Wafee card reviewed: a euro IBAN with a Visa that spends from your crypto balance
The Wafee card sits in an unusual corner of the crypto-card market. It pairs a euro IBAN account with a Visa (physical and virtual) that you load from crypto, and it advertises availability in 160+ countries, yet the public pages leave large parts of the picture blank. There is no list of supported countries, no published fee schedule, no stated coins or networks, and no clear KYC description. After working through what the company actually tells you, my read lands at 6.5/10: genuinely useful for the narrow group it is built for, and harder to recommend without reservations for anyone else.

The conditions described in this review are current as of October 28, 2026. Where a fact is not on Wafee’s own pages, I say so rather than guess.
Verdict
Wafee is a Visa programme run by a relatively young company, paired with a euro IBAN account, and aimed at people who already hold crypto and want a European-looking way to spend it. If that is you, and you are comfortable with a card programme whose partner is identified only on the FAQ page, the shape of the product is reasonable. If you are choosing a card on the strength of published fees, a clear KYC flow, a list of supported countries or a regulator’s name, there is not enough on the page to take that decision.
The score, broken out by the criteria I weighed, looks like this:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9/10 | “Available in 160+ Countries” is the strongest claim on the site, though no list of countries is published |
| Cost | 5/10 | Only “competitive exchange rates” appear, with no fee figures for issuance, conversion or ATM use |
| Top-up options | 5/10 | Spends anywhere Visa is accepted, but supported coins and networks are not named; EUR IBAN with SEPA, SWIFT and P2P |
| Reliability and complaints | 5/10 | Wafee Ltd (Nevis), card partner likely Walletto, no licences named; no complaints surface in search |
| Everyday use | 8/10 | Visa, physical and virtual, Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM policy not stated, in-app links currently go to “#” |
Total: 6.5/10.
The audience this card fits best is a crypto holder who wants a euro IBAN account and a Visa that pulls from a crypto balance, and who can accept that the issuing arrangement is light on paper. It is a weaker fit for someone whose first priority is a fee schedule they can read in advance, or who needs an explicit licence on the page.
Will they give you the card
The headline claim is the broadest I have seen on a card of this size: the site says Wafee is “Available in 160+ Countries” but does not publish a list. The flags it does show — Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Egypt, Nigeria, Jamaica, Turkey, the UAE — are a useful hint, because they point to the markets the company is visibly courting. Whether any of those, or any other 160-plus country, is actually served is something the company decides on a case-by-case basis (“product availability is determined by Wafee.co”, to use the FAQ’s wording).
KYC, in the formal sense, is not stated on the public pages. There is no description of the documents the company asks for, no mention of identity-verification tiers, and no timeline. For a regulated payment product this is unusual, and you should expect to be asked for ID at some point in the process, even if the site does not say so up front.
If you are outside the markets the flag row covers, treat the 160+ figure as a marketing claim rather than a guarantee. The test is whether the sign-up flow actually lets you through; if it does, you are in.
How to get it
The sign-up story is also thin. Wafee says the physical and virtual cards “seamlessly connect” to your account, that they are Visa cards, and that you can move between them in the app. The site does not state a card currency, an issuance fee, a delivery time, or any tiers above the basic account. Two of the more visible app links on the homepage — the App Store and Google Play buttons — point to “#” rather than to a listing, which is a small but telling sign that the mobile surface is still being put together; the web sign-in is at app.wafee.co.
So the practical path is: open an account on the web, complete whatever checks the app walks you through, request a card, and wait. How long, what it costs, and what identity documents are required are not on the page.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section most readers care about, and it is also where Wafee’s public information runs out fastest. The site repeats “competitive exchange rates” without giving figures. Issuance, monthly, conversion, FX, ATM, and daily and monthly limits are not stated. Card currency is not stated. The only stated cost shape is that you can exchange between crypto and fiat inside the app, that you can spend “abroad at competitive exchange rates”, and that the EUR IBAN account is the on-ramp and off-ramp.

The published fee facts, as far as the site goes:
| Fee or limit | Stated value |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Conversion (crypto to fiat) | not stated; “competitive exchange rates” only |
| FX / spending abroad | not stated; “competitive exchange rates” only |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated |
| Daily limit | not stated |
| Monthly limit | not stated |
| Tiers | not stated |
| Card currency | not stated |
A few everyday scenarios make the gap visible. If you buy a coffee with the card in your local currency, the relevant charges are the conversion of the crypto you spent into the merchant’s currency and any FX spread — both of which are described only as “competitive”. If you take cash out at an ATM, the ATM operator’s own surcharge (set by the machine’s owner, not by Wafee) and Wafee’s own fee, if any, would both apply; only the operator’s is foreseeable. If you top up the EUR IBAN with a SEPA transfer, your bank’s SEPA fees and Wafee’s incoming-transfer fee, if any, are both in play; only your bank’s is published.
For a reader who compares cards on published fees, this is the place to pause. The card may be cheap, but you cannot confirm it from the public page.
Top up: how to load the card
The funding model has two halves: a crypto side and a euro side. On the crypto side, the site says you can spend crypto anywhere Visa is accepted, but it does not list the coins or the networks. There is no “we support USDC on Ethereum and USDT on Tron” page that I could find. There is also a linked “Custody Note” PDF, but custody model (whether the crypto sits with Wafee, with its card partner, or in your own wallet) is not stated on the marketing pages. For a card product that depends on which chain you can send over, the absence of that list is more than cosmetic.

The euro side is clearer. The account comes with an EUR IBAN, and you can move money in and out through SEPA, SWIFT and P2P transfers from the IBAN. The site describes a “top up your payment cards” action and an “instant conversion” feature for cashing crypto out into traditional currency, but it does not state minimums, fees, or the precise timing of “instant”.
A practical tip before you send anything: confirm the supported coins and networks with Wafee’s support before initiating a transfer. On-chain transfers are generally irreversible, and a token sent on a network the issuer does not support, or to a deposit address for a different network, can be lost or stuck in manual recovery with no guarantee of return.
Paying with it every day
In the everyday-use category, the card is closer to a normal Visa. Wafee supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the marketing text specifically calls out “contactless payments” through those wallets. Physical and virtual cards are both available, and either can be linked to Apple Pay or Google Pay from the wallet app, which means a card number is never shared with the merchant.
The site does not state a list of blocked merchant categories, which means gambling, crypto purchases, or other categories that some issuers restrict cannot be checked in advance. It also does not state what happens in a dispute, what 3-D Secure behaviour to expect on online checkouts, or whether address verification (AVS) works for foreign-issued BINs — a known source of online declines.
A reader who relies on a particular category, such as online subscriptions or travel sites, should test the card on a small charge first.
What can go wrong
The risk picture for Wafee is mostly about what is not on the page, rather than what is.
- Company. Wafee Ltd, registered in Charlestown, Nevis (company number C 57790). The FAQ page links to “Walletto Terms & Conditions” and to a “Walletto Annex Prohibited Activity List” — Walletto appears to be the card-issuing partner, but its role is not explained on the site. No licences are named. A card in the EEA, the UK or the US typically runs under a banking or e-money licence held by the issuer; that issuer is here, and the licence that goes with it, is not on the page.
- Security. The marketing language is general: “cutting-edge encryption”, multi-factor authentication, and security audits. The custody model — who holds the private keys — is not described on the marketing pages. There is a Custody Note PDF linked, but it is not the same as a clear in-page answer.
- Support. The support surface is an email address ([email protected]), a contact form, a FAQ page, and social channels on X, Facebook, Instagram, Discord and Telegram. The Telegram icon currently points to a Discord invite, which is a small misconfiguration rather than a support gap. Hours, languages, and response-time targets are not stated.
- Reputation. A search for “wafee card reviews trustpilot reddit” turned up no Trustpilot page for Wafee and no recent threads specifically about the card. That can mean either that the user base is small or that complaints simply have not surfaced yet; either way, there is not a body of public reviews to lean on.
- News. No material news about the company came up in the same sweep.
In the broader category, the recurring failure modes of crypto card programmes are worth keeping in mind. Networks can suspend issuers (Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022; WaveCrest was suspended in Europe in 2018), and when a programme is wound down users typically get a notice period, after which loading and spending stop and any remaining balance has to be withdrawn. A card whose issuer and regulator are not on the page is harder to assess against that kind of event.
What to take instead
Wafee is one option in a category that has several distinct shapes. The three I kept coming back to while writing this review are Whop Cards, Stella and the UniFi Card. None of them is a like-for-like replacement; each makes a different trade.
- Whop Cards (5.2/10). A US-centric Visa: 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, with a clearly listed block of unsupported countries. There is no published fee for issuance, monthly, conversion or FX, and Whop’s own description is “no extra fees”, which is a marketing line rather than a fee schedule. The funding model is a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet — coins and networks are not stated — and the standout feature is a 5% cashback at select merchants (Uber is named, more are planned). If you are in a supported US state and care about a US-issued Visa, this is the comparison; if you are outside the US or want a euro IBAN, it is not.
- Stella (6.5/10). A virtual and physical Visa, working “at over 40 million VISA merchants globally”. Country availability is not stated officially; the terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. Fees are not stated officially. The funding model is a custodial in-app wallet: you deposit crypto, the card tops up automatically. There is no cashback on the card itself; an Earn product is separate. Stella is the closest comparison to Wafee in shape, with the same gap on published fees and a clearer funding model.
- UniFi Card (4.7/10). A prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, USD-denominated, with Apple Pay support. Country availability is not confirmed from official pages; the App Store listing highlights send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone, and recent notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK. Funding is via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), and “get paid to a USDC wallet”. A listing claim of “3% rewards on balances” is the most concrete reward number of the three, but it is a listing claim, not a card term. UniFi is a useful comparison for US-issued prepaid USD; it is the least like Wafee in shape.
The pattern across all three is the same: in this category, the headline fees and rewards are often clearer than the underlying licence, the country list, and the funding mechanics. Reading any of them carefully means reading for what is not on the page.
Who I would recommend it to
Wafee earns its 6.5 by being unusually well-shaped for a specific user and unusually under-documented everywhere else.
It is a good fit if you are a crypto holder who wants a euro IBAN account, a Visa you can spend from a crypto balance, and Apple Pay or Google Pay on top. You are comfortable with a card partner (Walletto) named only on the FAQ page, with a Nevis-registered company, and with the absence of a published fee schedule. You will confirm the supported coins and networks with support before you send anything, and you will start with a small top-up.
It is not a good fit if you are choosing a card primarily on published fees; if you need a clearly named regulator or issuer in your jurisdiction; if you want a country list you can check before you sign up; or if your main use is a category (gambling, adult, certain subscription services) that some issuers block by default and Wafee does not document.
In short: the product shape is right for a narrow group, and the paper trail is thin for everyone.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Wafee card?
The Wafee card is a Visa (physical and virtual) tied to an account that also has a euro IBAN. The site says you can spend crypto anywhere Visa is accepted, exchange crypto for fiat inside the app, and move euros through SEPA, SWIFT and P2P transfers from the IBAN. The card partner appears to be Walletto, named on the FAQ page.
How does the Wafee card work?
You hold crypto in a Wafee wallet, you convert it to fiat in the app at the prevailing rate, and the card spends from that balance. The euro side works like a normal payment account: SEPA in and out, SWIFT for cross-border, P2P between Wafee users. The exact coins and networks the wallet supports are not stated on the public pages.
Is Wafee a bank?
Wafee’s marketing describes it as a crypto and payments company, and the corporate entity on the FAQ is Wafee Ltd, registered in Nevis. No banking or e-money licence is named on the site. The card programme appears to be run through a partner (Walletto), whose own licence is not on the page.
Who owns Wafee?
The company behind the product is Wafee Ltd, registered at Suite 1, A.L. Evelyn Ltd Building, Main Street, Charlestown, Nevis, with company number C 57790. Ownership beyond that corporate registration is not described on the public pages.
Is the Wafee card available in my country?
The site says “Available in 160+ Countries”, but it does not publish a country list. The flags it shows — Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Egypt, Nigeria, Jamaica, Turkey, the UAE — are a hint about target markets rather than a definitive list. The reliable test is whether the sign-up flow lets you through for your country.
How do I get a Wafee card?
Open an account on the Wafee website, complete whatever checks the app walks you through, and request a card from the dashboard. The site does not state an issuance fee, a delivery time, or the documents required. App Store and Google Play links on the homepage currently point to “#”, so the mobile apps are the surface to watch for the latest sign-up flow.
Does the Wafee card require KYC?
KYC is not described on the public pages. For a regulated payment product you should expect to be asked for identification and a proof of address at some point, even if the site does not say so up front. Treat any sign-up that completes without documents as the first step rather than the last.
How do I top up the Wafee card?
The site describes two routes: convert crypto from your Wafee wallet into fiat inside the app, and move euros into the EUR IBAN by SEPA, SWIFT or P2P and then load the card. The minimum amounts, fees, and processing times are not stated. Confirm the supported coins and networks with support before sending any on-chain transfer, because transfers are generally irreversible.
Is the Wafee card safe?
The marketing mentions “cutting-edge encryption”, multi-factor authentication, and security audits, and the FAQ links to a Custody Note PDF. The custody model — who holds the private keys — is not described in plain language on the public pages, and the card-issuing partner and its licence are not named. For a category where programmes have been wound down by their network before (FTX in 2022, WaveCrest in 2018), the absence of an in-page answer on issuer and regulator is the main thing to weigh.
Is the Wafee card worth it?
For a crypto holder who wants a euro IBAN account and a Visa that spends from a crypto balance, and who is comfortable with a partner-led programme whose fees and licence are not on the page, Wafee is a reasonable shape. For anyone choosing a card primarily on published fees, a clear country list, or a named regulator, the same gaps make it harder to recommend.
App and neobank cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
