I read the CoinJar card terms so you can decide if it earns its place

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

If you want to spend crypto the ordinary way, at a shop, without waiting for a bank to open an account in your name, the CoinJar card is a real and working option — but only for a fairly narrow group of people. It is a prepaid Mastercard, not a bank card, it is priced in Australian dollars, and the card page itself says nothing about where you can live to get one. That last point matters more than any fee. Everything below is what I could confirm from the card’s own pages and terms, and what I could not.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
CoinJar works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score: 5.5 out of 10, and the plain reading of it

My overall mark for the CoinJar card is 5.5 out of 10. That is not a rounding of “bad” or “good” — it is a card that does one job cleanly and asks you to pay a visible price for it. The single highest mark in the table is everyday use; the single lowest is who can get it. If those two numbers were swapped, the card would be a different product.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up CoinJar starts with a transfer to the right network

Who this suits: Australian residents, aged 18 or over, who already hold a verified CoinJar account and who genuinely want to pay with crypto rather than with a bank balance. If you spend in Australian dollars, already keep crypto on the exchange, and value being able to freeze a card from your phone, the daily-use side of this card is strong — a free physical Mastercard, a free digital card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a flat 1% purchase fee that comes back as rewards points.

Who this does not suit: anyone outside Australia, anyone who cannot open or verify a CoinJar account, anyone for whom a 1% fee on every shop purchase is the deal-breaker it will be at a coffee shop, and anyone who needs a credit line rather than a prepaid balance. There is no credit here. The card spends what you have loaded.

Criterion Mark Why, in short
Who can get it 3 / 10 Terms say 18+, Australian resident, verified CoinJar account; the card page names no countries at all
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance and replacement free; 1% on purchases, “2.99%+” abroad, 1% at ATMs, 27.50 AUD dispute fee
Top-up options 5 / 10 You pick a crypto as your “Spend” account and it auto-converts at CoinJar’s rates; the coin and network list is not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Issuer EML Payment Solutions Limited (AFSL 404131), CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as authorised representative; exchange Trustpilot 3.3/5 across 2,549 reviews, one card complaint
Everyday use 9 / 10 Free physical and digital Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, 1% ATM fee
Total 5.5 / 10 An Australian-focused prepaid card with excellent daily mechanics and a thin fee model

A note on that reliability row, because it is easy to misread. The 3.3/5 rating on Trustpilot is for the exchange, not the card — 2,549 reviews, 17% of them one star. CoinJar answers 100% of negative reviews. Only one of those reviews is about the card itself, which is worth more attention further down.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: probably not, unless you are in Australia. The card’s own eligibility statement comes from the Australian product disclosure statement and has three conditions: you must be 18 or older, you must be an Australian resident, and you must have a verified CoinJar account. Nothing in that list is negotiable. There is no tier structure that loosens it, because there is only one tier.

You will notice I just told you what the card page does *not* say. Here it is once, plainly: the CoinJar card page states no eligibility rules and names no countries. So if you are reading this outside Australia, you cannot learn from that page whether you qualify — you can only learn from the Australian terms that the design assumes Australia. That is not me being cautious. That is the page.

Why the residence requirement bites so hard for someone in the position I imagine you are in: a prepaid card is issued into a jurisdiction, and the issuer holds that jurisdiction’s licence. CoinJar’s card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited under AFSL 404131, with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as the authorised representative. When you pay somewhere, the shop can look up the first six or eight digits of your card number and see which institution and which country issued it. An Australian card in a shop in another country simply looks foreign, and some shops treat foreign-issued prepaid cards more carefully or decline them. Being Australian-resident is what puts you on the right side of that.

How to get it

The path is short, and short is the good news: you need a verified CoinJar account, and once you have one, the card is free. You get a digital card you can start using straight away and a physical card at no charge. The physical card is a prepaid Mastercard — reloadable, denominated in Australian dollars, issued by EML.

What is not stated on the card page is worth listing here too, because these are the questions people actually ask at this stage:

So I cannot tell you a realistic timeline, and I am not going to invent one. What I can tell you is that the physical card and its replacement are both free — the fee table lists a Card Issue Fee of Free and a Replacement Card Fee of Free — so waiting is not costing you anything in money.

If you want the card in your phone, the setup is the usual one: add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, then manage it from the CoinJar app on iOS or Android, where you can hold and unblock the card, change the PIN and view your history.

What it really costs: Fees, limits, and what a Tuesday morning costs

Here is the honest summary: the card is free to hold, and every transaction has a price attached to it. There is no monthly account-keeping fee line charged in the fee table. What you pay depends entirely on what you do with the card.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a CoinJar payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Card issue fee Free
Replacement card fee Free
Account keeping fee None charged (fee table)
In-store and online purchases 1% (returned as Rewards points)
Foreign transactions “2.99%+” on top of the Mastercard rate
ATM withdrawal fee 1% of the withdrawal (physical card), plus the ATM operator’s own fee
Dispute fee 27.50 AUD per transaction
Maximum point-of-sale transaction 5,000 AUD
Daily point-of-sale limit 5,000 AUD, including ATM withdrawals
ATM withdrawal Minimum 20 AUD, maximum 1,000 AUD, 1,000 AUD per day
Contactless Under a 100 AUD limit is mentioned

Now let me walk you through three ordinary payments, because abstract fees are easy to nod along to and easy to get wrong.

Buying a 30 AUD lunch. The purchase fee is 1%, so 0.30 AUD, and the card page says that 1% is returned to you as Rewards points — one point per dollar spent, redeemable against future trades or in the Rewards Store. If your lunch is genuinely paid from crypto, CoinJar separately charges its normal trading fee when it sells the crypto for that purchase. That second fee is the one people forget, and it is not a card fee at all; it is the exchange doing its ordinary job. So a 30 AUD lunch with crypto behind it costs you the 1% card fee plus whatever the trading fee is on the amount converted.

Withdrawing 100 AUD from an ATM. 1% of the withdrawal is 1.00 AUD, and on top of that comes the ATM operator’s fee — the one the ATM owner charges, which varies by location and is not set by CoinJar. The free allowance, if there is one, is not stated. Note also that cash withdrawal is on the physical card; the digital card does not do ATMs.

Spending 100 USD somewhere outside Australia. This is where the fee table stops being tidy. The card charges “2.99%+” as a foreign exchange fee, and that is *on top of* whatever rate Mastercard applies on the day. The plus sign is doing real work in that number, and I would not try to guess what it means. On a 100 USD purchase the card fee alone is 2.99 AUD or more, before the network rate is considered. If you travel often or buy in foreign currency routinely, this is the row that will cost you more than everything else combined.

One more fee that only matters if something goes wrong: 27.50 AUD per transaction for a dispute, charged on an unsuccessful dispute. That is a real amount to pay for the privilege of losing an argument with a shop.

How to top it up

There is no separate “top up the card” button, because the card has no balance of its own. It spends the Spendable Balance of your CoinJar Everyday Account, and that balance is funded by one crypto that you choose as your “Spend” account. When you tap the card, CoinJar converts at its rates and the purchase goes through. Card top-up fees, minimums and network fees are not stated.

So the mechanism in one sentence: you nominate a coin, money moves from that coin into spendable Australian dollars on demand, and the card spends those dollars.

What you do not get told, and should know before you rely on it: the list of coins and networks that can be set as the Spend account is not disclosed. CoinJar’s launch material from 2021 mentioned 30 digital currencies and a flat 1% conversion, but that is launch material, not current card documentation, and I would not treat it as the list you can rely on today.

Two details on getting value back out, because they are the ones people get wrong at closing time. First, refunds from shops go back into your CoinJar Everyday Account in Australian dollars — not into the original cryptocurrency. If you paid for something in BTC and the shop refunds you, you receive dollars, not BTC, and you are exposed to the rate at that moment. Second, if you cancel the card or it is revoked, the remaining value is paid to CoinJar, which pays it into your Everyday Account in Australian dollars once no pending authorisations remain and you instruct CoinJar to do it. You can cancel the card yourself at any time. The issuer can cancel it with 14 days’ notice, or immediately if it suspects misuse or false information.

The delay built into that last sentence is the part to note. “Once no pending authorisations remain” means a hotel hold or an online order that has not settled can sit between you and your money for days.

Paying with it every day

This is the card’s strongest suit, and my 9 out of 10 for everyday use is not generosity — it is the reason the total is not lower.

Concretely, in normal use: a free physical card and a free digital card, both Mastercard. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, so in practice you may never take the plastic out. The card is managed in the CoinJar app on iOS and Android, where you can hold and unblock it instantly, change the PIN and see your transaction history. The card is tokenised when you add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, which means the device stores its own number rather than your card number.

Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number kept in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. Your real number is not what travels. The card issuer can also restrict the tokenised number — blocking it on the phone, on websites or on the magnetic stripe, for example. That is a control you have and probably will not use.

Rewards are simple: one CoinJar Rewards point per dollar spent, offsetting future trades or redeemable in the Rewards Store. Note that the card page ties this to the 1% purchase fee being returned as points, which is the same thing stated twice.

Where it can fall short. Card payments involve several parties: the card network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front end that markets it. Here the issuer is EML Payment Solutions Limited, not CoinJar. If a merchant looks up your card’s first digits and finds an Australian prepaid issuer, that is what they see — not “crypto card”. Some merchants treat prepaid and foreign-issued cards more cautiously. Address verification, the check that compares the street number and postcode a buyer types against issuer records, is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines abroad. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.

Which merchant categories are blocked is not stated. If you want to know whether gambling or any other category is off-limits on this card, you have to ask CoinJar, not me.

What can go wrong

A frozen or paused account. The complaint themes on Trustpilot for the exchange — again, not the card — cluster around transfers held “under review” or on Travel Rule holds between June and October 2026, including a Bitcoin transfer paused for more than four days in August 2026; identity re-checks and account freezes between May and September 2026; and slow support over the same months. That is a picture of a platform under compliance pressure, not of a card failing. But the card draws on that same account, so an account problem is a card problem. This is why KYC is not a formality here: rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and monitor transactions, and where due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is expected to hold off — or close the relationship.

Card-specific reliability. One card complaint appears in that same set: a virtual Mastercard described as “constantly having technical issues”, dated 18 October 2026. One report is one report, not a pattern, and it is from a third-party site rather than the card’s own channel. The card company’s official complaints route is [email protected]. I found no card-specific Reddit or Trustpilot complaint thread and no official complaint notice.

Money you cannot get back quickly. Blockchain transfers are essentially irreversible. If you send funds on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be gone or may need manual recovery with no guarantee. Fees on the network are charged by the blockchain, not by CoinJar, and on Ethereum a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send at all. Circle also stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — if you are used to that route, it is not available.

Custody, not self-custody. Your funds sit in a CoinJar account and EML issues the card. That is the custodial model, and it is not a criticism of the card specifically — it is the trade you are making. The trade-off is real: with a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust the provider completely. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. And because blockchain transfers have no built-in recovery, a stolen key cannot be frozen by anyone. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and in exchange you carry sole responsibility for key loss and phishing. CoinJar’s documentation does not state any insurance or safeguarding arrangement for funds on the account, and prepaid balances are not the same thing as bank deposits — you should not assume any deposit guarantee covers them.

Programme risk. Card programmes close. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all of its programmes. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down. Closures typically give notice, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw balances. I found no 2026 programme change for CoinJar: the card launched in Australia in August 2021, a UK card followed in February 2022 on third-party press reporting, and CoinJar’s own blog as of February 2026 still describes the card.

Getting a wrong payment back. Chargebacks follow Mastercard scheme rules. You should notify EML as soon as possible; the time limit is generally 90 days from the transaction. You must supply extra information within 10 days or the chargeback may be lost or reversed. And remember the 27.50 AUD fee if the dispute does not succeed. Merchant refunds, separately, go to the Everyday Account in Australian dollars.

Taxes. This is not advice, and I am not going to pretend otherwise — check with a professional in your own country. The general rule you should know: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. If that logic applies where you live, each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate taxable disposal.

Support. CoinJar lists [email protected] and its help centre at support.coinjar.com. The issuer has its own address, [email protected]. Complaints are aimed at a resolution within 5 days, otherwise within 30 days, after which escalation to AFCA is available. Slow support is one of the recurring themes in the reviews, so treat 30 days as the realistic ceiling rather than the best case.

What to take instead

The honest framing: none of these is a like-for-like substitute. CoinJar’s defining constraint is that it is Australian. If you are Australian and want this exact product, alternatives do not help you. If you are elsewhere, one of these may be the only route — so here is what each one costs you.

Alternative Score Card and cost Fees and funding
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Virtual then physical card; virtual issuance free “until further notice”; physical 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD Argentina, 29.99 USDT Georgia and Kazakhstan, 5 USDT Asia Pacific, free in Brazil and Mexico; no annual fee Conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate; 2% FX fee on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico; cashback up to 10% by tier
MSX 6.4 / 10 Not stated on any official page I could read — not eligibility, not the card, not fees, not funding, not rewards Nothing official to compare; treat the score as provisional
MEXC 5.6 / 10 Virtual card only, no physical card yet; 20 USD issuance fee, 0% service fee, monthly fee not stated Fees not stated on the page; funded by transferring USDT to the Fiat account; cashback 4% to 10% by M-Score tier, paid by the 15th of the following month

Where Bybit is genuinely more flexible is eligibility. Its help centre lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. The application asks your country of residence, and if it is unsupported Bybit will “register your interest”. Two things to read carefully: the product is explicitly “not meant for European Economic Area customers”, with all EEA participation strictly prohibited; and Bybit’s restricted list for its fiat services — deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card itself — includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, with Russian users able to transact only in RUB through fiat. I found no card-specific statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens and no rule distinguishing citizenship from residence, so do not read my silence as permission.

Where Bybit is more expensive: conversion and FX are charged on top of exchange rates, and Argentina adds VAT of 21% on foreign digital services, 30% tax on foreign transactions and provincial gross-income tax of 1% to 13.2%. MEXC is simpler but thinner — virtual only, and its 1% purchase-fee-style reward structure is tiered by a score you have to build.

One structural note that matters for anyone comparing: a card itself is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side. In the EU, a crypto card often depends on two licences — one for custody and exchange under MiCA, and one for e-money and payment services. That is why “which exchanges offer a card” is a weaker question than “who actually issued this card”.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the CoinJar card to an Australian resident, over 18, who already uses CoinJar, and who wants to spend from a crypto balance in Australian dollars without a bank account — and who is comfortable paying 1% on ordinary purchases because that 1% comes back as points and because the alternative in their situation is worse.

I would not recommend it to anyone hoping to use it as a travel card, given the “2.99%+” foreign exchange fee stacked on the Mastercard rate. I would not recommend it to anyone outside Australia, because the terms say Australian resident and the card page says nothing else. I would not recommend it to anyone whose priority is holding a credit balance or withdrawing cash cheaply, because this is a prepaid card at 1% per ATM withdrawal plus the operator’s fee. And I would not recommend it to anyone uneasy about the custody arrangement and about the compliance-driven account holds that appear repeatedly in recent reviews of the exchange.

Before you apply, the three things worth doing: confirm with CoinJar directly that your situation is eligible, since the public card page is silent on this; ask which coins and networks can be set as your Spend account, since that list is not published; and check the current fees against what you actually spend, especially if foreign currency is involved.

Frequently asked questions

What is the CoinJar card?

The CoinJar card is a prepaid, reloadable Mastercard that spends the Australian-dollar balance of your CoinJar Everyday Account. You nominate one cryptocurrency as your “Spend” account, and CoinJar converts it to spendable dollars at its rates when you pay. It comes as a free digital card and a free physical card, works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited rather than by CoinJar itself. It is a payment card, not a bank account.

How does the CoinJar card work?

When you tap the card in a shop or pay online, CoinJar converts the AUD value of your Spendable Balance at its own rates and the purchase goes through against your Everyday Account. Alongside the card’s own 1% purchase fee, CoinJar charges its normal trading fee whenever it sells crypto to fund the purchase. Refunds from shops come back as Australian dollars into the Everyday Account, not as the original cryptocurrency, so a refund exposes you to the exchange rate at that moment.

Who can get the CoinJar card?

The Australian product disclosure statement sets three conditions: you must be 18 or older, an Australian resident, and hold a verified CoinJar account. The card’s own public page, however, states no eligibility rules and names no countries at all. That silence is the reason I score this 3 out of 10 — if you are reading from outside Australia, you cannot learn from the card page whether you qualify, only from Australian terms that assume Australia.

Is CoinJar a bank, and who owns it?

CoinJar is a cryptocurrency exchange, not a bank. The card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, which holds AFSL 404131, with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd named as the authorised representative. In that structure CoinJar is the brand and programme manager, and EML is the licensed issuer that actually holds the card programme and answers to the regulator.

Is the CoinJar card safe?

It is custodial: your funds sit in a CoinJar account, not in a wallet you control, and the card’s documents state no insurance or safeguarding arrangement. That trade buys you convenience and a freeze button in the app, and it costs you counterparty risk — the provider holds the credentials, blockchain transfers are irreversible, and custodial platforms have a documented history of failures. Treat the balance as spendable money, not as savings.

Does the CoinJar card require KYC, and can I use it in my country?

Eligibility requires a verified CoinJar account, though which documents are needed, how long verification takes, and why an application might be refused are not stated. Availability outside Australia is not published on the card page. Separately, shops can look up the first six or eight digits of any card and see the issuing institution and country, so an Australian-issued card abroad reads as foreign and can be declined or checked more closely.

What are the CoinJar card’s fees?

Issuance and replacement are both free, and no account keeping fee is charged in the fee table. Purchases cost 1%, returned to you as one Rewards point per dollar spent. Foreign transactions carry a “2.99%+” foreign exchange fee on top of the Mastercard rate. ATM withdrawals cost 1% of the amount plus the ATM operator’s own fee, physical card only. An unsuccessful dispute costs 27.50 AUD per transaction. No free allowance for ATM use is stated.

What are the CoinJar card’s limits?

The maximum point-of-sale transaction is 5,000 AUD. The daily point-of-sale limit is 5,000 AUD, and that figure includes ATM withdrawals. For cash, the minimum withdrawal is 20 AUD and the maximum is 1,000 AUD, with 1,000 AUD per day in total. A limit of under 100 AUD is mentioned for contactless payments. Transaction limits are not stated on the card page itself, so these figures come from the terms.

How do I top up the CoinJar card, and can I add it to Apple Wallet?

There is no separate card balance to top up: the card spends the Spendable Balance of your CoinJar Everyday Account, funded by the cryptocurrency you have chosen as your Spend account and converted at CoinJar’s rates. Card top-up fees, minimums and network fees are not stated, and neither is the list of coins and networks available for that choice. Adding it to Apple Pay or Google Pay tokenises the card, so the phone stores its own device-specific number rather than your card number.

Is the CoinJar card worth it?

Worth it if you are an Australian resident who spends mostly in Australian dollars, already uses CoinJar, and values a free card with Apple Pay, Google Pay and an instant freeze in the app. Probably not worth it if you travel, because “2.99%+” stacks on the Mastercard rate; if you use ATMs, at 1% plus the operator’s fee; or if 1% on every shop purchase is the difference between using a card and not using one. My overall mark is 5.5 out of 10, with everyday use at 9 and eligibility at 3.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team