A virtual Visa on a cheap plan, but thin on everyday convenience

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

Eversend is a virtual Visa card that spends from a stablecoin balance, aimed at people who already hold USDT or USDC and want a card number for online payments rather than a bank account in their own name. On paper it is a tidy proposition: one of the cheapest ways I have seen to keep a crypto card active, with a plan that costs USD 0.99 a month or USD 2.99 once and a generous spread of deposit networks. In practice the picture is more mixed. The card is virtual only, Apple Pay is not supported at all, Google Wallet support is not guaranteed, and every non-USD payment carries a 3.5% cross-currency fee plus USD 0.50. Add a Trustpilot picture of 4.2 out of 5 from 866 reviews dominated by complaints about stuck funds and unanswered support, and you get a card that is genuinely good at one narrow job and unreliable outside it.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Eversend works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict

I scored this card 5.2 out of 10. That is not a dismissal; it is a card that does one thing well and several things badly, and the score reflects the balance.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Eversend starts with a transfer to the right network

This is a card for stablecoin holders who need a Visa number for online payments, already have USDT or USDC to hand, and mostly spend in US dollars. If that is you, the value proposition is real and the topping-up experience is genuinely the best part of the product. If you want to tap a card in a shop, add it to Apple Pay, draw cash from an ATM, or spend euros and pounds without a penalty on every single payment, this is the wrong card. There is no physical card and no ATM support mentioned anywhere in the public material.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Identity verification wherever Eversend is available; no country list published, and payments to merchants in some listed countries may be declined
Cost 3 / 10 USD 0.99 to create (first month) then monthly, or USD 2.99 once; 3.5% + USD 0.50 on non-USD payments; top-ups are free
Top-up options 9 / 10 USDT and USDC from any wallet or exchange across many networks
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Regulated entities in Uganda, Canada and the US; Fireblocks custody; but a 4.2 Trustpilot score with funds-missing themes
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual Visa only; cannot be added to Apple Pay; Google Wallet not guaranteed; no ATM or physical card details
Total 5.2 / 10 Good at funding, weak at daily convenience

The regulated backdrop deserves a nod. Eversend’s parent, Cogni Labs Ltd, is authorised by the Bank of Uganda as a Payment Systems Operator (PSO 53/26), a Payment Service Provider and E-Money Issuer (PSP 35/26), and an Issuer of Payment Instruments (IPI 07/26). The technical entity, Eversend Tech Ltd, is registered with FINTRAC in Canada, and Eversend Inc. with FinCEN in the United States. Digital assets are secured through Fireblocks and customer funds sit in safeguarded, segregated accounts. That is a real regulatory footprint. It is also, as the complaints section shows, not the same as a good day-to-day experience for the customer.

Who will give you the card

The short answer: if Eversend operates where you are, you can probably pass verification, because the card’s own wording is deliberately open. Identity verification is required “wherever Eversend is available”, and Eversend does not publish a list of the countries where the card is offered. That is a double-edged fact. It means there is no stated country barrier in the card’s documentation to argue against, but it also means you cannot check eligibility in advance from public pages; you find out by trying.

The card can sit on a personal account or a business account, and both are allowed to hold it. What is stated is broader than where you can pay. There is a separate rule for merchants: payments to businesses based in certain listed countries “may be declined by our card partner”. That list includes Belarus and the Russian Federation, along with Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and others. The help page makes an important distinction, and it is worth sitting with: this is about where the merchant is, not about opening an Eversend account. In other words, being in one of those countries is not the same as being barred from the service, but paying a merchant there can be.

So the practical test is not “is Eversend in my country” but “will the shop I want to pay accept this card”. Some readers will find that answer only by trying a transaction.

How to get it

The application path is short, and the card’s own framing is “download the app and confirm your identity a single time”. The steps are: verify in the identity flow inside the app, deposit stablecoins, then create and fund the card. There is no second verification later, according to this description.

What the public pages do not say is just as informative as what they do. The specific documents you will need, whether proof of address is required, and what age threshold applies are not stated. In practice, regulated services almost always ask for a government ID and some form of address proof, and you should expect to upload something; but I would not want you to plan around a precise document list that the card has not published. Age rules are similar: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits, but Eversend does not state its own minimum age on these pages.

The card itself is a virtual Visa denominated in US dollars. You can hold several: personal accounts can have up to 3 active virtual cards at once, and business accounts have no stated cap. The intended pattern is one card per merchant, which is a sensible way to isolate spending and freeze a single subscription rather than the whole balance. In the app you can freeze a card or delete it outright.

This card is virtual only, and no physical version is available.

Fees and what a payment really costs

Here is where the headline numbers stop being flattering. Eversend sells the *holding* of the card cheaply and the *use* of it at a price. The plan structure is simple: a monthly plan at USD 0.99 to create, which covers the first month and then continues monthly, or a one-time lifetime plan at USD 2.99 once with “no monthly fees after that”. You can upgrade from the subscription to the one-time plan. Personal accounts can hold up to 3 active cards on either plan; business accounts are not capped.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Eversend payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The fee that will decide whether this card works for you is the cross-currency one: 3.5% of the amount plus USD 0.50, charged on payments that are not in USD, and also on USD payments settled outside the United States. That is a real cost, and on a USD 20 subscription it is roughly USD 1.20 of pure friction. If you pay in euros, pounds or any other currency regularly, you are paying a 3.5% cross-currency fee plus USD 0.50 on every payment.

Fee or limit Value
Card creation / monthly plan USD 0.99 (covers first month), then charged monthly
One-time (lifetime) plan USD 2.99 once, no monthly fees after
Conversion / FX fee 3.5% of amount + USD 0.50, on non-USD payments and on USD payments settled outside the US
Declined payment (insufficient funds) USD 0.40
Funding the card from balance Free
ATM Not stated
Card currency USD only, with its own balance separate from wallets
Max per top-up attempt USD 2,500
Max per transaction USD 2,500
Larger transactions May be subject to additional compliance review
Cards per account Up to 3 active (personal); unlimited (business)

Let me walk through three ordinary payments so the fees stop being abstract.

A USD 25 subscription billed in dollars, settled in the United States. No cross-currency fee applies, because it is a USD payment settled in the US. Funding the card from your balance is free. This is the cheapest case, and it is the case the card is genuinely good at.

A EUR 40 purchase, your balance topped up in USD. This is the worst case. The 3.5% plus USD 0.50 fee lands on top: 3.5% of EUR 40 is EUR 1.40, plus USD 0.50. You are paying a conversion penalty on every euro purchase, which is exactly the situation where people expect a multi-currency card to help them.

A payment that goes through but leaves your account short, so the next one declines. That declined attempt costs USD 0.40. It is small, but it is the sort of fee that only ever appears at the moment you are already annoyed.

There is one structural detail that catches people out. The card has its own USD balance, separate from your Eversend wallets. Spending happens from the card balance, not from the wallet, so topping up is a two-step move rather than one. Your card cannot overdraw, which is reassuring, but it also means you need to keep an eye on two numbers.

How to top it up

Topping up is the strongest part of this product, and it is the reason the card scores 9 out of 10 on funding. You deposit USDT or USDC from any wallet or exchange into your Eversend balance, which settles in minutes, and then fund the card from that balance. The supported networks are unusually broad:

That list matters more than it first appears, because it removes the most common way people lose money in this category: sending on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit on the wrong network can be gone or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Eversend’s breadth gives you room to pick a network you already use.

The costs on the deposit side are the blockchain’s network fees, charged by the network itself rather than by the card provider. They vary a lot by network, and the cheap ones are genuinely cheap:

Deposit network USDT fee USDC fee
TRC-20 $4 $4
ERC-20 $8 $6
SPL $1 $1
POL $0.30 $0.30
BEP-20 $0.30 $0.30
BASE — $0.10
XLM — $1

So a Polygon or BEP-20 deposit costs about thirty cents, a Solana deposit about a dollar, and an Ethereum deposit six to eight dollars. If you are moving meaningful amounts, choosing the network is the single biggest lever on your cost, far bigger than the card plan.

Two limits to know. The first card load has a minimum of USD 1, and the smallest total debit from the card is USD 1.99 on the monthly plan or USD 3.99 on the one-time plan. Per top-up attempt and per transaction, the ceiling is USD 2,500; anything larger “may be subject to additional compliance review”, which is a polite way of saying it might take longer or need paperwork.

One gap worth flagging: fiat top-ups are not described for the card. If your plan is to fund it from a bank account rather than from crypto, that path is not documented here, and you would need to ask.

Paying with it every day

This is the weak flank. The card is virtual, denominated in dollars, and built for online payments, and each of those facts rules out something people expect.

The biggest single disappointment is Apple Pay. Eversend’s own wording is that its virtual cards “cannot be added to Apple Pay”. Not “not yet”, not “region dependent” — cannot. Google Wallet is left ambiguous: digital wallet compatibility is not guaranteed. So if your mental image of the card is tapping a phone at a coffee shop, that image does not match this product.

Some merchant categories are restricted, and the list is worth reading because several are everyday things. Restricted codes include 4829 money transfer, 5966 telemarketing, 6051 crypto and foreign currency (named examples: Coinbase and Binance), 6211 brokers, 7273 dating, 7297 massage, and 7995 betting, with 7800 to 7802 limited to the US only. The 6051 restriction in particular means the card cannot easily be used to buy more crypto through some merchants.

There is also the general effect of virtual, foreign-issued cards that has nothing to do with Eversend specifically. A merchant can look up the BIN and see which institution and country issued the card, and apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. That is why a virtual card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and it is a category-wide explanation for occasional frustrating declines rather than something wrong with your card.

Cashback is not mentioned anywhere, and neither is the app’s listing in the App Store, which I could not read; the site links to the App Store and Google Play. Both of these are honest gaps rather than red flags: I am telling you the information is not stated, not that it does not exist.

If you need to dispute something, the process is: contact Support with the last four digits of the card, the amount, the date and the merchant; freeze or delete the card while it is investigated; the remaining balance returns to your USD wallet. No timeline for the investigation or refund is given. A separate guide to unauthorized transactions is published.

What can go wrong

Two things, one structural and one reputational.

Structurally, the biggest risk is the combination of a virtual card with a cross-currency fee. Every payment outside US dollar settlement costs you 3.5% plus USD 0.50, and if you are spending regularly in another currency this adds up quickly. The 2,500 dollar transaction and top-up ceilings mean larger payments may need additional review. And Apple Pay simply is not available, so there is no tap-to-pay fallback.

Reputationally, this is where I would slow you down most. Trustpilot shows 4.2 out of 5 from 866 reviews, read on 2026-10-21. The company replies to 14% of negative reviews. The recurring themes in the September 2026 reviews are: funds missing or not reflected after a refund or top-up, support unresponsive with tickets closed without resolution, and users being logged out and unable to reach their funds. One specific report from late September 2026 describes money disappearing after linking the card to Google Play. I want to be careful and fair here: these are individual user reports, and I found no official incident to corroborate them. But they are a consistent pattern across several reports and months, not one-off noise, and “funds stuck and support silent” is the failure mode you least want from a card holding your money.

On the security side, the picture is better. Digital assets are secured through Fireblocks, customer funds sit in safeguarded, segregated accounts, and there is 256-bit encryption with two-factor authentication. You can freeze and unfreeze the card in the app. One caveat: these funds are not covered by deposit protection, so the safeguarding is real but it is not the same as a bank guarantee.

A useful piece of background, since it bears on how you hold any crypto card: prepaid-card dispute and reversal coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to a week, which is a good reason not to keep your whole balance on the card.

What to take instead

I looked at three comparable cards. None is clearly better across the board, but each covers a gap Eversend leaves.

Card Score Card type Cashback Where it fits
Eversend 5.2 / 10 Virtual Visa, USD only Not stated Cheap plan, strong crypto funding
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, type and currency not stated 5% at select merchants, currently Uber If cashback matters most
Stella 6.5 / 10 Virtual and physical, Visa Not stated on the card page If you want a physical card
UniFi Card 4.7 / 10 Prepaid Debit Visa, issued by Lead Bank, USD Not stated for the card If you want to be paid into it

Whop Cards scores the same 5.2 but plays a different game. Its reach is explicit and narrow: consumers in 31 US states, businesses in 41. It explicitly does not support consumers in Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, and unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. Whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated. It says “No extra fees” with no amounts listed, spends from a Whop balance that a pending payment can already cover, and offers 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned. The basis of that balance is stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, though which coins and networks are not stated. If cashback at a specific merchant is your main draw, this is worth a look; if you are outside the US, it probably is not for you.

Stella is the highest-scoring of the group at 6.5. It is the one that gives you both virtual and physical cards, on Visa, working at what it describes as over 40 million merchants globally. You deposit crypto into the account and the card tops up automatically from an in-app custodial wallet. Two things to weigh: its terms bar users under economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates, and its official site does not state which countries are supported. Fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App”, so I cannot tell you what they are, and no cashback is stated on the card page (its Earn product is a separate yield feature). If a physical card is non-negotiable for you, Stella is the one from this group that offers one.

UniFi Card is the lowest at 4.7. It is a prepaid debit Visa issued by Lead Bank, spends from a USD balance, and the app also supports Apple Pay, which Eversend does not. You can fund it by receiving money through ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI, or get paid to a USDC wallet. What I cannot confirm: whether it is officially available where you are, the exact fees (“Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.”), and whether the “3% rewards on balances” claim extends to card cashback. Its App Store listing references send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone, with recent notes on Colombia, Brazil and the UK, but none of that came from official pages.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone specific: you already hold USDT or USDC, you spend mostly in US dollars, mostly online, and you want a cheap Visa number without a traditional bank account. In that case the maths works, the funding is excellent, and USD 2.99 once is hard to argue with.

I would not recommend it if any of these are true: you need Apple Pay; you need a physical card; you spend regularly in a currency other than dollars; you need an ATM; or you are the kind of person who needs to know a support team will pick up. That last point is not a criticism so much as a fit check, given the Trustpilot pattern I described.

And I would say this about any card in this category, Eversend included: keep only what you need on the card balance, and keep the rest where you can see it. These are not bank deposits, they are not covered by deposit protection, and the sector has a history of programmes closing.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Eversend card?

Eversend is a virtual Visa card that you load from a stablecoin balance rather than from a bank account. You deposit USDT or USDC into your Eversend balance, then move funds from that balance onto the card, which spends only what it holds. It is a prepaid-style setup, so the card cannot overdraw. The card is virtual only, denominated in US dollars, and there is no physical version mentioned in the public material.

How do I get an Eversend card?

The process is three steps: download the app and confirm your identity once, deposit stablecoins, then create and fund the card. Personal accounts can hold up to three active virtual cards, business accounts unlimited, and you can freeze or delete a card in the app. The card’s own pages do not list which identity documents you will need or state a minimum age, so expect to confirm who you are before your first payment goes through.

Is Eversend a bank?

Not exactly. The company behind it, Cogni Labs Ltd, is authorised by the Bank of Uganda as a Payment Systems Operator, a Payment Service Provider and E-Money Issuer, and an Issuer of Payment Instruments. Eversend Tech Ltd is registered with FINTRAC in Canada, and Eversend Inc. with FinCEN in the United States. That is a money-services and e-money regulatory footprint, not a retail bank account, and the customer funds described as safeguarded and segregated are not covered by deposit protection.

Is the Eversend card available in my country?

The card says identity verification applies “wherever Eversend is available”, and no list of card countries is published. What is stated is a separate rule for merchants: payments to businesses based in certain listed countries may be declined by the card partner, and that list includes Belarus and the Russian Federation. That restriction is about where the shop is, not about opening an account. The practical test is whether the merchants you pay will accept the card.

How much does the Eversend card cost?

There are two plans: USD 0.99 to create, which covers the first month and then continues monthly, or USD 2.99 once with no monthly fees afterwards. On top of that, a cross-currency fee of 3.5% plus USD 0.50 applies to non-USD payments and to USD payments settled outside the United States. A payment declined for insufficient funds costs USD 0.40. Funding the card from your balance is free.

How do I top up the Eversend card?

You deposit USDT or USDC from any wallet or exchange into your Eversend balance, which settles in minutes, then fund the card from that balance. USDT is supported on TRC-20, ERC-20, SPL, POL and BEP-20; USDC on TRC-20, ERC-20, SPL, BASE, XLM, POL and BEP-20. Network fees vary from about $0.30 on Polygon or BEP-20 to $8 on Ethereum for USDT. Per top-up and per transaction the cap is USD 2,500.

Can I add the Eversend card to Apple Pay?

No. Eversend states plainly that its virtual cards cannot be added to Apple Pay. Google Wallet is different: the company says digital wallet compatibility is not guaranteed, so it may or may not work depending on the current setup. If tap-to-pay on your phone is essential to you, look at a card that supports Apple Pay explicitly, such as the UniFi Card, whose app supports it.

How do I withdraw money from Eversend?

You can withdraw any amount above the USD 5 that must remain on the card balance. To take the entire balance, delete the card and the funds move to your USD wallet within 24 hours. Withdrawals to the wallet are listed as free. Separately, wallet balances can be sent to mobile money or bank accounts in 10 African countries.

Is the Eversend card safe?

The security infrastructure is solid: digital assets are secured through Fireblocks, customer funds are held in safeguarded, segregated accounts, there is 256-bit encryption and two-factor authentication, and you can freeze the card instantly in the app. Two cautions. These funds are not covered by deposit protection. And on Trustpilot the card shows 4.2 out of 5 from 866 reviews, with recurring complaints about stuck funds and unanswered support.

Is an Eversend card worth it?

Worth it if you already hold USDT or USDC, you spend mostly in dollars and mostly online, and you want a low-cost Visa number; USD 2.99 once is hard to beat. Not worth it if you need Apple Pay, a physical card, an ATM, or clean multi-currency spending, since the 3.5% plus USD 0.50 fee applies to every non-USD payment. A fair verdict is that it is excellent at funding and thin on everyday convenience.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team