The Based card, plain and read: who it suits, what it costs, and what to watch for

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only

I went through the Based card’s public pages, its pricing notes and the small but telling set of user reports that exist about it, and I want to walk you through what I found in the same order you’d actually want to know it. We’ll start with the bottom line, then eligibility, sign-up, the real cost of using it day to day, how you top it up, what everyday payments look like, and finally the things that worried me enough that I’d want you to see them before you stake any tokens. I’ll also put the Based card next to a few alternatives so you can see when it’s the right pick and when another card is simply better.

A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open
Based works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026. I checked the public pages on 2026-10-20; where a date is fixed by the card itself (for example the 1 August 2026 country list) I’ve kept that date unchanged. Numbers, fees, country names and company details come from those pages, not from my own guesswork.

Verdict

The Based card earns a 6.9 out of 10 from me. That is a respectable, not-exciting score: it reflects a card that does the basics well and adds genuine perks for people who already hold Based’s token, but one that asks you to lock up a meaningful amount of crypto to unlock those perks, and that is run by a company whose licence and issuer are not stated on the pages I read. If you don’t already hold $BASED, the headline cashback isn’t available to you, and the card is just a competently built Visa debit with a useful stablecoin top-up. If you do hold it and you’re happy to lock the tokens away, the Gold tier in particular is unusually generous on the FX side.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Based payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

It suits you if you are outside the restricted country list, you are comfortable with the Based app’s KYC, and you already hold $BASED that you don’t need to sell tomorrow. It does not suit you if you live in the United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran or Turkey (roughly 74 countries are excluded from 1 August 2026), if you need an ATM card, or if you want a card whose licence and issuer you can name from the website.

Here is the breakdown of how I arrived at that 6.9.

Criterion Mark Why it scores there
Who can get it 7 / 10 Worldwide except about 74 countries from 1 August 2026, including the US, Canada, Australia, China, India and Singapore; admission is by country of residence.
Cost 7 / 10 No signup or annual fee; plastic ships for $50 on the HYPE tier, free on Gold; FX markup is 2.5% (Orange), 1.5% (HYPE) and 0% (Gold); stablecoin top-ups carry no added fees.
Top-up options 9 / 10 USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE and BASED on Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon and Hyperliquid, with auto-conversion at the point of sale.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operated by SHA2 LABS PTE. LTD. in Singapore per the starting data; the issuer and licences are not named; Trustpilot shows 3.4 from a single review; cashback requires a staking lockup.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card is instant; plastic on HYPE, metal on Gold; Apple Pay and Google Pay documented; an unofficial reviewer said Apple Pay wasn’t working and the ATM is off.
Total 6.9 / 10 A good card if you already hold and are willing to lock $BASED; weaker if you don’t, and weaker still if you care about who actually issues it.

One audience note I want to weave in here rather than save for later: the cashback structure is built around stakers of $BASED, so the value of the card is essentially “what you already do, paid back in tokens you already hold.” If that’s not you, the lower tiers are functional but plain.

Who can get the Based card

Based accepts applications from most of the world, with a published list of excluded countries that takes effect on 1 August 2026. That list runs to around 74 countries and explicitly includes the Russian Federation, Belarus, the United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, Ukraine, Iran and Turkey, among others. The card’s own pages ask you to “see whether you can apply from your country of residence,” so the relevant question is where you live, not (just) what passport you hold.

You also need to be at least 18. Citizenship and residence are screened separately, and the card’s pages say a sanctions check is part of the process; if you have only one nationality and it’s on the excluded list, you won’t be able to apply even from a permitted country. The exact screening criteria beyond that are not stated.

How to sign up

The whole application runs through the Based app. You complete KYC there, present either a passport or a national ID card, and wait. The pages I’ve read say screening typically takes up to three days, and that Based may ask for more documents through [email protected] if it needs them. Driver’s licences and voter IDs are not accepted as primary ID. Proof of address is not stated, so you shouldn’t assume you’ll be asked for a utility bill, but you also shouldn’t assume you won’t.

There is one KYC level. The pages don’t list what makes an application fail, only that rejections happen and that additional documents may be requested. Once you’re approved, you get a virtual Visa debit card in USD straight away in the app, which is genuinely useful if you need to spend something online in the next five minutes rather than next week.

The physical card is a separate step. It ships via DHL, costs $50 if you’re on the HYPE tier and is free if you’re on Based Gold. The card currency is US dollars, so anything you spend in another currency goes through the FX markup your tier charges; we’ll come back to those numbers in the next section. The page does not give a country-by-country delivery time, and Based Gold is a metal card weighing 20g, which is mostly a feel-in-the-hand thing than a function thing.

What the Based card really costs

The headline is friendly: there is no signup fee, no annual fee, and no added fee on stablecoin deposits. The picture gets more interesting once you map the three tiers against the FX markup and the cashback, because that is where the card is actually trying to win you over.

Here are the costs as the card states them.

Fee or limit Based Orange HYPE Based Gold
Signup fee None None None
Annual fee None None None
Physical card shipping n/a (virtual only, not yet available) $50 via DHL Free via DHL
FX markup on non-USD spend 2.5% 1.5% 0%
Stablecoin deposit fee None stated None stated None stated
ATM withdrawals Not in docs; see below Not in docs; see below Not in docs; see below
Staking lockup None 10,000 $BASED 100,000 $BASED
Cashback cap No cashback on this tier 2%, capped $20/month 4%, capped $100/month

Now let me put three everyday payments against that table so you can feel the difference.

A £40 dinner in London on the HYPE tier: the card converts dollars to pounds at the wholesale rate plus the 1.5% markup, so you lose about 60p of that £40 to FX. On the same dinner on Gold, the markup is 0%, so the only slippage is whatever spread sits inside Visa’s own conversion. On Orange, you lose about £1 to the 2.5% markup. None of those numbers is ruinous, but they’re not nothing if you travel a lot or run a small business paying overseas suppliers.

A €10 coffee subscription in Dublin on Gold: again 0% FX, so you pay roughly the dollar cost of €10 plus whatever spread Visa adds. On HYPE, the same subscription carries the 1.5% markup. Both are small in absolute terms but they add up over a year of subscriptions.

A meal in a foreign currency on HYPE after you topped up with USDC on Polygon: 1.5% on the FX, and the only network cost is the gas you paid to get the USDC onto Polygon in the first place. The deposit itself is free. That is the path the card is designed around: send a cheap stablecoin, spend in any currency, pay a small known FX markup.

A few caveats matter. Crypto conversion at the point of sale is not separately stated on the pages I read, so I cannot tell you exactly what spread sits inside the conversion from USDC to dollars at the moment you tap. The card’s pages only commit to the FX markup tiers above. The cashback is paid in $BASED, not in fiat, so its real value depends on what $BASED is worth when you receive it; a 4% rebate that arrives in a volatile token is not the same as a 4% statement credit on a credit card.

And about ATMs: the card’s own pages do not describe ATM use, and a Trustpilot reviewer wrote in May 2026 that ATM withdrawals are not enabled. That is one data point and the company has not commented, so I’d treat it as plausible but unofficial, and not plan around it.

How to top up the Based card

Topping up is the part of the card that genuinely stands out. You can fund the card with USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE or BASED, sent over Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon or Hyperliquid. The card then auto-converts to US dollars at the point of sale, so you don’t manually have to swap into dollars before paying. Stablecoin deposits carry no added fee from Based; the only cost on that side is the network fee you pay on the underlying chain, which is a few cents on Polygon or Solana and more expensive on Ethereum mainnet.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Based starts with a transfer to the right network

The minimum top-up is not stated, the policy on who pays the network fee is not stated, and fiat top-up is not stated either. So the practical picture is: if you already have crypto in a self-custody wallet, you can move it to Based; if you want to fund the card from a bank account, the card’s pages don’t describe a path. A withdrawal feature, the reverse of a top-up, is also not stated, which is worth knowing if you ever want to move balances back out.

The single most important habit to form is matching the network. Stablecoins on the wrong network cannot be recovered by Based, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send USDC on Polygon to a Polygon deposit address; send SOL on Solana to the Solana address. If you copy the address from the wrong tab in your wallet, you will not get those tokens back.

Paying with the Based card every day

The day-to-day experience is what you’d expect from a modern prepaid-style Visa debit with mobile wallet support. The card works at any merchant that takes Visa, online and offline. You add the virtual card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, per the documentation; an unofficial reviewer wrote in May 2026 that Apple Pay did not work for them, which conflicts with the docs and I would not weight it as more than a single report.

The HYPE tier is a physical plastic card; the Gold tier is a metal card weighing 20g. There is no separate “metal” branding difference beyond that, so the real Gold-only perk is the 0% FX markup and the higher cashback cap. The card currency is US dollars; anything in another currency goes through your tier’s FX markup.

Blocked merchant categories are not stated in the pages I read. That is information many issuers put in their cardholder agreement, and you may see it there even though it isn’t on the marketing pages. If gambling, adult content or crypto purchases are important to you, treat the absence of a published block as “ask, don’t assume.”

Cashback is paid in $BASED at the start of each month. HYPE returns 2% on spending, capped at $20 a month; Gold returns 4%, capped at $100 a month. There are extra AI-subscription rebates of up to $10 a month on HYPE and $100 a month on Gold, and Gold adds an entertainment rebate of up to $20 a month. All of this is described as promotional and subject to change, and all of it ends the moment you begin unstaking. Disputes, chargebacks and how to escalate a problem with a transaction are not stated in the pages I read, which I’d flag as a real gap for a card with non-trivial cashback on the line.

What can go wrong with the Based card

The honest answer to “what can go wrong” is in two halves: what the cards in this category share, and what is specific to Based.

On the shared side, a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another country, and a few merchants do decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers outright. 3-D Secure is the standard identity check at checkout, so have your phone ready for the one-time code. Authorisation holds can sit on a balance for several days even when the merchant releases them quickly, so don’t top up exactly what you need for a single purchase. And on the crypto side, blockchain transfers are irreversible; sending the right token to the wrong address or on the wrong network is the most common way people lose money in this category, and it is the one failure mode you can avoid entirely by double-checking the network and the address before you sign.

What is specific to Based, in order of how much it should worry you:

A final thing worth saying plainly: based on what is publicly available, I cannot confirm the card’s licensing, its issuer, or whether customer funds are safeguarded in a segregated account. That is a meaningful difference from a card whose EMI licence is on the homepage.

What to take instead of the Based card

The honest comparison is between Based and a few other cards I looked at, and the answer depends entirely on whether you already hold $BASED.

If you do not hold $BASED and don’t plan to, the Based card is essentially a 1.5% FX-markup Visa debit with a smooth stablecoin top-up. You can do better on the FX side elsewhere. The Lava card advertises no FX fees and no FX spread, with up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase, and accepts local-currency or stablecoin deposits. If the bitcoin back is what you want, Lava is the more direct answer. If you want a credit card that pays you in crypto for everyday spend, the Gemini credit card (Mastercard World Elite) returns 4% on gas, EV charging and transit up to a $300 monthly cap, 3% on dining, 2% on groceries and 1% elsewhere, paid in Bitcoin or one of fifty-plus other cryptos on Gemini, with no foreign transaction fees. It is a credit card, not a debit card, so the way you fund it is different, but the crypto rewards are higher and more flexible. The catch on Gemini is that the card’s own country list is not stated on the card page, and its score on this site is a 4.9/10, so I’d check availability in your country before you get attached to the rewards table. The Trastra card is a Visa prepaid debit accepted worldwide, with the same general shape as Based (prepaid, funded from crypto, no foreign fees stated), but it is currently available in a listed 31 countries (Germany, France, the UK and others) and is otherwise limited to the EEA. If you are inside the EEA and want a stablecoin-funded card with a stated availability list, Trastra is the safer pick; its score here is 4.1/10, reflecting that its fees are not stated on the page text.

If you do hold $BASED and you are happy to lock the tokens up, the Based Gold tier is the more interesting case: 0% FX, 4% cashback in $BASED, up to $100 a month, plus four airport lounge visits a year. There is no obvious competitor that does all of that in one card. The risk is the lockup and the unstated issuer, not the design.

Card Type Cashback FX Best for
Based HYPE Visa debit (prepaid-style) 2% in $BASED, cap $20/mo 1.5% Stakers of $BASED who don’t want the Gold lockup
Based Gold Visa debit (metal) 4% in $BASED, cap $100/mo 0% Larger $BASED holders who travel and want lounge access
Lava Visa (form not stated) Up to 5% in BTC None, no spread People who want bitcoin back and no FX cost without staking
Gemini Mastercard World Elite credit 1–4% in BTC/50+ cryptos None People who prefer a credit card paid off in fiat, with crypto rewards
Trastra Visa prepaid debit Not stated Not stated EEA residents who want a stablecoin-funded prepaid with a stated availability list

Who I’d recommend the Based card to

If you are a $BASED holder outside the 74 excluded countries, the Based card is genuinely worth a serious look, especially at the Gold tier. The 0% FX markup is unusual for a card in this category, the 4% cashback in $BASED is a real return, the airport-lounge visits are a small but pleasant extra, and the stablecoin top-up is one of the cleanest I have seen. The lockup is the price of all of it: 100,000 $BASED on Gold, with 21 days from unstake and a 3-day cooldown, so plan around that rather than treat it as something you can undo in a hurry.

If you do not hold $BASED, or you do but don’t want to lock it, the HYPE tier is the only one I’d still consider, and only for the cleaner stablecoin top-up rather than the rewards. The 2% cashback at a $20 monthly cap is a nice-to-have, not a reason to choose this card.

I’d pass on the card if you live in one of the excluded countries, if you need ATM access, if you cannot name the card’s issuer and licence from the website, or if you want cashback paid in fiat rather than in a token whose value moves. The Gemini credit card is a better everyday-rewards pick if you want crypto back without locking anything up, and the Lava card is a better no-FX pick if you don’t care about $BASED specifically.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Based card?

The Based card is a Visa debit card issued through the Based app. There is a virtual card available instantly after approval and physical cards on the HYPE and Gold tiers, all denominated in US dollars. The card is funded by sending USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE or BASED on Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon or Hyperliquid, and it auto-converts to dollars at the point of sale. The marketing positions it as a way to spend a crypto balance at any Visa merchant.

How does the Based card work?

You complete KYC in the Based app, receive a virtual card, and top it up with one of the supported stablecoins or tokens over a supported network. At payment time, the card converts the balance to US dollars and the FX markup your tier charges (2.5% on Orange, 1.5% on HYPE, 0% on Gold) is applied if you spend in another currency. Cashback, where applicable, is paid in $BASED at the start of each month.

Is Based a bank?

The card’s own pages don’t describe Based as a bank. The operator is named as SHA2 LABS PTE. LTD. in Singapore per the starting data, and the issuer and licences are not stated on the site. Treat the card as a programme run by a crypto company, not a deposit-taking bank, until you can read the issuer and the licence in the cardholder agreement.

Is the Based card available in my country?

Based accepts applications from most of the world, with a published restricted list of around 74 countries taking effect on 1 August 2026. That list explicitly includes the United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, the Russian Federation, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran and Turkey, among others. The card’s own page asks you to check by country of residence, so your address, not just your passport, drives the answer.

Does the Based card require KYC?

Yes. The card requires a single level of KYC inside the Based app, accepting a passport or national ID card. Driver’s licences and voter IDs are not accepted as primary ID. Screening typically takes up to three days and Based may request more documents through [email protected]. You must be at least 18 and resident in a country where the card is offered.

How do I top up the Based card?

You top up the card by sending USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE or BASED from your own wallet to the deposit address Based provides, making sure you use the network the address is for. Supported networks are Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon and Hyperliquid. Stablecoin deposits carry no added fee from Based; you only pay the underlying network fee, which is a few cents on Polygon or Solana. Fiat top-up and withdrawals are not stated on the pages I read.

Can I add the Based card to Apple Wallet?

Based’s documentation says Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, so you add the virtual card on receipt. A Trustpilot reviewer wrote in May 2026 that Apple Pay was not working for them, which conflicts with the docs; I would not weight that as more than a single report, but it is worth trying early in case tokenisation fails on your device.

Is the Based card free?

There is no signup fee and no annual fee. The HYPE tier charges $50 for the physical card via DHL; Gold ships free. The card’s other real costs are the FX markup on non-USD spend (2.5% on Orange, 1.5% on HYPE, 0% on Gold), the underlying network fee on your top-up, and the staking lockup that unlocks cashback (10,000 $BASED on HYPE, 100,000 $BASED on Gold).

Is the Based card safe?

The card’s pages do not state the issuer, the licence, the custody model, the 2FA setup, or the card-freeze feature, so I cannot confirm any of those from the public site. The card uses standard 3-D Secure for online checkout, and the underlying Visa rails give you the usual dispute process, but the depth of those processes on this specific card is not documented. If named licences and segregated-funds language matter to you, this is not the card for you.

How do I delete my Based account?

The card’s own pages do not describe an account-deletion flow. The standard pattern with cards of this type is to withdraw your balance first, then request deletion through in-app settings or by emailing [email protected]. Before you close anything, withdraw any remaining balance to your own wallet; given that withdrawals are not stated, treat the closure as a process you may need to follow up on with support.

Content created by the «cryptocardportal.com» team