TapX card review — what the numbers say, and what the public page does not

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

TapX sells three virtual card tiers — Visa Universe, Mastercard Business and Visa E-commerce — that you fund with USDT and spend online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. The pitch is that it “works globally” and lets you pay for online services straight from a stablecoin balance. The numbers, though, are the kind that make you slow down: 199 USDT for the top tier, a 3% top-up fee on that same tier, and on the public page no company name, no licence, no issuer and no list of supported countries. After going through the card’s own terms, third-party write-ups and what’s missing, I score it 5.1 out of 10, and the reason it is not lower is that two of its three tiers are unusually cheap to try, and two work with the mobile wallets most people already use.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
TapX works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The score is 5.1 out of 10. It is a virtual-only product sold in three tiers, with an issuance price and a top-up fee on top. The page is unusually thin on who runs the programme: no legal entity, no licence, no issuer, no list of countries. Day-to-day use is fine for a narrow need — paying for online services from a USDT balance with Apple Pay or Google Pay — but the cost of moving money in is high and the safety floor is whatever you can find out for yourself.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a TapX payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

It suits you if you want a virtual card in five minutes to pay a small handful of online services and you are comfortable holding your balance on a platform whose company you cannot verify from the public page. It does not suit you if you need a physical card, an ATM, a known EU- or UK-authorised issuer, or a programme that publishes fees in something other than USDT.

Criterion Mark Short reason
Who can get it 8 / 10 The page says the card “works globally” with no country list; eligibility rules are the most generous in the set, on paper.
Cost 2 / 10 199 USDT for Universe, plus 3.0–3.5% to top up and a 0.50 USD authorisation fee on every transaction; no monthly fee.
Top-up options 5 / 10 USDT is the only confirmed funding method on the page; other coins appear in third-party summaries without confirmed networks.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 No legal entity, no licence, no issuer, no Trustpilot page, recently registered domain with hidden WHOIS, and no confirmed complaints — the absence of evidence is not the same as a clean record.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Three virtual tiers, Universe and Business work with Apple Pay and Google Pay, no plastic, ATM details unconfirmed.
Total 5.1 / 10

Will they give you the card

The honest answer to “will they give me the card” is that the card’s own page does not really tell you. It says the card “works globally” and that every card is “crypto-friendly”. There is no list of supported or excluded countries, no statement on Russia or Belarus, and no residency or citizenship section that I could find. So the same statement that draws you in is the same one that should make you slow down — “works globally” on a card programme almost always means “we do not publish the list, and the answer depends on who you are and where the payment is going”.

Because the card is sold in three tiers, the actual identity check is different for each one. Visa Universe asks for a phone number, an international passport and a face photo. Mastercard Business asks for a phone number and an international passport. Visa E-commerce asks only for a phone number. None of the three asks, on the public page, for proof of address or states a minimum age, and the card’s own page does not list the reasons an application can be rejected. If you do not have an international passport, only the E-commerce tier is open to you on the page as written.

KYC, the short version, is a regulated business’s duty to check who its customers are, and it is normally backed up by ongoing transaction monitoring and sanctions screening. Most card programmes layer this on top of payments law: the card is a payment service, and the crypto side is a separate licence. TapX’s page does not name which regulator or which law applies, so the only thing you can verify is what the page tells you: the three KYC levels above, and nothing else.

Card What you must provide
Visa Universe Phone number, international passport, face photo
Mastercard Business Phone number, international passport
Visa E-commerce Phone number only

If you are a non-resident or a citizen of a country the page does not name, the only safe assumption is that you will find out by trying. There is no published rejection policy, and no appeals process described.

How to get it

The signup flow on the page is three steps: pick a card, pass the verification for that tier, and pay the card price plus a 10 USDT initial top-up. Universe and Business are issued within two minutes after verification; E-commerce is the cheapest and quickest. There is no physical card on the menu and no shipping step, so once you are verified the card details are handed to you digitally.

In practice, the thing that slows people down is the international passport. Two of the three tiers require it, and the term on the page is “international passport” rather than “passport”, which in some countries is a specific document. If you only hold a national ID, the E-commerce tier is the one the page is willing to issue on a phone number alone.

The card currency, as stated in the fees section, is USD, and the prices are quoted in USDT. That matters when you pay: the card is denominated and spent in dollars, and the USDT you load is converted into that dollar balance at the moment of top-up, not at the moment of payment. You see the card’s dollars in the dashboard; the USDT you sent is already gone.

What it really costs

This is the section where the headline score is earned. The headline price is 199 USDT for Universe, 50 USDT for Business and 30 USDT for E-commerce. Each tier also asks for 10 USDT as a first top-up, on top of the card price. There is no monthly fee on any tier.

Fee or limit Visa Universe Mastercard Business Visa E-commerce
Issuance 199.00 USDT 50.00 USDT 30.00 USDT
Initial top-up 10.00 USDT 10.00 USDT 10.00 USDT
Monthly fee None None None
Top-up fee 3.0% 3.5% 3.5%
Authorisation fee 0.50 USD 0.50 USD 0.10 USD under 1 USD, free above 1 USD
Apple Pay commission — 0.20% —
3DS fee — — 0.03 USD
High-decline penalty (if declines exceed 10%) — — 0.80 USD
FX fee Not stated Not stated Not stated
ATM fee Not stated Not stated Not stated
Monthly limit 1,000,000.00 USD 500,000.00 USD No limit stated
Per-transaction limit 80,000.00 USD 500,000.00 USD 20,000.00 USD
Daily limit 1,000,000.00 USD 500,000.00 USD No limit stated

A few things are worth walking through, because the table hides how the cost actually lands on a normal month’s spending.

The 0.50 USD authorisation fee is also worth pausing on, because it applies per transaction on Universe and Business. Ten small transactions in a month cost 5 USD in authorisation alone, on top of the top-up fee and the FX margin the page does not publish. The cost line is not “issuance plus top-up fee” — it is “issuance plus top-up fee plus per-transaction fee plus FX plus, sometimes, ATM”.

Top up

The page says the starting top-up is in USDT, and that is the only funding method the public page names. Other coins and networks are mentioned in third-party write-ups — USDT, USDC, ETH, BTC through the dashboard — but the card’s own page does not confirm networks, so a USDC transfer sent on a network the card does not support is a deposit you may not be able to recover.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up TapX starts with a transfer to the right network

The top-up fee is the same 3.0% (Universe) or 3.5% (Business, E-commerce) as in the costs section, and the minimum is the 10.00 USDT initial top-up. The card’s page does not say who pays the on-chain network fee (the gas paid to the blockchain itself, not the card provider), nor whether you can top up in fiat from a bank account, so on the official page the only route is a USDT transfer of at least 10 USDT plus the 3.0–3.5% fee.

A few practical notes, because this is the step where most cards lose money:

Paying with it every day

For daily use, the picture is narrower than a regular bank card but workable for the use case the page is built around.

A few mechanics are worth knowing about how cards like this behave at the till, because they decide whether a payment goes through or not:

The everyday picture, then, is: virtual only, mobile wallet works on the two more expensive tiers, and the merchant list is online services rather than retail. For that narrow use, it does the job; outside it, the page does not promise anything.

What can go wrong

This is the section where the absence of a published company name stops being a curiosity and starts being a risk.

The shape of the risk is not exotic: it is the standard risk of an unverified prepaid card programme. The unusual thing is how much of the standard reassurance is missing from the public page.

What to take instead

None of the alternatives in this set fully solves the “I cannot get a bank card” problem, but each one makes a different trade-off and is worth a look.

Cardex TakeCard OkiCard
Score 5.6 / 10 5.5 / 10 6.0 / 10
Reach “200+ countries” Virtual global; physical in Bolivia “150–200+ countries”
Card form Virtual and physical Virtual; physical Bolivia Virtual; physical mentioned
Issuance Not stated USD 5 virtual; USD 20 + USD 20 shipping physical (one source says USD 10) $0 (starting price $15)
Top-up fee Not stated 1% per purchase 3%
Funding coins USDT, USDC, BTC From Takenos balance, coins not named USDT (BSC, ETH, TRON, SOL), USDC “soon”

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend TapX to a specific person, and only to that person: someone who already has a USDT balance they want to spend on a short list of online services — the OpenAI-, Microsoft-, AWS-shaped list the E-commerce tier is built for — and who is comfortable with a virtual-only product whose public page does not name the company behind it. For that person, the cheapest tier (30 USDT, 3.5% top-up, no monthly fee) is a quick experiment, and the 0.10 USD authorisation fee under 1 USD is honest about the small-ticket math. The high-decline penalty on the E-commerce tier means the card is for a stable, predictable merchant list, not for trying fifteen different services in a week.

I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a physical card, an ATM, a known EU- or UK-licensed issuer, multi-currency accounting, a published FX margin, a chargeback process or a complaint channel beyond a Telegram bot. The “works globally” line is doing too much work in the marketing, and the absence of a published issuer is the kind of detail that only matters when something goes wrong.

If you are choosing between TapX, Cardex, TakeCard and OkiCard, the order of investigation is: OkiCard first (the most transparent on cost and the one with the cleanest load-fee line), then TakeCard (if you are in Bolivia for the physical, or anywhere in the listed countries for the virtual USD Visa), then Cardex (if you want the multi-network claim and are willing to take the conversion claim at face value), and TapX last, as a small, cheap tier to test the experience on a tight online-services budget.

Frequently asked questions

What is TapX card?

TapX is a virtual-only card programme sold in three tiers — Visa Universe, Mastercard Business and Visa E-commerce — funded with USDT and spent online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. The card’s own page describes it as “crypto-friendly” and “works globally”, with no company or issuer named publicly.

How does TapX card work?

You pick a tier, pass the verification for that tier, pay the card price plus a 10 USDT initial top-up, and the card details are issued within two minutes for Universe and Business. You then load USDT, pay a 3.0–3.5% top-up fee, and the card spends the resulting dollar balance online or via a mobile wallet.

Is TapX a bank?

The public page does not say. There is no registered company, no banking partner, no e-money licence and no regulator named on the card’s pages, so the safest answer is that the page does not give you the information you would need to call it a bank.

Who owns TapX?

The page shows only “© Copyright TapxCard, 2026”. No parent company, no registration number, no issuer and no regulator are named. Third-party summaries note the domain is recently registered with hidden WHOIS, which is consistent with an early-stage product rather than an established issuer.

Is TapX card available in my country?

The card’s page says “works globally” and does not list supported or excluded countries. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are usually applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of address, so the only safe assumption is that eligibility is decided case by case at verification.

How to get TapX card?

Pick a card on the page, complete the verification for that tier (phone number, international passport and/or face photo, depending on the tier), pay the card price plus 10 USDT initial top-up, and the card is issued. There is no physical card and no shipping step.

Does TapX card require KYC?

Yes, and the level depends on the tier. Visa Universe requires a phone number, international passport and face photo; Mastercard Business requires phone number and international passport; Visa E-commerce requires only a phone number. The card’s page does not state a minimum age or whether proof of address is required.

How to top up TapX card?

The card’s page names USDT as the starting top-up, with a 3.0–3.5% fee. Third-party summaries mention USDT, USDC, ETH and BTC through the dashboard, but the card’s own page does not confirm networks, so a USDC transfer on a network the card does not support is a deposit that can be lost.

How to add TapX card to Apple Wallet?

Universe and Business work with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the page says every card is “ready for Apple Pay & Google Pay”. E-commerce is positioned for online services, so the Apple Pay and Google Pay add step is most relevant to the Universe and Business tiers, where the public page confirms the integration.

Is TapX card safe?

The page does not give you the tools to judge in the way a regulated issuer would. There is no published company, no licence, no regulator, no segregated-client-funds statement, and the page’s only support channels are a Telegram bot, Instagram, X and Facebook. Treat the public page as the entire safety disclosure, and decide accordingly.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team