A cheap-to-open crypto card that publishes very little about its own fees
The Nebeus card is a Mastercard debit card that spends from a crypto-and-fiat balance held inside the Nebeus platform, with a virtual card you can get in the app and a physical card you can order. On paper it looks like a straightforward, low-cost bridge between crypto holdings and everyday spending: the card comes in EUR, GBP or USD, you can load it from seven coins or from a SEPA bank transfer, and ATM withdrawals are capped at 2,000 EUR, USD or GBP a month. But the reason I keep coming back to this card is not what it offers — it is what it refuses to publish. There is no stated conversion fee, no stated foreign-exchange fee, no stated ATM fee beyond the free limit, no stated spending limits, no published monthly subscription, and no stated delivery cost, delivery time or replacement cost. Third-party sites report fees of 0% for currency and for crypto loading, but those are unofficial figures that Nebeus has not confirmed on its own pages. So the honest summary is this: opening the card is free, the everyday mechanics are clear, and your total cost per payment is something you have to discover yourself rather than read off a page. For a Europe-based resident who wants a card and something closer to an IBAN-style account, that trade can be worth it. For anyone who plans their money around published fee tables, it is not.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 6.2 out of 10, and why
Here is how I broke the card down, criterion by criterion, with the marks I gave it.
| Criterion | Mark | The short reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | 128 restricted countries, including the US, UK, Netherlands, Israel and Hungary; access judged by place of residence |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Issuance is “free of charge”; unofficially the currency fee is 0% and the crypto loading fee 0%, but no monthly fee is published |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, BCH, XRP over Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tron and Litecoin, plus free SEPA — but since 5 April 2026 USDT and USDC deposits are halted for personal accounts |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | MiCA licence from the CNMV, issuer Quicko Sp. z o.o., but complaints about unexplained card refusals and unanswered support, and Google Play sits at 3.5 |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Mastercard, ATMs up to 2,000 EUR/USD/GBP a month; unofficially Apple Pay and Google Pay too |
Total: 6.2 / 10.
The two strong rows are cost and everyday use, and they are strong for the same reason: the basics are simple and nothing is advertised as premium. What drags the total down is not design, it is disclosure and reported reliability. The top-up row loses points for something that happened in April 2026 and is easy to miss — USDT and USDC deposits and withdrawals were halted for personal accounts under MiCA-driven changes, with EURC still working and business accounts unaffected. That matters because two of the seven supported coins were the most convenient ones for most people. And the reliability row is the heaviest weight on the scale: licensing is real, but the pattern in user complaints (cards denied with no reason, emails going unanswered, an app described as full of bugs) is the kind of thing that only matters when you are trying to move real money.
Who this suits: a resident of an eligible European jurisdiction who holds crypto, wants a card that spends it directly, and is comfortable discovering fees inside the app rather than reading them on a website. Who it does not suit: anyone who lives in one of the 128 restricted countries, anyone who needs a card with a published spending limit or a clearly itemised fee table, and anyone whose current priority is a crypto dollar asset they already hold in their own wallet and do not want handed to a third party. The obvious audience is Europe-based residents who want a card and an IBAN-style account in one place.
Will they give you the card?
Eligibility is narrower than the marketing suggests, and the filter is your place of residence, not your passport alone. Nebeus lists 128 restricted countries, and that list includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Ukraine, the United States, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Israel and Hungary, among others. The rule the platform states is this: access is permitted only to natural persons or legal entities residing in jurisdictions not subject to international sanctions. That is a residence test. A citizen of a restricted country living in an eligible one is in a different position from a citizen of an eligible country living in a restricted one, and the platform’s own wording points at where you live.
There is a second, sharper detail for anyone outside Europe. The KYC article states that if you are a resident or citizen outside Europe, the only accepted identity document is a valid passport. National ID cards, which are accepted in Europe, are not on the table for you. If your passport has expired, or your name on it differs in spelling from your other documents, or your proof of address is old, you are adding friction to a process that already has a reputation for refusing applications without explanation.
The people behind the platform are not anonymous. Nebeus is owned by Rintral Trading SLU, incorporated in Spain at C/ de la Llacuna 11, 08005 Barcelona. The card itself is issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o., a licensed financial institution registered in Poland (REGON 142004870). Nebeus holds MiCA authorisation from Spain’s CNMV, is licensed as an EMI in the UK by the FCA, is registered as an SRO in Switzerland, and is registered as a VASP and PI in Argentina. It is also registered with the Bank of Spain under registration number D664. If you are wondering whether Nebeus is a bank, that is the shape of the answer: it is an authorised crypto-asset service provider and e-money business with a card programme issued by a separately regulated Polish institution — not a deposit-taking bank whose card funds sit behind a national deposit guarantee scheme.
One thing the card does not say: how long verification takes. An article titled “How Long Does Verification Take?” exists, but its content was not retrieved. If the timing of your application matters to you, that is a question for support before you start, not after.
How to get it
The path is short and conventional. You register on the platform, complete identity verification, and then order either the virtual card or the physical card in the app.
Verification is a single level, not a tiered ladder. You need a valid passport or a national ID card — passport only if you are a resident or citizen outside Europe — plus proof of address and a video selfie. The minimum age is 18. What the card says can cause a refusal is worth knowing in advance, because it is a short list: appearing on international sanctions lists, a high-risk classification under internal compliance, incomplete or inconsistent documentation, and failure to provide updated information when asked. Three of those four are avoidable by submitting complete, consistent, current documents. The first two are not under your control.
There is one further step that catches people out: 2FA. Nebeus strongly recommends it and says it may in certain cases require it. Set it up during onboarding rather than when a login challenge blocks you.
On the card itself, you choose between a virtual and a physical Mastercard debit card. No metal card is mentioned anywhere. Card currencies are EUR, GBP and USD.
What is not stated: physical card delivery countries, delivery time, delivery cost, and replacement cost. Four numbers a buyer normally wants, none of them on the public pages. I would treat delivery as an open question until the app tells you otherwise, especially if you are outside Europe.
Fees: what you pay and what nobody has written down
Let me put the card’s position plainly before the table: issuance is stated as “free of charge” on Nebeus’s own card landing page. Everything else in this section is either not published, or comes from a third-party site and is not confirmed by Nebeus. Where I say “not stated”, I mean the card’s public pages do not say it.

| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Free of charge |
| Monthly or annual subscription | Not stated; not published on the consumer site |
| Crypto conversion fee / spread | Not stated |
| Foreign exchange fee on paying in another currency | Not stated; the card page mentions “automatic foreign currency exchange” without naming a percentage |
| Crypto loading fee | Not stated; unofficially 0% |
| FX fee | Not stated; unofficially 0% |
| ATM fee beyond the free limit | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal limit | 2,000 EUR, USD or GBP per month |
| Daily and monthly spending limits | Not stated; unofficially none are published at all |
| Physical card delivery and replacement | Not stated |
A third-party review site (Monetiro, July 2026) states that the FX fee is 0% and the crypto loading fee is 0%, and that issuance and monthly fees are not transparently published and should be verified in the app. I am repeating those figures as unofficial. Nebeus has not confirmed them on the pages I checked, and a zero fee reported by an outside site is a claim about a fee schedule that the provider does not display.
Now the part that matters more than any single row, because it is what you actually experience. Imagine three ordinary payments.
A coffee in your own card currency. You are in Berlin, the card is in EUR, you pay a small amount. The card draws on your Nebeus balance and, if that balance is in crypto, converts it at the point of sale. The card does not state a conversion percentage. Whatever the spread is, it comes out of the amount you receive, and it is the one fee in this whole card that you pay on essentially every purchase — which is exactly why its absence from the public pages is the most consequential omission on this list.
A subscription in a currency you do not hold. You are in Berlin again and the merchant charges you a small amount in USD. The card performs “automatic foreign currency exchange” at the point of sale. The fee attached to that exchange is not stated. Unofficially it is 0%, and I have no way to verify that from the card itself.
Cash from an ATM. Withdrawals are available on the physical card only, up to 2,000 EUR, USD or GBP in a month, and the fee beyond that free limit is not stated. Note the two separate unknowns here: whether a withdrawal that happens to be in the card’s currency is free, and what the per-withdrawal or percentage charge is on top.
If you want to see why the missing numbers can hurt you at the worst moment: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. A card with no published spending limits gives you no way to know in advance how large a hold might be or how many of them you could stack up in a week.
Top up: crypto from a supported network, or SEPA in euros
The card spends from the Nebeus account balance, which holds crypto and fiat balances side by side. You fund it either with crypto or with a SEPA bank transfer in euros, and the card auto-converts the balance to fiat at the point of sale.

Supported coins are BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, BCH and XRP. Supported networks are Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tron and Litecoin. SEPA deposits in EUR are free, and you can arrive via your personal IBAN or via a reference-based deposit.
Three things to get right before your first transfer:
- The network. Deposit on a network the platform supports. A transfer sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible. There is no second network to fall back on.
- The coin list changed in April. On 5 April 2026, MiCA-driven changes halted USDT and USDC deposits and withdrawals for personal accounts. EURC still works, and business accounts were unaffected. USDT and USDC remain listed as supported coins, so if you follow the site’s coin list rather than the dated news item, you may try to deposit a coin that personal accounts can no longer receive.
- The gas. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Nebeus, and you pay them. That means a wallet holding USDT with no ETH in it cannot send on Ethereum, because gas is paid only in ETH. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy and often burn TRX.
What is not stated: the minimum top-up, whether a card-to-card top-up is possible, and any crypto deposit fee.
To get money back out: crypto goes to an external wallet over the supported networks — Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tron, Litecoin. Fiat goes out by SEPA to an IBAN account. If you close the account, you contact support; the card refers to a closure policy but does not publicly display the fee or how the balance is handled.
Paying with it every day
The everyday experience is straightforward in the ways most cards are: virtual and physical Mastercard, three card currencies, multi-currency balances in one account, and currency switching at the point of sale. The Android app sits at 3.5 stars on Google Play across 448 reviews with 100K+ downloads, last updated 11 February 2026, and there is an iOS build on the App Store. Support runs a 24/7 live chat with an average reply of two minutes and email at [email protected], and the website is in English and Spanish.
Three everyday features are worth handling honestly.
Apple Pay and Google Pay. Not stated on the official site. A third-party site (Monetiro, July 2026) says both are supported. Treat that as unofficial until you see the toggle in your own app.
Blocked merchant categories. Not stated. No list of gambling, crypto-exchange or other high-risk merchant category codes is published, so you cannot check before you try. Many issuers block specific categories by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so the worst case is discovering it at the till.
Cashback. None. No cashback is mentioned on the official site or in any source I reviewed, and there is no published paid tier structure on the consumer site — the virtual and physical cards are options, not tiers.
Two things about the underlying mechanics will explain some odd declines better than anything Nebeus has published. A card’s first six or eight digits identify the issuing institution, and merchants can look that up and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer’s country differs from your billing address — which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. And prepaid or foreign-issued cards are declined outright by some merchants for the same reason. If a payment fails for no visible reason, this is the category of explanation to keep in mind.
On disputes, the rules are stated. Chargebacks follow Nebeus’s Chargeback Policy and the network’s rules, and you are expected to try to resolve the problem with Nebeus first. Valid grounds are unauthorised charges, technical errors and confirmed fraud. Justified in your favour, you may be charged processing fees, acquirer penalties and investigation costs if the chargeback turns out to be unjustified. On refunds: operations are considered final once confirmed and are not eligible for refund, except at Nebeus’s sole discretion where a technical error is demonstrated to be attributable to Nebeus. That last clause is the one to read twice before you rely on it.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would read twice, and the reason the card scores what it does on reliability.
The regulatory position is genuinely strong. Nebeus is authorised under MiCA by Spain’s CNMV; e-money tokens under MiCA may only be issued by a credit institution or an e-money institution, and that framework is real. Crypto assets are held custodially in segregated accounts under MiCA Article 75, with BitGo providing institutional-grade custody and Lloyd’s of London insurance coverage of $250M. Fiat funds are held in segregated safeguarding accounts under applicable regulation. The account may be preventively blocked on detection of suspicious activity, and 2FA is strongly recommended. The issuer is a licensed Polish institution. If your fear is that this is an anonymous offshore operation, it is not.
But here is the other side of the ledger, and it is where the 4 out of 10 comes from. No official incidents — no hacks, no shutdowns — surfaced in the search window. What surfaced instead were user reports, and they repeat three themes:
- Card applications refused with no explanation: “They deny the cards with no reason and without asking for information” (Trustpilot, August 2025).
- Support that stops answering: “They doesn’t answer the mails anymore,” and “support will give you the run around forever and you wont get your funds back. TOTAL SCAM SITE” (Trustpilot, August to December 2025).
- Platform bugs: “Their system is full of bugs and nothing works” (Trustpilot, December 2025).
I want to be precise about what these are: individual user reports on a review platform, not verified findings. The Trustpilot score and review count were not accessible to me, so I cannot weight them as a percentage. But three independent themes across several months, on a service whose whole appeal is moving money, are the kind of pattern I would want you to weigh yourself.
Two structural risks sit underneath the product, and they apply to this class of card generally rather than to Nebeus specifically. The first is custody. Your crypto sits with a provider holding the credentials, so you must trust that provider completely. This is not theoretical: custodial platforms have a genuine record of failure — Mt. Gox with about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011 to 2014, Coincheck with about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network with US$625 million in 2022. And crypto transfers are typically irreversible, with no built-in recovery when a key is stolen.
The second is licence dependency. A crypto card often rests on two licences: MiCA for the crypto side — custody, exchange, transfer — and e-money or payment-services law for the card itself. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme, and they have done so. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its Visa programmes closed. Programme closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. A secondary source reported one 2026 closure where new loads ended 8 July 2026 and spending stopped 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, and I include it only as an illustration of the shape such a closure takes.
One more regulatory detail worth knowing, since it explains a behaviour that looks arbitrary. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end the relationship. That is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents — it is a legal obligation, not incompetence. And note that nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your country of address.
Finally, since this is a card, not a wallet: nothing here is tax advice, but the structural point is worth a line. If you fund spending from crypto, each payment may be treated as a separate disposal, measured in local fiat at the fair market value on the date of the transaction — with different rules depending on how long you have held. Decide how you want to handle that before you start, with a professional, not with a review page.
What to take instead
I compared this against three other cards in the same category. None of them is clearly better; each fails differently, and the right one depends on what you are optimising for.
| Score | Card | Where it fits | Where it falls short | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nebeus | 6.2 / 10 | Mastercard, virtual and physical | Europe-based residents holding crypto who want to spend it directly; free issuance and free SEPA | 128 restricted countries, no published conversion or FX fee, USDT and USDC halted for personal accounts since 5 April 2026 |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | VISA, virtual and physical, works at over 40 million VISA merchants | Similar custodial model: deposit crypto, account auto-tops-up the card | Countries not stated; terms bar users under economic sanctions and route US and European users through affiliates; no cashback on the card page |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted | 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber; page says “No extra fees” | Only 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses; unsupported countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Russia, Ukraine and Israel; basis of eligibility not stated |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid Debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, USD | Send money to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone; ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI funding; listing claims 3% rewards on balances | Not confirmed from official pages; fees simply “may apply”; card cashback not stated |
Two comparisons worth drawing out. First, Stella scores marginally higher than Nebeus (6.5 against 6.2) but says even less — its country list is not stated at all, where Nebeus at least tells you which 128 are out. Between the two I would pick the one that publishes its restrictions. Second, Whop’s 5% cashback is the most attractive reward in this group, and it is also the most geographically narrow: 31 US states for consumers, with China (Mainland), Hong Kong, India, Israel, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine and Vietnam listed as unsupported. If you are outside the US, Whop is not a comparison at all.
And a word on what none of these four will give you. None of them lets you keep your keys. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment — but you then bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. That is the trade: fewer ways for a provider to lose your money or freeze you, and more ways for you to lose it yourself.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Nebeus card to a resident of an eligible European jurisdiction who already holds crypto, wants a card that spends it without a manual conversion step, and is willing to open the app to read the actual fee schedule because the website will not tell them. The free issuance, the free SEPA top-up, three card currencies, multi-currency balances in one account and a 2,000 EUR/USD/GBP monthly ATM allowance are all real, and the MiCA authorisation with a Polish licensed issuer and $250M of Lloyd’s custody insurance is a more serious foundation than most cards in this category can show.
I would not recommend it if you live in any of the 128 restricted countries, if you are outside Europe and do not have a valid passport, if you are non-European and expect a national ID card to work, if you need a card with a clearly published spending limit, or if you want to know your per-payment cost before you make it. Nor would I recommend it to anyone planning to deposit USDT or USDC from a personal account today, because that has been halted since 5 April 2026 — or to someone for whom an unanswered support email would be worse than a declined card, given the repeated reports of exactly that.
My own decision rule, if I were the one choosing. I would set up the account, complete verification, read the in-app fee screen carefully, put a small amount in, and make one small purchase and one small ATM withdrawal to see the real numbers. Then I would decide. That is more honest than any score, including mine.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Nebeus card?
It is a Mastercard debit card that spends from your Nebeus account balance, which holds crypto and fiat together. You can order a virtual card in the app or a physical one. Card currencies are EUR, GBP and USD, and the card switches currency at the point of sale using automatic foreign currency exchange. Issuance is free of charge. The card is issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o., a licensed financial institution in Poland.
How does the Nebeus card work?
You load the account with crypto or euros, then spend from the balance. Crypto deposits are converted and loaded as fiat balance, so the card behaves like a prepaid card: it draws on a stored balance and cannot overdraw it. A payment at a merchant in your card currency is straightforward. A payment in a currency you do not hold triggers the exchange. The card does not publish what that conversion or exchange costs.
Is Nebeus a bank?
Not in the ordinary sense. Nebeus is a crypto-asset service provider authorised under the EU’s MiCA framework by Spain’s CNMV, and it is also licensed as an EMI in the UK and registered as an SRO in Switzerland. Its owner is Rintral Trading SLU of Barcelona, and it is registered with the Bank of Spain under D664. Card funds sit with an e-money business, not behind a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who owns Nebeus?
Nebeus is owned by Rintral Trading SLU, incorporated in Spain at C/ de la Llacuna 11, 08005 Barcelona. The card programme is issued by Quicko Sp. z o.o., a licensed financial institution registered in Poland under REGON 142004870. Nebeus also holds licences or registrations in Argentina as a VASP and PI. Checking who stands behind a card matters more here than usual.
Does the Nebeus card require KYC?
Yes, and there is a single verification level. You need a valid passport or national ID card, proof of address and a video selfie, with a minimum age of 18. If you are a resident or citizen outside Europe, only a valid passport is accepted as identity document. Stated grounds for refusal include appearing on sanctions lists, internal high-risk classification, and incomplete or inconsistent documents.
How do I get the Nebeus card?
Register on the platform, complete KYC verification with your document, video selfie and proof of address, then order the virtual or physical card in the app. There is a support article on how long verification takes, but its content is not published. Two-factor authentication is strongly recommended and may in certain cases be required, so enable it during onboarding rather than waiting to be challenged.
Is the Nebeus card free?
Issuance is stated as free of charge. No monthly or annual subscription fee is published on the consumer site, and the conversion, foreign exchange and ATM-beyond-limit fees are not stated either. A third-party site reports currency and crypto-loading fees of 0%, but Nebeus does not confirm those figures on its own pages. Treat the app as the only reliable fee schedule.
How do I top up the Nebeus card?
By crypto deposit or by bank transfer. Supported coins are BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, BCH and XRP over the Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tron and Litecoin networks, and SEPA transfers in EUR are free, via personal IBAN or a reference-based deposit. Two cautions: since 5 April 2026 USDT and USDC deposits and withdrawals are halted for personal accounts, and you pay the blockchain’s own network fee.
Is the Nebeus card safe?
Structurally, it is among the better-positioned cards in this category: MiCA authorisation from Spain’s CNMV, crypto held in segregated accounts under Article 75 with BitGo custody and $250M of Lloyd’s of London insurance, fiat in segregated safeguarding accounts, and a Polish licensed issuer. Against that, custody means trusting the provider with your keys, and user reports from 2025 describe cards refused without explanation and unanswered support emails.
Is the Nebeus card available in my country?
Possibly, but check the restricted list before anything else. Nebeus lists 128 restricted countries, including Belarus, the Russian Federation, Ukraine, the United States, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Israel and Hungary. Eligibility is decided by place of residence: access is permitted only to persons or entities residing in jurisdictions not subject to international sanctions. If you are outside Europe, only a passport will be accepted for verification.
App and neobank cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
