A prepaid Visa for sending money, not a bank account

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The UniFi card is a prepaid Visa, issued by Lead Bank and run by Bridge Ventures, and its centre of gravity is not shopping — it is moving money across borders into Latin America and Asia. You load a balance, you spend from it or you pay out to a local account or a USDC wallet, and Visa is the rail it travels on. That is the whole idea in one sentence, and it is a narrower idea than most people carry when they hear “crypto card”.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
UniFi works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

If that is the job you need done — dollar income, family or suppliers in the Philippines, Mexico, Colombia, Brazil or the UK — the fit can be real. If you want an ordinary debit card with a salary account behind it, or you want a card you can rely on at a shop without a second thought, the honest answer from the card’s own public pages is that I could not confirm most of what you would need to know. Eligibility rules are not stated. Fees are not stated. Limits are not stated. The official help pages answered with a 403.

That is why this review lands at 4.7 out of 10. Not because the service is obviously fraudulent — I found no official incidents — but because the information a person needs to make a decision is largely missing, and because the seven public reviews that exist are not encouraging.

Verdict: 4.7 / 10

I scored six criteria out of 10 each and got to 4.7. Here is the breakdown, with the reasons written out rather than left as a bare number.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Not officially confirmed — the help pages return a 403. The App Store lists routes into the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone, and release notes add Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK
Cost 5 / 10 No tariffs disclosed: “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details”
Top-up options 4 / 10 Money comes in by ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), and payouts go to a USDC wallet. No other coins or networks are named
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 A prepaid Visa Debit issued by Lead Bank, operated by Bridge Ventures, with “UniFi is not a bank” stated plainly. Trustpilot shows 2.7 out of 7 reviews: silent support, “scam” accusations, a nonworking iPhone app
Everyday use 5 / 10 Apple Pay is there; Google Pay is not disclosed. Whether the card is plastic or virtual, and whether there is an ATM, are not disclosed either
Total 4.7 / 10 A real service with real documentation gaps

Read that table as a shape rather than a verdict on the company. Every one of the six marks sits between 4 and 5 — nothing here is a scandal, and nothing here is a triumph. The card does what it says it does, and the pages describing it are thin.

Who it suits, concretely: someone earning in dollars who regularly pays out into the Philippines, Mexico, Colombia, Brazil, the UK or the eurozone, and who is comfortable with an app that may not answer. Who it does not suit: someone who needs a card for ordinary daily spending, who wants published fees before committing, who lives somewhere the route list does not reach, or who wants their money held somewhere they can rely on to be there.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: I cannot confirm from official pages that they will, and that is not the same as they will not.

The card is described as a “Prepaid Debit Visa Card”, issued by Lead Bank, with the app also supporting Apple Pay and the card currency in USD — it spends from your USD balance. The card itself is not confirmed as either plastic or virtual, and delivery times are not stated anywhere I could find. Whether the account is tiered by verification level is also not stated.

What does exist is a route list, and it comes from the App Store rather than from a terms page. Send-money routes are listed to the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN) and the eurozone (EUR). Recent release notes then add Colombia, Brazil via PIX and the UK in GBP. The card holds US dollars, and pays out locally in PHP, MXN and EUR; multi-currency improvements appeared in the release notes in December 2025.

Two things a reader in the general case should hold onto. First, a payment-route list is not the same as an eligibility list: it tells you where money can arrive, not who can open an account. Second, identity verification is not stated — I am not going to tell you it does not happen, because the rule is simply absent from the public listing. What is on the record is a Trustpilot reply from March 2026 saying that unverified deposits are returned automatically via ACH, which tells you there is some verification system, and tells you what happens when it is not passed.

There is a practical reason a card like this never says “who can have this” in one clean line. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, with ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often follow citizenship and country of birth, not just the address. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold off — and where necessary end the relationship. That is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents, and it is why “who can get it” is answered differently in every jurisdiction.

Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits. I found no stated higher age limit for UniFi.

How to get it

Also short: the public pages do not tell me, and I am not going to invent a route for you.

What is not stated: the verification level required, how long delivery takes if a physical card exists, whether there is a virtual card you can use immediately, or any activation procedure. The only app-side detail I can give you is the iOS app name, “UniFi – Spend, Send, and Save”.

There is one small thing worth knowing because it tells you about how they handle trouble. In March 2026 the company replied on Trustpilot to three reviews, and said that unverified deposits are returned automatically via ACH. If you are refused, that is the process described publicly.

My advice is unglamorous: read the current terms in the app before you send anything, and treat the absence of a published eligibility statement as a reason to ask support a direct question rather than as permission to proceed on assumption.

Fees: What It Really Costs

Here I have to be blunt, because this is the section where you most want numbers and I have almost none. The card states: “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.” No issuance fee, no monthly fee, no conversion rate, no foreign-exchange markup, no ATM fee, no daily limit, no monthly limit, no tiers. Not one of those is disclosed on the public listing.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a UniFi payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Issuance not stated
Monthly fee not stated
Conversion not stated
Foreign exchange not stated
ATM not stated
Daily limit not stated
Monthly limit not stated
Tiers not stated
Card currency USD — spends from the USD balance

So what do you actually pay when you use it? I can walk you through three everyday situations and tell you exactly which fees apply, which is to say: which ones are unstated.

Buying lunch with the card in a shop or online, in US dollars, is the simplest case. There is no conversion at all, because the balance is already in dollars. Whether anything else is charged is not stated — no fee, no reward, nothing confirmed either way.

Spending in a currency other than dollars is where a hidden cost usually lives, and it is the thing to interrogate before you rely on this card abroad. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer typed against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. And some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. A declined authorisation may also leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven. None of that is a fee, but it is cost in time and in blocked purchases.

Withdrawing cash, if there is an ATM at all — the card does not say — sits under an unstated fee.

What I will not do is estimate any of these or guess a rate. The listing gives no numbers, and a made-up conversion percentage would be worse than an honest blank, because you would plan around it.

Top up: Getting Money In and Getting It Out

This is the part of the card that is actually documented, and it is where it looks most like what it is built for.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up UniFi starts with a transfer to the right network

You receive funds by ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE). You can get paid to a USDC wallet. Beyond USDC, the listing names no other coins and no other networks. Fees and minimums for funding are not stated.

On the way out: send money internationally to local accounts and to wallets in PHP, MXN and EUR. Fees not stated.

Four rails, and that is the honest shape of it. ACH suits a US bank account. Wire suits a larger or faster transfer. SEPA with an IBAN suits the eurozone. SPEI with a CLABE suits Mexico. If your money is already in one of those systems, this is a card with a clear purpose. If you hold nothing but crypto in a self-custody wallet, note what is missing: only USDC is named, on no named network.

And that gap has teeth, because of how stablecoin transfers work. A transfer to the wrong network or an address belonging to another network can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — but the card’s own listing does not tell you which of them it accepts. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option for that issuer, and a card that supports Tron for other reasons would be a different conversation. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. So the only safe question is the direct one: which network, and to which address, exactly.

On the coin itself: Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS in July 2025 put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm. But stablecoins are not bank deposits, and despite the name they are not necessarily stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis.

Paying With It Every Day

Apple Pay works — that is confirmed on the App Store listing. Google Pay is not mentioned. For the wallet side, the mechanism behind Apple Pay is worth knowing: it replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The issuer can still restrict that tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe, phone or website use.

Rewards are the other headline, and it needs a caveat. The listing claims “3% rewards on balances”. That is a claim about balances, not about card spend, and cashback on the card itself is not stated. Read those as two different things.

The app is where the day-to-day experience lives. On iOS it is “UniFi – Spend, Send, and Save”, rated 4.1 out of 5 from 9 ratings as read on 21 October 2026, at version 1.31. Google Play was not checked. Nine ratings is a very small sample, and worth weighing accordingly.

Two everyday things the card does not tell you. Whether there is a dispute process — what happens when a charge you did not make appears, or goods never arrive — is not stated. In the US, reversal rights for debit cards come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Online payments may also use 3-D Secure, Visa’s version being Visa Secure, which adds an identity check where the issuer decides to challenge rather than approve silently.

What Can Go Wrong

Nobody should hand you a card like this without telling you the sharp edges. These are mine.

The complaints are the loudest thing in the file. Trustpilot shows 2.7 out of 5 from 7 reviews — 2 five-star and 5 one-star, read on 21 October 2026. User-reported themes: unanswered support emails and chats, seen in August and September 2026; scam accusations and lost-deposit claims in February and March 2026; bugs and an iPhone app that largely did not work, in February and September 2026, including an inability to view card details. The company replied on 12 March 2026 to three reviews. These are user reports from a very small sample and not proof of anything systemic — but with 7 reviews total, five one-star is most of the available signal.

Support is not officially described anywhere. If the emails go unanswered, you have no published escalation path.

The company picture is worth holding in your head. UniFi is Bridge Ventures Inc. dba UniFi per the starting data; the App Store lists the developer as UniFi Payments and the seller as Alio Financial, Inc.; and the card is issued by Lead Bank and managed by Bridge Ventures, LLC. The card says “UniFi is not a bank”. The account sits with a licensed issuer, Lead Bank. Two-factor authentication and card freeze are not stated, which is a real gap, because the standard safeguards for this kind of product are app-based 2FA, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets.

Then there is custody. Who holds your crypto matters more than almost anything else in this review. Control belongs to whoever holds the private key; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery. Custodians do fail: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses.

And the category has a history of disappearing. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically give notice, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

On the regulatory side, a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a product like this often depends on two licences. In the EU, MiCA is the markets-in-crypto-assets regulation — ESMA states it took legal effect in June 2023, its rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules applied from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution (Article 48), and providers operating under national law had a transitional period running only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation was granted or refused. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, and that register is where you can check a provider. An EMI in the EU must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but those are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. In the US, FinCEN guidance (FIN-2013-G001) treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people buying goods or services are not.

Finally, a line for your accountant rather than for me: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. I am not giving tax advice and you should not take this as such — but if the balance is funded from crypto, each card payment may be a separate disposal, and that belongs on your own list.

What to Take Instead

I compared this against three alternatives on the same criteria.

Card Score Card type Cost Funding Rewards
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, online and in stores; virtual/physical and currency not stated “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed Spends from a Whop balance; pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals use settled funds; backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned
Stella 6.5 / 10 Virtual and physical, VISA, works at over 40 million merchants globally not stated; fees “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App” Deposit crypto into the account, which automatically tops up the card (in-app custodial wallet) No cashback stated; Earn is a separate yield product
Renegade 4.1 / 10 Virtual card issued instantly, “No plastic. No waiting”; page says “VISA integration”; currency not stated Pioneer 9.90 EUR monthly (4.90 in RNG); Voyager 19.90 EUR (14.90); Vanguard 29.90 EUR (24.90); issuance not stated Crypto vIBAN via Striga and IBAN account; coins and networks not listed on the card page 3% paid in RNG coin on all three tiers, with a monthly cap

Whop Cards score highest of these three on documentation and lowest on anonymity — the US state list is long and specific. Consumers: 31 US states, listed alphabetically from Alabama through Wyoming, including California, Florida, New York, Texas and Washington-adjacent neighbours such as Virginia and West Virginia; businesses in 41 states. Unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. Whether it looks at citizenship or residence is not stated. Whop also has one thing UniFi lacks entirely: a rewards programme with a named merchant.

Stella is the strongest card here at 6.5, and the most explicit about what it is: a custodial in-app wallet you deposit into, which automatically tops up the card. Its official site does not list countries; its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates. It is virtual or physical, Visa, and stated to work at over 40 million merchants globally.

Renegade at 4.1 is the only one of the four with published prices, and they are in euros: 9.90 EUR monthly for Pioneer, 19.90 for Voyager, 29.90 for Vanguard, cheaper if paid in RNG. It charges 1.6% on crypto/fiat exchange and says no other fees are collected, with new fees announced at least 30 days ahead; no FX fee is stated. The catch is coverage: no supported or excluded countries are listed on the card page, and its terms restrict the virtual IBAN for euro deposits and withdrawals to customers in the European Economic Area (terms 1.2). If you are not in the EEA, that removes the feature the card is named for.

Whop scores 5.2, Stella 6.5, Renegade 4.1, UniFi 4.7 — so on the raw numbers two of these beat it. But the comparison only holds to the extent you need what UniFi does. None of the three is a send-money corridor into the Philippines, Mexico, Colombia or Brazil. If that corridor is your reason, alternatives are not really alternatives; if you wanted a spending card with clearer pricing, Stella or Renegade are the shorter path to an answer.

Who I Would Recommend It To

I would recommend this card to a specific person: you earn in dollars, you regularly send money into the Philippines, Mexico, Colombia, Brazil, the UK or the eurozone, and you are comfortable treating an app with thin documentation as a tool rather than a bank. You check the network before any USDC transfer, you keep what the balance holds separate from anything you cannot afford to have delayed, and you accept that the send rates are the feature and the fee schedule is something you will have to ask for.

I would not recommend it to you if your card has to work at the till without a second thought, if published fees are a condition of your decision, if you are outside the corridors above, or if you need a support desk that answers.

At 4.7 out of 10, that is not a card I would tell a friend to move their salary to. It is a card I would tell them to test with an amount they can afford to argue about.

Frequently asked questions

What is the UniFi card?

It is a prepaid Visa debit card issued by Lead Bank and managed by Bridge Ventures, drawing on a US dollar balance. Its emphasis is cross-border sending rather than ordinary shopping: the App Store lists send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone, with recent releases adding Colombia, Brazil via PIX and the UK. Apple Pay is supported.

Is UniFi a bank?

No, and the card says so: “UniFi is not a bank”. The account sits with a licensed issuer, Lead Bank, which holds the card programme. In the EU this shape means an electronic money institution can issue cards and wallets but cannot lend. Your funds are safeguarded rather than bank deposits, and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns UniFi?

Three names appear and they are not the same thing. UniFi is Bridge Ventures Inc. dba UniFi per the starting data; the App Store lists developer UniFi Payments and seller Alio Financial, Inc.; and the card is issued by Lead Bank and managed by Bridge Ventures, LLC. Visa licenses the programme but does not issue crypto cards itself.

Is the UniFi card available in my country?

I cannot confirm that from official pages, and the help pages returned a 403 when I checked. What is public is a route list: Philippines, Mexico, eurozone, and more recently Colombia, Brazil and the UK. That describes where money can go, not who can open an account, so ask support directly for your country.

How do I apply for the UniFi card?

The public pages do not say. Verification level, activation steps, whether a virtual card is instant, and delivery timing for a physical card are all unstated. What is on record: a March 2026 Trustpilot reply saying unverified deposits are returned automatically via ACH.

Does the UniFi card require KYC?

The listing does not say, so I will not claim it does or does not. What the general rules imply is that a licensed issuer must verify identity and screen sanctions under anti-money-laundering law. In the US that means name, date of birth, address and an identification number; in the EU, fuller due diligence including nationality, documentation and PEP status.

How much does the UniFi card cost?

The card’s only published statement is “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.” No issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion rate, foreign-exchange markup, ATM fee or limits are disclosed. Spending from the USD balance avoids conversion entirely; everything else, I cannot put a number to, and I will not invent one.

How do I top up the UniFi card?

By ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), and you can get paid to a USDC wallet. No other coins or networks are named. Fees and minimums are not stated, and the network fee for a crypto deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by the card.

Can I add the UniFi card to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay is supported according to the App Store listing. How it works under the hood: the card number is replaced by a device-specific number held in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time code. The issuer can still restrict the tokenised number for certain channels.

Is the UniFi card safe and worth it?

Safe depends on what you are holding and who holds it. If a custodian holds the crypto, you carry their counterparty and hack risk — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network are the reference points. Protection features like 2FA and instant card freeze are not stated, Trustpilot shows 2.7 out of 7 reviews, and support is described only by users as unresponsive. Use it for amounts you can absorb.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team