The Bitrefill card, read closely: a euro crypto card with a fixed 1.99% top-up fee and some sharp edges
Bitrefill is best known as a place to buy gift cards, and that is still where most of its reviews come from. Its card product is something different: a euro Visa you load with crypto and spend like an ordinary payment card, aimed at people in the European Economic Area who want to spend bitcoin, Lightning or stablecoins without first converting everything through an exchange. That narrower purpose is where both its strengths and its disappointments live. If you want to spend crypto in euros across the EU, this is one of the more usable setups available. If you want a card that works everywhere, does not ask questions about where your money came from, or charges nothing to load, it is not that card.

My score for the Bitrefill card is 6.8 out of 10.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Issued to residents of European Economic Area countries, 18+, identity verification; US and Russian citizens excluded regardless of where they live |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Card through the app is free, top-up carries a fixed 1.99% fee and 0% FX; unofficial: a EUR 10 monthly fee after 12 months, ATM withdrawals 2.49% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA; USDT deposits ended 17 March 2025, minimum EUR 15 |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Card issued by Wallester AS (Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon), operated by Airfill Prepaid AB; Trustpilot 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews, and the complaints are mostly about the gift-card store |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay works, Apple Pay “coming soon”, ATMs on Visa network |
Those numbers are worth reading together rather than one at a time. The card’s weakest line is eligibility, and that is not really about the card’s quality — it is about who the issuer is willing to touch. The strongest is reliability, because the card side of Bitrefill’s business is run by licensed European companies rather than by a crypto project with a history of disappearing. Everything else sits in between.
Conditions here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Who you can get the card for
Short version: residents of European Economic Area countries, aged 18 or over, with identity verification completed — and not if you are a US or Russian citizen, however you are living.
The eligible residence list is Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway and Iceland. That is a wide slice of Europe, and it includes the countries people usually mean when they say Europe.
The exclusions matter more than the inclusions, and this is where most disappointment comes from. US citizens and Russian citizens are turned down regardless of where they live, so a Russian national living in Berlin with EU citizenship is eligible, while a dual US-EU citizen living in Paris is not. There is also no Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan mobile number accepted at signup. Separately, a help-centre blocklist for verification and deposits lists the US, Japan, Russia, Ukraine and the UAE.
The card’s own terms are deliberately vague here: access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and to “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply”. The country list itself is not stated on the public terms pages I could see. In practice, “our partners” means the entities that actually issue and process the card, and they set rules of their own that can be stricter than anything Bitrefill publishes.
If you are outside the EEA entirely — UK, Switzerland, Canada, Australia — there is no route here, and no amount of good intentions in the app changes that. The card is a euro product inside a euro regulatory area.
How to get it
You apply through the Bitrefill app, and the important thing to understand is that Bitrefill is not the institution that decides whether you pass. Verification is run by the card partner before you can order, and the card itself is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, with crypto and virtual IBAN services provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS. Bitrefill’s site is “owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB”, a Swedish company.
The order runs in two stages, and this is the part people find most confusing.
Starter is the default tier. It requires a photo ID and a selfie liveness check, and possibly proof of address. It caps crypto deposits at EUR 15,000 for your lifetime, allows EUR 10,000 of spending per month and EUR 10,000 per day, and limits contactless payments to EUR 200 per transaction.
Plus is offered by invitation once you reach the Starter deposit limit. It adds proof of address and proof of source of funds, with those documents set by Lightspark. There is no deposit limit, spending goes to EUR 15,000 per month and EUR 10,000 per day, and contactless stays at EUR 200 per transaction. You have 30 days to complete the upgrade — miss that window and, in the card’s words, “your card will be suspended”.
You can start with a virtual card, which is usable the moment you receive it, and have a physical Visa shipped to the address you provide. Ordering the physical card is free, and a second one can be requested from the Cards page. When a card expires you order a new one rather than waiting for it to be posted automatically. Delivery times are not stated on the public pages, and neither is the cost of a replacement card — worth confirming before you lose one abroad.
Proof-of-address requirements outside the EU are stricter than inside it. Whether the documents are checked before or after you order is handled by the partner, and the processing time and the grounds for rejection are not stated anywhere public. If you need the card working this week, that is a real unknown, and I would not build a plan around a specific date.
Fees and what a payment really costs
The card is free through the app — that is stated plainly. What is not stated on the public pages is the exact issuance amount, the monthly fee, the percentage spread applied to crypto-to-euro conversion, or any foreign exchange fee. The inactivity fee is confirmed to exist after 12 months without spending or cashing out, but the amount is not stated either. Third-party reporting gives EUR 10 per month on inactivity, EUR 10 for a replacement physical card, and EUR 0 for delivery where offered; treat those as unofficial figures rather than promises.

| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Card through the app | Free |
| Issuance amount | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated (an inactivity fee applies after 12 months without spending or cash-out) |
| Crypto top-up fee | Fixed 1.99%, plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate |
| Deposit spread on crypto-to-euro conversion | Not stated as a percentage |
| SEPA pay-in | 1.99% |
| Foreign exchange | No FX fee of its own; the Visa exchange rate applies to foreign-currency payments |
| ATM | Cash withdrawal at ATMs that accept Visa; fee and free allowance not stated (unofficial: 2.49% plus the ATM operator’s own charge) |
| Spending limits | EUR 10,000 per day; EUR 10,000 per month on Starter, EUR 15,000 on Plus |
| Contactless | EUR 200 per transaction on both tiers |
| Deposit limits | EUR 15,000 lifetime on Starter; none on Plus |
| Minimum deposit | EUR 15 — smaller deposits are not added |
Now, three everyday situations, because a fee table never tells you what a fee actually costs.
Paying EUR 24 for lunch in Berlin. The top-up fee is the one that bites. Loading EUR 100 costs you a fixed 1.99% — EUR 1.99 — plus whatever spread the partner applies to converting your crypto. That 1.99% is charged on every single load, not once a month, so someone topping up EUR 50 twice a month pays roughly EUR 2 a month in fixed fees alone, four per cent of what they loaded. The card itself adds no purchase fee that the public pages state, and paying in euros means no FX cost.
Paying USD 40 in a New York shop. There is no FX fee charged by the card, but the Visa exchange rate applies, and Visa rates carry a markup that is not published as a percentage on the card’s pages. Then add the spread on loading. You are paying twice for the same currency change, and only one of the two is spelled out.
Taking EUR 100 out of an ATM in Amsterdam. Here the public pages are silent, which is why this is the weakest-documented fee on the card. Third-party reporting, unofficial and not confirmed by the card, puts ATM withdrawals at 2.49% on both tiers plus the ATM operator’s charge, with limits of EUR 350 per day and EUR 3,000 per month — though the same source notes the pricing page rendered those cells incorrectly, and another report says the ATM line was dropped from pricing in mid-2026. Unofficial figures also put free SEPA cash-out within limits, but not for Swedish residents. Before you plan a holiday around ATM use, ask support directly.
How to Top up the card
Loading the card is the part Bitrefill does well. The card’s “Buy with” list is broad — Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and MasterCard — and SEPA transfers are supported under the terms. Lightning is the standout: paying over Lightning for a card top-up is close to instant and cheap, and very few competitors in this category support it.

What you need to know before you send anything:
- The fixed Bitrefill fee is 1.99% on a deposit, plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate. There is no stated percentage for the conversion spread itself.
- The minimum deposit is currently EUR 15. Anything smaller is not added — the money simply does not appear on the card.
- USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025, on any network. This is the single most important practical fact here, because the card page still shows USDT in its “Buy with” list. That list is a list of what you can buy *gift cards* with, not a funding list for the card. Anyone reading it as a funding list will send USDT to a process that no longer exists.
- Store credit from the gift-card side of Bitrefill cannot be moved onto the card.
- The SEPA pay-in fee is 1.99%.
- Withdrawing funds is free to a bank account, or you can cash out at an ATM. The card deactivates when inactivity fees have eaten the balance down to EUR 0. How voluntary closure works, and what happens to a remaining balance, is not stated on the public pages.
Sending on the wrong network is the mistake with the worst consequences. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit to an address of another network, or on a network the provider does not support, can be lost or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee of success. This is why Bitrefill shows you a specific network and address for each deposit — copy it, do not reconstruct it from memory.
Paying with it day to day
This is where the card earns its 8. It behaves like an ordinary euro Visa once loaded.
- Both a virtual and a physical Visa card are issued. The physical card must be activated; the virtual one is usable as soon as you receive it.
- Google Pay works. Apple Pay does not — the card’s own pages say “not supported yet” and “will be available soon”, which as of the current date still means not.
- Card payments are protected with 3-D Secure, and you can freeze the card and hide the balance in the app with one tap. Lost, stolen or unauthorised transactions go to [email protected].
- Cashback is 2% in total with no cap: 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. The payout currency is not stated on the card page, though the terms say the rate is published on the website.
- The app is on the App Store and Google Play. Unofficial third-party figures, not confirmed by the card, give 4.7/5.0 on the Apple App Store across 372 ratings and 4.5/5.0 on Google Play across 2,468 ratings.
Apple users should note the wallet gap carefully. Google Pay plus a physical card covers most contactless spending; Apple users get the physical card and no phone wallet, which is an odd omission for a card that charges 1.99% to load.
Where you can spend is bounded by ordinary Visa rules and one extra thing: merchant category codes. Gambling transactions (MCC 7995) are blocked by many issuers as policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — Bitrefill’s own list of blocked merchants is not stated. Because the card is issued in Estonia, the BIN lookup at any shop tells them that, and some merchants apply extra scrutiny to prepaid or foreign-issued cards. If a payment is declined, a hold on your funds can remain for several days.
If a payment goes wrong, the help centre’s own guidance is to contact the merchant first, because most refunds are handled that way. Two things to know: rewards may be debited if the transaction is refunded or charged back, and Bitrefill says it is not liable for merchant refusals. Time frames for disputes are not stated.
What can go wrong
Nothing dramatic has happened to this card that I could find — no official incidents. But there are four specific risks worth understanding.
The money is custodial. Partners hold the funds. You are trusting licensed European companies rather than holding keys yourself, which is convenient and safe in ordinary use, and it also means you cannot prove ownership independent of them. On-chain transfers being irreversible and having no recovery path is the background reality behind every “wrong network” complaint in this category.
The regulatory picture is tightening. From July 2026 the EU Transfer of Funds Regulation means deposits from non-own or non-EU-licensed VASP wallets above EUR 1,000 are declined. SCA rules changed deposits too. USDT deposits ended 17 March 2025, and the help centre mentions a temporary suspension of applications from Hungarian residents. The direction of travel is clear: fewer routes in, more verification, more cases where an account works today and does not next month. Note also that MiCA and payment law are separate — the card is a payment service regulated under e-money rules, while the crypto side sits under MiCA — so a provider can be sound on one side and constrained on the other.
Accounts get frozen and get stuck. The EU’s own rules require an institution to walk away from a transaction it cannot complete due diligence on, and to end the relationship if needed. That is why accounts close or freeze pending documents. Tier limits exist in the same spirit: hit EUR 15,000 of lifetime deposits on Starter and you need Plus within 30 days or the card is suspended.
The Trustpilot score flatters the card. The 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews I read is genuinely good, and 89% of reviews are five-star with 5% one-star. But read the themes: gift-card markup and fees (October 2026), non-working Apple gift codes with accounts blocked (September–October 2026), a lookalike fake site (October 2026), a deposit pending 20-plus days with unhelpful support (September 2026), refunds paused (September 2026). Almost all of it is the gift-card store, not the card. One three-star review does say the Visa card is sometimes declined. Bitrefill says it replies to all one-to-three-star reviews. The realistic takeaway: the card’s reputation is entangled with a busier, messier business, and a bad experience in the store tells you little about the card and a lot about support load.
One more practical hazard, outside the company’s control: a lookalike fake site appeared in reviews in October 2026. Type the address yourself rather than following a link.
What to take instead
None of these is a straight substitute — Bitrefill’s Lightning support and euro pricing are still its own thing — but you may want a second card, or to know what you are comparing against.
| Card | Score | Who can get it | Cost | Funding | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitrefill | 6.8 / 10 | EEA residents (29 countries) plus Norway and Iceland, 18+, identity verification; US and Russian citizens excluded | Card free; 1.99% top-up fee, SEPA pay-in 1.99%; unofficial EUR 10/month after 12 months, ATM 2.49% | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon, SEPA | USDT ended March 2025; Apple Pay not supported; euro only |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no country list or exclusions published | Not stated | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated | App Store listing is Naira-focused; Visa, Mastercard, VERVE and UnionPay networks; no fee percentage published |
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | Physical card “only for Bolivian users for now”; countries not listed in help articles | Virtual USD 5; physical (Bolivia) USD 20 issuance plus USD 20 shipping, though another article in the same centre says USD 10 | Top up from the Takenos balance; coins not named in that article | 1% commission per purchase; USD card, 1:1; issued in the US; conflicting fees within its own help centre |
| OkiCard | 6.0 / 10 | “150+ countries” (some pages say “200+”); “no geo-blocking based on your passport” | Issuance $0 and monthly $0 on the pricing page, but a $15 starting price for the virtual card appears elsewhere and an FAQ mentions a one-time issuance fee — the pages disagree; initial deposit 100 USDT | USDT on BSC, Ethereum, Tron and Solana; USDC “soon”; BTC “coming soon” | 3% load fee; Visa/Mastercard and USD/EUR pegged, but specifics unstated; no cashback mentioned |
The pattern across all four: none publishes its ATM fee clearly, all of them depend on a partner’s licence, and all of them will find that their funding lists and their published terms drift apart over time. Bitrefill’s advantage is the narrow one that matters if you are in the euro area with Lightning money: cheap, fast, euro-denominated, no FX fee, and a long enough track record to have a real Trustpilot history. Its disadvantage is that narrowness — euro only, EEA only, Apple users locked out of the mobile wallet.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Bitrefill card to EU residents who spend crypto and Lightning in euros and have already decided they are comfortable holding funds with a licensed provider rather than in their own wallet. For those people it is a good card: free to hold, no foreign exchange fee, Lightning top-ups, two tiers that scale if you need them, Google Pay, and an issuer with a European licence rather than an offshore shell. The 1.99% top-up fee is real but predictable, and if you load in sensible amounts rather than dribbling small sums, it is a reasonable price for spending euros directly from crypto.
I would not recommend it if you live outside the EEA, if you are a US or Russian citizen, if Apple Pay is the reason you want the card, if you need multi-currency balances, or if your priority is ATM access — because there the card’s public pages tell you almost nothing and the unofficial numbers are shaky. Nor would I recommend it to anyone who wants their crypto to stay under their own control, or who plans to move large sums, given that lifetime deposit caps sit at EUR 15,000 on Starter and the EU’s new transfer rules have already started declining deposits from non-own wallets above EUR 1,000.
It is worth remembering what this product is: a card issued by a licensed Estonian e-money company, marketed by a Swedish gift-card business, with crypto handled by another Estonian licensed firm. Bitrefill is the front end. That is not a criticism so much as the shape of the thing — and it is a better shape than most of what shares the name.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitrefill card?
It is a euro Visa — virtual and physical — that you load with crypto or a SEPA transfer and then spend like an ordinary payment card. Bitrefill markets it as part of its app, but the card is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia and crypto services are handled by Lightspark Payments Europe AS. The balance is custodial, so the funds sit with those partners.
How does the Bitrefill card work?
You verify your identity, load a balance, and the card spends that stored balance, much like a prepaid card — so it cannot overdraw. Crypto is converted to euros when you load, not when you spend, and the conversion costs a fixed 1.99% plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate. Buying is the part where fees live; spending in euros adds nothing stated.
Is Bitrefill a bank?
No. Bitrefill is “owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB”, a Swedish company. The card programme is issued by Wallester AS, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, and Lightspark Payments Europe AS provides the crypto and virtual IBAN services. These are payment and electronic money institutions, not banks, and EU rules say e-money institutions cannot lend.
Which countries can I use the Bitrefill card in?
For residence, 29 EEA countries plus Norway and Iceland, at 18 and over with identity verification. US and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of residence. No Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan mobile number is accepted at signup. A separate help-centre blocklist for verification and deposits lists the US, Japan, Russia, Ukraine and the UAE.
Does the Bitrefill card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification is managed by the card partner and is required before you can order. The default Starter tier needs a photo ID and a selfie liveness check, possibly with proof of address; Plus adds proof of address and proof of source of funds. Activation outside the EU needs proof of address as well.
How do I top up the Bitrefill card?
From crypto — Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon — or by SEPA transfer. Each deposit costs a fixed 1.99% plus the partner’s live exchange rate, SEPA pay-in is 1.99%, and the minimum is EUR 15 since smaller deposits are not added. USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025, despite USDT still appearing on the card page.
Can I add the Bitrefill card to Apple Wallet?
Not yet, as of the current date. The card’s pages say Apple Pay is “not supported yet” and “will be available soon”. Google Pay does work. If you are an Apple user and a phone wallet is the reason you want the card, that gap is worth waiting on or looking elsewhere.
Is the Bitrefill card free?
The card itself is free through the app — the page says so plainly. But the public pages do not state an issuance amount, a monthly fee, the conversion spread percentage, or the FX fee; there is no FX fee, though the Visa exchange rate applies to foreign-currency payments. Third-party reporting gives EUR 10 per month after 12 months of no spending, and ATM withdrawals at 2.49% plus the operator’s charge — unofficial, and worth confirming.
Where can I use the Bitrefill card, and why is a payment sometimes declined?
Anywhere a Visa is accepted, plus contactless up to EUR 200 per transaction, with EUR 10,000 daily spend limits. Declines come from ordinary card mechanics: the Estonian BIN tells the shop where the card was issued, some merchants scrutinise prepaid or foreign-issued cards, and gambling category codes are frequently blocked by policy. A declined payment can also leave a hold on your funds for several days.
Is the Bitrefill card safe?
As safe as licensed European partners make it: custodial funds held by Wallester and Lightspark, 3-D Secure on online payments, one-tap card freeze and hidden balance in the app, and support reachable at [email protected]. Trustpilot is 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews, though most complaints concern the gift-card store rather than the card. The real risks are custodial counterparty risk, network rules tightening, and irreversible transfers sent to the wrong address.
Virtual cards: the entry point – cryptocardportal.com
Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team
