What the ARQ card actually offers in daily use — and where it falls short
The ARQ card is a Mastercard built on a digital-dollar balance held inside the ARQ app. It is the renamed product of what used to be DolarApp, and it is aimed squarely at people in Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil who want to spend a stablecoin balance at a shop or online as if it were an ordinary debit card. The premise is straightforward: load your account, get a free virtual card or order a physical one, and pay anywhere Mastercard is taken. The reality, once you look past the marketing, is narrower than that, and a lot of the answers a normal cardholder expects — what the FX spread is, which crypto networks you can deposit on, what licence backs the card — are simply not stated in the public material.

This review walks through what the card does, what it costs in everyday situations, how you actually get one, and where the gaps are. The conditions below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.4 out of 10
ARQ scores 5.4 out of 10 in this review. That is an honest middle-of-the-pack result for a card that does one thing well — spending a USDc balance at the till — but says very little about the rest of the picture. The everyday mechanics are smooth: virtual and physical Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access in most markets, no monthly or annual fee. The downsides are access, transparency and trust. The card is only issued to residents of four Latin American countries, the specific coins and networks you can deposit with are not published, and the licences behind the issuer are not named.

Score breakdown
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Limited to residents of Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil; physical card only ships to addresses in those countries |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual card free; physical card costs $4.99 USD to ship, no maintenance or annual fees; ATM fee 1%; separate FX fee not disclosed but the page says “no hidden fees” |
| Top-up options | 3 / 10 | Cards cannot be loaded directly; funds are routed to the ARQ account via bank details and back the card; coins and networks not stated |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Former DolarApp, services run through DolarApp México and DAPP Colombia, licences not named; Trustpilot score for ARQ Finance 3.9/5 from 6 reviews, DolarApp 2.0/5 from 128 reviews, recurring reports of account freezes and slow support |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Mastercard, Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM access worldwide except for cards issued in Argentina |
The card suits residents of Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil who already hold digital dollars and want a simple way to spend a USDc balance at a shop or online, with mobile wallet support and a low fixed shipping fee. It does not suit anyone outside those four countries, anyone who needs a card backed by a named and disclosed regulatory licence, or anyone who wants to fund the card directly from a crypto wallet on a network of their choosing.
Will they give you the card
ARQ is geographically narrow. The country selector inside the app currently lists Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil, and the physical card can be sent only to a valid address in one of those four countries. There is no mention of EEA, UK, US or Asia-Pacific availability, and the product pages do not offer a waitlist or signup for other regions. If you live somewhere else, the card simply is not on offer.
Eligibility inside those four countries is also not fully spelled out. The app requires identity verification before you can create a card, and it is explicit that a card cannot be created while verification is pending or incomplete. The exact documents, the proof of address, the minimum age and the verification tiers are not stated on the public card pages. What is stated is that the app may temporarily block card creation while it reviews the account, and that rejection reasons are also not published. In practice this means that meeting the country rule is necessary but may not be sufficient.
This matters more for a crypto card than for an ordinary bank product, because the underlying balance is held in USDc inside the ARQ account and acts as collateral. The card is described as a “secured credit card backed by the balance in your ARQ account”, which is the same as a prepaid-style debit card in everyday use, but the framing is unusually cautious. The cardholder is treated as someone whose account needs to be reviewed before spending can begin, and the threshold for that review is not visible to the customer in advance.
For most readers the practical question is: if I am a resident of one of those four countries, can I get a card? The honest answer is that the public material confirms you can apply, but does not tell you the conditions under which the application will succeed. That uncertainty is part of why the “who can get it” score is the lowest in the table.
How to get it
The signup path is short. You download the ARQ app, log in, open the card banner from the home screen and request either the free virtual card or the physical card. The virtual card is free and arrives in the app within moments; the physical card is paid for at order and arrives at your door.
Identity verification is the gate. The card cannot be created while identity verification is pending or incomplete, and the steps in the app are not detailed publicly. The official pages do not list the documents, do not name a minimum age and do not describe any tiered verification (basic versus enhanced). What they say is that account review can temporarily block card creation, and that the reason for a rejection is not stated. This is normal for fintech apps — onboarding flows tend to be inside the app rather than on the marketing site — but it is also why it is hard to give a definitive checklist here. If the app does not let you create a card, the most common reason is that the verification step has not finished or has failed.
The physical card, once ordered, is shipped to Argentina, Colombia, Mexico or Brazil only, with delivery in 2 to 15 business days (another official article gives 7-10 business days). Shipping costs $4.99 USD, and a replacement card is not priced on the public pages. The first physical card is free if you hold over $100 USD in the Main Balance or if you are a Premium user; otherwise the $4.99 USD shipping applies.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline numbers are friendly. The virtual card is free, the physical card has a one-off shipping fee with no annual or maintenance charge, and the company states on its pages that the card has “no hidden fees”. That last line is marketing, not a fee table, and it is worth pulling apart.

The clearest costs are the ones the card company actually publishes. The virtual card is free. The physical card costs $4.99 USD to ship, with no maintenance or annual fees, and the first physical card is free if you hold over $100 USD in the Main Balance or if you are a Premium user. ATM withdrawals with the physical card cost 1% of the amount withdrawn, with up to 500 USDc per month of that fee waived for Premium users, and the ATM owner may charge extra on top. There is no separate FX fee or spread disclosed for the card itself; instead, a buy rate applies when you add money and a sell rate applies when you pay by card, both shown in the app before you confirm. Card-count limits are also published: up to 10 virtual cards per month, with no more than 3 active, and 30 in total.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Physical card shipping | $4.99 USD |
| First physical card free | If Main Balance > $100 USD or Premium user |
| Maintenance / annual fee | None stated |
| Conversion fee (card) | Not separately disclosed; buy/sell rate shown in app |
| FX fee | Not separately disclosed; sell rate applies when paying |
| ATM fee | 1% of amount (Premium: up to 500 USDc/month fee-free) |
| ATM owner surcharge | May apply |
| Spend limit | Equals the USDc balance in the account |
| Virtual card limit | Up to 10 per month, max 3 active, max 30 in total |
| ATM access (Argentina) | Not allowed at international ATMs |
The areas that are not in the table are the ones to watch. The first is the spread on conversion. The card itself does not advertise a percentage, but the app uses a buy rate when you add money and a sell rate when you pay. The difference between those two rates is, in effect, the cost of using the card with a non-USDc balance or for non-USD payments, and the size of that spread is not stated publicly. If you are paid in a local currency and then pay in that same currency, you are exposed to the rate twice. The second is the separate ATM limit article for Colombia accounts: a dedicated page exists for Colombia, and the figures on it were not read for this review, which means the ATM limit story in Colombia may be more restrictive than the 1% headline suggests. The third is the unknown Premium price: the card pages describe the tier’s benefits (free first physical card, 500 USDc/month of ATM withdrawals fee-free) but do not publish a price for the upgrade.
Three everyday payments and the fees that apply
A supermarket in Mexico, paid in pesos from a USDc balance. You add pesos to the ARQ account, the app converts them to USDc at the buy rate, and the card pays the merchant in pesos at the sell rate. The card itself does not add a separate conversion fee, but the gap between the buy and sell rates is the effective cost, and it is shown in the app before you confirm both legs of the transaction.
A subscription in US dollars, paid from a USDc balance. There is no conversion at the point of payment because the card balance is already in USDc. The cost here is whatever the merchant charges in foreign transaction terms, plus the standard interchange and network rules; the card page does not add a separate FX fee on top.
A cash withdrawal in Colombia at a local ATM. ARQ’s own commission is 1% of the amount, and the ATM owner may add its own surcharge. A Premium user gets up to 500 USDc per month free of the ARQ commission, so the effective ARQ cost on small withdrawals inside that monthly cap is zero, but the owner surcharge still applies. A separate ATM limit article exists for Colombia, and its figures were not read, so the monthly cap could be tighter than 500 USDc for Colombian accounts.
How to top it up
Top-up is the part of the product most people would expect to be simple, and it is the part of the product that says the least. The card cannot be loaded directly. There is no “add to card” button, no crypto address that funds the card, no network selector. Instead, the flow is: open the Add section in the app, copy the banking details (a local account number or equivalent), send money there, and the funds arrive in your ARQ account balance. The card then spends that account balance, which is held in USDc (a digital dollar) or EURc (a digital euro).
In other words, the card is the spending instrument, and the ARQ account is the funding source. The two are not the same thing, and you do not load a card the way you would top up a prepaid voucher. The fees and minimums for adding money to the account are not stated on the card pages, and the coins and networks you can use to deposit are also not stated. The closest the public material comes to a description is “deposit via bank details in app”, which is a local bank transfer in the local currency, not a stablecoin transfer.
For a person who holds USDT on Tron or USDC on Base, that is a meaningful gap. The card does not list supported coins, does not list supported networks, and does not publish on-chain deposit addresses. If you want to move crypto onto the card, you have to sell the crypto elsewhere, transfer the proceeds by local bank to the ARQ account, and let the app convert the proceeds into USDc. The convenience of a card that just sweeps stablecoins straight from a wallet is not what ARQ is offering here.
Withdrawing money works in the opposite direction. The card cannot send funds to other cards; money has to be moved from the ARQ account to a bank account. The fees and minimums for that withdrawal, and the balance you need to keep in the account when closing it, are also not stated.
Paying with it every day
The everyday mechanics are the strongest part of the product. The card is a Mastercard, so it works at any merchant that takes Mastercard, online and in physical stores. Both virtual and physical cards are available, and both can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay: the flow is Home > Add to Apple Wallet for Apple Pay, and the card overview confirms the virtual card works in Google Pay as well. ATM access is worldwide with the physical card, except for cards issued in Argentina, which are not allowed at international ATMs.
The card balance is held in USDc (a digital dollar), and incoming payments are converted to USDc or EURc. When you pay in a currency other than USDc, the sell rate is applied. The card behaves like a prepaid debit card: it cannot overdraw because the limit equals the balance, and a USDc balance of 100 means a spend limit of 100. That is a useful safety property, but it also means a held authorisation at a hotel or a car rental agency can lock up a portion of the balance for several days, and the release timeline is on the card network rather than on ARQ.
Cashback is the one obvious everyday feature that is missing. The official card pages do not describe a rewards programme (“no reward program is described”), and the sign-up form refers to reward details being sent by email. If you are choosing between cards for the points or the cashback, ARQ is not currently offering any on its public pages.
The app is rated 4.5 out of 5 on the App Store from 992 ratings, with iOS 17.0 or later required (read 2026-10-21). The official page also cites Google Play ratings of 4.7 and 4.5, although those figures are not dated. The ratings suggest the app is generally usable, but a high store rating is not the same as evidence about reliability at the moment something goes wrong.
For disputes, Mastercard’s chargeback process applies: ARQ says an investigation can take up to 120 days, opening a chargeback does not guarantee a refund, and the status is visible in the Help Center or in the app with a notification and an email. That is consistent with the network’s standard, and the 120-day upper bound is the figure to keep in mind if you have a problem with a purchase.
What can go wrong
The risks fall into three groups: the things the card tells you about itself, the things other cardholders have reported, and the things that are simply not said.
On the official side, ARQ is the renamed DolarApp, and the corporate details are split across entities. The copyright is held by DolarApp Inc.; in Colombia, virtual asset services are run by DolarApp México S.A. de C.V. and credit card services by DAPP Colombia S.A.S. (NIT 901644165-9); the Mexico help page lists credit card services as provided by Pier 5 S.A. de C.V. None of these pages name the licences that allow the company to issue cards or operate in virtual assets, and the safeguarding model for the USDc balance is also not stated. “Backed by the balance in your ARQ account” is the description, but it is not the same as a public statement about segregated client funds, deposit insurance or a custodian. The card does state standard safety features: 2FA for the app, instant freeze in the app, 3-D Secure, PIN viewing and the ability to block and unblock the card. Rebrand news from Brazilian press in 2025-2026 is the most recent corporate event, and no licence actions or fines were found in public sources.
On the reported side, the ARQ Finance Trustpilot page reads 3.9 out of 5 from 6 reviews (read 2026-10-21); the older DolarApp Trustpilot page reads 2.0 out of 5 from 128 reviews (undated). The most recent ARQ review on the page is a one-star report from 14 September 2026 describing an unrecognised charge on a virtual card and no support solution. Across the older DolarApp reviews and the App Store comments, the recurring themes (in user reports from 2025-2026) are accounts frozen or blocked with funds held, unauthorised charges, and slow or no response from support. These are user reports, not adjudicated findings, and a small review base (six reviews) means the average score should be read with that in mind.
On the unstated side, there are several things the card simply does not tell you, and each of them is a risk in its own right:
- The specific crypto coins and networks the account can be funded with are not published.
- The conversion spread between the buy rate (when you add money) and the sell rate (when you pay) is not published.
- The verification tiers and the documents required to pass them are not published.
- The licences that allow the issuer to issue cards and to handle digital assets are not published.
- The custody model and the safeguarding of the USDc/EURc balance are not published.
- The Colombia ATM limits are on a separate page whose figures were not read.
- Blocked merchant categories (gambling, adult content, crypto purchases) are not published.
- The replacement cost for a lost or stolen physical card is not published.
- The Premium tier price is not published.
- The closing-balance requirement for an account closure is not published.
Support is 24/7 in-app chat; complaints go to [email protected]; the Help Center is available in Spanish, English and Portuguese. The multi-language help is genuinely useful, but “24/7” is a coverage claim, not a response-time guarantee, and the user reports describe slow responses in practice.
What to take instead
ARQ is one option in a small but growing set of crypto-linked cards. Three alternatives are worth comparing against, each with a different mix of access, cost and rewards. None of them is a perfect substitute: ARQ’s narrow four-country list is unusual, and the alternatives here have their own geographic limits.
| Card | Score | Best for | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| ARQ | 5.4 / 10 | Residents of Mexico, Argentina, Colombia or Brazil with a USDc balance to spend | Limited geography, undisclosed FX spread, unnamed licences |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Consumers in 31 US states and businesses in 41 US states, with 5% cashback at selected merchants | No conversion or FX fee published, US-only, cashback is at a small merchant set |
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Users who can deposit crypto into an in-app custodial wallet and want both virtual and physical Visa | Countries not stated, fees not officially published, sanctions and US/EEA routing restrictions apply |
| UniFi Card | 4.7 / 10 | Users in the US who want a prepaid Visa issued by Lead Bank, with USDC funding and 3% rewards on balances | Fees not stated, geographic availability not confirmed from official pages, app store routes concentrate on the Philippines, Mexico, eurozone and Colombia/Brazil/UK |
Whop Cards is a Visa programme aimed at US consumers (31 states) and businesses (41 states), with 5% cashback at selected merchants (Uber is the named one, with more planned). It draws on a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. The country list is the opposite of ARQ’s: useful inside the United States, unusable almost everywhere else, and explicitly barred for residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam on the consumer side. The card page says “no extra fees” but does not publish conversion or FX percentages, so the cost side of the comparison is also partial.
Stella is a Visa programme that offers both virtual and physical cards at over 40 million Visa merchants. You deposit crypto into the in-app wallet and the card is topped up automatically, which is closer to the experience many readers expect from a “crypto card”. The company is less forthcoming: the official site does not state supported countries, and the published fees are described only as “under this User Agreement and/or on the App”. The terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates, which is a meaningful operational caveat. There is no cashback on the card itself; the yield product is separate. The score of 6.5 reflects the smoother top-up flow and the Visa network, weighed against the lack of public cost detail.
UniFi Card is a prepaid Visa debit card issued by Lead Bank and added to Apple Pay through the app. It spends from a USD balance and is funded by ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), with the option to get paid to a USDC wallet. The listing claims 3% rewards on balances, although card cashback is not separately stated. The card fees are not stated (“Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details”), and the geographic availability is not confirmed from official pages: the App Store routes concentrate on the Philippines (PHP), Mexico (MXN), eurozone (EUR), with recent release notes mentioning Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK (GBP). The score of 4.7 reflects the named issuing bank and the receipt of USDC, balanced against the thin published information on cost and availability.
The honest comparison is that ARQ, Whop, Stella and UniFi all share one weakness: each is short on full disclosure. ARQ does not publish coins, networks, FX spreads or licences. Whop does not publish conversion fees. Stella does not publish fees or supported countries. UniFi does not publish fees or confirm availability. If full disclosure is what matters, none of these four is where you find it; the question is which set of gaps you are willing to live with for the access and the network you need.
Who I would recommend it to
The card is a reasonable fit for a narrow profile. If you are a resident of Mexico, Argentina, Colombia or Brazil, if you already hold a USDc balance and want to spend it at a shop or online with a Mastercard, if you are happy with Apple Pay or Google Pay for mobile payments, and if you do not need to fund the card directly from a self-custody wallet on a chain of your choosing, then ARQ is a low-friction way to do that. The $4.99 USD shipping fee is modest, the lack of monthly or annual fees is genuine, and the 1% ATM fee is competitive.
Outside that profile, the case is weaker. If you live in a fifth country, you cannot get a card. If you want to fund it from a self-custody wallet on Tron, Base or Ethereum, the public material does not tell you the networks and coins the account accepts, and the documented path is a local bank transfer. If you care about the licence behind the card, the issuer entity and the regulator are not named in a way you can verify on the card pages. If you have been burned by an account freeze in the past, the user reports on the DolarApp Trustpilot page (2.0 out of 5 from 128 reviews) describe exactly that experience, and the newer ARQ reviews, while few, echo the same concerns. If you want a card with a published cashback programme, ARQ is not currently offering one.
The score of 5.4 out of 10 is the honest reading. The card is competent at the single thing it sets out to do — spending a USDc balance through Mastercard — and that single thing is enough for some users. It is not, on the public evidence, a card for someone who needs a fully disclosed, fully licensed, multi-network, multi-coin product, and the gaps in disclosure are the main reason the score is not higher.
Frequently asked questions
What is the ARQ card?
The ARQ card is a Mastercard issued through the ARQ app (formerly DolarApp). It comes as a free virtual card or a paid physical card, and it spends from a USDc digital-dollar balance held in your ARQ account. The card is marketed at residents of Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil who want to use a stablecoin balance at a shop or online.
How does the ARQ card work?
You add money to your ARQ account in the app, the balance is held in USDc (or EURc), and the card draws on that balance when you pay. The card cannot be loaded directly; the app’s Add section is the funding point, and a bank transfer is the documented route. The card behaves like a prepaid debit card: it cannot spend more than the balance, and the spend limit equals the USDc in the account.
Is ARQ a bank?
ARQ is not described as a bank. The app is operated by DolarApp Inc., with virtual asset services in Colombia run by DolarApp México S.A. de C.V. and card services by DAPP Colombia S.A.S. (NIT 901644165-9). The Mexico help page names Pier 5 S.A. de C.V. as the credit card services provider. The specific licences that allow the company to issue cards and to handle digital assets are not stated on the public card pages.
Who owns ARQ?
ARQ is the rebranded version of DolarApp. The copyright is held by DolarApp Inc., and the operational entities are split across Mexico and Colombia in the entity disclosures. Brazilian press reported the rebrand during 2025-2026. The ownership structure beyond the named entities is not stated on the public card pages.
Is the ARQ card available in my country?
The country selector inside the app lists Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil, and the physical card is only shipped to addresses in those four countries. Availability in any other country is not stated, and there is no public waitlist for additional regions. If you are not a resident of one of those four, the card is not currently offered.
How do I apply for an ARQ card?
You download the app, log in, open the card banner on the home screen, complete identity verification in the app and then request the free virtual card or order the physical one. The card cannot be created while identity verification is pending or incomplete. The exact documents required and the verification tiers are not stated on the public card pages.
Does the ARQ card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification is mandatory in the app, and a card cannot be created until verification is complete. The app does not publish the list of accepted documents, the minimum age, or the reasons an application might be rejected. Account review can also temporarily block card creation even after the initial verification has been completed.
How do I add the ARQ card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The virtual card can be added to Apple Pay through the Home > Add to Apple Wallet flow in the app, and to Google Pay per the card overview. The physical card can be added to mobile wallets the same way. Adding the card to a wallet tokenises the number, so the actual card number is not stored on Apple or Google’s servers.
How do I top up the ARQ card?
You do not top up the card directly. You open the Add section in the app, copy the banking details, send money to your ARQ account by bank transfer, and the account balance (in USDc or EURc) backs the card. The supported coins, the supported networks, the deposit fees and the minimum amounts are not stated on the public card pages.
Is the ARQ card safe?
The card includes standard safety features: 2FA for the app, instant freeze in the app, 3-D Secure for online payments, PIN viewing and the ability to block and unblock the card. Mastercard’s chargeback process applies, with investigations taking up to 120 days and no guarantee of a refund. The custody model and the safeguarding of the USDc balance are not stated publicly, and user reports on the DolarApp Trustpilot page describe frozen accounts and slow support. Treat the published safety features as one input, not the whole picture, and start with a small balance while you test how support responds.
App and neobank cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
