Kolan card review
Kolan is a virtual USD card you load with crypto through a linked wallet. The card sits on top of an account run by Hurupay Inc., a US-registered fintech, and the company was part of Circle’s inaugural developer grant cohort. The pitch is simple in shape, even if the details are thin: you deposit crypto, it is held as USDC as collateral, the balance is converted to USD on the card, and you spend that USD wherever a Visa- or Mastercard-style online checkout accepts you.

This is a card for a specific kind of person. If you live somewhere that makes it hard to get a normal bank-issued Visa or Mastercard, or you simply want a virtual card whose balance is denominated in US dollars and that you can top up without going through a bank, Kolan’s design is aimed at you. If you need a physical card you can tap at a terminal, a transparent fee schedule, a clear issuer, or strong public evidence that the card actually works on the merchants you care about, the picture is much less reassuring. The card’s own public material is sparse on the everyday details that most reviewers want to know, and third-party listings fill in some of the blanks with unofficial statements that have not been confirmed by the company.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Kolan earns 5.7 out of 10. The reach is the strongest part: starting data says 100+ countries, with a third-party profile pointing to non-US users in over 50 countries, and Hurupay accounts in more than 100. That gives the card one of the wider onramps in the small virtual-card segment. Cost comes in at a middling mark, and the main reason is that the public fee schedule is essentially empty. Reliability gets a 6 because the company is a real registered US fintech, but the card issuer is not named, there are no Trustpilot reviews to lean on, and engineers familiar with the segment have publicly said that prepaid crypto-funded virtual cards “often have issues” at checkout and renewal. Top-up options land at 5, because the flow is workable but the networks and chains are not spelled out. The weakest score is everyday use, at 3 out of 10, which pulls the total down: it is a virtual card only, denominated in USD, and the Apple Pay / Google Pay situation is not stated in the official material.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | 100+ countries starting data, non-US in 50+ per third-party listings |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Official fees are not disclosed; a directory says “no hidden FX fees” |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto is held as USDC, converted to USD on the card, networks not stated |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | US-registered MSB, no reviews, employees in the space flag common issues |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual USD only, freeze available, mobile wallet support not stated |
| Total | 5.7 / 10 |
I would recommend Kolan mainly to people who need a virtual USD card funded from a crypto balance to pay for online services, who already accept that this is an early-stage product, and who treat it more like a small prepaid balance than a primary account. I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a physical card, a published price list, or a card they can take to a supermarket tomorrow.
Who they will give the card to
The card’s own pages do not state an eligibility list. The starting data says it is offered in 100+ countries, and a third-party listing, which has not been confirmed by Kolan, gives a narrower picture: non-US individuals in over 50 countries for the Kolan profile, and Hurupay accounts in “more than 100 countries” overall. The mismatch matters, because account availability is not the same as card eligibility, and a directory that promises the wider number may be overstating the card side.
In practical terms, what you can take from this is that the card is aimed at users outside the United States, that the company is US-based, and that you should expect to be asked to confirm your country and citizenship during onboarding. None of the specific KYC requirements, age limits, or document lists are stated in the official material. That is a meaningful gap: a card marketed to people who cannot easily get a bank card has to be especially clear about who it will and will not serve, and the public pages do not do that work.
If you are a US resident, the third-party Kolan profile specifically excludes US individuals. Sanctions screening still applies, and the underlying policy that “no geo-blocking based on your passport” comes from a different card in this segment, not from Kolan, so do not assume it here.
How to get it
The signup path is not laid out in the official material. There is no public walkthrough of the application, no list of documents, no stated KYC level, and no stated card-issuing step. The way to read that is not “Kolan does not check identity” but rather “Kolan has not told the public what checking identity looks like for them”.
A third-party listing describes the card as a USD virtual card for online spending, with the network unknown. That is consistent with the “virtual only” form factor in the official material, and it matches the everyday-use score above. The card is virtual: there is no physical version, no delivery step, and no shipping address is needed beyond whatever the underlying account requires.
If you go through the process yourself, expect the usual crypto-card flow: create an account, complete whatever identity check the app asks for, connect a wallet or generate a deposit address, fund the account, and see the card details in-app. The exact sequence, the documents requested, the time it takes, and the rejection grounds are not stated on the public pages, and the third-party directories do not fill those gaps. The lack of a published process is one of the clearest reasons the everyday-use score is what it is.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section where the card is most exposed. The official material does not disclose issuance, monthly, conversion, FX, ATM, or limit numbers, and there is no fee table on the public pages that I could read. The one unofficial statement, from a directory description, is that there are “no hidden FX fees”, which is not the same as saying FX is free: it is saying the fee is not a hidden one, and the real percentage, if any, is not on the table here.

A virtual-only USD card has a narrow set of plausible fees: an issuance fee if any, a monthly or inactivity fee if any, a conversion fee when crypto becomes USD on the card, an FX fee when the USD balance is spent in another currency, and ATM fees, which are largely irrelevant for a virtual card without physical access. None of these are confirmed for Kolan. The cost score of 5 reflects that uncertainty rather than a known price.
| Fee or limit | Kolan card |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | not stated |
| FX (foreign currency spend) | not stated officially; directory says “no hidden FX fees” |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated (virtual only) |
| Daily spending limit | not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | not stated |
| Tiers (Standard / Premium / Metal, etc.) | not stated |
What this means in everyday life. Take three common payments and walk through what a user would actually face.
Paying for an online service priced in USD with USD on the card. The cleanest case, and the one this card is built for. The crypto is held as USDC and converted to USD before the card is loaded, so the only fees to think about are on-chain deposit costs and the conversion, both of which are not stated.
Paying for an online service priced in EUR or GBP. The USD balance is converted again at the network’s wholesale rate, and the FX fee, if any, applies here. Without a published number, you cannot know in advance whether the rate is at-cost, marked up by 0.5%, or marked up by 2%, and that is exactly the kind of question a fee page should answer before you load the card.
Spending through a wallet such as Apple Pay or Google Pay. Not stated, so the safest reading is “not available” until Kolan confirms it. The card details may load in a wallet, but you should not assume they will, and the company has not said so on the public pages.
The honest summary: the card may be cheap, and the third-party “no hidden FX fees” line is encouraging, but no fee has been confirmed by the company and you should treat any cost you see as approximate until a published schedule appears.
Top up: how to fund the card
The flow is: you send crypto into your Kolan account, the deposit is held as USDC in a linked wallet as collateral, and the equivalent USD is loaded onto the virtual card. That is the shape of it, and it has the feel of a stablecoin-collateralised prepaid design: the user-facing balance is fiat, the on-chain balance is a dollar-pegged token, and the conversion happens between the two.

What is not stated is the set of supported chains and networks. The third-party listing in the background research says Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar, and Tether describes USDT as built on multiple blockchains. None of that tells you which network Kolan expects you to use for a deposit, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC-20” is not a native option anywhere. If you send on the wrong network, the transfer is irreversible on the blockchain, and recovery depends on Kolan’s support team and the small chance that the receiving address accepts the chain you sent on.
A few practical points that the official material does not cover and that the broader category facts make relevant:
- on-chain network fees (gas, bandwidth) for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Kolan, and the card provider has no way to waive them;
- a wallet holding only stablecoins with no native gas token cannot send on Ethereum (gas is paid in ETH) or, in the usual case, on Tron (where TRX is burned to pay for energy);
- sending to a deposit address that is for a different chain is the most common way users lose funds to a card top-up;
- a stablecoin is “stable” in name only and has depegged before; the deposit holds its dollar peg only as long as the peg holds.
Withdrawal is described at the account level, not at the card level: Hurupay accounts can in principle withdraw to crypto exchanges or to local banks, but the card’s own withdrawal feature, if any, is not stated.
Paying with it every day
The card is a virtual USD card for online spending, and that is the whole of the everyday picture. There is no physical card to tap, no magnetic stripe, and no in-store PIN flow. The intended use is a checkout form: you paste the card number, the expiry, the CVV, and the billing address, and either the payment goes through or it does not.
A few things follow from that.
- The card is a prepaid card in shape, drawing on a stored USD balance, so it cannot overdraw. If the balance is empty, the transaction declines. That is also why a declined authorisation can leave a hold for several days, typically up to 7, before the funds are released back to the balance.
- Merchants can look up the BIN to identify the issuer and the issuer country, and may apply extra scrutiny if the country does not match the billing address. A virtual card issued in the US to a user in another country is exactly that pattern, and it is a common reason for foreign-issued cards to face more declines.
- Online merchants in the US, Canada, and the UK often rely on Address Verification Service for an extra check, and AVS is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can also produce a decline.
- 3-D Secure can add an identity check; the issuer may approve frictionlessly or challenge the cardholder with a one-time code or a biometric prompt. The card’s behaviour under 3-D Secure is not stated.
- A merchant category code such as 7995 (gambling) is sometimes blocked by issuer policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer; what Kolan blocks is not stated.
The card freeze function is mentioned in the directory description, and that is useful: a quick freeze is a sensible first step if a card number is exposed in a data breach or pasted into a suspicious site. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated, so do not assume either will work, and tokenised wallet support is a separate question from whether the card details are valid in a wallet. Rewards, cashback, and any in-app perks are also not stated.
In short, the card is built for one job, paying for online services with a USD balance, and it is set up to do that job without giving you much else.
What can go wrong
A few risks are worth weighing in the open.
The fee picture is the first. With no published schedule, you cannot tell in advance what a foreign-currency spend costs, what an inactivity window costs, or whether there is a per-transaction fee. The “no hidden FX fees” line in a directory is encouraging, but it is not a fee table, and it is not from Kolan.
The issuer is not named. Cards of this kind depend on two layers of trust: the crypto brand in front and the licensed bank or e-money institution behind. The company running Kolan, Hurupay Inc., is a US-based fintech that is registered as a money services business and was in the inaugural Circle Developer Grant cohort, but the card-issuing partner is not stated. That is unusual for a live product, and it means that a programme change at the issuer can end the card with notice, the way WaveCrest’s Visa programmes were closed in Europe in 2018, the way FTX’s US debit card was wound down after Visa terminated its global agreements in November 2022, and the way a 2026 closure reported by a secondary source stopped new loads in July 2026 and spending in August 2026.
The custody side is also unstated. Crypto in a custodial product is held by the company, and the user has to trust that the company safeguards it, that the company segregates customer funds, and that the company is not the next name on a long list of failed custodians. Kolan does not state where the USDC is custodied, whether funds are segregated, or whether two-factor authentication is enforced on the app, and the public background facts about Mt. Gox, Coincheck, and the Ronin Network hack are part of the reason these details normally have to be in writing.
Public discussion of Kolan is thin. There is no Trustpilot page for Kolan or for Hurupay, and the most visible conversation is a Cursor forum thread from 13–15 August 2026, where Cursor staff said prepaid and crypto-funded virtual cards “often have issues” with checkout declines and failed renewals, and where Cursor itself neither supports nor blocks the card. The lack of reviews can mean a new product, or it can mean a product that customers do not stay with long enough to write about.
Finally, an everyday-use risk that is easy to underestimate. A virtual USD card, with a US issuer, used by a non-US customer, with a balance funded from a USDC deposit, sits in the exact pattern that some merchant anti-fraud systems flag. AVS is unlikely to help, the merchant may decline on a BIN mismatch, and 3-D Secure may challenge more often than not. None of this is unique to Kolan, but the card’s small everyday-use score is partly a reflection of how often that pattern produces a soft decline at checkout.
What to take instead
The card market around Kolan is small, and three alternatives give a useful spread. None of them is presented as a clear winner; they are presented as the comparison set that fits the same problem, and the table that follows is a quick read on where each one differs.
Cardex is a debit crypto card on the VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, with virtual and physical cards. The card currency is Naira, the App Store listing is Naira-focused, and the site says an AI-powered conversion rate picks the best exchange rate at the moment of payment. The headline reach is 200+ countries, with no published country list. The score is 5.6 out of 10.
TakeCard is a Visa prepaid card issued in the United States, denominated in USD (USD payments 1:1), with a 1% commission per purchase and a USD 5 issuance for the virtual version. The physical version is Bolivia-only at USD 20 + USD 20 shipping according to one article, USD 10 according to another in the same centre. The card’s top-up is from a Takenos balance, and the published starting data lists USDC and USDT via Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum, not verified by the card itself. The score is 5.5 out of 10.
OkiCard is a virtual card on “Visa/Mastercard” (the page does not specify which), in USD or EUR, with issuance and monthly fees of zero, a starting price of $15 for a virtual card, an initial deposit of 100 USDT, a 3% load fee, 0% transaction fee in USD, and “no hidden exchange spreads”. Funding is USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron, or Solana, with USDC “soon” and BTC and other coins “coming soon”. The page claims 150+ countries (some pages say 200+) and “no geo-blocking based on your passport”. The score is 6.0 out of 10.
| Card | Score | Card form | Card currency | Stated cost | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kolan | 5.7 / 10 | Virtual only | USD | not stated | crypto to USDC, networks not stated |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Virtual and physical | Naira | not stated | USDT, USDC, BTC |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | Virtual and physical (Bolivia only) | USD (1:1) | USD 5 virtual; 1% per purchase | from Takenos balance, USDC/USDT |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual (physical mentioned) | USD or EUR | issuance 0, monthly 0, virtual from $15, load 3% | USDT on BSC, ETH, Tron, Solana |
The takeaway from the comparison is not that any one card dominates but that the segment is tight, and the differences are in the small details: which networks the card lives on, which currencies it spends in, which chains the deposit supports, and how explicit the fee schedule is. Kolan’s edge is its wider stated reach; its weakness is the rest of the table.
Who I would recommend it to
If you are outside the US, in one of the 50+ countries the third-party profile lists, you already hold or can acquire USDC, and you want a virtual USD card to pay for one or two online services, Kolan is a reasonable card to try with a small balance. Treat the deposit as you would a prepaid gift card: load only what you intend to spend in the next few weeks, do not leave a balance sitting on the card for months, and do not rely on it as your only payment method.
If you need a physical card, a published fee schedule, a clear card issuer, an Apple Pay or Google Pay integration, a non-USD card currency, or a card that has been around long enough to have a real review trail, Kolan is not the right fit. The same is true if you want a card whose custody, segregation, and 2FA story is documented in writing, or if you are a US resident, in which case the third-party profile rules you out anyway. The card is best understood as an early-stage virtual USD balance with a wide onramp, and the score of 5.7 out of 10 is mostly a reflection of how early-stage that is.
Frequently asked questions
What is Kolan card?
Kolan is a virtual USD payment card you fund with crypto through an account run by Hurupay Inc., a US-registered fintech. Crypto is deposited into the Kolan account, held as USDC in a linked wallet as collateral, and the equivalent value is loaded in USD on the card for online spending. The card is virtual only, and the issuer is not named on the public pages.
How does Kolan card work?
You create an account, complete the identity check the app asks for, send crypto to the deposit address, and the funds show up as a USD balance on a virtual card. At checkout, you enter the card number, expiry, CVV, and billing address, and the payment is taken from the stored USD balance. The crypto-to-fiat conversion happens when the balance is loaded, not at the moment of payment.
Is Kolan a bank?
No. Kolan is operated by Hurupay Inc., a US-based fintech registered as a money services business. The card is a prepaid virtual card, and the licensed bank or e-money institution that issues it is not named on the public pages. The card sits on top of an account, not a bank account, and customer funds are not the same as bank deposits.
Who owns Kolan?
Hurupay Inc. does business as Kolan, and the company was in the inaugural Circle Developer Grant cohort. Beyond that, the ownership and corporate structure are not laid out in the public material, and the card-issuing partner is not named.
Is Kolan card available in my country?
Starting data says 100+ countries, and a third-party profile points to non-US individuals in over 50 countries. Those numbers are not the same, and the exact country list and any exclusions are not stated in the official material. Sanctions screening still applies wherever you are, and a US resident is excluded by the third-party profile.
How do I get the Kolan card?
The official pages do not give a step-by-step walkthrough. The general flow is to create an account, complete the identity check the app requests, fund the account, and see the virtual card details in-app. The exact documents, the timeline, and the rejection grounds are not stated on the public pages.
Does Kolan card require KYC?
The official material does not state the KYC level or the documents required. US money-services-business rules and standard crypto-card practice mean some form of identity check is required, but the company has not published what that looks like in practice. If identity checks cannot be completed, the relationship is normally ended, the way it works under EU and US rules.
How do I top up the Kolan card?
You send crypto to the deposit address tied to your Kolan account, the funds are held as USDC in a linked wallet as collateral, and the equivalent USD is loaded on the card. The supported chains and networks are not stated on the public pages, so the safest move is to confirm the network in the app before sending, and to remember that on-chain transfers are irreversible.
How do I add Kolan card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated in the official material, and the directory description does not confirm either. Treat mobile-wallet support as unconfirmed until the company says otherwise, and do not assume the card details will tokenise in a wallet even if the number is valid.
Is Kolan card safe?
The company is a registered US fintech and a Circle developer grant recipient, but several safety details are not stated publicly: the card issuer, the custody arrangement for the USDC, the segregation of customer funds, and the app’s two-factor authentication. There are no Trustpilot reviews for Kolan or for Hurupay, and the most visible public conversation is a Cursor forum thread where Cursor staff said prepaid and crypto-funded virtual cards “often have issues” at checkout. Treat the card as a small prepaid balance rather than a primary account.
Virtual cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
