A Visa card that draws on your own self-custody stablecoins, but only if you live in the right place

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

ELLIPAL Pay is a Visa card that spends stablecoins directly from your own self-custody wallet, settled on the Gnosis Chain at the moment of payment. The idea is straightforward: no bank holds the funds, no pre-funded fiat balance needs topping up, and the keys stay with you. In practice the card is a partnership product with Gnosis Pay, the geography is narrow, and several everyday details are still unclear. I went through ELLIPAL’s official pages, the help-centre material, and third-party reports to put a single picture together. The conditions are current as of 2026-10-20.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
ELLIPAL Pay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

ELLIPAL Pay scores 5.8 out of 10 in my reading. That is a middling mark, and the reasons cluster around availability rather than fees. On the cost side the card is positioned as free, with no transaction fees, no ELLIPAL markup on conversion and no gas charges on payments, which on paper is excellent. In everyday use, however, the geography is narrow, the physical card and the Apple Pay or Google Pay options are not described, and the product page still says “coming soon” while the rollout happens in stages. The strongest case for the card is for ELLIPAL hardware-wallet holders who already keep stablecoins in self-custody and want a way to spend them at a Visa terminal without first off-ramping to a bank. The weakest case is for anyone outside the published country list, anyone who needs a physical card right now, and anyone who depends on cash access.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a ELLIPAL Pay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why it lands there
Who can get it 6 / 10 Legal residents in a defined list of European and Latin American countries; everywhere else goes on a waiting list
Cost 7 / 10 Officially free, no transaction or conversion fees, no gas on payments; unofficial partner-programme material quotes a card cost and ATM charges that the official page does not
Top-up options 5 / 10 Stablecoins from a self-custody wallet, settled on Gnosis Chain; balances in EURe, GBPe, USDCe
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Gnosis Pay is the partner and runs KYC via SumSub; the issuing institution is not named on ELLIPAL pages; the product page still reads “coming soon”
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual card at activation; no physical card, Apple Pay or Google Pay mentioned; unofficial ATM limits and fees
Total 5.8 / 10 A self-custody spend card with attractive cost claims, but the rollout and the open questions hold it back

If you already run an ELLIPAL hardware wallet and live in one of the listed countries, the card is worth a serious look. If you do not, the alternatives in the comparison section below are easier to reach.

Who will they give you the card

ELLIPAL Pay is for legal residents of a defined set of countries in Europe and Latin America. The starting data, which is the country list I am working from, includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Argentina, Brazil and Colombia. The list is not exhaustive in the materials I read, and the product page itself redirected to the help-centre landing when I fetched it, so the most reliable version of the list is the one inside the application flow.

If you live somewhere else, the route is a waiting list rather than a flat refusal. ELLIPAL’s general position is that the card is rolling out gradually. There is no public commitment about which countries come next, and there is no fast-track for cryptocurrency users who are not legal residents of a listed country. The card is a Visa product, so once you have it, you can use it at any merchant that accepts Visa, but eligibility is decided at sign-up, not at the till.

A few related points to keep in mind:

If you are not in a listed country, the rest of this review is still useful as a way to understand what a self-custody-linked Visa card looks like in practice, but you will not be able to act on it yet.

How to get it

The flow runs through the ELLIPAL app and into the Gnosis Pay KYC stack. In outline, you open the ELLIPAL app, go to Assets, then Pay, then ELLIPAL Pay, and choose Apply. The application collects your email, your government ID and a proof of address, and Gnosis Pay runs the identity verification. You wait for Gnosis Pay to confirm, then you activate a virtual card with a phone number and a source-of-funds confirmation.

The documents requested are:

A few things I could not confirm and so will state plainly:

The KYC is run by Gnosis Pay, ELLIPAL’s partner, through SumSub, a third-party identity provider. That means SumSub sees your documents, Gnosis Pay sees the result, and ELLIPAL acts as the front end. Two names come up repeatedly in the materials: ELLIPAL, which markets the card, and Gnosis Pay, which runs the programme behind it. The card-issuing institution, its home country and the licences that authorise the card are not named on the ELLIPAL pages I read. A third-party listing, DeFiLlama, names Monavate as the issuer of the Gnosis Pay card; I treat that as unofficial until ELLIPAL or Gnosis Pay confirms it directly.

A practical note: because KYC is handled by Gnosis Pay rather than by ELLIPAL directly, the support contact for an application question is not necessarily ELLIPAL’s own helpdesk. If your application stalls, Gnosis Pay is the right place to ask first.

What it really costs

The cost story has two layers, and they do not match. ELLIPAL’s own order guide calls the card free, with no transaction fees, no ELLIPAL markup on currency conversion and no gas fees on card transactions. Gnosis Pay’s own help-centre material, which describes the partner programme that ELLIPAL is part of, says the card costs 30.23 EURe plus a small amount of xDai for the on-chain step, paid from a Gnosis Chain wallet. The partner-programme help also lists ATM conditions that ELLIPAL’s own pages do not.

I will lay both out so you can decide which applies to you. The official line is what ELLIPAL publishes about its product. The unofficial line is what Gnosis Pay publishes about its partner programme, and it is not confirmed for ELLIPAL specifically. The mismatch may be because ELLIPAL is running a launch promotion, because the partner programme has its own pricing separate from ELLIPAL’s offer, or because one of the two pages is out of date. I cannot tell from the materials alone.

Costs

Fee or limit What the official ELLIPAL pages say What third-party material says
Card issuance Free 30.23 EURe + xDai for gas (Gnosis Pay partner programme, unofficial)
Monthly or annual fee None stated None stated
Transaction fees None None
Currency conversion markup None from ELLIPAL None from ELLIPAL
Gas fees on card payments None None
ATM withdrawals Not stated 250 per withdrawal, 500 per day; 5 free withdrawals or 200 per month, then 2% (Gnosis Pay, unofficial)
Daily spend cap 8,000 in EURe, GBPe or USDCe (rolling 24-hour) Same
Per-transaction cap 5,000 Same

Two worked examples make the everyday cost picture more concrete. I have used the official figures where I can and flagged the unofficial ones where I have to.

A standard lunch in Berlin, paid at a Visa terminal. The card converts USDCe from your self-custody wallet to EURe on the Gnosis Chain at the moment of payment, and the merchant is paid in euros. There is no ELLIPAL transaction fee, no conversion markup, and no gas fee on the card payment itself. The on-chain step inside Gnosis Pay is handled by the programme. The merchant receives euros and you have spent the USDCe equivalent at the time-of-payment rate.

A 100 pound supermarket shop in London, paid with a UK merchant. The card draws on GBPe, so there is no currency conversion in the payment itself. If your self-custody wallet only holds USDCe, the conversion from USDCe to GBPe happens through the Gnosis Pay smart contract, again without an ELLIPAL markup. If you already hold GBPe, the payment is a balance-to-balance move with no conversion step at all. The 8,000 daily cap and the 5,000 per-transaction cap are both well above this example.

A 200 euro ATM withdrawal in Spain, unofficial figures. The Gnosis Pay partner programme describes 250 per withdrawal and 500 per day, with 5 free withdrawals or 200 per month in fair-use limits and a 2% fee after that. If ELLIPAL’s no-fee promise applies to the partner-programme ATM terms, the 200 would be free; if the partner-programme terms apply, the 200 is free and the next withdrawal carries the 2%. This is the single biggest “which page do I believe” question in the whole cost story, and you should check it with the support team before you rely on cash access.

Three practical points to keep in mind when reading the cost section:

How to top up ELLIPAL Pay

Top up for ELLIPAL Pay does not look like a normal prepaid card. The funds stay in your own self-custody wallet, and the card draws on the stablecoins there at the moment of payment. The settlement happens on-chain through a Gnosis Pay smart contract on Gnosis Chain. In other words, the top-up is a balance that already exists; the card simply spends it.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up ELLIPAL Pay starts with a transfer to the right network

The starting data, which I treat as a working version of the model, is that the card holds balances denominated in EURe, GBPe or USDCe. If your wallet holds one of those three, the payment is a near-direct spend. If your wallet holds a different stablecoin, you convert into one of the three inside your wallet before the payment, and you carry the cost of that conversion (a swap in your wallet, with its own fees and rate). Either way, the card is not loading a prepaid fiat balance from your bank; the balance is your on-chain stablecoin balance, marked in a card-currency denomination.

A few things that follow from this design:

This design has a real upside: there is no third party between you and the funds, so the card cannot be a path for a platform to freeze your balance. The flip side is that if you lose your seed phrase, you lose the balance. Self-custody is a feature and a responsibility, and the card inherits both.

If you are topping up from an exchange, the network you use matters. A common way to lose money in this category is to send a stablecoin on a network the receiving wallet or programme does not support, and ELLIPAL’s flow runs on Gnosis Chain. If you are unsure, the safe path is to send a small test amount first.

Paying with it every day

A virtual card is created at activation, and that is what you spend with. The materials I read do not describe a physical card, do not describe a metal card, and do not describe Apple Pay or Google Pay support. The everyday spending experience is therefore a virtual Visa number, used online or wherever a virtual card is accepted.

The published limits are 8,000 in EURe, GBPe or USDCe across a rolling 24-hour period, with a 5,000 ceiling on a single transaction. Both numbers are well above typical daily spend and below most small-business or contractor invoices, so for a salary-like flow you would hit the daily cap before the per-transaction cap. For a one-off large purchase, the per-transaction cap is the binding number, and the merchant may split the payment or refuse it.

The materials do not state:

The clearest part of the everyday experience is the cost. A standard in-store or online payment has no ELLIPAL fee and no conversion markup. The unclear parts are the form factor (virtual only) and the absence of stated merchant restrictions. If your everyday use is online shopping, subscriptions and in-app purchases, a virtual card with the published limits is enough. If your everyday use is contact-less tap-to-pay at a café, you need to confirm a physical card or a wallet tokenisation path before you rely on it.

What can go wrong

The card’s design is its own risk profile, and the risks fall into three groups: the ones that come from the partnership, the ones that come from self-custody, and the ones that come from the rollout being incomplete.

Partnership and issuer risk. The card is a Gnosis Pay programme, with KYC run by SumSub. ELLIPAL is the front end. The card-issuing institution, its country and the licences that authorise the card are not named on ELLIPAL’s pages. A third-party listing, DeFiLlama, names Monavate as the issuer of the Gnosis Pay card. Until ELLIPAL or Gnosis Pay confirms that, the issuer is an open question, and a card’s regulatory status depends on its issuer.

Self-custody risk. The card cannot be frozen by ELLIPAL or Gnosis Pay because the funds are in your wallet, but the corollary is that you cannot recover them if you lose your seed phrase. A seed phrase is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone with it can spend the funds. Transfers on public blockchains are irreversible, so a phishing attack, a clipboard-hijack that swaps an address you copied, or a typo in an address can drain the balance with no recourse.

Rollout risk. The product page still says “coming soon” in the materials I read, and the rollout is gradual. That is not the same as a finished product, and it explains the gaps in the published information. Trustpilot for ellipal.com (which covers the hardware wallets, not the Pay card) sits at 4.1 out of 5 from 303 reviews as of 21 October 2026, with recurring themes of delivery delays, device battery or defect issues, and wallet or app problems. I did not see a Trustpilot page for the Pay card specifically. No dated news about the Pay card surfaced in the materials I read, and there are no public incident reports for it either.

Support. ELLIPAL says it does not offer phone support; the help centre is at support.ellipal.com. The application step is run by Gnosis Pay, so for an application question the right route may be Gnosis Pay rather than ELLIPAL. If the card programme is suspended, the pattern in this category is that there is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw balances. That happened with FTX in November 2022 and with WaveCrest in 2018, and it is the underlying reason that “who is the issuer and under what licence” is not an academic question.

Sanctions and identity checks. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Tether, the issuer of USDT, says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. The card programme sits inside regulated KYC and AML rules, and you should expect the same screening, ongoing monitoring and, in some cases, account closure that any regulated payment product applies.

Practical risks to keep in mind:

What to take instead

The three alternatives below are useful comparisons, and they each handle a different version of the question “where can I spend crypto on a Visa or Mastercard”. I have laid them out so you can see which trade-off you prefer.

Card Score Where it works Card form Funding model Notable fees
ELLIPAL Pay 5.8 / 10 Selected European and Latin American countries (residence) Virtual at activation; physical not stated Self-custody stablecoins on Gnosis Chain Officially no transaction or conversion fees; unofficial partner fee of 30.23 EURe and 2% ATM after limits
BloFin Wallet Card 6.9 / 10 About 35 countries including US, Australia, Japan, UAE, Brazil, Mexico, Malaysia, New Zealand Visa Platinum, form factor not stated USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base 1% spend fee at VIP 0, scaling to 0% at VIP 5; activation, annual, issuance and dormancy all $0
Decaf 6.2 / 10 Most countries except a long restricted list (Belarus, China, DPRK, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria) and 12 restricted US states Virtual ($5 worldwide) or physical ($10 US, $90 rest of world) USDC, plus card, bank transfer or a Decaf payment link No FX markup (Visa rate); no stated crypto-conversion fee
SafePal 6.2 / 10 “Citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas”; the regions list was empty when fetched Virtual Mastercard debit; physical not stated Crypto from 40+ blockchains, converted to USDC by default, on Arbitrum 0% standard top-up; 1% Mastercard non-USD FX; “as low as 0.4%” on top crypto-top-up tier

A few notes on the comparison:

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend ELLIPAL Pay to ELLIPAL hardware-wallet users who already keep EURe, GBPe or USDCe in self-custody, who live in a listed European or Latin American country, and who are comfortable with a virtual card and the limits that go with it. For that reader, the no-fee card payment, the no-markup conversion and the no-gas spending flow are genuinely useful, and the fact that the funds stay in self-custody is the central reason to pick this card over a custodial prepaid alternative.

I would not recommend ELLIPAL Pay to anyone outside the listed country list, anyone who needs a physical card right now, anyone who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay, anyone who needs to fund the card from coins other than the three named stablecoins, and anyone who is not comfortable with the responsibility of self-custody. The card is also not a good fit for high-volume spend, because the 8,000 daily cap is the binding number and the 5,000 per-transaction cap rules out large one-off purchases.

The honest middle-ground verdict is that the card is a credible option for a specific reader and a poor option for everyone else. The cost story is the strongest part. The geography, the form factor and the open questions about the issuer are the weakest parts, and they are not close to being resolved. If you do not already keep stablecoins in self-custody, the alternatives are easier to start with. If you do, ELLIPAL Pay is a reasonable way to spend them at a Visa terminal without giving up the keys.

A last practical step before you sign up: confirm with ELLIPAL or Gnosis Pay, in writing, the two open questions that the cost section flags. The first is whether the card is genuinely free at issuance or whether the partner-programme fee applies. The second is what the ATM terms are, because the unofficial 2%-after-limits figure is large enough to change the picture if it turns out to apply. Both are quick to confirm and slow to discover the hard way.

Frequently asked questions

What is the ELLIPAL Pay card?

The ELLIPAL Pay card is a Visa card that spends stablecoins directly from your own self-custody wallet, settled on the Gnosis Chain through a Gnosis Pay smart contract at the moment of payment. Balances are held in EURe, GBPe or USDCe, the card is described as free, and the partner programme behind it is Gnosis Pay with KYC run by SumSub.

How does ELLIPAL Pay work?

You hold stablecoins in your self-custody wallet, and the card draws on them when you pay. The conversion to the merchant’s currency happens through the Gnosis Pay smart contract on Gnosis Chain, so the card payment itself is gasless and carries no ELLIPAL transaction or conversion fee. The keys remain with you throughout, which is the central design choice.

Is ELLIPAL Pay a bank?

No. ELLIPAL is a hardware-wallet company, and the Pay card is a Visa programme run with the Gnosis Pay partner stack. The card-issuing institution is not named on the ELLIPAL pages, so the underlying licence is an open question. Your funds are in your own self-custody wallet, not in an ELLIPAL or Gnosis Pay account, which is materially different from a bank or e-money institution holding your balance.

Who owns ELLIPAL Pay?

ELLIPAL Limited markets the card, and the partner that runs the programme is Gnosis Pay, with KYC handled by SumSub. The card-issuing institution, its country and the licences that authorise the card are not stated on the ELLIPAL pages. A third-party listing, DeFiLlama, names Monavate as the issuer of the Gnosis Pay card, which I treat as unofficial until confirmed.

Is the ELLIPAL Pay card available in my country?

It is available to legal residents of a defined set of European and Latin American countries, including Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia and Mexico, with more listed in the application flow. The list is a residence list, not a citizenship list, and countries outside it go on a waiting list rather than being refused outright.

How do I get the ELLIPAL Pay card?

You apply inside the ELLIPAL app under Assets, then Pay, then ELLIPAL Pay. The application takes your email, a government-issued ID, and a utility bill from the last three months as proof of address. You wait for Gnosis Pay to verify your identity, then you activate a virtual card with a phone number and a source-of-funds confirmation. The age minimum, KYC tiers and processing time are officially not stated.

Does the ELLIPAL Pay card require KYC?

Yes. The application requires a government ID and a proof-of-address document, and the verification is run by Gnosis Pay through SumSub. Without completing this step, the card is not issued. The card is a regulated payment product, and the standard EU customer-due-diligence rules apply, including ongoing monitoring.

How do I top up the ELLIPAL Pay card?

You do not, in the traditional sense. The card spends the stablecoins that already sit in your self-custody wallet, and the settlement happens on-chain at the moment of payment. If your wallet only holds a stablecoin that is not EURe, GBPe or USDCe, you swap into one of those three inside your wallet first, and that swap carries its own network and conversion costs.

Can I add the ELLIPAL Pay card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

The materials I read do not state that Apple Pay or Google Pay are supported, and they do not describe a physical card. If wallet tokenisation is critical to your everyday use, confirm directly with ELLIPAL or Gnosis Pay before relying on it. The card is issued as a virtual card at activation, and tokenisation is not mentioned in the product pages I read.

Is the ELLIPAL Pay card safe?

The card design has real safety properties: funds stay in your self-custody wallet, payments are gasless, and there is no platform balance that can be frozen by a third party. The trade-off is the responsibility of self-custody: if you lose your seed phrase, you lose the funds, and on-chain transfers are irreversible. The card-issuing institution and its licence are not named on the ELLIPAL pages, which is a gap you should be aware of when you sign up.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team