Bolt card review

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Bolt is one of the more cautious entries in the crypto card market. The company is best known for its checkout and payments infrastructure for online merchants, and the Bolt card is its consumer-facing debit product, built on top of an in-app “Bolt Account.” On the plus side, the company states plainly that there are no annual or other fees attached to the card, and a virtual card is available within minutes once you make a small first deposit. On the minus side, the public help pages leave large parts of the product unexplained. The card network, the conversion fee on crypto spending, the supported coins and networks, the ATM terms, the issuing bank and even the list of supported countries are all things Bolt does not state outright. This review walks through what is known, what is not, and what that means if you are considering the card.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Bolt works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.8 out of 10

My score for the Bolt card is 4.8 out of 10. That is a middling mark, dragged down less by anything actively wrong with the product and more by the volume of things the company has not told the public. The card is cheap to hold, easy to start with, and the company has a track record in payments that gives it a baseline of credibility. But for a reader outside the United States there is no clear answer about whether the card is even available, and for everyone there are basic questions — what network is it on, what does the conversion cost, can I use it in a wallet, who is the bank behind it — that the help pages simply do not address.

The card fits a fairly narrow reader: a US resident who wants a simple fee-free debit card tied to an in-app balance, and who is comfortable funding that balance in a way Bolt has not fully explained. It does not fit a reader who needs a globally available crypto card, who wants cashback or staking rewards, who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay, or who needs an ATM with clear terms.

Here is how the score breaks down across the criteria I weighed.

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 2/10 Starting data points to the United States only; the supported country list is not published.
Cost 8/10 The card itself is stated to carry no annual or other fees; conversion and FX costs are not disclosed.
Top-up options 3/10 Deposits are made from the app, but the coins and networks are not named; crypto via Zero Hash is in third-party data only.
Reliability and complaints 6/10 Bolt Financial, Inc. is a known payments company, but the issuing bank is not named and no card-specific complaints are public.
Everyday use 4/10 Virtual card is instant after a small deposit; physical card takes around 10 business days; Apple Wallet is not yet supported.
Total 4.8/10 —

Who will they give you the card

Bolt’s help pages are clear about one thing: you need to complete identity verification in the app before you can request a card. The pages do not, however, publish a list of supported states or countries. The starting data I worked from places the card in the United States, and the help pages assume US-style identity checks (name, address, date of birth, identification number), but Bolt does not say outright who is eligible.

If you are outside the US, there is no published answer to the question. The card is not advertised as a global product, there is no “available countries” page, and the help articles I read were written for a US context. The right move before signing up is to install the app, attempt the identity verification step, and see whether your country is accepted — but you should not assume you can finish the flow before you have tried.

The identity check itself is a single step in the app. Bolt does not state on the help pages which documents it asks for, what counts as proof of address, what the minimum age is, or whether there are different tiers of verification for higher limits. If you need any of that to make a decision, you will have to discover it inside the app.

One practical point: identity verification happens before you can request the card. You will not see the card-order screen until that step is complete. If you fail verification, you will not be able to test the rest of the flow.

How to get it

Getting the Bolt card is a three-step process in the app.

  1. Verify your identity. This is the gating step. The app walks you through the check, and only after it clears can you request a card. Bolt does not state which documents it asks for on the help pages, so you will need to find that out in the flow itself.
  2. Make an initial deposit of at least $5. The virtual card is issued instantly once this deposit lands in your Bolt Account. The $5 minimum is the only published threshold; Bolt does not state whether subsequent top-ups have a minimum.
  3. Request the card. Once the deposit clears, you can ask for the virtual card in the app. A physical card is a separate request, on a separate page. Bolt says the physical card arrives in “around 10 business days.” The company does not state how much the physical card costs, whether there is a replacement fee, or which countries it is shipped to.

A few things Bolt does not say about the card itself: the network (Visa, Mastercard or something else), the currency the card is denominated in, and whether the physical and virtual cards share the same balance and limits. The virtual card arriving instantly is genuinely useful if you want to start spending in minutes, but the lack of basic facts about the underlying product is a recurring theme.

Fees: what it really costs

The good news is on the surface: Bolt says, in plain language, that “there are no annual or other fees associated with the Bolt Card.” That covers the card itself — there is nothing to pay for holding it, no monthly maintenance charge, no annual renewal. It is one of the cleanest fee statements in the category.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bolt payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Below that line, the picture is much less complete. Bolt does not state the conversion fee applied when you spend from a crypto balance, the foreign-exchange fee for non-USD purchases, the ATM fee or the ATM withdrawal limit, the inactivity fee, or the cost of replacing a lost or stolen physical card. These are not small details; for a card that is, on paper, “free,” the actual cost of using it depends almost entirely on fees the company has not disclosed.

Here is what the public pages do and do not say.

Fee or limit What Bolt states
Card issuance Not stated (virtual instant after $5 deposit; physical around 10 business days)
Monthly / annual fee None
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
Foreign-exchange (FX) fee Not stated
ATM fee and limit Not stated (a PIN can be set)
Daily and monthly spend limits “Set to default by Bolt”; figures shown only in the app under Bank/Cards > Limits
Tiered plans Not stated
Card currency Not stated

To make this concrete, walk through three everyday payments and see which fees Bolt has explained.

The limits Bolt does mention deserve a note. The company says all limits are “set to default by Bolt,” and the actual numbers live only in the app, under Bank/Cards > Limits. That is not the same as publishing them, and it means you cannot compare the card’s limits to other cards without installing Bolt and verifying first.

Top up: how to load the card

Funding the Bolt card starts in the Bolt SuperApp. You deposit to your Bolt Account, and the card draws on that account. The help pages describe the deposit step but stop short of saying which coins or which networks are accepted. The starting data I worked from says crypto flows through Zero Hash, but I did not find a Bolt help page that confirms that, and Bolt has not, to my reading, named the supported assets on its consumer pages.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bolt starts with a transfer to the right network

For a product in the crypto card category, this is a meaningful gap. Most readers who search for a crypto card want to know which coins they can load, on which network, with what minimum, and how long the deposit takes. Bolt’s help pages answer the where (in the app, into the Bolt Account) but not the what (which coins, which networks), the how long, or the cost.

What Bolt does say is more limited: the minimum initial deposit is $5, and the deposit is made from the app. After that, you can also withdraw from the Bolt Account in the app, via Bank/Cards > Bolt Card > Bolt Account > Withdraw, but the help pages do not state the fee, the time, or how much of the balance you need to leave in the account to keep it open. If you intend to close the account, the safer reading is to withdraw the full balance and assume there may be a small residual that gets eaten by fees, rather than expecting a precise final figure.

If you are coming from another crypto card where you are used to seeing a clear “deposit USDC on Base” or “send USDT on Polygon” button, the Bolt app will feel under-explained by comparison. That is not necessarily a deal-breaker — many apps surface more detail after verification than on the marketing site — but it is something to keep in mind.

Paying with it every day

For day-to-day spending, the Bolt card does a few things well and a few things not at all.

The virtual card is the strongest part of the everyday experience. Once your initial $5 deposit has cleared, the card is available immediately, with a number you can use online. For someone who needs a card to set up subscriptions or pay an online invoice without waiting for a plastic card in the mail, that is a real benefit.

The physical card is the opposite end of the spectrum. Bolt says it takes “around 10 business days” to arrive, and the help pages do not say what it costs, where it is shipped, or what happens if it gets lost in transit. For a card positioned as a primary debit product, that is a long wait and a thin page of information.

Wallet support is the clearest miss. The help pages say adding the card to Apple Wallet is “not supported yet” and “will be available soon.” Google Pay is not mentioned at all. For a reader who expects to tap their phone at the till, that is a significant gap. Plastic is fine, but it is also what every other card does.

There is no cashback or rewards program described on the help pages, though the disclosures reference “Bolt Account Reward Program Terms.” The rate, the eligible spend, and the payout currency are not stated. If rewards are a deciding factor for you, the card does not give you enough information to decide either way.

Finally, the dispute process is not described on the help pages I read. There is no stated timeline for raising a chargeback, no stated list of reason codes, and no reference to a chargeback policy. That matters because in the broader category, dispute handling is one of the biggest differences between cards, and it is also where readers are most often caught out.

What can go wrong

The risks for a Bolt card user fall into three buckets: what the help pages do not say, what the underlying crypto card category carries, and what the company behind the product does and does not tell you.

What the help pages leave out. The single biggest risk is making a decision without the data. If you top up the card and the conversion fee turns out to be unexpectedly high, or the ATM fee turns out to be prohibitive, or your state is not in the supported list, you will only find out after you have already moved money in. For a fee-free card that may well be fine, but it is not fine to assume rather than to verify. The check you should run first is the limits page inside the app, after verification, so you know the daily and monthly caps before you commit to a recurring payment.

What the category carries. Crypto cards in general sit on top of a custodial balance, which means the card provider holds the funds in between your deposit and your spend. If the company has a financial event — insolvency, a banking relationship ending, a regulator forcing a wind-down — your balance is at risk along with everyone else’s. The category has seen this happen. In 2018, WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe and every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme was closed. In November 2022, Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. None of this means it will happen to Bolt, but it is the shape of the risk you take when the funds are not in your own wallet.

What the company does and does not say. Bolt Financial, Inc. is a known payments company with a checkout product used by online merchants, which gives it a baseline of credibility. The help pages reference a “Consumer Checking Account Agreement,” which suggests the Bolt Account is structured like a US checking account, but the issuing bank is not named. That is unusual. Most card products in this category make the issuing bank easy to find, partly because regulators require it. The fact that Bolt does not name the bank on the pages I read is a question worth raising in the app’s chat support before you load a meaningful balance.

The security controls you do get are reasonable: temporary block, unblock, permanent block, and PIN set in the app. There is no statement about how customer funds are safeguarded, whether they are held in segregated accounts, or what insurance covers them. If safeguarding matters to you, this is another item for the questions list.

For support, Bolt points to boltapp.com, help.boltapp.com, and a Discord chat. The company does not state support hours or supported languages. There is no Trustpilot page for the Bolt card that I could find, and no public card-specific complaints. That is reassuring in a narrow sense — there is no obvious scandal — but it also means there is not much public feedback to learn from.

One last thing to flag. The domain used to be bolt.com; help.bolt.com now redirects with a 308 to help.boltapp.com. Bolt does not state when the move happened. If you have older emails from Bolt, the links inside them may need updating.

What to take instead

If the Bolt card’s gaps — country list, conversion fee, FX fee, ATM terms, wallet support — make it the wrong product for you, three alternatives in the same general category are worth a look. None of them is a perfect Bolt replacement, and each has its own trade-offs.

Card Score Where it is available Card network Funding Standout feature
Whop Cards 5.2/10 Consumers in 31 US states; businesses in 41 US states Visa Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber, more planned)
Stella 6.5/10 Countries not stated; users under sanctions barred; US/Europe routed through affiliates Visa (virtual and physical) Deposit crypto into the in-app wallet; card tops up automatically Works at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally”
UniFi Card 4.7/10 Availability not confirmed; app routes to the Philippines, Mexico, eurozone, Colombia, Brazil, UK Visa, issued by Lead Bank ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN), SPEI (CLABE), or USDC wallet “3% rewards on balances” claimed in the listing

Whop Cards are closer to a US debit product, available to consumers in 31 US states and to businesses in 41, with a published unsupported-country list (Belarus, Mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, plus Russia and Belarus for corporate). The card is Visa, and the company states there are “no extra fees,” though the conversion and FX numbers are not published either. The interesting feature is a 5% cashback at select merchants — currently Uber — with more merchants planned. If you are in one of the 31 consumer states and you spend on Uber, Whop is worth comparing directly against Bolt.

Stella offers both a virtual and a physical Visa card, and the official site says the card works at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally.” The funding model is straightforward: you deposit crypto into the in-app wallet and the card tops up automatically. The country list is not published, US and European users are routed through affiliates, and users under sanctions programmes are barred. There is no cashback on the card page; the Stella Earn product is a separate yield feature. Stella is the highest-scoring of the three alternatives and is the most natural swap if you want a Visa-branded crypto card and you can live without stated conversion fees.

UniFi Card is a prepaid Visa debit card issued by Lead Bank, with the issuing bank actually named. The funding side is the unusual part: you can fund via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), or by receiving USDC to a wallet. Send-money routes in the app cover the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone, Colombia, Brazil and the UK. The listing claims “3% rewards on balances,” but the card cashback rate is not stated, and the fees are not stated beyond “fees may apply.” If cross-border funding and a named issuer are priorities, UniFi is the most explicit of the three on those points.

For a reader outside the United States, none of the three is a clean answer — all three either limit availability to US states, route users through affiliates, or do not publish country lists. The honest summary is that the crypto card market is still patchy on geographic coverage, and Bolt’s silence on the topic is part of a wider pattern rather than an outlier.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Bolt card to a US resident who wants a simple, fee-free debit card tied to an in-app account, who is comfortable with the limits of what the help pages explain, and who plans to spend mostly in US dollars inside the United States. The $5 minimum initial deposit, the instant virtual card, and the “no annual or other fees” statement make it a low-friction entry point, and the parent company’s track record in payments gives it a baseline of trust.

I would not recommend it to a reader who is outside the United States, because there is no published country list; to a reader who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay, because Apple Wallet is not yet supported and Google Pay is not mentioned; to a reader who relies on cash withdrawals, because the ATM terms are not published; to a reader who needs a rewards program with stated rates, because the card’s reward rate is not disclosed; and to a reader who needs the issuing bank’s name on the public page, because Bolt does not name it.

For the readers in between — people who could fit the card but want to be sure — the test is small. Verify your identity in the app, make the $5 minimum deposit, look at the limits page under Bank/Cards > Limits, set a PIN, request the virtual card, and run a $5 transaction before you load a meaningful balance. If the card behaves as Bolt says it does, you have a cheap way to spend from an in-app account. If it does not, you have only risked the minimum deposit.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bolt card?

The Bolt card is a debit card built on top of the Bolt Account, an in-app balance maintained by Bolt Financial, Inc. It comes as a virtual card issued instantly after a $5 minimum deposit, and as a physical card that Bolt says takes around 10 business days to arrive.

Is Bolt a bank?

Bolt’s help pages reference a “Consumer Checking Account Agreement,” which suggests the Bolt Account is structured like a US checking account, but the help pages do not name the issuing bank. Without that name, you cannot independently verify the bank licence that backs the card.

How does the Bolt card work?

You deposit money into your Bolt Account from the app, and the card draws on that account when you spend. The help pages do not state which coins or networks are accepted, so the funding side is less transparent than for most crypto cards.

Is the Bolt card available in my country?

The help pages do not publish a country list. The starting data places the card in the United States. Outside the US, the only way to find out is to install the app and try the identity verification step.

Does the Bolt card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification is the first step in the app, and you cannot request a card until it is complete. The help pages do not state which documents are required, the minimum age, or whether there are different verification tiers for higher limits.

Is the Bolt card free?

Bolt says there are “no annual or other fees” on the card itself. The card’s conversion fee, FX fee, ATM fee, inactivity fee and replacement fee are not stated on the public pages, so the total cost depends on fees the company has not disclosed.

How do I add the Bolt card to Apple Wallet?

You cannot, at the time of writing. The help pages say Apple Wallet support is “not supported yet” and “will be available soon.” Google Pay is not mentioned at all on the pages I read.

How do I top up the Bolt card?

You deposit to the Bolt Account from the app. The minimum initial deposit is $5. The help pages do not list the accepted coins or networks, and do not state the time the deposit takes or the fees on the deposit step.

Is the Bolt card safe?

Bolt is published by Bolt Financial, Inc., a known payments company, and the in-app security controls include temporary block, unblock, permanent block, and PIN set. The help pages do not state how customer funds are safeguarded or whether they are held in segregated accounts, and the issuing bank is not named.

Is the Bolt card worth it?

For a US reader who wants a fee-free debit card tied to an in-app balance, it is a low-friction option. For a reader outside the US, or for anyone who needs Apple Pay, ATM clarity, stated conversion fees, or a named issuing bank, the gaps in the public information make it harder to recommend.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team