A look at the Airtm card, a free virtual Visa you spend from a USDC balance

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Airtm card is a virtual Visa prepaid card that you fund from your Airtm balance in USDC. It has no issuance fee, no monthly fee and a 0% foreign-exchange markup, but it only exists in virtual form, only works in a small set of countries, and the balance you load is held by a custodian. This review walks through what the card actually does, what it costs in everyday use, and where it stops being a good fit.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Airtm works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The Airtm card earns 6.3 out of 10 in my scoring. That score is not a summary of the marketing page, it is a weighted view of who can get the card, what it costs, how you fund it, how it holds up day to day, and how the company behind it behaves when things go wrong.

The card is at its best in the cheapest slice of the market: there is no fee to issue it, no monthly fee, no foreign-exchange markup and the first $200 of monthly top-ups cost only 1% (capped at $2 USDC). After that threshold, every further top-up is free. For someone who already keeps funds in an Airtm wallet and spends in USD, that is genuinely hard to beat on cost.

The card is at its weakest in three places. The geographic reach is narrow: it is initially live in the United States and Argentina, with a handful of other Latin American countries “coming soon” or “planned.” Several jurisdictions, including Russia, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, and certain regions of Ukraine, are not served at all. There is no physical card and no ATM access, so it is online and contactless-mobile only. And the balance sits with a custodian, Airtm Inc. backed by Lead Bank, so a chunk of the score has to account for the fact that you are trusting an intermediary with the funds you load.

In short, this card suits US and Latin American residents who already use Airtm as a multi-currency wallet and want a free, USD-denominated way to spend from a stablecoin balance. It does not suit someone who needs a physical card, an ATM, broad global coverage, or a non-custodial option.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 15+ countries by residence, starting in the US and Argentina; many major jurisdictions excluded
Cost 9 / 10 $0 issuance, $0 monthly, 0% FX, 1% on the first $200 of top-ups, then free; $1 inactivity fee
Top-up options 7 / 10 Funded from Airtm balance in USDC; the wallet itself accepts 500+ funding routes
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Lead Bank as issuer, Airtm Inc. registered with FinCEN since 2015, but Trustpilot shows persistent complaints
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay and Google Pay work, no physical card, no ATM

Who can get the Airtm card

The card is tied to a verified Airtm account, and the rules Airtm applies to the platform also apply to the card. The card is available to users with verified residence in 15 or more countries. Eligibility is by residence, not by citizenship, which is a useful distinction: a user living in the United Arab Emirates, for example, would be evaluated on the basis of where they live, with sanctions screening still applied on top of that.

The card officially launched on 27 May 2025 in two markets: the United States and Argentina. Airtm’s published roadmap at the time of writing lists Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic as “coming soon,” and Guatemala, Chile, Angola, Brazil and Peru as planned. The platform, and therefore the card, is not available in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, and Ukraine’s Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions. Certain US states, including New York, are also excluded.

If you are reading this from outside that list, the answer to “is the Airtm card available in my country” depends on whether Airtm has confirmed your country as a live or coming-soon market. The exclusion list is more important than the inclusion list for now: it is shorter and stricter.

How to get the card

The card is an in-app feature of Airtm, not a standalone product. To get it, you need a verified Airtm account, you need to have completed the higher level of identity verification Airtm calls “Special Features KYC,” and you need to be in a supported country.

The KYC step asks for the same things most regulated platforms ask for: official ID showing your name, address, date of birth and government ID number. You must be 18 or older. If you already hold a US Virtual Account with Airtm and have completed the Special Features KYC for that, you do not need to repeat it for the card. Airtm does not publish a list of reasons applications are rejected.

After verification, the steps in the app are short: open the card section, follow the prompts, and the card is approved. Airtm says activation can take a few minutes or, in the worst case, up to two business days. There is nothing to wait for in the mail, because the card only exists digitally.

The card itself is a virtual Visa prepaid debit card denominated in US dollars. There is no physical version, which also means there is no shipping address, no delivery time, and no card to lose in the post. The trade-off is that any feature that needs a piece of plastic, ATM withdrawals first and foremost, is simply not available.

Fees: what the Airtm card really costs

The cost story is the card’s strongest point. There is no issuance fee, no annual fee and no monthly fee as long as you keep the card active. Foreign-exchange markup on international transactions is 0%. The only fees you will see in normal use are the top-up fee, the inactivity fee, and a deletion fee if you decide to close the card and move the balance back.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Airtm payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The top-up fee is structured as a small charge on the first $200 you load in a calendar month and nothing after that: 1% on the first $200, with a maximum of $2 USDC per month, and 0% on anything beyond $200. A line in Bridge’s cardholder agreement says funding from the Airtm wallet is “up to 2%”; the lower 1% figure is what Airtm itself shows in the app. I would budget for the higher number only as a worst case and treat the 1% as the working assumption.

The inactivity fee is $1, charged after 30 days with no loads. A single load of any size resets the clock. If you intend to keep the card in your wallet as a backup, plan to load something symbolic once a month.

A card deletion fee of 1% applies if you close the card to move the remaining balance back to your Airtm account. There is no fee from the issuing bank, Lead Bank, for closing the card itself.

Cashback at point of sale is not offered. There is no per-purchase fee. ATM withdrawals, ATM balance inquiries and cashback at a till are all not available on this card, so any feature that involves physical cash is simply out.

Fee or limit Amount
Issuance $0
Monthly fee $0
Top-up fee (first $200 / month) 1% (max $2 USDC)
Top-up fee (above $200 / month) 0%
Foreign-exchange markup 0%
Inactivity fee $1 after 30 days with no loads
Card deletion fee 1% of balance
Per-purchase fee None
ATM withdrawal Not available
Cashback at point of sale Not available
Daily spending limit $2,000 USD
Per-transaction limit $2,000 USD
Card currency USD only

To make those numbers feel less abstract, three everyday payments. Buying a $5 coffee with Apple Pay: the top-up that originally loaded your balance already paid the funding fee, so the tap itself has no additional charge. Buying a $40 pair of headphones from a US merchant: same thing, no fee on the transaction, no FX markup because the merchant settles in USD. Buying a $60 piece of software from a European vendor whose bank converts the charge to euros on their side: the card still bills you $60 with a 0% FX markup, because the conversion is happening on the merchant’s side, not yours. The cost of using the card is paid up front, in the top-up, not on every swipe.

The 1% top-up fee does mean the cheapest way to use the card is to load larger amounts less often. A user who loads $200 once a month pays a $2 fee on $200 of spending, which is 1%. A user who loads $50 four times in a month pays four separate fees up to the $2 monthly cap, which works out to a higher effective rate on a small monthly volume. If your monthly spend is under $200, the percentage you pay in fees is closer to 1% than to zero. If your monthly spend is well over $200, the fee effectively drops toward zero.

Top up: how to fund the Airtm card

The card is topped up from your Airtm balance, and your Airtm balance is held in USDC. You cannot load the card directly from a bank account, a debit card, or an external crypto wallet; the only path is Airtm balance to card.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Airtm starts with a transfer to the right network

In practice, what happens at the moment of a purchase is that the card programme sells USDC from the platform provider account and loads the card with fiat US dollars in real time, so the card always settles in USD. That is also why the card’s published currency is USD and why there are no multi-currency balances on the card itself.

Funding the Airtm wallet is where the breadth comes in. Airtm advertises more than 500 ways to fund the wallet, including bank transfers, crypto deposits, mobile wallets, the in-app P2P network, and debit or credit card funding through MoonPay. The published list of networks used for the crypto deposit is not exhaustive, and the specific chains supported can change. Treat any precise list of supported networks for crypto deposits as unofficial until Airtm shows it inside the deposit flow itself.

For US users, Airtm states that the card can only be loaded via payouts, by setting the card as your default payout method in the app. This is a different flow from a generic user who tops up from a USDC balance. The end result is the same: the card is funded from your Airtm balance, not from an external source.

The network fees for any crypto conversion happen inside Airtm’s spread and P2P rates, so you do not pay a separate blockchain fee to the card or to Airtm for the conversion. You do still pay any gas or bandwidth fees the underlying blockchain charges when you deposit into your Airtm wallet in the first place.

There is no separate minimum top-up amount published, and loading limits are governed by the withdrawal limits of the underlying Airtm account, not by a card-specific cap beyond the $2,000 per-transaction and per-day spending limit.

A few practical notes. The Bridge cardholder agreement describes the funding fee as “up to 2%”; the in-app experience shows 1% on the first $200 of the month, capped at $2. If you want to be conservative, treat 1% as the realistic fee and 2% as a contractually possible one. If you need to move money from the card back to your Airtm balance, you close the card; the remaining balance, minus the 1% deletion fee, is returned. Refunds from a merchant are credited to your platform provider wallet as stablecoins, not back to the card.

Paying with the Airtm card every day

Day to day, the card behaves like a prepaid USD Visa. You can add it to Apple Pay and Google Pay and tap to pay wherever contactless Visa is accepted. The blocked merchant categories are gambling, firearms, drugs, adult content and services, and financial services businesses, which is a fairly standard list for a prepaid product and excludes anything that looks like a money-mover or a casino.

There is no cashback, no rewards programme and no tier system: the card is a single tier. The mobile app is the main surface. Airtm’s iOS App Store listing in the US shows 4.8 out of 5 from about 5,000 ratings; Google Play shows 4.5 out of 5 from about 82,400 reviews. Those numbers were read on 21 October 2026 and are useful as a rough quality signal, but they cover the Airtm platform as a whole, not just the card.

If a transaction goes wrong, the dispute process starts with you. You do not have a right to stop payment on card transactions, and the cardholder agreement asks you to handle the dispute with the merchant first. If you need to report an error, the window is 60 days from the statement date. Airtm says it will investigate within 10 business days, with a standard maximum of 45 days (90 days for new cards or foreign-initiated transactions). Liability for unauthorised transactions is capped at $50 if you report within two business days, and up to $500 if you report later. Pre-authorisation holds on the card can take up to 7 business days to release, which is a long time relative to the $2,000 daily limit and worth keeping in mind for hotels and car rentals.

A subtle but important point: refunds are credited to your platform provider wallet as USDC, not as USD back on the card. This is not a problem in itself, but it means a refund is not immediately spendable on the card. You will need to top the card back up from the wallet for that refund to be available to spend.

What can go wrong with the Airtm card

The cost structure is friendly. The operational record is the place where the score has to give ground.

Airtm Inc. is a Delaware corporation, registered with FinCEN as a money services business since 2015 under registration number 31000329787639. The card is issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank and FDIC member, with Bridge Ventures LLC acting as the programme manager. The card itself runs on the Visa network. None of that is unusual. The signals to watch are in the user feedback.

On Trustpilot, Airtm’s overall score is 3 out of 5 from roughly 7,000 reviews as of October 2026, and the recurring complaint themes are consistent over 2025 and 2026. The most common one is accounts being suspended or limited without a clear explanation, sometimes with funds held for weeks or months. The second is slow or unresponsive customer support, where users report getting generic replies. The third is fraud inside the P2P marketplace, where users say they lost funds to a counterparty and that Airtm did not reimburse them. There is no major publicised hack or shutdown of Airtm itself, but a custodial platform with a long dispute tail is its own kind of risk.

The card’s own security profile is what you would expect. Card funds are held by Lead Bank, which means they are not FDIC-insured, because prepaid card funds are not deposits. Two-factor authentication is available on the Airtm account. The card can be frozen or deleted from the dashboard. There is no physical card to lose, but also no physical card to fall back on if a tokenised version stops working.

Support is reachable by email at [email protected], by phone at 833-237-8104, and through the website chat. The site is published in English, Spanish and Portuguese, which fits the platform’s Latin American focus. Operating hours are not stated explicitly, and several user reviews describe waiting days for a meaningful response.

A small number of operational facts round out the picture. Airtm announced a scheduled maintenance window on 4 June 2026 from 06:00 to 09:00 UTC. IsDown, a third-party incident tracker, has recorded about 36 Airtm incidents since July 2021, with the most recent tracked outage on 2 October 2025, an issue with transactions that lasted 9 hours. These numbers are unofficial and not confirmed by Airtm, but they are the kind of signal a cardholder will feel if they happen to be trying to pay during an incident.

A practical piece of advice. Because refunds are credited to the platform provider wallet as USDC, because loading limits are tied to the underlying Airtm account, and because the dispute path is “merchant first, Airtm second,” the card is best treated as a daily-spend card funded with money you can afford to have temporarily stuck. It is not a good home for a balance you cannot do without.

What to take instead

If the Airtm card does not fit your situation, three alternatives are commonly compared with it. The scores below come from the same scoring framework I use for the Airtm card, and the figures are from each provider’s own published pages as of the dates noted. Any item marked unofficial is not confirmed by the provider’s official page; treat it as a lead to verify.

Cardex (5.6 / 10)

Cardex markets itself as one crypto card usable in 200+ countries, with a virtual and a physical card on the networks VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, and the App Store listing mentions spending in Naira. There is no published list of excluded countries, and the App Store description is Naira-focused, so the geographic fit depends on where you actually live. The published feature is real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one at the moment of payment. Issuance, monthly and FX fees are not stated on the public site as of 22 October 2026, which makes the card hard to compare on cost. Cardex accepts USDT, USDC and BTC into its funding wallets, but the networks are not stated. There is no cashback mentioned. The short version: broad country reach, a real physical card option, but cost details you have to ask for, and an App Store listing that signals Nigeria first.

TakeCard (5.5 / 10)

TakeCard is a virtual card available immediately and, according to one article, a physical card available only to Bolivian users, with the Visa network, issued in the United States as a prepaid card in USD with a 1:1 USD payment promise. Pricing is split: $5 for the virtual card, $20 issuance and $20 shipping for the physical card in Bolivia, although another article from the same source says $10 for the physical card in Bolivia. That conflict is part of the cost story. Per-purchase commission is 1%, USD payments are 1:1, and other currencies use the official Visa rate of the transaction day; the crypto conversion fee itself is not stated. TakeCard is topped up from the Takenos balance; the underlying coins and networks are not confirmed in the article I read, and starting data not verified by me lists USDC and USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum. Countries are not listed exhaustively; the physical card is Bolivia only, and starting data not confirmed on a page I could read mentions Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy. The short version: a low-cost virtual card option for a Latin American audience, but inconsistent public cost information and a Bolivian physical-card limitation.

OkiCard (6.0 / 10)

OkiCard publishes a “150+ countries” reach, with some pages saying “200+,” and a stated policy of “no geo-blocking based on your passport,” although users must confirm they are not in a sanctioned jurisdiction. The card is virtual, with a physical card mentioned but not detailed; the network is listed as “Visa/Mastercard” without specifying which one; the card currency is USD/EUR-pegged. The pricing page is contradictory: it shows $0 issuance, $0 monthly, but also a $15 starting price for a virtual card, and a FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee. An initial deposit of 100 USDT is required. The load fee is 3%, the transaction fee in USD is 0%, and OkiCard claims “no hidden exchange spreads”; the FX fee is not stated. Funding is USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana, with USDC “soon” and BTC plus other coins “coming soon.” Deposits go to a generated address, and conversion to fiat happens at the moment of spending. There is no cashback mentioned. The short version: a wide geographic reach with stablecoin funding on a few major networks, but a 3% load fee that makes the card noticeably more expensive than Airtm for small monthly volumes.

A short comparison in table form, scored on the same scale:

Card Score Geographic reach Card form Card currency Funding coins (per provider) Stated load fee
Airtm 6.3 / 10 15+ countries, US and Argentina live Virtual only USD USDC (via Airtm wallet, 500+ routes) 1% on first $200, then 0%
Cardex 5.6 / 10 “200+ countries”, no exclusions list Virtual and physical Naira per listing USDT, USDC, BTC (networks not stated) Not stated
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 Country list not stated; physical Bolivia only Virtual everywhere, physical Bolivia USD (1:1) Takenos balance (coins not stated in article) 1% per purchase
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 150+ countries, “no geo-blocking” Virtual, physical mentioned USD/EUR USDT on BSC, ETH, Tron, Solana; USDC “soon” 3% load

Pick by what you actually need. If your priority is the cheapest cost on a USD-denominated virtual card, Airtm is hard to beat in its supported countries. If your priority is the widest country reach with a physical option, Cardex is the most expansive in geography but asks you to confirm its fees. If you are in Latin America and want a Bolivia-first physical card, TakeCard fits the niche but with inconsistent pricing. If you want to fund from a specific stablecoin on a specific network and prefer a non-Airtm provider, OkiCard lists USDT on four chains with a higher load fee.

Who I would recommend the Airtm card to

I would recommend the Airtm card to a US or Latin American resident who already has an Airtm account, who already holds a balance in USDC, and who wants a free, USD-denominated way to spend from that balance online and through Apple Pay or Google Pay. The cost structure is genuinely good: $0 to issue, $0 a month, 0% FX, 1% on the first $200 of monthly top-ups and then free. For that user, the card is a 6.3-out-of-10 product that punches well above its score on cost.

I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a physical card, who needs to withdraw cash from an ATM, who lives outside the current and “coming soon” country list, or who is uncomfortable loading a balance with a custodian. The lack of a physical card, the absence of ATM access, the narrow geographic reach and the persistent complaint themes around account holds and slow support are real enough to put the card in a “daily spend, not a long-term store of value” category. Treat the balance you load as money you can afford to have temporarily stuck, top up from a stablecoin balance you actively manage, and you will get the most out of what the Airtm card is, rather than what it is not.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Airtm card?

The Airtm card is a virtual Visa prepaid debit card denominated in US dollars, issued by Lead Bank and run by Bridge Ventures, that you fund from your Airtm balance in USDC. It was officially launched on 27 May 2025, initially in the United States and Argentina. It exists only as a digital card number, with no physical version, and it is added to Apple Pay or Google Pay for contactless spending.

How does the Airtm card work?

When you make a purchase, the card programme sells USDC from your Airtm balance and loads the card with fiat USD in real time, so the card always settles in dollars. You cannot top the card up directly from a bank or external wallet; the only path is from your Airtm balance in USDC. Airtm does not publish the full list of blockchains supported for the underlying crypto deposit, and that list is unofficial until shown in the deposit flow.

Is Airtm a bank?

No. Airtm Inc. is a Delaware corporation registered with FinCEN as a money services business since 2015, and the card itself is issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank and FDIC member. Card funds are not FDIC insured, because prepaid card balances are not deposits, and Bridge Ventures LLC acts as the programme manager for the Visa programme.

Is the Airtm card available in my country?

It depends on whether your country is on Airtm’s live or coming-soon list. The card launched in the United States and Argentina, with Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic listed as coming soon, and Guatemala, Chile, Angola, Brazil and Peru planned. Airtm does not serve users in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, Ukraine’s Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions, or certain US states including New York.

Does the Airtm card require KYC?

Yes. The card requires a higher level of verification than the standard Airtm account, called “Special Features KYC,” which asks for official ID showing your name, address, date of birth and government ID number. You must be 18 or older. If you have already completed Special Features KYC for a US Virtual Account, you do not need to repeat it for the card.

How do I activate and start using the Airtm card?

Once your Special Features KYC is approved, open the card section in the Airtm app and follow the prompts. Airtm says activation takes a few minutes or, in the worst case, up to two business days. The card is then added to Apple Pay or Google Pay for contactless payments, or used directly online with the card number.

How do I top up the Airtm card?

You top the card up from your Airtm balance, which is held in USDC. Your Airtm wallet can in turn be funded through more than 500 routes, including bank transfers, crypto deposits, mobile wallets, the in-app P2P network, and debit or credit cards through MoonPay. The card itself has a $2,000 daily and per-transaction spending limit; loading limits follow the withdrawal limits of your underlying Airtm account.

Where can I use the Airtm card?

The card works wherever Visa is accepted online, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay wherever contactless Visa is taken. Blocked merchant categories are gambling, firearms, drugs, adult content and services, and financial services businesses. There is no ATM access and no physical card, so cash and cardholder-present chip-and-PIN transactions are not supported.

Is the Airtm card safe?

The card is built on standard prepaid rails, with 2FA on the Airtm account, the ability to freeze or delete the card from the dashboard, and US regulatory registration behind both the platform and the issuing bank. The counterparty risk sits with Airtm Inc. and Lead Bank: card funds are not FDIC insured, and Trustpilot shows persistent complaints in 2025 and 2026 about accounts being limited with funds held, slow support, and P2P marketplace fraud. Treat the balance you load as money you can afford to have temporarily stuck.

Is the Airtm card worth it?

The Airtm card is worth it if you live in a supported country, already use Airtm to hold a USDC balance, and want a free USD-denominated virtual card with a 0% FX markup. It is not worth it if you need a physical card, an ATM, broad global coverage, or a non-custodial way to spend. On the framework I use, the card scores 6.3 out of 10, with cost (9/10) offset by the narrow country list (5/10), the virtual-only form factor (5/10) and the operational risk (5/10).

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team