A close look at the SafePal card, a crypto-funded Mastercard with a Swiss IBAN behind it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

SafePal is best known as a hardware-wallet maker, but it also offers a payment card. The card is a virtual Mastercard debit, and behind the scenes it sits on a Swiss IBAN account run by Fiat24. Crypto you hold in your SafePal wallet is what you spend: you top up the card, it converts to USDC by default, and the card draws on a euro balance at payment. There is no cashback, and the card issuer is not named on SafePal’s public pages, which are the first things I want to flag in this review. The product is built for people who already use SafePal’s wallet, especially anyone who wants a Swiss IBAN and is comfortable with the fact that the money side is handled by a third party rather than by SafePal itself.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
SafePal works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

I gave the SafePal card a score of 6.2 out of 10. That is a middling grade for a product that is genuinely useful in one narrow direction (giving crypto users a Swiss IBAN and a way to spend at Mastercard merchants) but stumbles in places that matter for everyday use.

Here is the scorecard:

Criterion Mark Why it landed there
Who can get it 5 / 10 The regions page is empty when you load it, so the real eligibility is opaque until you start the sign-up
Cost 8 / 10 No account or card management fee, 0% top-up at the standard rate, 1% on non-USD Mastercard settlement, 1 USD/EUR/CHF per refund, with tier-based rebates
Top-up options 9 / 10 Crypto from 40+ blockchains, default-converted to USDC, activating the Mastercard needs 10 USDC on Arbitrum
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Issuer not named publicly, 2026 data breach affected around 39,800 customers, Trustpilot 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews, recurring reports of withdrawals that do not arrive
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Mastercard only, works with Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal, no physical card mentioned, third-party ATM data is contradictory

If you are a SafePal wallet user and you want a Swiss IBAN to receive a salary or invoice payments, the card gives you a credible way to do that, and the cost line is reasonable. If you want a simple debit card for daily spending without surprises, the empty regions list, the unnamed issuer and the unresolved withdrawal complaints make this a card I would not lead with. The product is closer to a banking add-on than to a standalone consumer debit card, and the review should be read in that light.

Will they give you the card

SafePal describes the card’s audience in a single sentence: “Citizens of supported regions who live in supported areas.” The page that should list those regions, /en/bank/regions, came back empty when I checked, which is a first warning sign. The same page does say that with a Mastercard the monthly limit is $100,000, and without one it drops to $1,000, so the card unlocks real volume. But you do not get told which countries those limits apply to before you start the process.

KYC is mandatory because the licence and the regulator require it. There are no credit checks, no staking requirements and no minimum holding to get a card, but you do have to identify yourself, and the card’s everyday use assumes you have completed that step.

The verification is run by Fiat24, the Swiss fintech whose name is on the Swiss IBAN. The list Fiat24 works through is concrete: email and phone verification, an address check that needs location access on your phone, and a passport scan in the ReadID Ready app. The address check requires your residential address to be within 2 km of where you are when you sign up, which matters if you travel a lot or if your official address and where you actually live diverge. The passport is the only document named, and the page does not say what age you have to be, how long approval takes or what the rejection reasons are, which is the kind of detail I would like to see in a product page.

The account limits depend on where you are: up to $100,000 a month with a Mastercard, $1,000 without. To even attempt the process you need the SafePal app at version 4.5.0 or later and a tiny amount of ETH on Arbitrum, 0.0001 ETH, which is more of a wallet-side check than a fee. Unofficial card databases describe the SafePal card as virtual-only, and that matches the public pages, which only describe a virtual Mastercard. If you are looking for a physical card, that is the first question to put to support.

How to get it

The path is short but you cannot do it from a website: you start in the SafePal app. You open the bank or card section, accept that KYC is going to happen, and you hand over the documents Fiat24 asks for. If you already have a Fiat24 account through the same wallet, much of this is already done; if you do not, expect a passport scan in ReadID Ready, a location check on your phone and a waiting period whose length is not stated.

The card itself is a virtual Mastercard debit. Your spending limit is denominated in euro, even though the underlying balance is held on a Swiss IBAN, because the card account is technically a euro account. Delivery of a physical card is not mentioned on the public pages, which is consistent with the card being virtual-only. Unofficial card directories agree with that.

There is no annual fee, no monthly fee and no card issuance fee listed, and the help centre does not have a “physical card” article. The 10 USDC activation deposit on Arbitrum is described in a help article dated 25 July 2026, and it is the kind of step that can confuse people who expect a card to be ready as soon as KYC clears. You also need a small amount of ETH on Arbitrum to pay the gas for that deposit. Once the deposit lands, the Mastercard becomes available inside the wallet, and you can add it to Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay without waiting for a card in the post.

What it really costs: Fees

This is the part of the product I found the most coherent. The headline numbers, taken from SafePal’s own fee article and account page, are:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a SafePal payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Account creation 0
Account management 0
Card issuance not stated
Standard top-up 0%
Crypto top-up on top tier from 0.4%
Fiat deposit (tier article) standard 1%
Mastercard non-USD settlement 1%
Refund processing 1 USD / EUR / CHF / 7 CNH per refund
On-ramp / deposit waiver 0% while SafePal’s program runs (terms can change)
Contactless daily limit 1,600 EUR
Other payment methods daily limit 5,000 EUR
Monthly limit equals the daily transaction limit
Region-based monthly limit (with Mastercard) $100,000
Region-based monthly limit (without Mastercard) $1,000

To turn those numbers into a feel for what you actually pay, three everyday situations help.

If you top up the card with USDC and then spend the euro balance at a euro merchant, you pay no FX fee and no top-up fee. The cost is the swap spread on the way in, which is not quantified on the public page, and the blockchain gas for the deposit, which is on the Arbitrum network and small in absolute terms. That is the cheap path and the one SafePal steers you toward.

If you spend in a currency that is not the one your balance is in, the card layers the network conversion on top of its own 1% Mastercard fee for non-USD settlement. Buying a coffee in London from a euro balance means a 1% line item on the statement and whatever the wholesale FX rate is on the day. It is not punitive, but it is the one number worth memorising if you travel.

If you refund a transaction, SafePal charges 1 USD, 1 EUR, 1 CHF or 7 CNH per refund, which sounds small but is a real charge on a returned 5 euro coffee. Crypto-to-crypto swaps inside the wallet also have a spread, and the fee article acknowledges it without giving a number. Unofficial sources broadly agree with the picture: no opening, management or card fee, with the main cost being the 1% FX line.

Account tiers complicate this. SafePal runs a points system: opening the IBAN account gives you 1,500 points, your tier is set on the first of each month from the previous three months’ activity, and higher tiers get a rebate on top-up fees and reduced fees when buying USDC with the Mastercard. Staking the SFP token, the project’s own token, on a 90-day lock with no early redemption, raises your level. The example on the public page is that a Silver tier pays a standard 1% deposit and gets 0.1% back, so the rebate is real but small at the lower tiers. The zero-fee waiver on on-ramp and deposit is described as running while SafePal’s program lasts, which means it can change.

How to top it up: Top up

The card is built to be fed by crypto, and the funding flow is the most carefully engineered part of the product. You can send crypto from more than 40 blockchains, the wallet converts it to USDC by default, and the settlement happens on the Arbitrum network. You can also top up with fiat through a deposit, with a tier-based fee.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up SafePal starts with a transfer to the right network

The standard top-up fee is 0%, and a zero-fee waiver on on-ramp and deposit is in place while SafePal’s program runs. The fee article gives that 0% as the default. The bank page elsewhere says fiat deposits start at 0.6% and crypto top-ups start at 0.4% on the top tier, which sounds higher until you remember that tier rebates claw some of it back. The tier article cites a standard 1% deposit rate. These numbers do not contradict each other: the fee article is the headline rate, the tier article is the baseline before any rebate, and the bank page is the maximum you could be charged at the top tier after rebates.

Activating the Mastercard specifically needs a 10 USDC deposit on Arbitrum, plus enough ETH on Arbitrum to cover the gas, even if the card itself is otherwise free. The article is dated 25 July 2026, so the requirement is current at the time of writing. The sender always pays the blockchain gas, which is a network fee not a SafePal fee, and on Arbitrum it is usually under a few cents.

The currencies you can hold are euro, Swiss franc, US dollar and Chinese yuan. The Swiss IBAN account holds fiat, you turn on the currencies you actually use, and payments in an enabled currency skip the exchange fee. If a payment comes in a currency you have not enabled, the card uses your default currency, and that is where the 1% Mastercard non-USD settlement fee shows up.

Withdrawing is a different story. Transfers between accounts within the IBAN are free, and transfers to external banks carry no SafePal or Fiat24 fee, though your receiving bank may charge on its side. The help centre has articles on payout transfers. The steps to withdraw back to crypto, and the balance handling on account closure, are not stated on the public pages, and that is worth keeping in mind before you treat the card as a two-way bridge.

Paying with it every day

The card is a virtual Mastercard, and the public pages describe it that way consistently. The only confirmed physical-card references come from third-party card directories, which say there is no physical card. If a physical card matters to you, treat that as unconfirmed and check with support before you plan around it.

For mobile payments, the card is set up to work with Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay and PayPal. That covers the four payment apps people ask about most, and adding the card to a phone wallet is a normal tokenisation step. The card can be frozen and unfrozen in the app, transactions are listed inside the wallet, and you can set a custom spending limit. These are the everyday safety features that most users actually use.

There is no cashback. SafePal does run a referral scheme, with commissions of up to 40% of the referred user’s top-up fees, and tier privileges tied to deposits, referrals and SFP staking, but that is not cashback on your own spending. The phrase on the help pages is “no cashback or rebates” on the card itself, and third-party card directories say the same.

ATM withdrawals are where the public information falls apart. SafePal does not publish an ATM fee or limit, and the unofficial sources disagree: one says ATM withdrawals are supported without a stated fee or limit, another says there is no physical card so ATM use is impossible. Until SafePal publishes a clear answer, the safe assumption is that ATM access is not a feature to plan around.

Blocked merchants are not listed, which is normal for a Mastercard debit, and gambling transactions in particular are not called out either way. If a particular category matters to you, the merchant category restrictions will depend on the unnamed issuer, not on SafePal.

The SafePal app, which is the front end for the card, sits at version 4.11.12 as of 12 October 2026 on iOS 15 and above. The App Store rating, read on 20 October 2026, is 4.7 out of 5 from around 17,000 ratings, which is a wallet-level figure rather than a card-specific one, and the app supports English and 13 other languages including Russian. Google Play was not read in this review.

Chargebacks are not described on the public pages. Refunds are: a processing fee of 1 USD, 1 EUR, 1 CHF or 7 CNH per refund. If your account registration fails or your account is banned, the help centre points you to Fiat24 support rather than to SafePal directly, which underlines who is actually running the relationship on the fiat side.

What can go wrong

There are three things I would want a reader to know about before they put real money on the card.

The first is the data breach SafePal disclosed in 2026. Around 39,798 customers had order information exposed, and phishing attempts using accurate personal details started appearing in early July, weeks before the disclosure. The official statement says no seed phrases, private keys, card numbers or ID documents were part of the leak, which is the right answer for a hardware-wallet company, and the fact that the leak was order information, not credentials, is a meaningful line. It is also a reminder that the company behind the card has had to send a breach notice, and that the people handling the data are the people whose data got out.

The second is the company structure. The Swiss IBAN is held at Fiat24, which is a Swiss fintech that handles KYC, compliance and licensing. The card issuer is not named on SafePal’s public pages, which is unusual. You can freeze the card, see transactions and set a limit, and the support channel for impersonation cases is a dedicated route rather than a general inbox. KYC and the account are run by Fiat24 in Switzerland, while the SafePal wallet itself is non-custodial, which means SafePal does not hold your crypto keys. The boundary is real but it is not always obvious to a user.

The third is the complaint pattern. Trustpilot shows 3.1 out of 5 from 394 reviews for SafePal, with 57% five-star and 37% one-star reviews, and the company answers 93% of negative reviews. A slightly different cut from the same period showed 3.5 out of 5 from 374 reviews. Reading the one-star reviews, the recurring themes between February and September 2026 are: swaps and withdrawals shown as completed inside the app but not arriving on the chain or in the bank account, a refund received in May 2026 that was about 20% short, phishing calls during July to September 2026 that quoted real order details, and slow email-only support that sent copy-paste replies through June and July 2026. None of the reviews I read mentioned the card or the IBAN directly, which is a separate signal: people are not yet talking about the card as a card.

Support is the part of the operation that I would probe before I signed up. There is an email channel and a Zendesk request form, Fiat24 account issues can be raised through a Telegram bot, and the support hours are not stated. A reader who depends on timely answers during their own banking day should check the hours first, ideally by sending a test message before they put any money in.

There is also a small but worth-knowing piece of news: in March 2026 SafePal said its fiat on-ramp was disabled until further notice, with crypto on-ramp through third parties like MoonPay still working. That is a routing change rather than a shutdown, but it means the fiat side of the product has been reset at least once in the last year.

What to take instead

The SafePal card is not the only crypto-funded card that comes with a non-bank account, and three alternatives are worth a look. Each suits a slightly different reader, and the comparison is meant to help you place SafePal against them, not to crown a winner.

Card Score Card type Headline cost Top-up Notable restriction
SafePal 6.2 / 10 Virtual Mastercard debit 0% top-up, 1% non-USD settlement, 1 USD/EUR/CHF per refund Crypto from 40+ chains, default USDC, Arbitrum Supported regions not listed publicly
BloFin Wallet Card 6.9 / 10 Visa Platinum 0 activation, 0 annual, 0 issuance, 0 dormancy; spend 1.00% (VIP 0) down to 0.00% (VIP 5) USDT and USDC on Arbitrum and Base Country list not published on the card page; starting data lists 35 countries
Decaf 6.2 / 10 Virtual ($5) or physical ($10 US / $90 rest of world) Visa No annual or monthly fee, no FX markup USDC and bank transfer on Solana and Stellar Not issued in Belarus, China, DPRK, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Cuba, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Nigeria; restricted US states listed
Avici 6.1 / 10 Visa, secured credit “No hidden fee, no gas fee, no interchange fee” advertised Crypto to Avici then to the card, networks not listed Availability, cost details and FX not stated

The BloFin Wallet Card scores higher because its cost line is published in full, its tier discount is real and the spend rate is 1% or lower from the first transaction. The Decaf card is the more transparent option for a reader who is in a country Decaf serves, because it publishes both the activation fee and the countries it does not serve, which is the kind of information SafePal does not give. The Avici card is the one to watch: it is described as a secured credit card with travel-style perks, and the cost is advertised as zero, but the fee percentages are not given and the supported countries are not listed.

If the SafePal card’s Swiss IBAN is the feature that pulls you toward it, none of these alternatives is a direct substitute. The Decaf card’s payment-link and account-details flow is the closest match, but the IBAN is not Swiss. The BloFin card and the Avici card do not advertise an IBAN at all. If the IBAN is the point, the SafePal card has a defensible niche; if the point is just to spend crypto at a Mastercard merchant, you have more choice.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the SafePal card to a SafePal wallet user who has a specific reason to want a Swiss IBAN, who is comfortable with the fact that the bank side is run by Fiat24 and the card issuer is not named publicly, and who can absorb the time that the missing information on the regions page might cost them during sign-up. The cost line is fair, the funding flow is the most thoughtful part of the product, and the integration with mobile wallets is the way most people will actually use the card.

I would not recommend it as a first crypto card for someone who just wants to spend stablecoins at a coffee shop. The 2026 data breach, the unresolved withdrawal complaints, the empty regions page and the unnamed issuer are all the kind of friction that a reader who is not already a SafePal customer does not need to take on. A card like BloFin’s or Decaf’s, both of which publish their country list and their fee structure, is the more honest starting point for that reader.

In the end the SafePal card is a banking add-on for an existing SafePal relationship, not a standalone consumer debit card. The score of 6.2 out of 10 reflects that: the product is competent at what it is built to do, but it does not yet communicate well enough to be the only card in someone’s wallet.

Frequently asked questions

What is the SafePal card?

The SafePal card is a virtual Mastercard debit card that draws on a euro balance held on a Swiss IBAN at Fiat24. You top it up from the SafePal wallet by sending crypto, which is converted to USDC by default and then to the currency you spend in.

How does the SafePal card work?

You hold crypto in the SafePal wallet, you send it to the card’s funding flow, it converts to USDC and lands in a euro balance, and the card draws on that balance when you pay at a Mastercard merchant. The card behaves like a prepaid debit card and cannot overdraw.

Is SafePal a bank?

No. SafePal is a wallet company, and the card sits on a Swiss IBAN account provided by Fiat24, a Swiss fintech. The card issuer is not named on SafePal’s public pages, which is one of the points to be aware of.

Who owns SafePal?

SafePal is the company that makes the wallet and markets the card. The fiat side of the product is run by Fiat24, and the card programme is operated by an unnamed issuer. The boundaries matter because they decide who you contact for which problem.

Is the SafePal card available in my country?

The public regions page came back empty when I checked, and the only country-level facts published are the monthly limits, $100,000 with a Mastercard and $1,000 without. To get a real answer you have to start the sign-up, which is more friction than the average card.

How do I get a SafePal card?

You start inside the SafePal app at version 4.5.0 or later, go through KYC with Fiat24, fund the card with at least 10 USDC on Arbitrum plus a small amount of ETH for gas, and then add the virtual Mastercard to a mobile wallet.

Does the SafePal card require KYC?

Yes. Email and phone verification, an address check that uses your phone’s location, and a passport scan in the ReadID Ready app are the named steps. The card account and the IBAN are run by Fiat24, so the regulator behind the KYC is a Swiss one.

How do I top up the SafePal card?

You send crypto from any of 40-plus blockchains supported by the SafePal wallet, the wallet converts it to USDC by default, and the balance lands on Arbitrum. You can also deposit fiat directly, with a tier-based fee that is 0% on the standard top-up and up to 1% on fiat deposits before rebates.

Is the SafePal card free?

There is no account creation, management or issuance fee on the public pages, the standard top-up is 0%, and the main everyday cost is a 1% fee on Mastercard non-USD settlement. Refunds cost 1 USD, 1 EUR, 1 CHF or 7 CNH each, and crypto-to-crypto swaps carry a spread that is not quantified.

Is the SafePal card safe?

The card can be frozen and unfrozen, transactions are listed in the app, and you can set a custom spending limit. The 2026 data breach exposed order information for around 39,798 customers, and the card issuer is not named publicly, so the data you hand over is the data SafePal and its partners hold.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team