Crypto Briefing 2026). Neither of those is available now — card loading ended 8 July 2026.
I could not find published information on ATM withdrawals, spending limits, or dispute handling for this card. The card’s public pages do not state them.
What can go wrong
The closure notice itself is the risk story here, but there is a layer under it worth understanding, because it applies to the alternatives too.
The first thing to know is the structure. A crypto card sits on top of at least two regulated parties: the card network, Visa or Mastercard, which routes the payments and sets the rules; and the issuer, a bank or licensed e-money institution that actually holds the card programme. The crypto brand is often just the front end and the programme manager. That is why when a card dies, it dies at the infrastructure layer: Cypher, in this case, is the issuer and the infrastructure, and Cypher was bought.
That structure is not a bug, it is how the industry works, and it is why card programmes can be switched off by a corporate acquisition rather than by anything a user did.
What I could not find is any complaint history. I searched for Trustpilot and Reddit complaints about this card as of 20 October 2026 and found none. I want to read that carefully, because “no complaints” here does not mean “no problems” — it means nobody was left with a functioning card long enough to complain in public about how it worked. It is the silence of a product that stopped, not the silence of a well-liked product.
There is one security detail worth holding on to, because it belongs to the provider rather than to Moonwell and it outlasts the card. Cypher’s wallet is non-custodial, meaning you keep your private keys. But Cypher also notes that anti-money-laundering law requires it to keep identification and transaction records for at least five years after account closure. So “I hold my own keys” and “no record of me exists anywhere” are two different things, and for an account that was subject to KYC, the second one was never true. Moonwell-specific security controls are not stated publicly.
A broader risk worth naming, because it applies to any card where you hold the keys yourself: blockchain transfers are typically irreversible. There is no built-in recovery. If funds go to the wrong network or the wrong address, the network cannot freeze or return them. And a declined card payment can leave a hold on your funds that lingers for days. If you are moving money between wallets to do any of this, that is where mistakes cost real money.
What to take instead
Three alternatives scored close together and are still operating. I am not recommending them as identical replacements — none of them is a Moonwell card — but they are the ones in the comparison, and here is how each differs. All three scores come from the same ten-point scale this review uses.
| Alternative | Score | Card type | Who it is for | Main catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Virtual and physical Mastercard, issued by DiPocket UAB | Residents and citizens of selected European countries, including the EEA and the UK | Physical card needs a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier |
| Pay3 | 6.3 / 10 | Virtual, physical and Apple Pay/Google Pay cards, Visa | Anyone outside “Restricted Locations” | Collateral-based: your collateral sets your limit; issuance starts at $5, spend from $0.15 |
| Exa | 6.2 / 10 | Virtual Visa Signature, accepted at 150 million+ merchants | 45 countries and 31 US states | Card is credit-based against collateral; fees vary by country and currency |
Let me take each in turn, because the differences matter more than the near-identical scores suggest.
Nexo, at 6.3, is the most conventional of the three. You get a virtual card that activates in the app and a physical one, on a Mastercard licence issued by DiPocket UAB. Eligibility is for residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” — note that both citizens and residents, and note that no country list is published on the page, and excluded jurisdictions are not named. There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate. The physical card ships free but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier. On fees: the foreign exchange fee is 0.2% on weekdays for the EEA, UK and Switzerland, and 2% in the rest of the world; weekends are 0.7% and 2.5%. Cashback is available on purchases in Credit Mode when the account holds more than $5,000 in digital assets, paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, at tier-dependent rates from Platinum down to Base. I should mention, since it is relevant context and not an official statement: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations, with no official Nexo statement about Russians found. If sanctions exposure matters to you, that is something to weigh yourself.
Pay3, also 6.3, is the most flexible on who it serves and the least conventional in how it works. It is open to users outside “Restricted Locations” — countries under trade sanctions, export controls or crypto or fintech prohibitions — though that list is not published and may change without notice, and users, citizens or residents of Restricted Locations are excluded. The card terms require you to attest you are not a US citizen and not OFAC-blocked. You get virtual, physical and Apple Pay/Google Pay cards on Visa. Issuance starts at $5, and spend from $0.15 per transaction; monthly and annual fees are not stated, and fees vary by card type, currency and location. Conversion starts from 1.15%, and foreign exchange, cross-border and foreign transaction fees each go up to 3%. The distinctive part: the card is collateral-based, so the collateral you put up sets your spending limit.
Exa, at 6.2, is the most credit-shaped. The card is issued in 45 countries — including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, with Nigeria conditional — and 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, among them Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia, and the rule is by residence: Russian residents cannot be issued a card, and spending is blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The card is a virtual Visa Signature accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries. It is marketed as free, with no amounts on the page. Spending works through Pay Now or in instalments against collateral held in self-custody in the Exa app, so it is a credit line, not a prepaid balance. There is no cashback; the “earn while you spend” language refers to yield on your assets, and the help centre points to Visa Signature benefits and a US activation reward.
Which one is closest to what Moonwell was? If you liked the idea of spending stablecoins directly from your own wallet, Exa’s self-custody model is the nearest in spirit, but it is credit against collateral rather than a loaded balance, and that is a meaningfully different product. If you are in Europe and want something closer to a normal debit experience with a physical card, Nexo is the one with a published country framing and published fee tiers. If you are outside Europe and want broad geographic reach, Pay3 is the most open — but its fee structure is the least transparent of the three, and its reliance on your own attestation about sanctions status is a responsibility that lands on you.
Who I would recommend it to
Almost nobody, and the list is short enough to say out loud.
I would recommend this page to former Moonwell cardholders who still have a balance, or who claimed rewards before 16 July 2026, and who want to confirm the closure dates and the support window in one place. That is exactly who this is written for.
I would not recommend the Moonwell card to anyone starting out. Not because the pricing was bad — 0.5% to load and 1.5% to convert would have been a fair deal — but because it no longer runs. There is nothing to compare it to and nothing to sign up for.
If you are choosing a crypto card today, take the comparison above and pick on the axis that matters to you: country eligibility first, because that is a hard gate and no fee compensates for being excluded; then whether you want a loaded balance you control or a credit line against collateral; then the fee structure, and read the “not stated” entries as unknowns rather than as zeros. And before you commit to any of them, read the section below on how these cards actually work, because most of the surprises people hit with crypto cards come from the plumbing, not the brand.
Frequently asked questions
What is Moonwell card?
The Moonwell card was a Visa debit card, launched in December 2024 according to Crypto Briefing, that let you spend on-chain USDC at merchants. It was run on infrastructure provided by Cypher, not by Moonwell itself. That distinction matters now: Cypher was acquired by Nium, and the card programme closed with it. As of today there is no Moonwell card to get, and the public Moonwell pages carry no card content.
Is Moonwell a bank?
No. Moonwell is a crypto lending platform; the card’s payment infrastructure was provided by Cypher, a separate company, which has since been acquired by Nium. Crypto cards typically sit on top of a licensed issuer rather than being a bank in themselves, which is why an acquisition at the infrastructure layer can shut a card programme without the crypto brand disappearing. I could not find Moonwell’s own company registration details publicly stated.
Who owns Moonwell now?
This is not something I can answer from the public pages. What is documented is that Cypher, the card infrastructure provider (CypherD Wallet Inc.), was acquired by Nium, announced in a notice dated 8 July 2026. Moonwell’s own ownership is not stated on the pages I could check. What Moonwell has said publicly, per Crypto Briefing, is that it is exploring new card providers with no timeline attached.
When did the Moonwell card close?
In stages. Card loading and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026. The last day of card use was 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC, after which cards were cancelled. The app, dApp and withdrawals closed on 6 September 2026. The final rewards cycle ran 2 to 16 July 2026. So there is no version of the card that still functions, and anyone with a leftover balance should treat 6 September 2026 as the key past date.
What happened to my Moonwell card balance?
The card balance was withdrawable via the Cypher app or dApp at no fee, but only until 6 September 2026. After that date the free window closed and you are in Cypher’s support transitional period — [email protected], available through 6 September 2026 plus a 60-day transitional period. The Cypher wallet is non-custodial, so you hold your own keys. If your balance is still stuck, contacting that address is the concrete next step.
Did the Moonwell card work in my country?
Unofficially, it was reported as available in more than 180 countries, excluding New York and Vermont (per Crypto Briefing 2026 and Diario Bitcoin). But that is a third-party report, not a card statement, and the card’s own public pages no longer list eligible countries at all. Since the card is closed, the question is now moot — the relevant country question is which of the alternatives above actually serves where you live.
What did the Moonwell card cost?
Unofficially, a 0.5% fee to load USDC and a 1.5% foreign exchange fee (per Crypto Briefing 2026; Diario Bitcoin). I could not confirm any of this on Moonwell’s own pages, because the card content has been removed. On those reported numbers the pricing was fair, which is one reason the card scores 7 out of 10 on cost — the problem with this card was never the price, it was that it stopped existing.
Is Moonwell card safe?
That question has changed shape. The card is closed, so there is nothing to keep safe going forward — but two things carry over. Cypher’s wallet is non-custodial, so your keys were yours, and Cypher notes that anti-money-laundering law requires keeping identification and transaction records for at least five years after account closure. No complaints about the card itself could be found as of 20 October 2026, though that reflects a card that stopped rather than one that was well liked.
Can I still get a Moonwell virtual card?
No. New issuance ended on 8 July 2026, and all cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026. There is no application process, virtual or physical, and the app that would have hosted a virtual card was disconnected on 6 September 2026. If you want a card now, the alternatives in this review are where to look — Nexo, Pay3 and Exa, scored 6.3, 6.3 and 6.2 out of 10.
Is Moonwell card worth it?
That was a fair question while it existed; today it has no answer because there is nothing to sign up for. The more useful version of the question is which currently-operating card fits your country and your preferred model — a loaded stablecoin balance, as Nexo offers, or a collateral-backed line, as Pay3 and Exa do. Pick on eligibility first, because that is a hard gate, and treat every “not stated” on a fee page as an unknown rather than as a zero.
Credit and cashback cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
