Nexo card review: cheap to hold, awkward to qualify for, and the plastic is not free in practice

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Nexo card is one of the more polished crypto payment cards on the market: a virtual card you can start using minutes after your account opens, Apple Pay and Google Pay, four loyalty tiers, and no monthly or annual fee at all. That is the good news. The awkward news is that the card is officially open only to residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”, the card page names no country list at all, the physical card is not really free because it requires a Gold tier and more than $5,000 in digital assets, and cashback only applies if you also hold more than $5,000 and use the card in Credit Mode rather than as a debit card. Nexo also spent 2026 moving its custody and trading onto licensed partners after the MiCA transition period ended, which leaves the question of who exactly you are contracting with harder to answer than the marketing page would like.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Nexo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I score it 6.3 out of 10 — good enough to use, not good enough to ignore the caveats.

This review is for you if ordinary banking has been awkward: no local card, a foreign account that closed, a country where the big names do not issue, or simply a preference for holding crypto and spending from it. It is written for people anywhere, so country and citizenship limits are reported the way the card states them rather than as a list you can rely on.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.3 out of 10, and the split score tells you why

Nexo is strongest where it counts least — holding a card costs nothing — and weakest where a card actually has to work: eligibility, funding rails, and the fact that the more useful the card becomes, the more money and more crypto you are told to keep on the platform. If you are a European with a large crypto balance who wants cashback and already accepts that your funds sit with a custodian, this is one of the more reasonable cards in the category. If you need a bank card tomorrow, in a country that is not on any published list, with no $5,000 sitting idle, expect friction.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nexo starts with a transfer to the right network

The score is not a verdict on the software or the fees. It is a verdict on whether the card will work for you on a Tuesday, in your country, with your money.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Officially “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”, with no country list on the page; a third-party site lists 30 countries and says Bulgaria, Estonia and the US are restricted
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly or annual fee and free issuance; FX 0.2% on weekdays inside the EEA/UK, 2% outside it, plus an unofficial 0.75% crypto swap on top; ATM 2% above the allowance; plastic needs Gold tier and $5,000
Top-up options 7 / 10 Spends straight from the Nexo account, over 100 assets, stablecoins and FiatX in Debit Mode; networks not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer named as DiPocket UAB, a Bank of Lithuania licence; Trustpilot 4.4 but recurring complaints about withdrawal delays and closed accounts, plus the Sofia raid and the MiCA partner transition; no cardholder insurance confirmed
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals — but the physical card is gated behind Gold and $5,000
Total 6.3 / 10 Strong on the card itself, unremarkable on everything around it

Who will they give you the card

The short answer: only residents and citizens of selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom — and the card page does not tell you which ones.

That is the whole official answer. The wording on the page is “citizens AND residents”, which matters: nationality is screened separately from where you live, and that is why people with one passport and address can be accepted while others with the same address are not. The page also mentions “not available in certain jurisdictions” without naming a single one.

Identity Verification requires a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK, or another eligible European country. Proof of address is not stated, and neither is the minimum age. Only one verification level is described; the card page does not publish tiers, processing times or rejection reasons, so if you are trying to predict whether you will pass, there is nothing published to predict with.

An unofficial country list from a third-party site, dated August 2026, names 30 countries where the card is said to work: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. The same source describes Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States as restricted. That list is not confirmed by Nexo on the card page, and the page itself lists no countries at all, so treat it as a hint and not as permission.

One more thing belongs in this section rather than hidden. News coverage reported a 2025-era police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations relating to Russian clients; Nexo made no official statement about Russians being found. It is a news report, not a finding, and it matters to you mainly because it is one of several things that make the Bulgaria question more than a footnote.

If your country is not in the “selected European countries” phrase, the honest answer is that you cannot tell from the public page whether you qualify, and the only way to find out is to attempt verification. I would not plan a payment around a card whose eligibility you have not tested.

How to get it

Both a virtual and a physical card exist. The virtual one activates in the app; the physical one you order from the app under Card tab > Order Nexo Card, at no additional cost, with standard delivery up to four weeks and possible delivery to your local Post Office. It must be activated in the app before use.

The card page carries a Mastercard trademark notice, but it does not state the network explicitly, and third-party sources call it Mastercard. The issuing institution is named: DiPocket UAB. The currency you choose for the virtual card at activation cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen — if you pick wrongly, Nexo says to contact them. The card page itself does not name a single currency, though ATM allowances are quoted in both EUR and GBP. A replacement-card cost is not stated, and neither is a country list for delivery.

There is also a live contradiction in public statements. A mid-October 2026 report noted conflicting statements about whether physical cards can be ordered at all following the MiCA transition. If the physical card is central to your plan, treat availability as something to confirm rather than assume.

So the practical sequence is: create the account, complete Identity Verification with an eligible European ID, activate the virtual card in the app, use it, and only then think about plastic. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate; the physical one needs a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least the Gold tier.

What it really costs: Fees, allowances and the fine print

There is no monthly fee, no annual fee and no inactivity fee. Issuance is free. That is the strongest thing on this page, and it is why the cost score is 7 rather than 3 — the fees that do exist are per-payment, not per-month.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nexo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What it is Value
Issuance Virtual and physical card Free; physical shipping free, but requires Gold tier and balance above $5,000
Monthly / annual / inactivity Recurring charge None
FX fee, EEA/UK/CH Weekdays 0.2%
FX fee, EEA/UK/CH Weekends 0.7%
FX fee, rest of world Weekdays 2%
FX fee, rest of world Weekends 2.5%
Crypto conversion fee Spending crypto directly in Debit Mode Not stated; unofficial sources describe a 0.75% swap that can stack with FX
ATM Free monthly allowance Base EUR 200 / GBP 180; Silver EUR 400 / GBP 360; Gold EUR 1,000 / GBP 900; Platinum EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800
ATM above allowance Fee 2%, minimum 1.99 EUR/GBP per withdrawal
Virtual card activation Minimum balance $50
Physical card Eligibility Gold tier and $5,000 in digital assets
Daily / monthly spend limits Caps Not stated; the page only says clients with $100,000 in assets get higher limits

Now three everyday payments, with the fees that actually attach.

A coffee in a euro country, paid from a stablecoin balance on a weekday, is the cheapest case: 0.2% FX, no monthly fee, no ATM fee. On a weekend the same coffee costs 0.7% — small in absolute terms, but it is the difference between a rate you can predict and one you cannot.

A subscription priced in dollars while your card currency is euro is the case people underestimate. The foreign-transaction fee is the same 0.2%/0.7% inside the EEA/UK/CH and 2%/2.5% outside it, and if you are spending crypto in Debit Mode an unofficial 0.75% swap may apply on top of it. The card page does not state the crypto conversion fee itself, so the number you actually pay per payment is not fully published.

A cash withdrawal is where the tiers bite. At Base you get EUR 200 or GBP 180 free per month, and 2% above that with a 1.99 EUR/GBP minimum. At Platinum the free allowance is EUR 2,000 or GBP 1,800. Daily and monthly spend limits are not stated at all; a third-party site, marking its figures as previously published, lists EUR 10,000 per purchase, EUR 10,000 per day and EUR 60,000 per month, with ATM limits of EUR 600 per transaction, EUR 2,000 per day and EUR 10,000 per month. Nexo may set account- or region-specific limits, and a client with $100,000 in assets is said to get higher spending limits.

Loyalty has four tiers — Base, Silver, Gold, Platinum — set by the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio. Each tier raises the free ATM allowance and the cashback rate. Loyalty Program members earn “up to 13%” on idle funds, with the rate per tier not stated. A metal card exists but is not described on the page.

How to top it up

The simplest answer is also the accurate one: there is nothing to top up in the usual sense. The Nexo card spends directly from your Nexo account balance, so whatever is in the account is what pays.

More than 100 digital assets are supported. In Debit Mode the card uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx — those are the Nexo-issued fiat-referenced tokens, not dollars in a bank account. Cashback, when you are eligible for it, is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin. Networks are not applicable or not stated for this card, which means the card is not the layer where network choice matters.

What is genuinely not stated: deposit fees, the minimum top-up amount, and which fiat top-up options exist and what they cost. If your plan involves moving money in from a bank, that is the section to interrogate, and the public card page does not answer it. Card spending, withdrawals and anything else are simply not stated.

The practical consequence is that “top up” for most Nexo card users means holding a balance on the platform and converting part of it, which is a different risk profile from funding a card once and drawing it down.

Paying with it every day

Day to day this is a well-built card. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and either one is the sensible default because the tokenised number is device-specific and each payment carries a fresh security code. The virtual card activates in the app and can be added to a mobile wallet; the physical card works the same way once activated. ATM withdrawals are available within the allowances above.

The iOS app covers iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Apple Vision, and it carries an App Store rating of 4.2 out of 5 across “2K” ratings as read on 20 October 2026. The interface is available in 18 languages including Russian, Ukrainian, Kazakh and Uzbek. The Google Play listing was not read.

Instant card freeze, security spending controls and biometric locks are all present, and Nexo describes its custody as “industrial-grade” — custodial, meaning they hold the credentials and you trust them.

Two things are missing from this section that you might notice. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you cannot tell from the page whether gambling or similar categories are refused; a third-party card reference notes that many issuers block the gambling category by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer. And dispute handling is not stated: no information on how a chargeback would work, or whether you would have one.

One more detail worth planning around: the currency is chosen at virtual card activation and cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen. Getting it wrong means contacting Nexo.

What can go wrong

The most significant risks here are not about card technology. They are about the company behind it and about custody.

Custody first, because it is the largest sum at stake. Nexo holds the credentials for your assets, so control of the crypto belongs to whoever holds the key — and with a custodial wallet that is Nexo, not you. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a lost key has no recovery path. Custodial platforms have a real record of failures: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network all collapsed or were drained, and the third-party objection that appears repeatedly in Nexo reviews is precisely that a large “Earn Provider” holds user assets outside the exchange. Third-party sources also state there is no cardholder insurance included, and I found no source for 2FA details on the card page.

Then the corporate picture. Nexo said in June 2026 on social media that it had set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight with products unchanged — a company post, not a regulator record. The MiCA transitional period ended on 1 July 2026, and independent checks of the ESMA interim register in August and September 2026 found no entity named Nexo among authorised CASPs. EEA custody and trading run through partners, Tangany for custody and DLT Finance for trading. A Bulgarian FSC application reportedly filed in February 2026 was still pending per a third-party report. The card issuer, DiPocket UAB, is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, and that is a separate question from the MiCA one — the card is issued by a licensed bank even if the crypto side runs through partners.

Complaints are the third area. Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 4.4 out of 5 across 18,805 reviews as read on 20 October 2026. The recurring themes in recent reviews: high fees on small transactions, the $5,000 minimum balance and the grace period when you fall below it, delayed withdrawals, accounts locked or closed, deposits slow to appear, and regional restrictions on bank funding and card access. Support draws both praise and criticism — some reviewers call it fast, others describe it as unhelpful on technical problems.

Finally, the card-specific risk. If the card is declined — for example by a merchant that dislikes a prepaid or foreign-issued card — a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. And programme closures in this category are not hypothetical: one 2026 closure, reported by a secondary source and unconfirmed, ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026.

What to take instead

Alternative Score Where it beats Nexo Where it does not
Pay3 6.3 / 10 Open to users outside “Restricted Locations” — sanctions, export controls or crypto/fintech prohibitions — a wider stated reach Issuance “starts at $5”, spend from $0.15 per transaction, currency conversion from 1.15% and foreign-exchange, cross-border and foreign-transaction fees up to 3%
Exa 6.2 / 10 Issued in 45 countries including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, plus 31 US states; 18 ineligible countries are actually named Marketed as free with no amounts published; card is collateral-based against a credit line, which is a different product from spending a balance
Cardex 5.6 / 10 “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; runs on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay with virtual and physical options No fee percentage is published anywhere; App Store listing is Naira-focused; lowest score of the four

Two patterns stand out in that comparison. Nexo is the only one of the four whose eligibility is described in terms of “selected European countries” without naming them — Pay3 excludes “Restricted Locations” but does not publish its list either, while Exa names both its 45 issuing countries and its 18 excluded ones, including the explicit rule that Russian residents cannot be issued a card and that the card is not usable for spending in Russia. And Nexo is the only one whose headline cost is genuinely zero, against Pay3’s per-transaction pricing and Cardex’s silence.

If you are outside Europe, or your country is one where Nexo’s status is unclear, Exa is the alternative that at least tells you where it works. If you want to spend a balance rather than borrow against collateral, Nexo and Pay3 are the same shape of product and Pay3’s fees are the number to compare.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Nexo card to a European resident with a stablecoin balance who already uses Apple Pay, is comfortable with custodial storage, and wants to spend crypto without thinking about it at the till. The zero monthly fee means there is no cost to keeping it open, and the 0.2% weekday FX inside the EEA is competitive.

I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You need a card this week and cannot confirm your country is covered. You want cashback — it only applies above $5,000 in digital assets and only in Credit Mode, and it converts into NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, which is a price exposure, not a discount. You want physical plastic cheaply — it needs Gold tier and $5,000. You are outside the EEA/UK and want to avoid the 2% foreign-exchange fee. You hold funds you cannot afford to have locked while a support ticket is open. Or you need deposit insurance, which third-party sources say is not included.

If you read the caveats and still want it, the virtual card is the low-risk way in: it activates at $50, costs nothing to hold, and tells you quickly whether the eligibility question was ever going to go your way.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nexo card?

It is a crypto payment card, virtual and physical, that spends directly from your Nexo account balance. You hold crypto, stablecoins or Nexo’s own FiatX tokens such as EURx and USDx, and the card converts and pays at the till as an ordinary card transaction. The issuer named on the card page is DiPocket UAB, a Bank of Lithuania-authorised institution, and a Mastercard trademark appears on the page though the network is not stated explicitly.

How does the Nexo card work day to day?

You activate the virtual card in the app once you have at least $50 in the account, add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and pay as you would with any card. Purchases draw on your Nexo balance directly. Spending outside your card currency triggers a foreign-exchange fee of 0.2% on weekdays or 0.7% at weekends inside the EEA/UK/CH, and 2% or 2.5% elsewhere. Cash withdrawals have a free monthly allowance that depends on your loyalty tier.

Does Nexo card require KYC?

Yes. The card page describes a single Identity Verification step requiring a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. Proof of address and minimum age are not stated, and neither are tiers, processing times or rejection reasons. Because the wording covers citizens and residents, nationality is screened as well as place of residence, which is why two people at one address can get different answers.

Is Nexo card free?

The card itself is: no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, and free issuance and shipping for the physical version. The costs appear when you spend. Foreign-exchange fees of 0.2% or 0.7% apply inside the EEA/UK/CH, 2% or 2.5% outside, ATM withdrawals cost 2% above your tier’s free allowance with a 1.99 EUR/GBP minimum, and an unofficial 0.75% swap may apply when crypto is converted in Debit Mode.

Which countries is the Nexo card available in?

Officially, residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” — the card page lists no countries at all. A third-party site, dated August 2026, names 30 countries where it works and says Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States are restricted. That list is unofficial and not confirmed by Nexo, so check with the company before you plan around it.

How do I get the Nexo physical card?

Order it in the app under Card tab > Order Nexo Card, at no additional cost, with standard delivery up to four weeks and possible delivery to your local Post Office. You must activate it in the app. It requires at least the Gold loyalty tier and a balance above $5,000 in digital assets, and reports in October 2026 noted conflicting public statements about whether plastic can be ordered at all after the MiCA transition.

How do I top up the Nexo card?

You do not top it up in the way you would a prepaid card — it spends straight from your Nexo account, so whatever balance you hold is what pays. Over 100 digital assets are supported, and Debit Mode uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets. Deposit fees, minimum top-up amounts and fiat top-up options are not stated on the card page, which is the part to ask about before funding from a bank.

Does the Nexo card give cashback?

Only in Credit Mode, only with more than $5,000 in digital assets, and it is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin — so it is not a pure discount. Rates by tier: Platinum 2% in NEXO or 0.5% in BTC, Gold 1%/0.3%, Silver 0.7%/0.2%, Base 0.5%/0.1%. The payout currency is changeable, and rates may vary by region and change over time.

Is Nexo a bank, and who holds my money?

The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, which is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania; Nexo itself is the crypto platform, not that bank, and its own operating entity and licences are not stated on the card page. Custody of EEA assets runs through partner Tangany and trading through DLT Finance following the MiCA transition period that ended on 1 July 2026. Funds sit with a custodian, and third-party sources state that no cardholder insurance is included.

Is the Nexo card safe to use?

The card mechanics are ordinary: instant freeze, spending controls, biometric locks, and tokenised Apple Pay and Google Pay payments. The larger exposure is custodial — Nexo holds the credentials, so you depend on the platform, and third-party sources report no cardholder insurance. Trustpilot shows 4.4 out of 5 across 18,805 reviews as read on 20 October 2026, with recurring complaints about delayed withdrawals and locked or closed accounts.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team