A polished virtual crypto card with honest gaps

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

The Cashi card promises a simple deal: load stablecoins or cash, get a Visa card you can spend anywhere Visa is accepted, earn a bit back. On paper that’s tidy. In practice it’s a virtual-only card from a young company that openly says it provides “technology services only,” with some of the most important details — which countries you can use it in, who issues it, what it costs to convert — simply not on the page.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Cashi works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through the card’s public pages, help centre and press coverage and scored it honestly, criterion by criterion, so you can see where it’s strong and where it’s still a beta product. My score: 6.6 out of 10. It’s a genuinely interesting option for stablecoin holders who want to spend across many networks, and a poor choice if you need a physical card, ATM access, Apple Pay, or a clearly regulated issuer in your home country.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 6.6 / 10, built for stablecoin holders

Cashi is a reasonable, well-designed card if your money already sits in stablecoins on chains like Tron, Solana or Base, and you want a clean USD Visa card to spend it through. It is not a great fit if you’re comparing it to an ordinary bank card, because several things you’d take for granted — a physical card in the post, Apple Pay, ATM withdrawals, a named issuing bank — simply don’t exist yet or aren’t disclosed.

Here’s how I broke the score down, one criterion at a time:

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Countries aren’t listed, the card works “anywhere Visa is accepted,” and some merchant types are restricted for regulatory reasons
Cost 9 / 10 The $5 activation comes back as $5 Spending Credit; USD payments are 0%, other currencies 1%; crypto deposits carry no Cashi fee; disputes cost $50
Top-up options 10 / 10 USDC and USDT on Tron, Solana, Polygon, BNB Chain, Arbitrum, Ethereum, Bitcoin, Base — plus BTC, ETH, SOL — and cash in 20+ currencies
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Cashi says it provides technology services only; the issuer and licences aren’t named; it’s been in public beta since August 2026 and I found no reviews
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual Visa only, Google Pay exists, Apple Pay is “on the roadmap,” and the virtual card can’t reach an ATM

My overall mark is 6.6 / 10 — the arithmetic of those five marks.

Who is this card for? The stablecoin holder who already holds USDC or USDT on one of the supported networks and wants to turn it into everyday spending without fuss. The 10-out-of-10 on top-up options is real and hard to overstate: it’s the most flexible funding setup in this category. The 9 out of 10 on cost is because the ordinary path — load stablecoins, pay in USD — costs you essentially nothing.

Who is it not for? If you need a plastic card in your hand, if you live somewhere Apple Pay matters, if you take money out at an ATM, or if you need a named, locally-regulated bank behind your money, Cashi will disappoint. The everyday-use mark of 4 out of 10 is the harshest one in the table, and it’s the one most people will feel first.

Will they give you the card?

Honestly: probably, but you can’t check a list first. Cashi does not publish which countries it supports. The sign-up flow carries country flags that appear to include Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Spain, Ghana, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia — but these are just interface hints, not a stated eligibility list, and I wouldn’t treat them as one.

What the card does say is that it works “anywhere Visa is accepted,” with the important asterisk that “certain merchant types may be restricted for regulatory reasons.” In plain English: the card is broadly usable wherever a shop takes Visa, but the card’s own terms reserve the right to block certain kinds of merchants — think gambling and similar categories — for compliance reasons. Availability is also “subject to local laws,” which is the standard way of saying your country might be off-limits even if the app lets you sign up.

So the honest answer to “will they give you the card?” is: if the app lets you through identity verification, yes; if you’re in a country the provider or the issuer quietly doesn’t serve, the block may only appear at activation. There is no country list to check in advance, which is the first thing I’d want a card of this kind to publish.

How to get it

Getting the card is a short, four-step process, and the identity check is the part worth understanding.

  1. Sign up in the app.
  2. Verify your identity — “a quick check with your ID and a selfie.”
  3. Add at least $5 to your balance.
  4. Tap “Activate card for $5” — the $5 is returned to you as Spending Credit.

Most people finish verification in minutes; some take up to 24 hours. The card itself is a USD-denominated virtual Visa debit card, available immediately in the app. Physical cards are described as “will be available in the future” — so if you apply today, everything happens on your phone screen, and there’s no card in the post. If your card details are ever exposed, the advice is to email support.

One thing the card doesn’t spell out is exactly what it wants as proof of address and what minimum age it enforces. It says it checks ID and a selfie; the specific document list and any age threshold aren’t stated on the pages I read. Treat the verification as the standard kind of regulated check — that’s the norm across this whole category — but don’t expect a detailed requirements page.

Fees and what a payment really costs

This is where Cashi scores well, and it’s the part of the card that has been thought through. The headline: your everyday costs are near zero if you hold dollars and spend dollars.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cashi payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The setup is unusual in a good way. You don’t pay a $5 activation fee and lose it — the $5 comes straight back as $5 of Spending Credit, so it’s effectively free. There’s no monthly or annual fee mentioned. When you pay a merchant in USD, Cashi charges 0%. When you pay in another currency, a 1% conversion fee applies. Depositing crypto carries no Cashi fee at all — only the blockchain’s own network fee, which comes out of your sending wallet. Sending from one Cashi user to another is free.

Here’s the full cost picture, so you can see it at a glance:

Fee or limit What Cashi states
Activation $5, returned as $5 Spending Credit (net zero); must be paid from cash balance
Monthly or annual fee Not stated
Paying in USD 0% Cashi fee
Paying in another currency 1% conversion fee, converted to USD automatically
Crypto deposit No Cashi fee; only the blockchain network fee (from your sending wallet)
Cashi-to-Cashi send Free
Crypto conversion spread Not stated
ATM The virtual card cannot be used at ATMs; ATM fees not stated
Raising a dispute $50 (asking the merchant for a refund is free)
Daily spending limit Set by you in the app, up to $50,000 per day
Monthly spending limit Not specified
Cashback caps Monthly caps per category exist; amounts vary (see below)

Now let me walk through a few real payments so the fees stop being abstract.

A coffee in your own currency, say euros, in a euro-zone country. You tap or pay online, the merchant charges you in euros, Cashi converts that to your USD balance at the day’s rate and adds a 1% conversion fee. You pay no Cashi fee on the transaction itself, just that 1%. If your coffee shop is in the US and charges in dollars, you pay literally nothing.

An online subscription billed in dollars. USD payment, 0% fee. You also happen to be getting 3% cashback if it’s an eligible subscription — so on a $10 monthly plan, money effectively moves toward you. (We’ll get to the caps, because that’s where this gets less rosy.)

A car rental in a foreign country. This is the case the card specifically warns about: a hold is placed on your balance at authorisation, often well above the final amount, and the difference is adjusted afterwards. The 1% conversion fee and the eventual adjustment both hit a balance you may not have planned around — a large hold on a limited balance can decline the payment even if you’d have covered the final price.

Two everyday costs to keep in mind. First, if you top up or send cash (local currency rather than crypto), Cashi charges a fee on every such movement; it depends on the currency, method and amount, and the app quotes it before you confirm. Second, disputes are expensive: raising one costs $50. So for a $20 purchase, it is often cheaper to just ask the merchant for a refund, which is free.

Top up: the strongest part of the card

If there’s one thing Cashi does better than almost anyone in this category, it’s funding. This is why I gave top-up options a straight 10.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cashi starts with a transfer to the right network

You can deposit USDC and USDT on any of these networks: Tron, Solana, Polygon, BNB Chain, Arbitrum, Ethereum, Bitcoin and Base. And per the activation guide, you can also send BTC, ETH and SOL. Add funds or cash out in 20+ different currencies. For someone whose crypto is scattered across chains, being able to consolidate it all into one spendable card balance without thinking about network choice is genuinely useful.

The costs here are about as clean as they get:

You need $5 in the balance to activate the card, and that’s the $5 you get back as Spending Credit, so the entry cost is effectively nil.

A word of caution on networks, because it’s a trap that catches people: send on the network you meant to. Transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee it works. This is a property of blockchain transfers generally, not a quirk of Cashi, but it’s worth internalising before your first deposit.

Paying with it every day

The virtual card works wherever Visa is accepted, and the in-store experience is decent on Android. Here’s the practical day-in-the-life.

On a phone (Android). Add the card to Google Pay and you can tap to pay in store. That’s the smooth path.

On a phone (iPhone). Google Pay’s tap-to-pay in store is Android-only, and Apple Pay is “not available yet, but it’s on our roadmap.” So iPhone users pay online with the card details. The help centre does have an article on Apple Pay support, which suggests it’s actively being worked on, but today it’s a future feature.

Online anywhere. You enter the card number like any normal Visa. Online payments go through the same 3-D Secure risk checks any bank card does — the issuer decides frictionlessly to approve or challenges you with a code or biometric.

Cashback. It’s automatic and by category: 3% on eligible subscriptions, 2% on eligible online shopping, 1% on eligible travel. The caps matter more than the headline, so read them:

So the real-world cashback rate on a typical month of spending is closer to 1–2% than 3%, unless your spending is heavily concentrated in those named subscriptions.

Blocked merchant categories. Not stated explicitly on the pages I read, though the terms reserve the right to restrict some merchant types for regulatory reasons. If a payment is ever declined by category, that’s the likely reason.

The app is on the Apple App Store and Google Play; store ratings aren’t shown, which for a card in public beta since August 2026 is not surprising.

What can go wrong

This section is the one I’d read twice if I were you, because Cashi is honest in a way that should prompt more questions, not fewer.

The issuer is a blank. Cashi says it “provides technology services only,” and that financial products are issued and managed by licensed third parties. But the issuer, its registration country and its licences are not stated. So when you load money, you are trusting a named-issuer chain you can’t fully see. Whether your funds are safeguarded in a segregated account, or insured, is not stated either. In this category that matters — safeguarding and deposit-guarantee treatment is the difference between a lost login and a lost balance.

There’s no track record yet. Cashi has been in public beta since August 2026 (per press coverage; the company describes August 2026 as the launch of the public beta, with a full launch expected before the end of 2026). I found no Cashi-specific Trustpilot page, Reddit thread or news complaints — and equally, I found no independent reviews, because there hasn’t been time for them to exist. The absence of complaints here is not reassurance; it’s just an empty file. No official incidents have been reported either, but the product is young.

The category has form. This is not alarmism about Cashi specifically; it’s context you should carry. Card programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. When programmes close, the pattern is usually: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you’re asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July and spending on 8 August — a single unconfirmed source, but it shows the shape of what a wind-down looks like. Cashi lets you send digital assets out and withdraw cash, which is the right safety valve, but note the card itself “cannot be permanently closed yet, only frozen.”

Account deletion is a one-way door. If you close your Cashi account, you must first transfer any remaining balance out, and afterwards “you won’t be able to access your funds.” Deleting is genuinely final.

Payment hiccups are normal, even good cards. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because the card’s BIN (the first six or eight digits identifying the issuing institution and country) is visible to them; if the issuer country differs from your billing country, a shop may look at you twice. Address verification, which quietly compares the street number and postcode you type at checkout with issuer records, is mainly a US, Canada and UK thing and often unavailable for foreign-issued cards — another source of declines on an online purchase.

Sanctions and screening sit on your nationality, not just your address. Your nationality and country of birth are recorded and screened separately from where you live. And stablecoins aren’t censorship-proof: Tether disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. So while Cashi itself can’t help you dodge any check, you should know that the compliance layer sits on both sides of the transaction.

Taxes are yours. This isn’t advice, just a heads-up: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so spending crypto on goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in your local currency at the value on the transaction date. Every card payment funded from crypto can be its own disposal. What that means for you depends entirely on your country and situation — take it to a professional, not to a review page.

What to take instead

If Cashi’s gaps — virtual-only, no ATM, no Apple Pay, unnamed issuer — are the gaps that matter to you, here are three alternatives from the same category that fill some of them differently. I’ve scored them on the same 10-point basis.

Card Score Card type Where it’s strongest Where it falls short
OkiCard 6.0 / 10 Virtual, USD/EUR pegged “150+ countries,” no passport geo-blocking; $0 issuance, $0 monthly; 0% transaction fee on USD, no exchange spreads 3% load fee; pages disagree on fees (one says $15 start, another a one-time fee); rewards not mentioned
Cashi 6.6 / 10 Virtual USD Visa debit Best-in-class top-up: 8 networks, BTC/ETH/SOL, cash in 20+ currencies; 0% USD spend, 1% other Virtual only, no ATM, no Apple Pay; issuer not named; $50 dispute fee
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay Virtual and physical; “200+ countries”; claims an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that picks the best rate at spend time Fee percentage not stated; App Store listing is Naira-focused; rewards not stated
TakeCard 5.5 / 10 Virtual (immediate) + physical (Bolivia only) Clear pricing: 1% per purchase, USD 1:1; physical card in Bolivia Physical card Bolivia-only; conflicting issuance fees ($20 vs $10); rewards not stated

A few honest comparisons. OkiCard comes closest on paper for someone who wants breadth of countries and a no-monthly-fee, no-spread promise — but it charges 3% to load, and its own pages disagree about fees, which is its own kind of warning. Cardex is the only one of the four that ships a physical card and supports a wide range of card networks, but it’s the vaguest on actual numbers — the headline conversion claim comes with no stated percentage, and its store presence is oriented toward Nigerian naira. TakeCard is the most transparent on pricing (a flat 1%) and has a physical card, but that physical card is Bolivia-only right now, and two of its own help articles quote different issuance fees.

None of these solves the core question for a cautious reader, which is: who holds my money? For each of them, that’s still worth asking in the same form.

Who I’d recommend Cashi to

I’d recommend Cashi if you’re already holding USDC or USDT on one of the eight supported networks, you spend most of your money in USD, and you’re comfortable with a virtual-only card that isn’t tied to a named local bank. The funding flexibility is the best in the category, the cost of everyday USD spending is genuinely zero, and the activation fee comes back to you. For a stablecoin holder who wants spending power on many chains, this is a well-made tool.

I’d steer you elsewhere if any of these are true: you need a physical card; you rely on Apple Pay; you need to withdraw cash at an ATM; you’re in a country where “is this issued and licensed here?” matters and the answer isn’t on the page; or you want a card with a long public track record and plenty of independent reviews. In those cases a traditional bank card, or a more established crypto card with a named issuer, will serve you better.

My honest summary: this is a well-built beta product from a company that’s refreshingly upfront about being a technology layer rather than a bank. That’s a good sign about how they communicate and a poor sign about how much you can verify. Use it for what it’s great at — turning stablecoins across many chains into clean USD spending — and go in with your eyes open about what it isn’t yet.

Frequently asked questions

What is Cashi card?

Cashi is a virtual Visa debit card you load with crypto or cash and spend like an ordinary card. You fund it with USDC or USDT (and BTC, ETH or SOL) on eight networks, or with cash in over 20 currencies, and pay merchants in USD or convert other currencies at a 1% fee. It’s aimed at stablecoin holders who want everyday spending without juggling exchanges.

How does Cashi card work?

You sign up, verify with an ID and selfie, add at least $5, and activate for $5 — which is returned as Spending Credit. The virtual card then works anywhere Visa is accepted. Payments draw on your stored balance, much like a prepaid card, and non-USD payments are converted to USD automatically. You can freeze the card, set daily limits and control online payments in the app.

Is Cashi a bank?

No — and Cashi itself says so. The company states it “provides technology services only,” and that financial products are issued and managed by licensed third parties. The specific issuer, its registration country and its licences are not stated on the public pages. So it’s best understood as a technology and product layer on top of someone else’s regulated licence, not a bank.

Who owns Cashi?

The public pages don’t name a founding company, owner or parent clearly enough for me to say confidently. One report describes Cashi as Hong Kong-based, with a release datelined Sharjah, UAE — neither of which is confirmed by the card’s own pages. I found no Cashi-specific Trustpilot page or user reviews, which is expected for a product in public beta since August 2026.

Is Cashi card available in my country?

Cashi doesn’t publish a country list, so you can’t check in advance. It says the card works “anywhere Visa is accepted,” subject to local laws, and the sign-up interface hints at countries including Argentina, Brazil, Spain, Kenya, Nigeria and others — but those are interface hints, not a stated eligibility list. Certain merchant types may also be restricted for regulatory reasons.

How do I get and activate a Cashi card?

Sign up in the app, complete the ID-and-selfie check (most finish in minutes, some up to 24 hours), add at least $5, then tap “Activate card for $5.” The $5 is refunded as Spending Credit, so activation is effectively free. You’ll get a virtual card immediately — physical cards are only “will be available in the future.”

Is Cashi card safe to use?

It has the standard safeguards — instant freeze, daily limits, online payment controls, 2FA, PIN and biometrics, and real-time activity alerts. But two things are not stated: who the licensed issuer is, and whether funds are safeguarded or insured. Given it’s a young product (public beta since August 2026) with no independent reviews yet, treat it the way you’d treat any new custodial setup: only hold what you’re comfortable with.

Is Cashi card free?

Nearly, for the main path. The $5 activation comes back as Spending Credit; USD payments cost 0%; there’s no Cashi fee on crypto deposits or Cashi-to-Cashi sends (only the network fee). Other costs: 1% on non-USD conversion, a fee on every cash deposit or send (quoted in the app), a bank and transfer fee on USD-account sends, and $50 to raise a dispute. No monthly fee is stated.

Can I add Cashi card to Apple Wallet?

Not yet. Apple Pay is “not available yet, but it’s on our roadmap.” Google Pay works for in-store tap-to-pay, but on Android only — iPhone users pay online by entering the card details. It’s one of the main reasons a cautious reader might look elsewhere.

How do I delete my Cashi account or withdraw money?

Before deleting, you must transfer any remaining balance out of your Cashi account; after deletion “you won’t be able to access your funds,” so it’s final. You can withdraw by sending digital assets out (network fee only, eight networks) or cashing out in 20+ currencies (a fee quoted in the app). Note the card itself can’t be permanently closed yet — you can only freeze it.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team