A crypto-funded card that reads more like an ordinary bank card than a crypto product

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you have been searching for a card that spends crypto without turning every purchase into a small act of financial engineering, the Trade Republic card is worth putting on your shortlist. It is issued by a German bank, it is a payment card you use like any other, and the crypto side sits underneath: you hold crypto with Trade Republic, and card spending draws on it. That is a quieter proposition than most of what circulates under the label “crypto card”.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Trade Republic works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

It is not perfect, and I want to be straight about why. The card’s public pages do not disclose much of what you would want to know before you commit — country lists, exact fees, spending limits, identity-check steps. Most of the concrete detail available anywhere comes from third-party reviews, which I mark as unofficial throughout. And spending from crypto is a sale of that crypto, which has tax consequences I am not going to gloss over, and not qualified to advise on.

My score is 7.2 out of 10. The strengths are everyday use and reliability; the weak spots are cost transparency and top-up flexibility. Let me show you the breakdown, then walk through what the card actually is, what it costs, and who I would hand it to.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.2 out of 10, strongest where you actually spend

Trade Republic scores well on the things you touch daily and less well on the things you have to read fine print to understand. The score table below breaks the total into the criteria I used, with the reasons behind each mark.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Germany and the EU; site versions en-de and en-nl; the country list is not disclosed on the official pages
Cost 8 / 10 Official amounts are not disclosed; unofficially: virtual 0 EUR, Classic 5 EUR one-off, Mirror 50 EUR, no annual or monthly fee, no currency surcharge, 1% to top up by card
Top-up options 5 / 10 You can spend crypto held on the Trade Republic account with the card; the coin list is not disclosed; unofficially SEPA transfer free, top up by card 1%
Reliability and complaints 9 / 10 Issuer is Trade Republic Bank GmbH (Berlin); Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 from 67,608 reviews; general complaints about support and account blocks, no complaints found about the card
Everyday use 9 / 10 Unofficially: virtual, Classic and Mirror (metal), Apple Pay and Google Pay, free ATM withdrawals from 100 EUR worldwide
Total 7.2 / 10 Strong everyday card, thin official disclosure on who qualifies and what it all costs

Two things stand out from that table. The 9s are where a card lives or dies: can you pay in a shop tomorrow, and will the payment go through. The 5s are about access and topping up — and both of those 5s are low largely because the official pages do not tell you, not because the card is known to be restrictive. There is a difference between “the card refuses you” and “the card does not say”, and here it is mostly the second.

Who this suits, in one line: EU residents who already hold crypto with Trade Republic and want to spend it from a normal-looking bank card. Who it does not suit: anyone outside the EU/EEA, anyone who needs a card in a specific non-euro currency, and anyone who wants to know the exact fee schedule before signing up — you will be relying on third-party sources.

It is worth being clear-eyed about what this card is not. It is not a self-custody card where your keys stay with you, and it is not an anonymity product; I make no promises about safety or privacy here, only about what the card’s own pages say.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: if you are in Germany or the EU, most likely yes. Outside that, I cannot tell you, because the official pages do not publish the country list.

The card comes from Trade Republic Bank in Berlin, and the site ships in German-Dutch and English-Dutch versions (en-de, en-nl) — both EU languages, which tells you the intended market even if the pages never say so in a list. What the readable official pages do not state is the definitive set of countries, the nationality or residency test, or whether a citizen of one country resident in another qualifies. That is genuinely not stated, and I am not going to fill the gap with a guess.

You will run into identity checks regardless. Every regulated financial service in the EU is required to verify customers under anti-money-laundering law: name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, and a politically-exposed-person check. In the EU, if that due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end an existing one. That is the legal reason accounts get frozen or closed pending documents — it is not the company being difficult, it is the rule. The card’s own pages do not spell out which specific documents Trade Republic asks for, so expect the standard pack and check their support page for the exact list.

One practical point about your nationality versus your address: these are screened separately. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as where you live, so a valid EU address does not automatically answer every question. If you are in a sensitive category, the honest advice is to ask Trade Republic directly before you move money, not to read between the lines of a website.

How to get it

The application itself is not documented on the readable official pages — which documents, how long, what the verification flow looks like. Those details are not stated. What is clear is the shape of the product: “The Trade Republic Card” issued by Trade Republic Bank, Berlin. Whether you start on a virtual card or a physical one, and which payment network it runs on, is not stated in the readable text either.

What I can tell you comes from third-party reviews, and you should treat it as unofficial. The virtual card is reportedly usable immediately after you open the account — that claim comes from two German review sites in July 2026. The physical card comes in versions some reviewers call Classic and Mirror (the Mirror being the metal one), and a replacement for loss, theft or expiry reportedly costs the same as the original: 5 EUR for Classic, 50 EUR for Mirror. Delivery times are not stated anywhere I could read.

So the practical sequence, as far as independent sources describe it: open the account, and depending on what you are offered, you can start spending on a virtual card straight away or wait for the physical card in the post. Activation steps are not officially documented; a virtual card being immediately usable implies there is little to activate. Before you start, I would confirm in the app or with support which card versions you are actually being offered, because the naming and the metal option come from reviewers, not from the card’s own material.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the honest situation. Trade Republic’s card is advertised as having no monthly fee, but that claim reaches me through a third-party review rather than the official pages, and the official amounts are simply not stated. So the numbers in the table below are unofficial — taken from German review sites (kreditkartenheld.com in July 2026, with reisetopia.de and neuebanken.de agreeing on the three card versions), not confirmed by the card.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Trade Republic payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value Source
Issuance, virtual card 0 EUR Unofficial
Issuance, Classic card 5 EUR one-off Unofficial
Issuance, Mirror (metal) card 50 EUR one-off Unofficial
Monthly or annual fee None Unofficial
Foreign-currency surcharge None; official Visa rate used Unofficial
Top up by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay 1% of the amount Unofficial
Top up by SEPA transfer Free Unofficial
ATM withdrawal, 100 EUR or more Free worldwide at Visa ATMs Unofficial
ATM withdrawal, under 100 EUR 1 EUR fee Unofficial
Card spend, per payment No card-specific fee mentioned; crypto spend counts as a sale of the crypto Official press release
Daily spending limit 1,500 EUR Unofficial
Weekly spending limit 6,000 EUR Unofficial
Crypto trading commission Commission-free, with a 1 EUR third-party cost per trade Official help centre

Two entries deserve a word. First, the daily and weekly limits (1,500 EUR a day, 6,000 EUR a week) are unofficially sourced and I found no separate point-of-sale limit, so if you are planning something large, verify against the app. Second, and importantly: “no fee on the card” does not mean “no cost.” Spending crypto through the card is treated as a sale of that crypto. For tax purposes, digital assets are generally treated as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in your local currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. Every card payment funded from crypto can therefore be its own small disposal. I am flagging this, not advising on it — talk to a real professional about your situation.

Three everyday payments, and which fees apply:

Top up: how the balance gets there

You do not “top up” this card the way you might expect, because it spends crypto directly rather than a preloaded fiat balance. The press release is explicit: customers can use crypto held with Trade Republic for card payments. Which coins are supported is not stated in the official material, which is a real gap if you hold something outside the mainstream.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Trade Republic starts with a transfer to the right network

The mechanics are closer to a standard debit card than a prepaid one: paying with the card asks the issuer to draw funds at the moment of purchase, in this case selling crypto to cover it. You are not converting into a balance ahead of time in the classic prepaid fashion, so there is no separate “load” step for the crypto side.

If you instead want to move fiat money into the account, the unofficial picture is that a SEPA transfer is free while topping up by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay costs 1% of the amount. Withdrawing money back out is not officially documented in the readable pages. I would check the current schedule in the app before you commit, because these are the kind of details that change and are not always announced loudly.

One caution that belongs here even though it is about a general risk rather than this card: on-chain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There is a documented July 2026 complaint about a Trade Republic user sending a crypto deposit to an address without a network warning. Whatever you are topping up and however, check the network the app tells you, every time.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card is strongest, and where the two 9s come from. Unofficially, the card comes in virtual, Classic and metal Mirror versions; Mirror differs only by its casing, with the same fees and limits. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported and the card is added in the app. Apple Pay, for the record, stores a device-specific number on your phone’s secure element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a fresh one-time code — so using it is at least as safe as tapping the physical card.

There is a cashback element, and it is genuinely appealing but fiddly. The press release announces 2% Crypto Saveback on card spend, reinvested into a savings plan, up to 1,500 EUR of monthly spend. The card page separately mentions a 1% Saveback on card payments. Reviewers describe the 1% as going into a savings plan of at least 50 EUR per month with a cap of 15 EUR per month, and excluding transfers, ATM withdrawals, investments, top-ups, PayPal, gambling and quasi-cash purchases. One review says crypto-funded payments earn 2% with a 30 EUR cap since late 2025, which partly lines up with the official 2% figure in the press release. Another report, from GIGA, says Trade Republic changed the Saveback terms and a user lost their 1% — I could not read a date on that one, so I present it as an unconfirmed signal that the terms move. Treat the cashback as a pleasant bonus, not a reason to choose the card, and read the current terms in the app.

A few more everyday details that are not officially stated: the in-app experience, the merchant category codes the card blocks, and the dispute process if a payment goes wrong. A declined payment can leave a hold on your funds that lingers for several days, up to 7, which is standard card behaviour and worth knowing before you assume money is gone. If you ever need to dispute a charge, the card’s own pages do not describe the route, so go to the support page rather than guessing.

What can go wrong

Let me separate the general risks from the card-specific ones, because the honest answer is that almost every complaint I found about this card is actually a complaint about the broker around it.

The issuer is Trade Republic Bank GmbH, based at Brunnenstrasse 19-21, 10119 Berlin — a named, physical, regulated-looking bank, which is more than many crypto cards can offer. Trustpilot shows 4.6 out of 5 from 67,608 reviews, 11% one-star, with the visible reviews mostly positive and the most recent dated 20 October 2026; one reviewer simply says the card works worldwide. The licence and BIN sponsor are not stated in the readable text, though the issuer is named as Trade Republic Bank.

The recurring complaints about Trade Republic as a company, not about this card, are: support that is slow or hard to reach, wide crypto spreads, and account blocks that are hard to resolve. German press has reported rising complaints to BaFin, though I could not pin the date. I found no complaint theme about spending crypto with the card itself. Customer service is behind a separate support page; the channels, languages and opening hours are not readable, so I cannot confirm the support details from anything official.

The card-specific risks are more mundane:

The wider category risk is worth stating too. Card programmes get wound down: Visa terminated FTX’s global agreements in November 2022, and WaveCrest, a card issuer that supplied several crypto brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018. If a programme closes, the usual sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. This is not a prediction for Trade Republic — it is what happens in this category, and it is a reason not to keep your whole balance sitting on a card.

What to take instead

If Trade Republic is not right for you, here are the alternatives I compared, with their own scores.

Alternative Score Who it is for Card, funding, rewards
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Consumers in 31 US states; businesses in 41; not supported in Russia, Belarus, China, Turkey, Ukraine and others Visa; spends from a Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber
Stella 6.5 / 10 Countries not stated; terms bar sanctioned users and route US and European users through affiliates Virtual and physical VISA; deposit crypto into the account to auto-top-up; no cashback stated
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Not confirmed; app lists routes to the Philippines, Mexico, eurozone, Colombia, Brazil and the UK Prepaid Debit Visa from Lead Bank, USD balance; funded by ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI, or paid to a USDC wallet; “3% rewards on balances” claimed

Read across that table and a pattern emerges. Whop is the most explicitly US-shaped and lists its exclusions in detail, but its balance model and single-merchant cashback are narrower. Stella is the closest in spirit — deposit crypto, spend from the card — but routes Western users through affiliates and states little about costs. UniFi is a dollar-centric prepaid card with conventional funding rails rather than a crypto-first balance. None of them, on their public pages, tells you more than Trade Republic does about fees either.

My read: if you are in the EU and hold crypto with a broker, Trade Republic is the most natural of these four for turning that balance into everyday spending. If you are in the US, the comparison is harder and Whop’s explicit state list is the more honest starting point. If you are elsewhere, none of these is a clean answer, and you should read the eligibility rules carefully before trusting any of them.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a specific person: someone living in Germany or the EU, who already has crypto sitting on a Trade Republic account, and who wants to spend it like ordinary money without juggling separate exchanges, cards and transfers for each purchase. For that person it is a genuinely good card — a real bank behind it, strong everyday use, no monthly fee on the best available information, and a saveback that rewards you for spending.

I would not push it on someone who needs the card outside the EU, who needs a non-euro card, or who wants a full published fee and limit schedule before committing — because, as you have seen, that schedule is not officially published and you would be relying on reviewers like me. I would also think twice if you plan to hold a large balance on it long-term, given how programmes in this category have ended before.

The honest summary is this: the card is better than the paperwork. What it does, it does well; what it does not tell you, it does not tell you at all. Judge it on the first, and hold your own expectations for the second.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Trade Republic card?

It is a payment card issued by Trade Republic Bank in Berlin that lets you spend crypto held on your Trade Republic account directly as card payments. You use it like an ordinary bank card in shops and online. The card’s own pages do not disclose the payment network or the coin list, and the amounts I saw come from third-party reviews, not the official material.

How does the Trade Republic card work?

You hold crypto with Trade Republic, and paying with the card triggers a sale of that crypto to cover the amount, rather than a conversion into a preloaded balance beforehand. It behaves closer to a standard debit card drawing on a linked account at the moment of purchase. One consequence: each payment is a disposal of crypto, which can carry tax implications.

Is Trade Republic a bank?

Partly. The card’s issuer is named as Trade Republic Bank GmbH, a Berlin-based bank, which is what stands behind the card itself. The wider Trade Republic platform also operates as a broker. The specific licence and BIN sponsor are not stated in the readable official text, so if that distinction matters to you, ask them directly.

Who can get the Trade Republic card?

Most likely residents of Germany and the EU, given the en-de and en-nl site versions — but the official country list is not disclosed, so treat that as an inference, not a fact. Eligibility also turns on the standard identity checks required of EU financial firms, and citizenship is screened separately from residence. Outside the EU, I cannot tell you either way.

How much does the Trade Republic card cost?

The official amounts are not stated. Unofficially: the virtual card is free, Classic costs 5 EUR one-off, and the metal Mirror costs 50 EUR one-off, with no annual or monthly fee. Topping up by card costs 1%, SEPA transfer is free, and there is reportedly no foreign-currency surcharge. Because none of this is official, verify it in the app before you rely on it.

Can I top up the Trade Republic card?

You do not top it up in the usual sense — the card spends crypto held on the account directly. If you are moving fiat money in, third-party sources say a SEPA transfer is free while a card, Apple Pay or Google Pay top-up costs 1%. Withdrawing money back out is not officially documented. Be careful with any crypto transfer: on-chain sends are irreversible.

Does the Trade Republic card work abroad and at ATMs?

Unofficially, yes, worldwide, on the Visa network, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support. ATM withdrawals are reportedly free at Visa ATMs from 100 EUR upward, and cost 1 EUR below that, though the ATM operator may charge their own fee on top. Limits are unofficially 1,500 EUR a day and 6,000 EUR a week, so large purchases are worth checking in advance.

Is the Trade Republic card safe and reliable?

The issuer is a named German bank, Trade Republic Bank GmbH in Berlin, and Trade Republic holds a 4.6 out of 5 on Trustpilot from over 67,000 reviews. I found no complaint theme about the card specifically, though general complaints about support, crypto spreads and account blocks exist for the platform. No card is risk-free, and a crypto balance on a card platform carries the usual category risk of programme closure.

Is there cashback or rewards on the Trade Republic card?

Yes, and it is a real perk. The press release announces a 2% Crypto Saveback on card spend, reinvested into a savings plan, up to 1,500 EUR monthly spend; the card page separately mentions a 1% Saveback. Reviewers describe exclusions for transfers, ATM, investments, gambling and similar, and one unconfirmed report suggests the terms have changed before. Read the current terms in the app.

Is Trade Republic a good card for everyday spending?

For EU residents spending crypto from a broker account, I rate it 7.2 out of 10 and yes. It scores highest exactly where daily life happens — reliability and everyday use both earn 9 out of 10 — and it is a real bank card with no monthly fee on the best available information. The trade-offs are thin official disclosure on eligibility and fees, and a tax event on every crypto-funded purchase.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team