The card that spends stablecoins like plain dollars, and what it leaves unsaid

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The DPT card is a Visa you fund with USDC or USDT instead of a salary, and at 8.5 out of 10 it is one of the cleaner cards in this category: a Hong Kong company with a stated licence number, a US Bank-issued Visa, custody at BitGo, USD spending with no FX fee, and a “no deposit fee” policy that is rare here. It is built for stablecoin holders who want to spend crypto as ordinary money rather than for people who want a bank account with crypto rails attached.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
DPT works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The catch is not the card. It is the paper around it. DPT’s public pages do not state the issuance fee, the monthly fee, spending limits, ATM allowance, or physical-card delivery times. Those numbers live in the app, where I could not read them. If you are comparing cards on price alone, you will finish this review knowing less than you started.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 8.5 out of 10, for a specific kind of user

My score is 8.5/10. That is high for a crypto card and it is earned in the places that matter most — the regulatory footprint, the cost of ordinary spending, and the number of networks you can actually fund from. It is pulled down by an everyday-use section where several ordinary questions go unanswered, and by a fee schedule that exists but is not published.

Who this suits: you already hold USDC or USDT, you mostly spend in dollars or in places where dollars are the reference, and you want a card that behaves like a normal Visa rather than something a merchant will treat suspiciously. The card’s own audience note describes exactly this group — stablecoin holders wanting a US Bank-issued Visa.

Who it does not suit: you want to know the annual cost before you sign up, you need a specific country confirmed in advance, you rely on cash withdrawals, or you are in the United States or Canada and reading this hoping for a loophole. There isn’t one.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 9/10 Spending in “150+ countries” wherever Visa is accepted; services are not offered in the United States, Canada, or countries with comprehensive sanctions
Cost 8/10 Issuance and monthly fee amounts are not disclosed, and no monthly fee is mentioned in the text; USD operations are free, other currencies carry 0% to 2.00% FX, and there is no DPT top-up fee
Top-up options 9/10 USDC or USDT on Ethereum, Polygon, Tron, and Solana; Base, BNB and fiat are still on the roadmap
Reliability and complaints 9/10 Operator DPT (HK) Limited holds TCSP licence TC010834, the card is issued by U.S. Bank under Visa licence, and custody sits with BitGo; no complaints found
Everyday use 7/10 Virtual card (Apple Pay, Google Pay) and physical card (chip, contactless); the ATM situation is not disclosed and wallets work “where available”
Total 8.5/10

The pattern in that table is worth reading twice. DPT is strongest exactly where crypto cards are usually weakest — licensing, custody, funding routes — and weakest exactly where they are usually strongest — the boring printed details of daily card life.

Will they give you the card?

Probably yes, if you are not in the United States, Canada or a comprehensively sanctioned jurisdiction, and if your documents are in good order. DPT says you can spend in “150+ countries” wherever Visa is accepted. Eligibility itself is decided by country of residence, and that determination happens in the app, not on a public list.

The exclusion is explicit in the terms: services are not offered to persons located in, incorporated in, or resident of the United States or Canada, or in comprehensive-sanctions jurisdictions. This is a residence-and-location rule written broadly, and it is not something to read around. If you are in Ohio or Ontario, the answer is no.

One practical note on refusals: DPT itself points out that a failed identity check can come from an “unsupported jurisdiction”. That means the same clean, valid documents that pass for someone else can fail for you purely on where you are standing when you apply. If you are near a border or travel often, that is a real variable.

What DPT does not publish is a country-by-country eligibility table. If your country matters to your decision, the app is the only place that will answer it — and you should find out before you move money.

How to get it

The sign-up path is short: minimum age 18, one DPT account per individual, a government-issued ID and a live selfie taken in the app. DPT says verification typically takes minutes and sometimes up to 24 hours. Identity verification is not optional — it is required for the card, for deposits at full capacity, and for payouts.

Here is a wrinkle I would want you to know about before you start, because it is the kind of thing that wastes an afternoon. DPT’s two own pages describe the documents differently. The sign-up flow describes a government-issued ID and a live selfie. The Learn guide instead describes a passport or national ID *plus* proof of address — a utility bill or a bank statement no more than three months old. The two pages do not match. My advice is to have both ready: your ID and a recent bill or statement in your name. It costs nothing and it removes a likely round trip.

You will choose between two card forms at application:

The card is Visa. It is issued by U.S. Bank. The card currency is USD — the terms treat USD transactions as free of FX fee, which implies it, though the currency is not stated outright anywhere I could find.

What is not stated: physical-card shipping times, shipping cost, and replacement cost. If you are planning around a physical card arriving before a trip, plan on asking.

DPT does run tiers, and the limits that matter to you are shown in the app after verification — a higher tier carries larger limits. The specifics of those tiers are covered under costs.

Verification failures are usually boring: a blurry or expired ID, personal information that does not match your documents, or an unsupported jurisdiction. All three are things you can fix before you apply.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where DPT is genuinely good, and also where the published information stops. Spending in dollars is free. Spending in other currencies costs 0% to 2.00% in FX depending on the currency. There is no DPT fee on deposits. What is not disclosed anywhere public is the issuance fee and the monthly fee — the fee schedule lives in the app, and the text mentions no monthly fee at all.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a DPT payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

I want to be precise about what that means for you: you cannot budget this card from its website. You can only budget it from the app.

Fee or limit What DPT states
Issuance fee not stated (fee schedule is in the app)
Monthly fee not stated (no monthly fee mentioned in the text)
USD transactions free
Foreign-currency transactions 0% to 2.00% FX fee depending on the currency
Transactions of $25 or less $0.10 fee (currently waived as a limited-time promotion)
Declines first 3 declines per calendar month free, then $0.50 each
ATM available: 2% of the amount, plus 0% to 1.75% FX surcharge depending on location, plus any ATM operator fee; free allowance not stated
Deposit no DPT deposit fee
Spending limits not stated (shown in the app after verification; a higher tier has larger limits)

Now let me walk three ordinary payments through that table, because the fee schedule only means something once you see it bite.

A $12 coffee in your own country, in dollars. Free. No percentage, no fixed fee — the $0.10 small-transaction fee does not touch this, because it applies at $25 or less but is currently waived as a limited-time promotion. The thing to watch is that “limited-time”: it is undated in the terms, so the day it lapses, small purchases start costing a tenth of a dollar each. On a $12 coffee that is roughly a 0.8% charge. For high-frequency small purchases it matters more.

A $60 dinner abroad, paid in euros. Here you pay the FX fee, somewhere between 0% and 2.00% depending on the currency. At the top of that range, you pay an extra 2% in fees, which is the cost of a dinner in a country where dollars are not the local currency. This is the range that decides whether DPT is a travel card or a domestic one, and I cannot tell you which currencies sit at which end of the range — the terms do not say.

A $40 cash withdrawal. This is the expensive one, and it is the reason the ATM line in the table is the row I would read twice. 2% of the amount, plus a 0% to 1.75% FX surcharge depending on location, plus whatever the ATM operator charges on top. On $40 that is $0.80 plus up to $0.70 plus an unknown operator fee. DPT does not state a free allowance, so I would assume there is none. Treat this card as a spending card, not a cash card.

Two more costs you will meet later, on the other side of the balance:

Notice the spread on those payouts. If you are moving money to Nigeria through this card, you pay more than someone in India. That is not DPT’s card fee; it is the payout provider’s, per corridor.

On the value side, DPT runs two tiers with real benefits:

Top-spending Oxygen holders are auto-upgraded to Obsidian. What is not stated anywhere is the entry requirements for either tier or what “top-spending” means in dollars. And I would flag that the Obsidian tier itself is undated in the terms — there is no published date for it, so treat it as something that exists in the app rather than a promise with a timetable.

Top up: how the money gets in

Topping up is the cleanest part of the whole product. You send USDC or USDT on Ethereum, Polygon, Tron or Solana, and that is the whole list of what works today. Base, BNB and fiat deposits are on the roadmap, not live — a distinction worth holding onto, because a roadmap item is not something you can rely on for a payment due on Friday.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up DPT starts with a transfer to the right network

There is no DPT deposit fee. The sender pays the blockchain gas. The minimum is 1 USDC or USDT on Ethereum, Polygon or Solana, and 10 USDT on Tron. Funds are credited about 1 minute after confirmation.

One structural fact shapes everything else: the card balance and the account balance are the same thing. There is no separate preload. Your stablecoin converts at the moment of the Visa transaction, which means you are exposed to the conversion at that moment rather than to a rate you locked in earlier.

Fiat top-up by card or bank is not live. So the route into DPT today is: you already have stablecoins, or you buy them yourself somewhere else and transfer them in.

Two warnings that belong at this point rather than later. First, blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network DPT does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Second, gas must be paid in the network’s own token — a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send on Ethereum. That trips up people regularly.

For completeness, and because it belongs with the money movement: DPT may delete an account on seven days’ notice, and what happens to a remaining balance on closure is not stated. I would not let a large idle balance sit here without asking that question directly.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, DPT behaves like a normal Visa, which is the point. Virtual card for Apple Pay and Google Pay “where available”; physical card with chip and contactless. Whether Apple Pay and Google Pay work with the *physical* card specifically is not stated — worth confirming if that is your setup, because many issuers support one and not the other.

What I could not determine is which merchant categories are blocked. DPT’s help centre has merchant-restriction articles; I did not read them. So the honest answer is that I do not know whether gambling, adult content, or other commonly restricted categories are closed on this card, and you should check in the app before you assume either way. It is standard for issuers to block some categories by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer.

On rewards: no card cashback is stated. What exists is a Rewards and Referral Program — referral commissions, points, elite rewards — and DPT Earn, a stablecoin yield vault. Whether the vault is worth using is a question about its terms and its risk, not about the card, and I would want you to read it as a separate product.

The app is on the Apple App Store and Google Play, plus an Android APK at download.dpt.xyz. I could not find store ratings: no listing was located by search, read on 2026-10-21. So I cannot tell you what users say about it. Treat the absence of visible reviews as an unknown rather than as a good sign.

If a payment goes wrong, DPT gives you two different windows and you should know both. The Learn guide says file a dispute with support within 60 days of the statement posting date for unauthorised charges. The Terms say card disputes or chargebacks within 90 days of the transaction date. Decisions by DPT or the Service Partners are generally final, with Hong Kong courts or LCIA arbitration in London as the forum. Take the shorter window, 60 days, as your working deadline.

One structural point about how these cards behave generally, because it explains more declines than anything else: a card number starts with an issuer identification number of 6 or 8 digits that identifies the issuing institution, and merchants can look it up. If the issuer country differs from your billing address, a shop may apply extra scrutiny or decline outright. This is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in another, and it is a category-wide issue rather than a DPT defect. Related: the Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — a common cause of declines.

What can go wrong

Let me separate what I verified from what I could not.

What checks out. The operator is DPT (HK) Limited, a Hong Kong company holding a TCSP licence, number TC010834, under AMLO Cap. 615. The card is issued by U.S. Bank under a Visa licence, and custody is with BitGo. That is a real structure with named parties, not a logo on a website. The Terms note that DPT arranges issuance through a Service Partner, and that Hong Kong law governs.

Security. The homepage says assets are held with BitGo, described as a “qualified custodian”, with coverage up to $250M subject to terms. Read that clause carefully — coverage “subject to terms” is not the same as your funds being insured to that figure. The Terms themselves say users do not deposit funds with DPT on a custodial basis, which is a narrower and more precise statement than the marketing language. Practical protections: freeze a lost or stolen card instantly in the app; three wrong CVV, expiry or PIN attempts auto-lock the card for 24 hours; the help centre mentions two-factor authentication, anti-phishing and spending alerts.

What I could not find. No official incidents. A search for DPT Pay reviews returned nothing on Trustpilot or Reddit, and no Trustpilot page exists for the DPT website. That cuts both ways: it is mild reassurance, and it also means there is no public body of user experience to check against. One third-party post, hosted on KuCoin by a single author writing under the name DeFi Warhol, noted that the Android app had about 5,000 downloads and no public card-volume figures — treat that as one person’s observation, not a confirmed metric, and not something DPT has stated.

The gaps. The card’s public pages do not disclose issuance fee, monthly fee, spending limits, ATM free allowance, physical-card delivery, or blocked merchant categories. There is no dated history of licence or programme events available. Both the Obsidian tier and the limited-time waiver of the small-transaction fee are undated. And the balance-on-closure question is open.

The category risks you inherit. This card is not a bank deposit. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure — Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022 — and holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk. Programmes do close: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw. A 2026 closure reported by a single secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — one unconfirmed source, but the pattern is what to watch for.

A smaller annoyance worth knowing: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7. Combined with the $0.50 decline fee after the first three free declines each calendar month, a run of failed payments has a real cost.

On taxes, briefly. I am not giving tax advice, and you should check your own position with a professional, but the shape of it is worth knowing. Digital assets are generally treated as property, so converting them to goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. Because your balance converts at the moment of each Visa transaction, each card payment may be its own disposal. That is a bookkeeping consequence of this card’s design, and it is worth knowing before you spend your balance in small pieces across a month.

What to take instead

None of these is a clear upgrade; each is a different trade. Here is how I would weigh them against DPT.

DPT Cardex TakeCard OkiCard
Score in my comparison 8.5/10 5.6/10 5.5/10 6.0/10
Who “150+ countries”; not United States, Canada or comprehensively sanctioned jurisdictions “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no exclusions listed Physical card “available only to Bolivian users for now” “150+ countries” (some pages say “200+”); “no geo-blocking based on your passport”
Card Virtual and physical, Visa, issued by U.S. Bank Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; listing is Naira-focused Virtual card immediately, physical Bolivia only; Visa named; issued in the US; prepaid Virtual card; a physical card is also mentioned without detail
Cost not stated not stated Virtual USD 5; physical (Bolivia) USD 20 issuance + USD 20 shipping, with one article in the same centre saying USD 10 — conflicting Issuance $0, monthly $0, starting price $15 for virtual; FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee — pages disagree
Spending fees USD free; other currencies 0% to 2.00% FX Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion; an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” is claimed to scan global exchange rates and pick the best; no percentage stated 1% commission per purchase; USD 1:1; other currencies at the official Visa rate of the day; crypto conversion fee not stated Load fee 3%; transaction fee (USD) 0%; “no hidden exchange spreads”; FX fee not stated
Funding USDC or USDT on Ethereum, Polygon, Tron, Solana USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated Top up from the Takenos balance, coins not named in the article; unverified starting data says USDC/USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum USDT on BSC (BEP-20), Ethereum (ERC-20), Tron (TRC-20), Solana (SPL); USDC “soon”; BTC and altcoins “coming soon”
Rewards No cashback stated; referral programme and DPT Earn vault not stated not stated not stated

Where the alternatives win, honestly:

What none of them improves on is DPT’s core strength: a named Hong Kong licence, a US Bank-issued Visa, named institutional custody, and no deposit fee. On regulatory legibility DPT is ahead of this field.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the DPT card to you if all four of these are true.

You already hold USDC or USDT, or you are willing to acquire them yourself. Fiat top-up is not live, so this card does not solve the problem of turning your salary into spendable money.

You spend mostly in dollars, or in places where dollar-based spending is normal. The free-USD rate is the feature; the 0% to 2.00% FX band is the cost of not being at home.

You want a card that passes as ordinary. A Visa issued by U.S. Bank is about as unremarkable as a card gets at a till, which matters if you have been declined by foreign-looking cards before.

You are not in the United States, Canada or a comprehensively sanctioned jurisdiction, and you are not relying on cash. With no stated free ATM allowance and a 2% plus surcharge structure on withdrawals, this is a card to spend, not to draw from.

And I would hold back if any of these apply: you cannot get a figure for the issuance or monthly fee before signing up; you need a specific country confirmed; you plan to withdraw cash regularly; or you intend to keep a large idle balance on the account, because the terms allow DPT to delete an account on seven days’ notice and do not say what happens to the money.

One last thing, since the search terms around this card ask it constantly: is DPT a bank? No. DPT (HK) Limited is a Hong Kong company operating under a TCSP licence, TC010834, and it arranges card issuance through a Service Partner — in this case U.S. Bank, under Visa’s licence. DPT is the programme manager and the brand you interact with; the bank is the issuer; custody is BitGo’s. That structure explains both the strengths and the gaps in the published information.

Frequently asked questions

What is DPT card?

DPT is a Visa payment card funded with stablecoins rather than a bank balance. You load USDC or USDT, and the card spends that as ordinary currency. The card is issued by U.S. Bank under a Visa licence, and the operator is DPT (HK) Limited, a Hong Kong company holding TCSP licence TC010834. You can hold either a virtual card for Apple Pay and Google Pay or a physical card with chip and contactless.

How does DPT card work?

Your card balance and account balance are the same thing — there is no separate preload step. You send USDC or USDT to DPT, and it converts at the moment each Visa transaction is processed. Spending in dollars is free; spending in other currencies carries a 0% to 2.00% FX fee. There is no DPT fee on the deposit itself; you pay the blockchain network’s gas.

Is DPT a bank?

No. DPT (HK) Limited is a Hong Kong company licensed as a TCSP under AMLO Cap. 615, not a bank. The card is issued by U.S. Bank under a Visa licence, and DPT arranges that issuance through a Service Partner. Custody of assets sits with BitGo. Hong Kong law governs, and disputes go to Hong Kong courts or LCIA arbitration in London.

Who owns DPT?

The operator is DPT (HK) Limited, holding TCSP licence number TC010834 under AMLO Cap. 615. Behind the card sit two other named parties: U.S. Bank as the issuer under Visa’s licence, and BitGo as custodian. DPT describes itself as the programme manager rather than the issuer, which is a normal arrangement for this category but does mean your contractual counterparty is not the bank on the card.

Is the DPT card available in my country?

DPT says you can spend in “150+ countries” wherever Visa is accepted, but eligibility to hold the account depends on your country of residence and is checked in the app rather than published as a list. Services are not offered to persons located in, incorporated in, or resident of the United States or Canada, or in comprehensively sanctioned jurisdictions. If you are in the US or Canada, the answer is no, and no document fixes that.

Does DPT card require KYC?

Yes, and it is not optional. You need a minimum age of 18, one account per person, a government-issued ID and a live selfie in the app. Verification is required for the card, for deposits at full capacity and for payouts. DPT’s pages differ slightly — the Learn guide also asks for proof of address, such as a utility bill or bank statement no more than three months old — so have both ready.

How much does the DPT card cost?

Spending in dollars is free. Other currencies carry a 0% to 2.00% FX fee. Transactions of $25 or less have a $0.10 fee, currently waived as a limited-time promotion. ATM withdrawals are 2% of the amount plus a 0% to 1.75% FX surcharge plus the operator’s fee, with no free allowance stated. Critically, the issuance fee, monthly fee and spending limits are not published — they are in the app.

How do I top up the DPT card?

Send USDC or USDT on Ethereum, Polygon, Tron or Solana — those four are live. Base, BNB and fiat deposits are on the roadmap only. There is no DPT deposit fee; you pay the network’s gas. The minimum is 1 USDC or USDT on Ethereum, Polygon or Solana and 10 USDT on Tron, and funds credit about a minute after confirmation. Send only on a supported network: transfers are irreversible.

Does DPT card have cashback?

No card cashback is stated anywhere in DPT’s public material. What exists instead is a Rewards and Referral Program covering referral commissions, points and elite rewards, and DPT Earn, a stablecoin yield vault. The tiers are Oxygen (Visa Platinum) with travel accident insurance up to US $500,000, and Obsidian (Visa Infinite), invite-only, with insurance up to US $1.5M, concierge and lounge access.

Is DPT card safe?

The structure is more transparent than most in this category: a named Hong Kong licence, a US Bank-issued Visa and custody at BitGo, which the site calls a qualified custodian with coverage up to $250M subject to terms. You can freeze a lost card instantly in the app, and three wrong PIN or CVV attempts lock it for 24 hours. Treat it as a custodial product, not a bank deposit, and check its balance before closing.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team