A cheap Visa in Argentina with Bitcoin cashback, and a lot of unanswered questions
Lemon is a crypto-linked Visa you load from a digital wallet and then spend like an ordinary payment card. The pitch is straightforward: no shipping fee, no maintenance fee, cashback in Bitcoin of up to 2% per purchase, and a virtual card you can create in seconds to start spending before the plastic arrives. The catch is that almost everything you would want to check before opening an account is either thin or missing. The public pages name one country. The card currency is not stated. The identity-check process is not described. The list of supported coins and networks stops at one. And the company behind it is not a bank, which matters more than it sounds.

I scored it 4.7 out of 10. That is not a verdict on whether Lemon works for the people it was built for — it probably does, and the fee structure is genuinely attractive. It is a verdict on how much of a purchase decision the card’s own public information lets you make.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Official pages name Argentina only, plus QR payments in Argentina and Brazil; unofficial: a waitlist in Colombia |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No shipping or maintenance fee; unofficial: 0.5% commission on auto-selling crypto at the till, not re-checked |
| Top-up options | 3 / 10 | Bitcoin named, cashback paid in Bitcoin, credit card backed by Bitcoin; other coins and networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Bay Treasure Caramel S.A., VASP No. 162 in Argentina’s CNV registry, issuing bank not named; Trustpilot 2.5 out of 5 |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual and delivered Visa, cash at participating merchants, limits and card pause; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed |
| Total | 4.7 / 10 | A cheap card in a narrow lane, with the documentation to match |
So who does that combination suit? In plain terms: Argentine residents who want to earn up to 2% cashback in Bitcoin on everyday spending and do not mind holding Bitcoin through a provider’s custodial wallet. That is the audience the card’s own marketing points at, and for them the free shipping and free maintenance are real advantages against most competitors in this category.

Who it does not suit: anyone outside the named markets, anyone who needs to hold more than one coin, anyone who requires a stated answer on safeguarding or on who the issuing bank is, and anyone whose spending depends on Apple Pay or Google Pay, which the public pages do not mention at all.
Will they give you the card
The official pages mention Argentina and only Argentina — the page literally says “Buy and sell cryptocurrencies in Argentina”. QR payments are described for Argentina and Brazil. That is the whole of the stated eligibility.
There is no statement about citizenship versus residence. This is the single most important gap for a reader outside the region, and it is worth being precise about why. In any regulated financial onboarding, nationality and country of birth are recorded and screened separately from where you live, because sanctions screening and an issuer’s internal risk policy are applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to address. A card can therefore be open to residents of a country and still close the door on applicants holding a particular passport. That is not a workaround topic; it is simply how the checks work, and it is why “I live here” is not always the same answer as “I can open this”.
One further item, unofficial: Lemon has opened a waitlist for Colombia, according to a report from Noticias RCN which carried no date in the result I saw. A waitlist is not an opening. Treat it as a signal of intent and nothing more.
What you get, and what identity checks apply
The identity-check process is not stated on the card page. Neither is any tier structure — what verification level you reach, what documents unlock which limits, whether there are tiers at all. The site does claim “4M validated users”, which is a marketing number, not a description of the process you will go through.
For context on what usually happens: in the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and a politically-exposed-person determination. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, with electronic systems also checking proof-of-address documents. If due diligence cannot be completed, rules require the institution to hold off on the transaction or the relationship and, where needed, end it. That is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents — it is a legal obligation, not a mood. So the absence of a published Lemon checklist is not a promise of a light one.
On the product side, there are three things described, and people often conflate them:
- The Lemon Card, a VISA with a virtual option — the site invites you to “creá tu tarjeta virtual para empezar a usarla en segundos”.
- A separate VISA Lemon Credit Card backed by Bitcoin, which is a different product from the card you pay with today.
- The same card also described as an international prepaid VISA.
The card currency is not stated anywhere in what the public pages say, and prepaid cards in this category usually settle in a single settlement currency. If you are outside Argentina, that is not a detail; it decides what your balance is exposed to.
Shipping is free: cards go out “sin costo de envío”. How long that takes, and what a replacement costs if you lose one, are not stated.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline cost position is genuinely good, and it is the strongest thing about this card.

| Item | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Shipping / issuance | “sin costo de envío” — no shipping cost |
| Maintenance | “sin costo de envío ni mantenimiento” — no maintenance fee |
| Purchase fees | not stated on official pages |
| Conversion / crypto auto-sale | not stated on official pages; unofficial: 0.5% commission when the card auto-sells crypto at the point of sale, not re-checked |
| Foreign exchange | not stated on official pages |
| Cash withdrawal | available at “comercios adheridos” — participating merchants shown on a map, not described as ATMs; fee not stated |
| Daily limits | the user can set them (“Configurá límites de compras diarias”); amounts not stated |
| Tiers | not stated — the VISA card and the Bitcoin-backed credit card are separate products |
| Buying abroad | marketed for paying in foreign currency without the 30% RG5617 tax (“no pagan el impuesto RG5617 del 30%”) |
The 0.5% figure deserves a caveat in proportion to its usefulness. It comes from third-party sites, it was not re-verified, and it is not on Lemon’s pages. If you auto-sell crypto to pay, treat that number as an unconfirmed expectation, not a term.
Three everyday payments, to make the shape of it concrete:
- A coffee in Buenos Aires. No shipping or maintenance fee to carry. No conversion line is stated, so what is left is unknown — you would have to see it on a statement before you can rely on it. Cashback of up to 2% in Bitcoin is advertised on each purchase.
- A meal abroad, paid in a foreign currency. This is the case the card markets hardest: paying abroad in foreign currency without the 30% RG5617 tax. What it does *not* say is what the exchange rate or spread is. If you pay in dollars or euros without a stated conversion fee, the rate you get is the whole question, and the card does not answer it.
- Taking money out. Cash comes from “comercios adheridos”, participating merchants listed on a map — not from ATMs. So you are not withdrawing from a cash machine, you are paying a shop to hand you notes, and the fee for that is not stated. Any fee you set yourself as a daily purchase limit is a spending cap, not a withdrawal cap.
That last distinction catches people out. There is no withdrawal fee to compare against an ATM fee, because there are no ATMs in the picture as described.
How to top it up
Bitcoin is named. The cashback is paid in Bitcoin. The credit card is “respaldada en Bitcoin”, backed by Bitcoin. Other coins and networks are not named.
That is the whole funding section, and I want to be careful about what it does and does not imply. If Bitcoin is the only named route, then topping up means buying or holding Bitcoin, sending it, and having the provider convert it into spendable balance. Three things follow, and none of them are Lemon-specific:
- Network fees are not Lemon’s. On-chain gas for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. Sending Bitcoin is never free at the network level.
- The network has to be one the provider supports. A transfer sent on a network Lemon does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible; the network cannot undo them.
- Waiting is normal. Irreversibility cuts both ways. Your funds are not recoverable because a chain says so, not because anyone chooses it.
The card’s own top-up method is not stated, and neither is the withdrawal method. So I cannot tell you whether you send to a personal address, whether an exchange withdrawal is supported, or how long a balance takes to become spendable. Those are questions to put to support before you rely on the card.
One thing Lemon does offer that is worth understanding on its own terms: the page mentions crypto auto-sale at the point of sale. Where the balance is short, the card appears able to sell crypto to cover the difference. That is a different mechanism from topping up, and it is the one the unconfirmed 0.5% commission attaches to.
Paying with it every day
The mechanics are prepaid-shaped. You hold a balance, the card spends it, and it cannot overdraw past that balance. That is the single most reassuring structural fact about a card like this — a prepaid card draws on stored value, so a bad week with crypto prices does not become a debt.
What you can do day to day, per the card:
- Create a virtual card to start spending immediately, then receive the physical one.
- Set your own daily purchase limits.
- Pause the card whenever you want.
- Earn up to 2% cashback in Bitcoin with every purchase; payments over $10.000 also earn raffle tickets.
- Pay in foreign currency abroad without the 30% RG5617 tax.
What I could not establish from the public pages, and you should assume nothing about:
- Apple Pay and Google Pay. Not disclosed. Mobile wallet support is close to table stakes for this category, and its absence from the pages is a gap, not a negative — but you should not plan around it.
- Which wallets you can pay from. Not stated.
- How good the app is. Not stated. There are no store ratings on the site, and store pages were not part of this review.
- Disputes. Not stated. No chargeback process is described.
That last one deserves weight, because chargebacks are your main tool when something goes wrong. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing, or goods not received. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Since Lemon describes its card as prepaid, treat prepaid coverage as the likely case, and ask rather than assume.
Two general payment facts bear on whether a card like this works at the till. Merchants can look up the BIN and see which institution and country issued a card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address — which is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because that lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. And Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines online.
None of that is a Lemon problem specifically. It is the cost of a card issued in one market and used in another, and it is the thing most likely to surprise you in month one.
What can go wrong
The company behind Lemon is Bay Treasure Caramel S.A., Tax ID 30-71753495-2, registered as virtual asset service provider No. 162 in Argentina’s CNV VASP registry. The site states plainly that “Digifin S.A. is not a financial institution” and that Lemon is not a bank. The issuing bank is not named.
That combination is the core risk. Lemon is a VASP running a custodial wallet and a card programme, and the name of the bank behind the Visa is not published. In this category the structure usually works like this: the card network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the messages and sets the rules; the issuer — a bank or e-money institution licensed under the network’s licence — holds the card programme; the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or the front end that markets it to you. Knowing which of those Lemon is, and which company stands behind the card balance, is not a formality.
The networks themselves are worth keeping in view. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers directly; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. In 2018 WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. A card that works well for three years can still end, and when it ends your exit is what matters.
On custody, Lemon is a custodial provider. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return the funds. Custodial platforms have a real record of this going wrong — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Safeguarding is not stated on Lemon’s pages, which is a specific gap: an EMI must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.
The complaints are the part that moved the score most. Trustpilot shows 2.5 out of 5 from 5 reviews, read on 2026-10-21. The sample is tiny and I want to say that clearly before listing it, because five reviews cannot tell you much about rates. The themes are still worth knowing: poor customer support (“El peor soporte del mundo”), Lemon Cash no longer accepting SEPA IBAN transfers from online betting sites because the banking partner rejects them, and one claim that people from certain birthplaces were told they could not become customers. That last one sits awkwardly beside the missing nationality-versus-residence statement. One claim is not a pattern, but if birthplace-based refusal shows up in a review, it is worth asking about directly rather than assuming.
What the card does offer on the safety side is real: you can pause the card at any time, you can set daily purchase limits, and there is a theft-and-loss report page at report.lemon.me. Support is email at [email protected], with an FAQ at help.lemon.me/es and a status page at status.lemon.me. The help centre is in Spanish and hours are not stated — which matters if you are not a Spanish speaker and the card’s whole market is Spanish-speaking.
There is also newer news that adds to rather than settles the picture. Lemon presented a VISA credit card backed by Bitcoin, with 0.01 Bitcoin collateral and a credit line of $1.000.000 per the announcement, which was undated. A Bitcoin-collateralised credit line is a different product from the prepaid card, with different risk, and the undated announcement is itself a reason to ask current questions rather than rely on the figure.
One last practical warning, generic but relevant: declined authorisations may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. A declined payment is not always simply a declined payment.
What to take instead
I scored three alternatives in the same way, on the same criteria, so the comparison is like for like rather than marketing against marketing.
| Card | Score | Card type | Stated costs | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lemon | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid VISA, virtual and physical; separate Bitcoin-backed Visa credit card | No shipping, no maintenance; other fees not stated | Up to 2% cashback in Bitcoin per purchase |
| Gemini | 4.9 / 10 | Mastercard World Elite credit card | No annual fee, no foreign transaction fees; issuance fee not stated | 4% gas/EV/transit on first $300/month, dining 3%, groceries 2%, other 1%, paid in Bitcoin or 50+ cryptos on Gemini; 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants, capped and variable; referral $50 crypto each, $250 per 5 referrals, up to 50/year |
| Lava | 7.1 / 10 | Lava Card, accepted at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries | No annual fees, no FX fees and no FX spread; no exchange fees or spread on Bitcoin buy/sell per page | Up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase, conditions not stated |
| Trastra | 4.1 / 10 | Prepaid debit card accepted at Visa merchants worldwide, currency euro per batch notes | Not stated | Not stated on the page |
Where each one wins, and where each one does not:
- Lava scores highest of the four, and its fee page is the clearest: no FX fees and no FX spread, and no exchange fees or spread on Bitcoin buy and sell. That directly attacks the question Lemon leaves open — what you actually get when you spend. Its weaknesses are symmetric: it is a named card rather than a network, it publishes no annual-fee-free detail on issuance, physical or virtual form is not stated, and the 5% bitcoin back has no conditions attached. Deposits can be in local currency or stablecoins through a Global Money Movement section, but networks are not named.
- Gemini takes the credit-card route, which sidesteps the whole conversion question: no foreign transaction fees, and crypto conversion is not applicable because you pay the bill in fiat. Rewards are the richest on paper, paid instantly in Bitcoin or 50+ cryptos on Gemini and changeable anytime. The trade-offs are that it is a credit card, not a prepaid one, so eligibility depends on your credit; rewards caps bite quickly; and its eligibility rules are also not stated on the card page.
- Trastra is the most geographically explicit of the three: available in 31 listed countries including Germany, France and the UK, “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”, while non-European residents are “Not at the moment” — a rule that appears residence-based. You top it up with cryptocurrencies held in your Mover wallet, though no coins or networks are named. Fees are simply not stated, which is why it lands lowest.
The pattern across all four is worth naming. Every one of them has a page where the important number for your own situation is missing. Lemon’s gap is the country and the conversion cost. Lava’s is the reward conditions. Gemini’s is who qualifies. Trastra’s is everything about fees. Nobody publishes a complete fee schedule, which tells you something about the category rather than about these four companies.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Lemon to an Argentine resident who spends mostly in Argentina, is comfortable holding Bitcoin through a provider’s wallet rather than in their own, and wants cashback in Bitcoin more than they want a stated FX rate. For that person the free shipping and free maintenance are real, the 2% cashback is the differentiator, and the card pause and spendable limits are the right tools to have.
I would not recommend it — yet — as the main card for anyone living outside the named markets, because the waitlist in Colombia is unofficial and unconfirmed by the card, and the citizenship-versus-residence question has no published answer. I would not recommend it to anyone whose money flow depends on a second coin or a second network, because none is named. And I would not recommend it to anyone who needs to know, in writing, who holds their funds and what happens on a Wednesday when support is closed in Spanish.
Before you open anything, my short list of things to ask support is:
- Are you eligible on residence alone, or on nationality and country of birth as well?
- What is the card’s settlement currency, and what conversion rate or spread applies when I spend?
- Which coins and which networks can I send from, and what is the minimum top-up?
- Who is the issuing bank, and is my balance safeguarded or segregated?
- Does the card work in Apple Pay and Google Pay?
- What happens to my balance if the card programme ends — and how long would I have to withdraw it?
If the answers to those are good, the 4.7 becomes a 7 easily, because most of what is holding this score down is missing information rather than a bad product. If the answers are vague, you have your answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is Lemon card?
Lemon is a crypto-linked Visa payment card. You hold a crypto balance, it converts into spendable value, and you pay with a virtual or physical card. The card pages describe it as an international prepaid Visa, plus a virtual option you can create to start spending quickly. There is also a separate Visa credit card backed by Bitcoin, which is a different product from the prepaid card.
How does Lemon card work?
It works like a prepaid card. You top up from crypto, the balance is loaded as spendable value, and the card draws down that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Spending in foreign currency abroad is marketed as avoiding the 30% RG5617 tax. The card currency, the exchange rate used and the conversion charge are not stated on the public pages.
Is Lemon a bank?
No, and the card says so. The entity is Bay Treasure Caramel S.A., Tax ID 30-71753495-2, registered as virtual asset service provider No. 162 in Argentina’s CNV VASP registry. The site states that “Digifin S.A. is not a financial institution” and that Lemon is not a bank. The issuing bank behind the Visa is not named.
Is Lemon card available in my country?
The official pages name Argentina, with QR payments described in Argentina and Brazil. There is no published statement on citizenship versus residence. Unofficial reports say a waitlist opened in Colombia, but that is from a third-party news source, is undated in the result, and is not confirmed by the card.
Does Lemon card require KYC?
The card’s public pages do not describe the identity-check process or any verification tiers. What is regulated is the norm: EU due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check, and the institution must hold off if it cannot complete it. The site’s “4M validated users” claim is marketing, not a description of the process.
How do I top up the Lemon card?
Bitcoin is the only coin named, and the top-up method itself is not stated. Networks are not named either, which matters: a transfer sent on an unsupported network can be lost, since blockchain transfers are irreversible. On-chain gas is charged by the blockchain, not by Lemon. Where the card auto-sells crypto at the till to cover a shortfall, an unconfirmed 0.5% commission is reported by third-party sites.
Can I get cash from the Lemon card?
Cash is available at “comercios adheridos”, participating merchants shown on a map — not described as ATMs. The fee for that is not stated. What you can set yourself are daily purchase limits, which cap spending rather than withdrawals. Any hold left by a declined authorisation can linger for several days, typically up to 7.
Is Lemon card safe?
It is a custodial wallet, so the provider holds the credentials and you trust it completely. Safeguarding is not stated on the pages. Trustpilot shows 2.5 out of 5 from 5 reviews, with themes of poor support, rejected SEPA transfers from betting sites, and one claim of birthplace-based refusal. A tiny sample tells you little about rates, but it tells you what to ask. The card does let you pause it and set limits.
Is Lemon card free?
Shipping and maintenance are free — “sin costo de envío ni mantenimiento”. Everything else is unstated: purchase fees, conversion charges, foreign exchange, cash withdrawal, and replacement cost for a lost card. So “free” is true of the card itself and silent about what it costs to use, which is the number that matters.
Is Lemon card worth it?
For an Argentine resident spending mainly at home and earning up to 2% cashback in Bitcoin, the free shipping and free maintenance make it worth a try. For anyone abroad, holding more than one coin, or needing a stated answer on the issuing bank, safeguarding or Apple Pay support, the missing information outweighs the rewards. Ask support the six questions above before committing anything.
Credit and cashback cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
